Hawk Memories

Baron Baldrick

Hey there Roo Buddies,

This week it's the Hawks.
* Fellow strugglers of the Early years;
* Fierce Rivals in the 70's (just a bit young to remember the pain & glory agst them);
* Unbeatable for us through the 80's - early 90's;
* Easybeats for us though the mid-late 90's

Keen to read your memories (good & bad) on playing agst the Mob from Glenferrie.

Apart from the many clinics the King has put on for them, 2 games are etched in the memory - both of them finals:
* 1994 - famous for the 1st extra time finals game. A classic contest, which still send shivers down my spine.
* 2000 - what can I say? Do I need to say anything? Awesome!!!!

Thoughts...

Balders

1984 - North Melbourne vs Hawthorn at the MCG. Jim Krakouer dances down the half foward flank in the dying seconds and nails a goal that secures a draw for us.

1994 - Round 3 at the MCG where we finally brought an end to a 10 year long losing streak against Hawthorn by a comfy 21 goals. When I got home, I rang my best friend who was in England at the time and just yelled, "WE'VE FINALLY BEATEN THE F*CKING BASTARDS!!!!!!!" down the phone.

Originally posted by Baron Baldrick
.* 2000 - what can I say? Do I need to say anything? Awesome!!!!
Balders

I need some help here Baron what awesome about 2000 we got pumped in round 8 and won a final by 10 points. Tell me whats awesome about that???

Its hard to go past the time on final. beating them for all those years was great.

GET WELL AINNERS !!!
Go the Skull !!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC..

1984 - Top (Hawthorn) vs bottom (Us:(). We beat them by 12 goals. I remember thinking "hang on, have they got that right?" when it was read out on the news - it was before I could attend matches on a regular basis. One of few footy memories from those days, as I was only 8 or 9.

1994 - About Round 2, THAT caning, beating them by 127 points after we hadn't beaten them in 10 years. Carey kicked 7 I think, with Nick Holland playing on him at CHB/FB. It was only about Holland's second game, and he did not look at all like a footballer that night. Might have also been his last game for the year, it would have scarred that deep. :D

1994 - The extra time final when Carey turned it on at Waverley. Sensational stuff.

Most of our games since then have been fairly routine victories, except the final last year which I missed.

2000 - I have a few issues with the Hawks. I remember winning the final which was cool but I almost got into a punch on with a group of 14 year old boys. Not generally my style but I digress...

Tony Woods - how sh!t was the guy and does he ever play out 4 quarters?

Shayne Crawford - one of the dirtiest racist scum bags ever to have collected a Brownlow medal.

Anthony Rock - I hated you when you were at North because I thought you were smelly and that time I went up and got a photo of you and my friend, it was only because he hated you more than me and it turned out to be a funny prank putting him on the spot like that. Top photo, my friend looks really p!ssed off.

Paul Salmon - memories of turning my back on you when your leper team mates chaired you off the ground after you lost. Asking spazzo Dorks fans to get out of my way so I could sing my club song as I danced up the aisle. Disrespectful, nuthin! Your hero, not mine.

Originally posted by Shinboners
By the way, I've still got the video of that '94 game vs the Hawks. I tell you what Darky....you get your KFC and VB, I'll bring my cheese and wine, and we'll watch that match sometime soon.

Maybe we could arrange a loan for copying deal?

I have the 96 Carey vs Melbourne game which BT taped for me (and he was not happy about having to do it!), and highlights of the North vs Richmond game from 1990 where Horse kicked 12.

Consider it a done deal Darky.....I'll bring the video of Roos vs Hawks '94 next time I see you.

If I bring a blank tape, could you can make me a copy of Wayne Carey vs the Snow Bunnies '96?

Done deal. It's straight off Optus, so there's no ad breaks, and the game is in full. Crystal clear quality, better than my dodgy reception here.

I've also got a copy of West Ham vs Manchester United form the last round of 1995-96, where Ludek Miklosko performed miracle save after miracle save to deny ManUre the 3 points and the championship.

I'll throw that in for free. :D

Well, I've got the Eric the King video....every single one of his goals in a Manchester United shirt...and he lifts a few trophies as well. :D

I've also got season review videos from Manchester United's last 7 (SEVEN...count them...1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7)....Championship winning seasons (that's 92/93, 93/94, 95/96, 96/97 98/99, 99/00, 2000/01....it includes 3 FA Cup wins and a European Champions League win against some team from Germany who forgot that the game lasts for 90 minutes ;) , so you get value for money. If you have a spare day or two, we could watch each one if you want. :D

Well, I've got the Eric the King video....every single one of his goals in a Manchester United shirt...and he lifts a few trophies as well. :D

I've also got season review videos from Manchester United's last 7 (SEVEN...count them...1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7)....Championship winning seasons (that's 92/93, 93/94, 95/96, 96/97 98/99, 99/00, 2000/01....it includes 3 FA Cup wins and a European Champions League win against some team from Germany who forgot that the game lasts for 90 minutes ;) , so you get value for money. If you have a spare day or two, we could watch each one if you want. :D

Some team from Germany, eh?

Well I don't care about Champions League cos I barrack for Stuttgart Kickers. :p
:(

Originally posted by Darky

If Crawford really wanted to have a go at Bell, he would have called him a lawyer.

hehe, you're right!

:D

I don't know what Bell's retort was but I trust is was cleverly articulated & suitably demeaning.

G'day Darky, Shinners. I'll stop haunting your board shortly.

I've got to say, I'd love to see that 1994 final again, just to see the absolutely brilliant games turned on by John Platten and Darren Jarman. I think with pre-game and then mid-game injuries the tallest bloke we had on the ground was around 190cm, yet we still pushed you to extra time. Those two South Aussie champions (with a bit of help from Bungy) practically played 2 on 18 in the second half.

The greatness of that game is not acknowledged enough - I'd love to see the last quarter and extra time (well, perhaps not the extra time) on a Grand Final Marathon one night.

When I was getting carried away with sledging the Hawks before, I forgot to add that I really like John Barker.

The Johnny Barker Wing are awesome, there should be more like it.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
The greatness of that game is not acknowledged enough - I'd love to see the last quarter and extra time (well, perhaps not the extra time) on a Grand Final Marathon one night.

I remember that the Hawks almost had the game won in the last quarter. One of my Hawthorn friends (who was no fan of Ken Judge) said that the Hawks should have put more men in defence to deny the Roos forwards any space to operate in (remember, these were the days before flooding became a catch-phrase and an all-purpose excuse on why your team lost)....he reckons if the Hawks did that, they would have held out long enough to win the game.

I agree that the greatness of the game hasn't truly been acknowledged enough.

I remember that the Hawks almost had the game won in the last quarter. One of my Hawthorn friends (who was no fan of Ken Judge) said that the Hawks should have put more men in defence to deny the Roos forwards any space to operate in (remember, these were the days before flooding became a catch-phrase and an all-purpose excuse on why your team lost)....he reckons if the Hawks did that, they would have held out long enough to win the game.

I agree that the greatness of the game hasn't truly been acknowledged enough.

I reckon the greatness of Wayne Carey hasn't truly been acknowledged enough.

1975 - Our first flag and Peter Knights huge mark over the great man Arn... and Briedis's four goals in the last 1/4 to seal Norths first flag. :)

1977 - Barry Cable tearing the Hawks apart to give North a spot in the GF.

:confused: Somewhere in between (1978 I think) - Blight missing from right in front to lose the game in the mud at Arden Street.

1984 - Krakouer! (Says it all!)

1994 - The pleasure after so many years of pain.....Rock had a blinder.

1994 - What a final ("Kick it Kingy, KICK IT FOR GODS SAKE!") :eek: