Hawk Headquarters.

• Thread starter Thread starter gollytas

It got made private BECAUSE of cranny pete, if memory serves correctly. Didn't he post Goldspinks number at one stage, and sanctions were imposed by higher bodies with deeper pockets?

Or is my memory and various chat rooms all blurring?
H2F would love to have Goldspinks number wouldn't ya mate?

It got made private BECAUSE of cranny pete, if memory serves correctly. Didn't he post Goldspinks number at one stage, and sanctions were imposed by higher bodies with deeper pockets?

TBH, I don't think that was the REAL reason that HHQ was made into a private forum.

It wasn't as if it was the Sphincter's home number that was published. It was his BUSINESS number, at the newsagency he ran, and the Sphincter himself actively promoted his business (and NAMED IT IN THE PROCESS) on the radio either that morning, or earlier that week. Any fool with a computer, or access to either that White or Yellow pages could LEGALLY have obtained that phone number, and called it.

I just think it was an excuse used by Mocca to weed out the so called "undesirables" from the boards over there.

And well said, Dr J.

Your memory is correct. Cranny Pete still posts at HHQ. See its a bit of a mind game, they blame Cranny for making the site private, but allow him to post. Now it was obvious the admin must be in support of Crannys cracking work, or he would be smart enough not to allow him to post. So the real reason the site was made private was from outside pressures because of Crannys post.

Crannypete may have access to view HHQ but he hasn't posted on there since the privatisation.

I'm surprised that a HHQ poster would claim cp posts there. Are you sure you have access?

Crannypete may have access to view HHQ but he hasn't posted on there since the privatisation.

I'm surprised that a HHQ poster would claim cp posts there. Are you sure you have access?

I never said I post at HHQ, nor do I have access. I read at Mightyhawk he posts there.

Pity that its such an exclusive club that only a select few can access it. It's funny how they state they wanted to get rid of the crap posters but people like Cranny Pete can still access Hawk Headquarters.
If Cranny does post I haven't seen him post.

I reckon he's probably got multiple aliases if he has access to hawk headquarters.

I never said I post at HHQ, nor do I have access. I read at Mightyhawk he posts there.
He reads and may post under another alias, but crannypete is no where to be seen at HHQ as he, or they, know that they are not wanted.

When MH first started up, he was cutting and pasting things said on HHQ by posters about the new MH site to try and build a faction of HHQ-haters. Luckily most people saw through the crap he was trying to start.

Pity that its such an exclusive club that only a select few can access it. It's funny how they state they wanted to get rid of the crap posters but people like Cranny Pete can still access Hawk Headquarters.
It's not as exclusive as it seems. Many people have been invited back since it re-opened.

And as it's been pointed out, CP does not have access, however the mods cannot pin popint who his other alias(s) is so therefore he can still read...and most probably post under another name.

HHQ is a less active site then big footy. When I go to HHQ every thread they have is pretty much identical of what you can find on big footy.

What's going on here, eh Roughie??

Your memory is correct. Cranny Pete still posts at HHQ. See its a bit of a mind game, they blame Cranny for making the site private, but allow him to post. Now it was obvious the admin must be in support of Crannys cracking work, or he would be smart enough not to allow him to post. So the real reason the site was made private was from outside pressures because of Crannys post.
How do you know if crannypete posts if you don't have access to Hawkheadquarters?

I wonder if HHQ could give fans "view only" access to their forum? That would prevent troublesome posters surely?

That's the biggest load of crap I've read on here for some time.

Binxy, HHQ is a private board now because the mods and admin wanted to cut some of the infantile crap that was going on throughout the forum before the closure. Everyone remember 'Max Power'? Or the calls for Clarksons head after every loss.
It's now a much more informative place with great analysis and discussion.

I AGREE with C-L-A..... at the end HHQ was hawk on hawk fighting. Im guessing thats one of the reasons it closed up. so it could clean up and go again.

It sounds like theyre kinda on the right track again, i just thought it was dissapointing the way they treated some posters and talked about them behind there backs on the private forum section they had going.

Any how time to enjoy the present and big footy is where we are so lets focus back on our hawks.

Why is it invitation only? Is it to keep out the trolls or do the posters there think they are better or more hardcore/passionate?

It sounds like the latter but I wouldn't know.

Its sad but hhq definitely seem to think there better then the fellow Hawthorn supporters.

Can't say I've read hhq since the privatisation thing but given the rationale of the Board was to separate themselves its interesting that the the invited posters see the need to read/post in other forums.

It was closed right after crannypete posted Goldspink's newsagency phone number, you remember correctly. I am not a moderator there, have never been, nor do I know any of them. However, I am pretty confident this was only the straw that broke the camels back, so to speak. It seems moderating a forum is a time consuming business, and HHQ was pretty big at the end. There were a lot of idiots posting a lot of rubbish, and the intelligent, well informed football discussion was no longer in the majority. I think Mocca and co just lost patience with having to wade through all the turds. I am not sure of the details of any legal type implications, but I think having to deal with this sort of issue was also a factor.

crannypete does not post on HHQ. Not under that username at any rate.

Its sad but hhq definitely seem to think there better then the fellow Hawthorn supporters.

Can't say I've read hhq since the privatisation thing but given the rationale of the Board was to separate themselves its interesting that the the invited posters see the need to read/post in other forums.

If you haven't read HHQ since it went private, how do you know who is still posting on there , let alone what they think?

I don't think anyone on HHQ is strutting around gloating and thinking "we're better". I'd say a lot of people who have access to that forum don't even post there anymore. It's a bit of a shame, really, but the privatisation (a necessary thing) has also limited the sense of life on there a little. I liked the old HHQ, even with the annoying posters. I always felt they sparked good discussion and debate. Of those that are left, it seems some like the discussion that takes place there exclusively, while others (such as Dr J) will peruse Hawthorn discussion wherever they can find it. I know I'm like that. It's all about Hawthorn after all.

MightyHawk, Hawthorn board (and sub-board), bay13, there is still a lot of Hawthorn chat going on. It's not all bad.

Enjoy what you've got. You are only missing out if you think you are.

Go Hawks.:thumbsu:

Why is it invitation only? Is it to keep out the trolls or do the posters there think they are better or more hardcore/passionate?

It sounds like the latter but I wouldn't know.

It's to keep the trolls out. *is a member* :cool:

I do not think so. HHQ is a less acitve site then big footy. When I go to HHQ every thread they have is pretty much identical of what you can find on big footy.

BF is my first stop, and if I am bored I see if hhq has anything, it ussually doesnt, thats why my post count is lower there then on this forum.

Hey what's your username of HHQ Roughie???

P.S. The errors on MightyHawk are from Mozilla. Use Internet Explorer and it works fine.

If you're complaining about HHQ 'exclusivity' whats going on here?

Big Footy Hawks may have an exclusive section here, but thats for every proven real hawk supporter. Also the other on big footy hawks have a section on the hawk site, where they get a chance to show their loyality and passion for the hawks...... They have hope! On HHQ they have next to no hope. Move on peoples this thread is just destructive..... Back to our hawks please

H2F would love to have Goldspinks number wouldn't ya mate?

brother the other day i comed into town and found this newsagency in bennettswood what puts there mars bars in a fridge its wicked they are harder and chewier i would recommend a visit to this newsagency if you are in the bennettswood area

ps tell them crannypete sent you

Oh no, they definitely don't think they are better supporters :rolleyes:

mulhollanddrive said:
HHQ is i think made up of people who registered in 2002-2004 who have lived through the Schwab era of posting, and hence dont accept mediocrity being part of our club, such as Brereton, Hook, Kinsgley Hunter, Dent, O'Farrell etc...

BigFooty, has maybe 20% of the types of people who would post on HHQ, while the rest of them are newbies or teenagers who can't think past the next week - EG lets draft Keplar Bradley/Stuart Dew will kick 30-40 goals in a forward pocket.

MH is about 70% of BF, 30% HHQ. There is decent stuff on each, but significantly a lot of garbage and egos on the others.

moistie said:
My Top 5 Websites

1. HHQ
2. Cyberdunk/Talkdep
3. Facebook
4. Google/GMail/Hotmail
5. Bigfooty (sad I know but I like to verbally beat on morons occasionally)

davo78 said:
1. HHQ
2. Facebook (recently galvanized by family and friends)
3. YouTube
4. BigFooty (same as moistie) :D
5. Cricket Victoria (check out local scores etc.)

theres more borthers but you get the drift

Here you are again, trying to stir up more trouble between the different sites.

Big deal if Davo and Moisties most visited/favourite site is HHQ, it's mine as well.

Mullhollandrive is right. Bigfooty, whether you chose to admit it or not, has more than it's fair share of numbnuts, and I'm not saying that against Hawk supporters in general, but we do have a couple.

Moisties statement isn't against Hawk supporters, it's aimed at people like gump and gc_26.

Originally Posted by moistie
My Top 5 Websites

1. HHQ
2. Cyberdunk/Talkdep
3. Facebook
4. Google/GMail/Hotmail
5. Bigfooty (sad I know but I like to verbally beat on morons occasionally)

I agree GALON, posting this and other posts like this out of context on this site is another attempt at a beat up.

As both MH & HHQ are Hawk only sites how else can someone beat up on supporters from another club? They go onto Bay13 on BF or some of the other club sites in BF - just like many Hawk posters on Big Footy do.

And I am sure these comments don't relate to them coming onto Big Footy to hang it on Hawk supporters - but to hang it on those more outlandish (moronic) plebs from other teams.

That's the biggest load of crap I've read on here for some time.

Binxy, HHQ is a private board now because the mods and admin wanted to cut some of the infantile crap that was going on throughout the forum before the closure. Everyone remember 'Max Power'? Or the calls for Clarksons head after every loss.
It's now a much more informative place with great analysis and discussion.

Yes it was a negative place, but only because hawthorn wasn't traveling that well.

I remember sifting through all the threads after each loss. Thinking it will be great reading the change in attitudes when we start to win. Only to be kicked out before it happened. :(

I visit all three and I think they are all good in there own ways. My problem though is with people who bag BigFooty but come on here. Or bag MightHawk or HHQ but go on there.

They are all good but different.

I like MightyHawk because it is well run and not over moderated.

I like HHQ because there is some clever people on there.

I like BigFooty because it's got a very strong Hawk community with lot's of members.