The Hitman

Jun 4, 2002
Manchester United
I have a bit of admiration for that Collingwood lineup. I might not like the club, I might not like most of their supporters, and I sure as hell might not like their players (except Scott Burns), but they showed something special out there today, and played with as much heart and passion as a side could against that awesome Brisbane outfit.

Kudos to Brisbane. They were always behind the eight ball with injuries to McDonald, Akermanis, Black, and Pike. Voss took more hits than a heroin addict, but kept bouncing back. Aker's goal was something special in the dying minutes to extend the lead just out of Collingwood's reach, and it was the best Grand Final since '89, even allowing for the dismal weather.

It made me realise how much I want Hawthorn to be there. It made me realise how far the Hawks have to go in 2003 to deserve to be in the Grand Final. It made me realise how good Brisbane really are, and how good this Collingwood side could be.

Hats off to both teams.

The Hitman

Hitters, next time listen ot me. WE WILL BE BACK!!!!! The Pies tried their hardest, unfortunately the last few mins were dissapointing but the Lions were best on the day. I know we willl be back soon, btw sorry if I'm making no sense but I'm half ****ed and dissapointed. But with that said, I'm am bloody proud of the boys. GREAT EFFORT PIES!!!!

Originally posted by The Hitman
It made me realise how much I want Hawthorn to be there.
The Hitman
Ditto.
I felt the same way, not only during and after the game, but during the warm ups in the rooms and when they broke through the banner.

Originally posted by MagpieJoel
Hitters, next time listen ot me. WE WILL BE BACK!!!!! The Pies tried their hardest, unfortunately the last few mins were dissapointing but the Lions were best on the day. I know we willl be back soon, btw sorry if I'm making no sense but I'm half ****ed and dissapointed. But with that said, I'm am bloody proud of the boys. GREAT EFFORT PIES!!!!

Assuming you will be back is your first mistake, Richmond made the same assumtion about finishing top 4 this year after a impressive 2001. Where did they finish again.

Don't get me wrong it was a great effort to make it, just don't assume you are a certainy to back it up. Plus do you really need this sort of pain in your life again.

Yep you have to admire the Pies fighting qualities although I'm glad they get rolled. They made me work for it today. :)

Hopefully a few of the Tiger boys were watching on today and might actually be inspired with the effort they saw today.

Re: Re: Hate to say it...

Originally posted by mattyc2422

Ditto.
I felt the same way, not only during and after the game, but during the warm ups in the rooms and when they broke through the banner.

When they showed the Collingwood guys crying after they lost, even that made me want to be there. It should have been Hawthorn guys sooking. It's our job! ;)

Nah, I'm not going soft Docker Brat. I can see an admirable performance when there is one, and that certainly was one by the Pies. Equally so by the Lions. I was almost shaking I was so nervous near the finish.

The Hitman

Originally posted by Crow54
How long before Eddie starts sooking about the unfair salary cap advantage Brisbane has?
He had already made a song and dance about it in advance.

The salary cap is a non issue, Brisbane have been very astute (and a bit lucky at times) in their draft selections.

The Pies should be proud of themselves, and they should be holding their heads up high.

Only after the siren went did they stop, they were hard at it for four quarters, and in the end were pipped at the post by the possibly, more skilful and more luckier side.

Nobody gave them a chance in hell and they really gave it to the Lions.

It made for some great footy.

Originally posted by ozzult
The Pies should be proud of themselves, and they should be holding their heads up high.

Only after the siren went did they stop, they were hard at it for four quarters, and in the end were pipped at the post by the possibly, more skilful and more luckier side.

Nobody gave them a chance in hell and they really gave it to the Lions.

It made for some great footy.

I wouldn't have called Brisbane the more luckier side. Pies got some big breaks during the first 3 quarters.

Yeh the Pies were fantastic today.

Never gave up and should have got the lead if Rocca's goal wasn't called a behind, my mate was sitting right behind the goals and said it was definitely a goal.

But great effort to the Pies, and also by the Lions to stand up with so many injures, Beau McDonald would have been a huge loss, but Clarke Keating was absolutely brilliant and would have got about 35 hitouts I think.

Well done to both teams.

Originally posted by hawkfan5
Never gave up and should have got the lead if Rocca's goal wasn't called a behind, my mate was sitting right behind the goals and said it was definitely a goal.

Rocca himself said it was a goal (shock horror) and that it went inside the post by two feet. He may have been exaggerating, surely the umpire could'nt be that wrong?

Originally posted by hawkfan5
Yeh the Pies were fantastic today.

Doesn't matter if it went right through the centre, the umpire said it was touched off the boot by Chris Scott.

Originally posted by Mouldy Oldie

Doesn't matter if it went right through the centre, the umpire said it was touched off the boot by Chris Scott.

The touched goal was Tarrant's, Rocca's wasn't signalled touched, just a behind despite the roar from the crowd and Rocca's fist pumping celebration.

Hate to say it...