Has NRL widened the gap as the best sporting Comp in australia

Dazlington

Feb 14, 2019
Brisbane Lions
We can all agree the AFL is in absolute turmoil. Head office have done their best to * the game and make it unwatchable. Fans are getting banned for calling umpires flogs and maggots. s**t coaches like Chris Scott, Damian Hardwick and Ross Lyon are turning the game into system based borefests where you no longer need star players to play good footy. Scoring is at all time lows. Umpiring a joke.

On the other hand the countries premier football code goes from strength to strength. Origin footy sells out Melbourne and Perth as well as the heartland. The competition is played the same way at a grass roots level as at the top level. Fans can flog it up in the outer without getting booted. The game is relevant on an international level.

What does AFLel have to do to try and bridge the gap?

• Banned
Lol NRL is boring as ****, it's not even real Rugby.

By widening the cap I assume you mean fallen further behind?

It is the only true rugby and best footy code in Australia.

In order of best to worst:

1. Rugby League
2. Daylight
3. AFLel
4. Daylight
5. Lol Socca
6. Bum Sniffers (Union)
7. AFLelX
8. AFLW

Rugby league is a TV game and only hardcore meatheads go to watch. Rugby only has two skill sets 1/ Catch the ball from a throw and run forward until someone smashes you and 2/ The goose step.

Tell that to the tens of thousands that pack out origin in non traditional states. Reckon AFL wouldn’t fill the Gabba for state of origin

Sounds ghey.

You would never see this type of behaviour in a real sport

47f84113a6701fb08db1174d848f0a8a

770d0104aaca47adad9343c46b809877

Tell that to the tens of thousands that pack out origin in non traditional states. Reckon AFL wouldn’t fill the Gabba for state of origin

The free tickets help fill the ground for those games - I have been a beneficiary of that marketing plan a few times over the years.

You will never get 20,000 paying customers regularly to home games and the big bucks sponsorships are not easy to get in Perth anymore so they would be reliant on the NRL to make them sustainable.

The worst thing that the NRL did was to kill off the Reds because there has only been ex-pat support for the game since.

A third AFL team out of Perth would be more sustainable that a Perth-based NRL side.

We can all agree the AFL is in absolute turmoil. Head office have done their best to **** the game and make it unwatchable. Fans are getting banned for calling umpires flogs and maggots. **** coaches like Chris Scott, Damian Hardwick and Ross Lyon are turning the game into system based borefests where you no longer need star players to play good footy. Scoring is at all time lows. Umpiring a joke.

On the other hand the countries premier football code goes from strength to strength. Origin footy sells out Melbourne and Perth as well as the heartland. The competition is played the same way at a grass roots level as at the top level. Fans can flog it up in the outer without getting booted. The game is relevant on an international level.

I love me a good SOO Match, but other than that, League can G A G F.
The whole game outside of the SOO is as pointless as a scrum in League.

We can all agree the AFL is in absolute turmoil. Head office have done their best to **** the game and make it unwatchable. Fans are getting banned for calling umpires flogs and maggots. **** coaches like Chris Scott, Damian Hardwick and Ross Lyon are turning the game into system based borefests where you no longer need star players to play good footy. Scoring is at all time lows. Umpiring a joke.

I thought that Rugby League supporters might be quiet about those eligibility rules.

For example, to play for Lebanon, I believe that the criteria is to either have Lebanese grand parents or else you can say one swear word in Lebanese or prove that you have eaten at a Lebanese restaurant at least once in your life. Nothing in there about ever having lived their yourself.

The OP has a small pencil but he has a good point.

One thing he missed though is the comparison between the media between the two.

Aside from Damien Barrett and Kane Cornes, the AFL media is unbearable. All they do is focus on negativity, meaningless stories, SJW crap.

The NRL media is elite all round. There is no w@nk at all and they talk about the great game of rugby league.

The OP has a small pencil but he has a good point.

One thing he missed though is the comparison between the media between the two.

Aside from Damien Barrett and Kane Cornes, the AFL media is unbearable. All they do is focus on negativity, meaningless stories, SJW crap.

The NRL media is elite all round. There is no w@nk at all and they talk about the great game of rugby league.

All the w@nk is saved for when they get together and identify a target for a 'group meeting'.

Reckon my chooks will go back to back personally. Enjoy watching your representative teams pla.... oh wait
8,21716/06/2019NRL: Roosters v Bulldogs
7,83216/06/2019AFL: North Melbourne v GWS Giants
8,46816/06/2019NRL: Sea Eagles v Dragons

Almost as many went to see GWS vs Norf as went to see the Roosters and Bulldogs. Now that really shows how badly the NRL is going.

8,21716/06/2019NRL: Roosters v Bulldogs
7,83216/06/2019AFL: North Melbourne v GWS Giants
8,46816/06/2019NRL: Sea Eagles v Dragons

Almost as many went to see GWS vs Norf as went to see the Roosters and Bulldogs. Now that really shows how badly the NRL is going.

In tassie too! how embarrasing for the NRL