Harley Bennell

Aug 17, 2010
Gold Coast
Harley Bennell (Peel Thunder, WA) - Pick 2 in the 2010 AFL National Draft.

bennellx.jpg

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/101116/default.aspx

Height: 185cm
Weight: 74kg
DOB: 02/10/92
Club: Peel Thunder (WA)

Kevin Sheehan says: Talented ball-winner in the forward line or midfield. Has speed, poise and great goal sense. Won the Larke Medal and All-Australian honours in the 2010 NAB AFL Under-18 Championships, where he kicked 13 goals in five matches and averaged 19.6 disposals with six inside 50s.

Stats (aggregate for 2010 U18 Championships)
Games K H D M G
H/O
5 54 44 98 10 14 4

In his own words
What type of player are you?
A running wingman, or half back, but I can also kick goals.

Which AFL player do you feel you resemble and why?
Daniel Wells. The way he gets the ball and breaks the lines, he does it so well.

What are your strengths as a footballer?
My speed and good goal sense and the ability to run both ways.

What parts of your game would you like to improve?
The defensive side of my game.

Which AFL team do you support and how did you come to barrack for them?
Fremantle, because they were the closest to home.

Who has been the biggest influence on your career so far, and why?
Mum - she has done everything she could to get me where I am.

Current career total/averages.

averages.jpg

37_HarleyBennell.jpg

DETAILS
JUMPER # 37
DOB 02.10.92
HEIGHT 185
WEIGHT 74
FORMER CLUB Peel Thunder (WA)

http://www.goldcoastfc.com.au/the-team/player-profiles/harley-bennell/

Taken by the GC SUNS with Pick 2 at the 2010 National Draft, Harley Bennell, along with fellow Western Australians David Swallow and Brandon Matera, is considered readymade for AFL.

He is quick, agile, ball-winning run and carry player with great vision and anticipation. He can play midfield, forward, or defence with equal skill.

Bennell was a standout at this year’s National Under 18 Championships and a deserved winner of the Larke Medal as the competition’s best and fairest after slotting 13 goals in five matches and averaging 20 disposals and six inside 50s.

Unsurprisingly he was among the first selected in the 2010 under 18 All Australian squad.

Congratulations Harley - picked in the All-Stars squad before his debut in the AFL - not a bad effort at all :thumbsu:

http://www.goldcoastfc.com.au/news-and-media/news/early-allstar-honour-for-bennell/

Early All-Star honour for Bennell

Wednesday, 2 February 2011

Harley Bennell, the Gold Coast SUNS second selection at last year’s AFL National Draft, has been picked in the 2011 AFL Indigenous All Stars Squad.

Skippered by none other the dual Brownlow Medallist Adam Goodes, the 32-man squad - announced just last night - showcases a mouth-watering array of football talent including dynamic Melbourne duo Aaron Davey and Liam Jurrah, Essendon high flier Patrick Ryder and Hawthorn excitement machine Cyril Rioli.

Yes, Wells with more skill in the air - he just seems to float when he has a jump. I hope we can hang on to him. No doubt the WCE and others will throw the $$$ at him down the track. Already looks like a player who has that game-changing brilliance.

Saw him at a club the other night after the west coast vs GC nab game. Didnt look too happy but was behaving himself and wasn't with any other GC players that i could see.
Anyway what i did notice is that he seems to have grown a bit. He looks to be around 187cm or more now i reckon taller than 185 and if he keeps growing i think he could play a goddard/deledio half back role where he could intercept a fair few balls in the air. Is already quite decent overhead. Has also bulked up significantly since the draft. im 181 75kgs and he was a decent amount taller than me and probably built bigger. I reckon he'd be above 80kg's now.
I wanted him to slip to 4 so bad. Guess we will just have to steal him from u in the future.

He'll be right. The night-club ban is only for the clubs in Surfers Paradise which is a notorious spot for trouble. Smart locals don't go near the place anyway. Geez if we had a total club ban no one would want to play for us.:p
Footballers and night-clubs go together like rum and coke.

Saw Bennell at casino friday night when I went with my GF. He was betting a few hundred at a time on baccarrat (asians at same table were betting 1k+ lol). Didnt seem too happy as he was down a fair bit of $$ and wasnt with other suns players, just a random white guy aged about 27. Anyone know whats up there?

Also no one else literally recognised him which is sad for a no.2 pick. Suns have a bit of work to do in that regard engaging with the community.

Yesterday against Collingwood was the first time I've seen him play with the skills that his reputation suggested.

I've heard plenty of times about the kids talent, but yesterday was the first time I've actually seen it. His movement was insanely silky, and can just keep running to bring in third efforts. Great read of the play, too. Heck, the youngster out-moved Dane Swan in the fourth quarter. Hit the post on that occasion, but you can't ignore the way he just goes about it.

Seemed to be enjoying himself too. Smiles all around! Was good to see. Bluey said he's really getting the trust of other players, too. Ten year player! Like he said himself.

I'm sure this news will excite many Suns fans.

Expect an announcement soon regarding Harley and extending his contract. Will get done soon. :thumbsu:

BigFooty SUNS
@NickSmart85 Any truth to a line in last weeks rag, Smarty? RE: believing Bennell to be re-signing in the coming weeks? Exciting news!

Nick Smart
@BigFootySUNS Will get done mate. Expect an announcement soon

I'm on the Harley train, what a gun he will be, sounds like he has really matured in the past 12 months. Exciting times!

Gold Coast young star Harley Bennell has footy world mesmerised.

THE absence of the best player in the game has helped unearth perhaps the game's most exciting young player.

While Gary Ablett's time on the sidelines has sparked debate about whether the Gold Coast is a more well-rounded team without him, which is incredible thinking anyhow, Harley Bennell's star is shining at its brightest.

Coincidence or not, Bennell has played his best two games for Gold Coast while Ablett has sat out.

The 19-year-old mesmerised not only his Fremantle opponents on Saturday night, but all of those who watched him.

He collected 37 touches, ran hard to be involved at both ends, and delivered the ball with such poise and perfection that it had you guessing whether he was a right-footer or left.

It's not folly to ask: Is he the best kick in the game?

He has penetration, he can put it to space for his teammates to run on to - which is not always easy with so many defensive numbers - and his passing to teammates leading directly at him is so sublime, so perfectly weighted, that the defender has little chance of spoiling.

Cue Dennis Cometti: Centimetre perfect.

He's more than an elite kick, too. He is a game breaker, a player who sees space when others see clutter, which enables him to seemingly glide through contests.

Bennell with Suns until end of 2014.

harley-stays-with-suns-090512.jpg

JUST a year after homesickness seemed certain to derail Harley Bennell's career at the Suns, the freakishly skilled West Australian has extended his stay on the Coast for at least another two years.

Bennell, who showed with a best-on-ground performance last Saturday in the Suns' loss to Fremantle just why he is so highly regarded, has re-signed with the Suns until the end of the 2014 season.

And the Suns believe he can become one of the league's top players if he continues to buy into the club's culture and development.

The No.2 draft pick in 2010, Bennell said he was "rapt" to extend his tenure on the Coast.

"I have got a lot of mates here, I'm enjoying my footy and I believe we are building something pretty special," he said.

Harley makes the most of his chances.

THIRD-TIME-UNLUCKY.jpg

TWELVE months ago Harley Bennell's future was hanging in the balance.

Receiving his second in-house suspension after failing to return on time following the Suns' first trip to Perth last June, the club's patience in the WA product had almost run out.

Even his fellow players weren't sure.

When the coaching staff wanted him back in the team for their clash with Fremantle in Perth, the Suns' leadership group stepped in and said he wasn't ready to return to the scene of the crime.

With the trust gone, the teenager was on the brink of becoming yet another casualty to the AFL's go-home syndrome.

But instead Bennell changed his ways and now the excitement machine is making the most of his rare third chance.