Has Callan missed his chance

• Thread starter Thread starter rizzo

rizzo

Golf Enthusiast 10k Posts The Fred Medal Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2014 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2013 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2012 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2011 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2010 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2009 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2008 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2007 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2006 Player Sponsor
Everton, Melbourne Heart, Raptors
Start of the year alot were talking up callan the successor to the spot sando left in the team. However with the stunning re-emergence of Slade (like hunt a few years ago), has Callan once again missed his chance to get into the team. Somehow i think he has. IMHO he is behind

DJ
Hunt
Rooke
Milburn
Slade
Woj

in that small back role. Lets hope he gets a chance, but is still a fair bit behind.

to be fair to Callan, injuries keep putting roundabouts in the middle of his road, but it does beg the question of how much longer the club will give him to get himself right. I would almost put him in the same category as McCarthy regarding his future. If Slade continues to perform, he will be re-added to the senior list, no worries.

Deserved a better run in the seniors for his VFL form. That, and injuries, haven't been kind.

He has the talent to displace a guy like Slade, and the better rounded game for a legitimate small defender to a guy like Wojcinski, but whether his body holds up and another oppurtunity presents itself is yet another thing.

The group in front is moving ahead though.

based on his potential, I would say once Slade plays 5-6 games in a row in the seniors and gains the confidence that he really "belongs" in the Seniors, he will be a more than adequate replacement for Sanderson.

He has a lot more footy smarts/potential than most people realise - partly shown by that goal he kicked on his opposite foot and made Chris Johnson look fairly silly (then again pretty much every other Geelong player managed to do that to Johnson at some stage!!!)

I played u18s with Slade and I honestly reckon he could hold down a place in the side for 100+ games. With Harley, Wojinski to come back in he`s gonna have to really perform - - but i reckon hes up to it. I may be slightly biased, but i think he`s gonna suprise quite a few Cats fans with his courage, competitiveness and footy smarts

angry steve said:
i think he`s gonna suprise quite a few Cats fans with his courage, competitiveness and footy smarts

He certainly won't be surprising us if he has to front up to the tribunal, ol' "rusty gate elbows" Will doesn't mind a bit of the old ultra-violence.

To waste a chance you must have been given one. He hasn't. By seasons end he will be entrenched in the small back pocket position.

I think Callan has missed his chance to try and cement a spot in the team for this year. He'll be really handy in the VFL, but there is no room for him in the AFL. Slade is lucky right now, because we're missing - Riccardi, Wojcinski, Harley and those player would be played before him. So if Slade is lucky to be in the team right now, I don't think Callan has much of a chance. I'm guessing he'll play 2-6 games (like he has in the past) this year. He will probably be delisted or traded to another club by the end of the year.

Perhaps he can have a crack at the small forward position. I've only seen him play about 3 times, but he seems to have pretty good skill, is pretty tough and has some pace, I think he'd be a handy replacement for Gaz and Chappy as they move into the middle.

WestCat said:
Perhaps he can have a crack at the small forward position. I've only seen him play about 3 times, but he seems to have pretty good skill, is pretty tough and has some pace, I think he'd be a handy replacement for Gaz and Chappy as they move into the middle.

He's a natural defender, besides we have aplethora of small forwards waiting for a gig anyway! It's tough on every part of the ground.

Callan can play.
Like his dad did he reads the game very well. He often gets off his man to help others.
To win a premiership (or more?) in the next 5 years you need players of his ability and level of development on the list.
Three will have to go at years end and at the moment we seem to have a few too many tall forwards especially when Hawkins comes on board. Watch out McCarthy and Lonergan (with Riccardi retiring). We might be able to trade for earlier draft picks with names like that too.

Go Cats