Bumped Hardwick's pass mark

How? Do I need to point to Essendon and Knights again as an example?? How you feel about the Fighting Tiger Fund going towards paying out the unused portion of a sacked coach's salary? I would be gutted as I give more than I can afford to this club in the hope of seeing us succeed. I've got no issue with Hardwick being at Richmond for 5 years, I hope he's there for 10+. But to hand out 2 year extensions (effectively making it 3 years) without any safeguards would be just bloody irresponsible.

I don't know why I even got myself caught up in this stupid argument. I reckon we'll crack the 8 this year and this argument will have been a waste of all of our time....

your right it is a stupid argument. but i dont know how you can compare knights to hardwick. knight was on a hiding to nothing. he never had the full support of the board/players/supporters. in fact i reckon that ess improvement is all knights due to the development he put into them.also who said anything about sacking him. he would do his 5 years and then assess again so no payout. i guess im saying i will back him to do us proud during this time.

edit: maybe it would be better, considering my stance on this is to wait untill this year is nearly over before the 2 year extension is made.

barring any unforeseen brain fades from Dimma that seal his fate, i.e. outgunned on game days, when the team is around the mark. IMO the brains trust really need to look at the template set by the cats when they went with bomba. How long did he steer that ship? How many times along the early journey were the knives out for him, from supporters and the media?
If i recall correctly, early in about year 4 or 5, the young cats started making the media take notice, they were hyped up as the next big thing and they came out the next year and went backwards. Bomba was under the pump from the media and cats supporters, but the board stood firm and the rest is history. So much so, they could afford to let bomba go, hire a newbie and the team was in autopilot..
If Dimma has the system that the board thinks will deliver the results, they have to back him in until the players know that system back to front. ATM they are still to get hold of it properly.
And when i talk system and learning it, i talk about the whole list. The way to the promised land is that player x who is in the 2s comes in to replace player y, due to injury or loss of form and slots into the system as if he was always there.

Its the formula that has made Man Utd what it is, under Sir Alex. All players on the Man UTd books know Sir Alex's game plan back to front and what they need to do to execute it. So apart from the guns that put the icing on the cake the rest of the engine has replaceable parts that hit the ground running.

And dont be mistaken, this rebuild of the team and club, aint only about winning a flag or 2 in the next 10 years. Its about making sure we dont have 30 years of mediocrity ever again. i.e. being always near the mark and playing in September on a regular basis, which ensures our existence. Because the day will come, mark my words, when teams will have to fold and if we dont pull out of this tail spin, we will be one of the ones in the gun. ;)

Dont get me wrong, l dont disagree with your theory or philosphy, but the comparison to Mark Thompson irks me. That **** was the most overrated, one dimensional coach l have ever seen. He was kissed on the dick by a fairy with the list he was given and the talent he had to work with. **** me, the father son rule won that club a dynasty. Seriously, the only coaching method he had was "our list is better thans yours, so we will win". Never had a plan B.

I would hope Dimma has a better coaching strategy than Bomber, otherwise we're ****ed.

But l dont disagree with your stability and patience comments.

;)

Dont get me wrong, l dont disagree with your theory or philosphy, but the comparison to Mark Thompson irks me. That **** was the most overrated, one dimensional coach l have ever seen. He was kissed on the dick by a fairy with the list he was given and the talent he had to work with. **** me, the father son rule won that club a dynasty. Seriously, the only coaching method he had was "our list is better thans yours, so we will win". Never had a plan B.

I would hope Dimma has a better coaching strategy than Bomber, otherwise we're ****ed.

;)

I have to dissagree with this. He actually had\taught them an exciting brand of football. While I agree at the end there was no plan B but which coach can re educate their players in 1 season of football (his last) a new way of playing. Re to gameplans of Lyon, Clarkeson & Malthouse

About this time last year when a similar thread was in progress, I posted that in 2011 we should be aiming, no matter the win/loss ratio, at a percentage column of 90+. This would indicate that we were competitive against most of the better sides, and had the ability to put most of the lesser sides away comfortably. We didn't achieve that, yet I still see 2011 as a relatively decent season.

In 2012, a pass mark in my opinion would be a percentage up over 100. Obviously a Finals place would be the preferred option, but I'm not entirely confident that we are better than at least 10 other teams. What we do now need, however, is to be competitive against all other teams, and be able to consistently put away the lesser teams.

Do all that and a spot in the Final 8 might just take care of itself.

;)

Very harsh call. They got 2 absolute rippers in Gary junior and Scarlett fair enough but Nathan was average at best only played in the GF where they smashed Port. Mark Blake? Enough said. Tom Hawkins? Kicked a couple of handy goals against the Saints in the GF (including one that hit the post) but only truly announced himself as a player in last years finals.
Adam Donahue anyone? Tim Callan? David Clarke? Some of their other ripping father/son selections.

I think the fairy you speak of goes by the name of Stephen Wells. Their highest pick in the 10+ years is 8 and some of their low selections were absolute gems (Chapman pick 31, Ling 38, Enright 47, Rooke pick 41 rookie draft, Stevie J 21 etc). Thompson has the runs on the board in the way of 2 flags. 2 current AFL coaches came through his system which I think says a bit about him as a coach also.

The only thing that really matters to me next year is how the game plan is shaping up, how well the boys play out 100% of game time and most importantly how our young players are developing.

We've invested a huge amount of our future in our recruitment over the last few years and we need to see genuine improvement from a lot of mid tier players to see we're on the right track. If we don't we're in a lot of trouble regardless of how good Martin, Cotch, Lids JR etc are.

We also need to see that tactically the Dimma is on the right track to start to combat the better sides game plans, and that the boys can be motivated to stick to the plan regardless of what it is.

10-13th with us beating all the sides we should, taking a few mid table scalpss and making a real game of all the others, with players like Nahas, Conca, Rance, Batchelor, Grimes, Vickery, Houli taking their games up another notch, and a few of Post, Astbury, Derrickx, Dea, Griffiths, Browne, Graham really starting to show something, would show we're on the right track imo.

If this doesn't happen then we need to start asking if we have the right coaching/recruiting team to take us to the next level and achieve and sustain success.

Finals to me are a bit too premature with where the teams ahead of us are in terms of age group and development, but I don't think that far off finally. :thumbsu:

;)

Umm...Wally dude, when the cats got their shit together, tipping plan A wasnt doing to bad, so do you really think Bomba needed a plan B?
What would you do in his position, when you have a list that is better than the rest? Plan A, win the game and if it was one of those 3 losses then execute- Plan B - win the next 5 games with Plan A.

I can guarantee you right now that Dimma has at his disposal an emerging midfield that is one of the most potent midfields to grace the field. When it comes to soon to be guns, and I mean ****ing jets, in the abblett jnr and Bartel mould, we have cotch and WMD martin. Add to that the emerging thinker in Conca and a line breaker in Lids...i am positive any coach would bend over backwards to have that group in his team.
Time man, the young tigers remind me alot of the young emerging cats atm. We all know they have the right weapons in place, but there are a few other boxes to be ticked to complete the picture.
Once we have ticked the deficient boxes and watching the tiges over the last 2 years, when the tiges are on the job and executing Dimma's plan A, you can see it, its total dominance of possesion, they cant get the ball off us for periods of the game. Where we fall down is keeping it going and maximising score board pressure when we are doing it. ;)

We only have to win another 3 games and improve our percentage to make the finals.

Considering in hardwick's second year we won two more than his first and we were still in development mode (getting 500 games or whatever it was into kids) and this year they are switching to a plan more focused on winning games and continued improvement, it should be achievable, barring a bad run of injury.

I suppose we can put down the 30 years of shit we have endured for the amount of people who are making excuses for mediocrity before the season has even started.

;)

You may need to prepare for disappointment because dimma said early on in the piece that they would be adopting Geelong's Philosophy.

He said their game plan was predicable, but they just executed it that well they were hard to beat.

Thompson's head was on the chopping block at the end of the 2006 season, so he must have had some influence in going from wannabes to a great side as the list didn't suddenly become that much better.

You may need to prepare for disappointment because dimma said early on in the piece that they would be adopting Geelong's Philosophy.

He said their game plan was predicable, but they just executed it that well they were hard to beat.

Thompson's head was on the chopping block at the end of the 2006 season, so he must have had some influence in going from wannabes to a great side as the list didn't suddenly become that much better.

Geelong's philosophy, not necessarily Thompson's ;)

Like Wally said... get all the good players, and win win win!

I think if Deledio stays, Dimma passes :D

Reading between the lines dimma would need finals for lids to stay, and if he stays we would have made finals......win win

But in saying that we could be 1 and 5 in which case it would be all moot.

geez people kid themselves. geelong didnt just magically improve in 07. they included one important player to their team that lost finals in 04 and 05, that player being selwood.
both yrs they were stiff to lose those fianals. in 04 they lost a tight preliminary final to brisbane a game in which i for one thought they were the better side. in 05 they lost by 3 points to sydney in sydney in a semi final. again imo they lost that game sydney did not win it. they did their finals apprenticeship in those yrs and big things were expected for 06.
when they failed to make it in 06 thompson was very much in the gun. as i recall it was the players who drove the bus for a change to the way they played.
selwood was drafted at the end of 06 and made an immediate impact in 07.

the vast majority of their 07 premiership side came from the 99 draft you could call these the experienced players come 07. and 2001 these are the ones that saw them stay down for a couple of yrs but start to take massive strides in 2004.

the one constant at geelong has been their recruiting i dont credit thompson with this. just like i dont really credit or discredit hardwick with our recruiting. they may have some input but the recruiters are the ones who go and pick em out.the list manager is the one who maintains a good balance.

when thompson left geelong what state was their list in i think they have maintained a good balance. thompson played a part in this.
he was there for 10 yrs and walked away with the list still being strong.he played in 6 finals series and over saw a rebuild.

what state was brisbanes list in when mathews left. 10 yrs like thomson. inherited a fantastic list won three in a row and bled the list dry failing to maintain a stuas quoe and repleneshing as he went.

95 96 97 brisbane made finals. they then had a horror run with injuries and finished last. yes last was inexcusable with the list they had and unlike thomson northey got the flick.

the rest is history with a list northey and others put together mathews took to finals again, yes a again.
he then went on to win three in a row. i wonder how many players are left from mathews time at the club.

i find it amusing thompson is criticised but mathews is put on a pdestal

they get things wrong and they all get things right. who can argue that in the main both mathews and thompson in the main got it right.

Craw, the coaches have a big input on the recruiting. Not on the individuals themselves, but the type of player they want.

The coach dictates to the recruiters what they want, then then it's up to the recruiters to deliver.

just look at the different type of player recruited by FJ under Hardwick compared to under Wallace.

Seriously?The coach has a different philosphy to the club, yet they still dominated the comp for 3-4 years?

As for just getting the good players and win win win, then clubs might as well just get the cheapest coach on the market if that was the case.

Geelongs playing list didnt change that much when they went from pretenders to contenders.

the craw is not quite right when he says it was a player driven turnaround in culture.It was thompson who first gave the players a boots and all appraisal, then Chapman followed suite with a spray of his own

Edit: and guess which perennially shite performing team succumbed to a massive flogging the following week to kick off Geelong's "revival"

Sok mate, I was being very flippant. Tongue was firmly implanted in my cheek.

Seriously, if anyone wants to suggest a single coach got lucky, then you may as well apply that to every successful coach. As much as people say you need the cattle to succeed as a coach, it also seems a bit harsh that coaches get the raw deal when things don't go well, and then cop it when they have success as well.

So I do subscribe to the theory that regardless of how good the cattle is, you still need a good environment for them to flourish, of which the coach is a damn big part :thumbsu:

LOL, i better send my sarcasm radar in for a tune up :o

I suppose we can put down the 30 years of shit we have endured for the amount of people who are making excuses for mediocrity before the season has even started.

the last 30 yrs has nothing to do with it. the past is the past and out of our control.

what we have control of is the future and the things that determine we can become a good side.

no one is accepting mediocrity just accepting the reality of things that determine if we can make finals or not.

its not what has happened in the past but where we are at now and heading. where we are at the reality says we shouldnt make finals this yr.

its those pesky things like age groups, games played, what stages of development the majority of players are at. experience, depth, and the amount of quality spread thru the team. we are still behind the 8 ball in all of these things.

do we deal in hope or do we deal in realities.

anyone who thought at the end of 09 that any coach we appointed and any thing we did with the footy dept could turn it around in 3 yrs were kidding themselves.

it took hawthorn 6 yrs with good management and recruiting to make finals. carlton about 8 yrs. sides like geelong have come of much higher bases they made a gf in 95. 96 finals in 96 97 and 2000.

stkilda made a gf in 97, finals in 98 and then miseed out in 99, 00, 01,02, and 03 it took 5 yrs just to make finals with good recruiting list management and club management.

why do people think we are any different to other teams we were close to as low as a team can go in 09 yet people want finals in a ridiculoulsy short period of time.

LOl
Craw, the last 30 years has plenty to do with how people view the RFC, including your own cynicism.

Craw, the coaches have a big input on the recruiting. Not on the individuals themselves, but the type of player they want.

The coach dictates to the recruiters what they want, then then it's up to the recruiters to deliver.

just look at the different type of player recruited by FJ under Hardwick compared to under Wallace.

imv coaches have a big input but so do recruiters and the list managers.if coaches just got what they wanted all the time then after their tenure clubs have to start again. imo clubs should always be recruiting for now and for the future. recruiters also have a massive say as they determine the quality of the players so if the coach wants a chf but the recruiter says well at our pick there is no chf good enough but there is a mid that is good.sometimes the coach gets his way but sometimes the recruiter or list manger gets the chockies.

LOl
Craw, the last 30 years has plenty to do with how people view the RFC, including your own cynicism.

of course it does but it does not affect ones honest appraisal of exactly where the list is at.

its a fact most of our 23 and overs have been ordinary. its a fact we are relying heavily on 22 yr olds and under. its a fact we lack enough experienced players, especially of reasonable quality. its a fact we have few in the right games played category. its a fact our best side is very young. its a fact we lack depth. need i go on.

i dont rate the list and the team on whats happened in the past i rate them on all these things and more.they are very much things of the now.

does 26 yrs of getting things wrong make me a cynic sure does.
thing is like most i think we are on the right path which is another reason why the last 30 yrs is irrelevant.

one is not accepting mediocrity if at the end of the day all one is accepting is reality.

i still remember wallace bemoaning not having enough players in the right age groups yet when he was sacked what did we do we thru neccesity. we made that complaint even worse by cutting so many.

ive already pointed out just how long it took stkilda to play finals and their base was a gf. hawthorn took 6yrs to rebuild and make finals. carlton longer.

heresw the catch.
if you recruit really well if you manage your list very well. if you can manage to develop your players well and if your club is both financially sound and well run you can maybe make finals in 5 yrs.

hardwick took over the team at what would have to be one of the lowest points in our history. his base was as low as gc people will scoff at that but in fct we were worse of than gc.

to basically rebuild your list and develop 30 35 players to a point where you can go past other teams takes how long going by the time frame other clubs have achieved it.

from our pathetically low base if hardwick makes finals in yr 5 he will have done a good job. yr 4 very well yr 3 well that would be exceptional.

i suppose at the end of the day it all comes down to peoples expectations and grasp on what is realistically possible and what is not. its also about acknowledging the terrible base we have had to start from. and also learning from other teams and working out just how long it took them to achieve finals and what base they came from.

i used to complain bitterly about important areas not being addressed. it seems those areas or most of them are now being addressed or a better than what they were. so i for one think we are on the right track but i also know we have a long way to go.

^^^ THIS
EDIT: or that on the previous page :)

the only passmark I am looking for is that we improve on last yr (barring injuries) & that for me means a number of things, with finals being the least of my expectations.

number of wins (hopefully more than last yr), how we compete against stronger teams, less floggings, beating teams who have had the wood on us over the yrs & individual player developement is how I'll be judging our teams\Hardwicks passmark

might I remind ppl we were being compared to Fitzroy when Hardwick came in, that how far back we are coming from

of course it does but it does not affect ones honest appraisal of exactly where the list is at.

its a fact most of our 23 and overs have been ordinary. its a fact we are relying heavily on 22 yr olds and under. its a fact we lack enough experienced players, especially of reasonable quality. its a fact we have few in the right games played category. its a fact our best side is very young. its a fact we lack depth. need i go on.

i dont rate the list and the team on whats happened in the past i rate them on all these things and more.they are very much things of the now.

does 26 yrs of getting things wrong make me a cynic sure does.
thing is like most i think we are on the right path which is another reason why the last 30 yrs is irrelevant.

one is not accepting mediocrity if at the end of the day all one is accepting is reality.

i still remember wallace bemoaning not having enough players in the right age groups yet when he was sacked what did we do we thru neccesity. we made that complaint even worse by cutting so many.

ive already pointed out just how long it took stkilda to play finals and their base was a gf. hawthorn took 6yrs to rebuild and make finals. carlton longer.

heresw the catch.
if you recruit really well if you manage your list very well. if you can manage to develop your players well and if your club is both financially sound and well run you can maybe make finals in 5 yrs.

hardwick took over the team at what would have to be one of the lowest points in our history. his base was as low as gc people will scoff at that but in fct we were worse of than gc.

to basically rebuild your list and develop 30 35 players to a point where you can go past other teams takes how long going by the time frame other clubs have achieved it.

from our pathetically low base if hardwick makes finals in yr 5 he will have done a good job. yr 4 very well yr 3 well that would be exceptional.

i suppose at the end of the day it all comes down to peoples expectations and grasp on what is realistically possible and what is not. its also about acknowledging the terrible base we have had to start from. and also learning from other teams and working out just how long it took them to achieve finals and what base they came from.

i used to complain bitterly about important areas not being addressed. it seems those areas or most of them are now being addressed or a better than what they were. so i for one think we are on the right track but i also know we have a long way to go.

yep. agree:thumbsu:

One thing we should consider when we talk about making finals is that you dont need to be a top side like the old days when the finals were 4 and then 5 out 12 teams.

The bottom 3 or sides in the 8 are generally middle of the road teams making up the numbers. We dont have to improve that much to be one of these middle of the road sides, sheesh, if we had won the two games we went in as favourites last year we were knocking on the door.

Making finals is not the same as being a legitimate contender.

The irony i find in this Craw, is that we have locked horns in the past where you were criticising the club over team selections and you seemed to be looking to win, where i was would defend the club as I could see where were at and what they were trying to achieve, as well as the improvements in little basic things that i saw as important to lay a strong foundation.

Now the club has publicly said they are changing tact and will be selecting mainly the best team and looking to make the finals, our roles seem to have reversed.

Also for the umpteenth time, i wont view just missing out as a failure in terms of our development, but it will be a failure in terms of the club achieving the goal they have set themselves to achieve.

Nor will i be joining the chicken littles if, as is likely, we are 1-4 after 5 rounds and the tiger forums go into meltdown.

One thing we should consider when we talk about making finals is that you dont need to be a top side like the old days when the finals were 4 and then 5 out 12 teams.

The bottom 3 or sides in the 8 are generally middle of the road teams making up the numbers. We dont have to improve that much to be one of these middle of the road sides, sheesh, if we had won the two games we went in as favourites last year we were knocking on the door.

Making finals is not the same as being a legitimate contender.

The irony i find in this Craw, is that we have locked horns in the past where you were criticising the club over team selections and you seemed to be looking to win, where i was would defend the club as I could see where were at and what they were trying to achieve, as well as the improvements in little basic things that i saw as important to lay a strong foundation.

Now the club has publicly said they are changing tact and will be selecting mainly the best team and looking to make the finals, our roles seem to have reversed.

Also for the umpteenth time, i wont view just missing out as a failure in terms of our development, but it will be a failure in terms of the club achieving the goal they have set themselves to achieve.

Nor will i be joining the chicken littles if, as is likely, we are 1-4 after 5 rounds and the tiger forums go into meltdown.

all i can say al is as the club changes and grows and improves so does opinion change with them.

one of my main arguments in recent yrs has been the number of below standard players on the list i still think we have far too many.

my team selections have not changed.
i always try to fit in good height, good size, good structure, good skills as few poor kicks as possible with a liberal sprinkiling of kids for development.

i can assure you this has never changed. and continues right up to this minute.
as it happens the club is coming around more and more to the type of teams ive alwys picked and espoused.

ive always said the only way we can improve and win games regularly is by setting up this way.
ive never picked sides in the last 10 yrs to win nope ive picked sides with the long term in mind.
ive had little hope of winning because we havent had good structure good size good skills good kicks and weve had few kids getting a game.over the last 2 yrs that is changing but its only been 2 yrs.

i will say though i have picked sides with players who ive been adamant we need to upgrade on.
jackson is one i regularly continued to pick him despite thinking him a very ordinary player. ive picked him in the past because of a real lack of big bodies. with out good size across the board ive always stated you cant even compete. we dont send our kids out to get bashed up every week.
i pick tuck every week because i think we lack bottom of the pack players and hes got genuine grunt and size. hes one of few who i tolerate poor skills.
ive picked players because they have experience when we have none.
im all for trading for a couple of good experienced players if possible.

my expectations have risen. not so much to win games but to dramatically improve because we are addressing list needs and structures.

good structure size height with more and more kids who are up to it. in time as players gain the neccesary size and experience i do expect improvement because i think most of the nebies have the tools to become deent players. but i also know it will take longer than two yrs.

thats the thing with turning over 3/4 of your list we may have started to put these things in place but we need to have a reasonable time frame for things to come together. its this time frame that i currently argue about so often and strongly.

we are overcoming the glass half full side of it but we are now waiting for players to bulk grow get experience and get enough players thru this stage.while we do this we need to continue to cut the many below standard players many who have been around for awhile and will affect the age groups even more.
we have only really addressed things like development recruiting list management in the last two yrs even then we still ask questions.

im going to post a side i would really like to see at the start of the yr provided those selected have had good preseasons.

b/ grimes 8 - rance 44 - newman 192.
hb/ dea 7 - post 22 - batchelor 16.
c/ ellis 0 - cotchin 64 - deledio 150
hf/ conca 17 - riewoldt 90 - macdonald 0.
f/ vickery 45 - griffiths 9 - maric 21 /king 75.
r/ derickx 0/maric 77 - martin 43 - foley 110
int/ houli 48 - tuck 140 - morris tagger - helbig 10 - nahas 55 - grigg 64

i can categorically say structurally it is exactly the same sort of side i have posted for yrs. it has plenty of height forward 3 talls. back 3 talls and 2 ruckmen.
it has size the only skinny player named would be nahas so it can compete in the physical stuff.
i have limited the # of poor kicks or poor decicision makers to a managable level , as such some experienced players miss out. it is still very inexperienced something we cant really do much about and its very young with a dozen or more aged 22 and under.

if we play miller edwards jackson mcguane or white we affect the over all skill level and development. it targets specific areas like specialist small forwards and backs it is slanted toward the future with lots of kids.but kids with the right tools. this side is the sort of side i have always posted.
if yu take the time to look its exactly these things that i have put in my teams for yrs and argued about.

yep i have certainly gone crook about team selections but its not been about winning. ive picked players in the past like jackson tuck simmonds out of neccesity i wanted cuz because i think we needed his experience i advocate we target good mature players to fill specific roles nope i havent changed too much at all.
lets keep the horse in front of the cart eh.
take care of the above things and winning will almost take care of itself in time.