Hawkins - kick the ******* goal.

• Thread starter Thread starter madcat001

I seriously doubt that tomahawk would make the 22 for 80% of the competition with the form that he's in. I love him and he'll be a gun but he’s looking sluggish and slow which he didn't seem to be at the start of the season. He needs a rest.

when the big boy at 6"6 or 7 or whatever he is, marks 40m out straight in front and then dishes off to a 50/50 option the pocket, it's obvious someone needs to have a talk to him. there selfless-ness, and theres just stupidity. C'mon tommmy.

Yup, agree. Couldnt believe what I was seeing when he did that. Stokes (?) got the free kick so that was lucky, but the angle was terrible. No advantage in kicking it out there!!!! But meh, the goal kicking in general was so frustrating last night, lots of players made mistakes.

Was also frustrating to watch Carlton's pathetic efforts with 6 mins to go in the 2nd. Fair enough if you are 3 goals up with a few mins to go and you need to defend your lead. But ****ing hell that was shit. :rolleyes:

About 5-10 minutes before that, when Carlton were rallying and generally looking pretty good, I yelled out "Better stop doing that Carlton, you'll lose your priority pick otherwise". Guess Judd must've heard me, since he was the one who started it. :p

Pretty ordinary football really. Could understand it if you were a couple of goals up deep in the last quarter, but doing it when 19 points down just before half time was bizarre to say the least. I was just peeved that we didn't get the ball back and kick a goal to really rub it in.

He definitely needs a spell in the magoos, he's clearly unfit. ( like a few of the other boys too ) :rolleyes:

I can't believe he didn't take that shot for goal last night.

Actually I know for a fact that Hawkins aerobic fitness is better than at any stage during his time at Geelong.

The issue with Tom (and a few team mates) is that Geelong just finished a very heavy loading on the track which was always planned regardless of playing in the wet or any other factors ....... in fact, it coincided (as planned) with not having any interstate travel and was also why they were all told to play the "extra" game if selected and fit for the tribute game.

They had no choice, given the shortened pre season compared to most of the other clubs ......... also explains wht they were flat for the Collingwood game which was the end of the loading.

Again, yet another reason why internally the club (in particular the coach) is ecstatic at a 9-1 start. I'm told from someone down there that they wanted to turn after round 11 with 7 wins (or more) which they thought would set them up for a big 2nd half of the season with their training and match conditioning plans put in place before round 1.

Pretty ordinary football really. Could understand it if you were a couple of goals up deep in the last quarter, but doing it when 19 points down just before half time was bizarre to say the least. I was just peeved that we didn't get the ball back and kick a goal to really rub it in.

I was more peeved they got a 50M and THEY got a goal after all of it. :rolleyes:

Seriously, did they not hear the crowd booing? Have they no shame? Guess not.

I was more peeved they got a 50M and THEY got a goal after all of it. :rolleyes:

Seriously, did they not hear the crowd booing? Have they no shame? Guess not.

What was that 50m penalty for anyway? A Geelong player being honest and telling the umpire his decision making was crap?

Who knows. A few 50s were given against us!!!

I thought the umpiring was generally ok. I dont recall abusing them much last night. ;)

Who knows. A few 50s were given against us!!!

I thought the umpiring was generally ok. I dont recall abusing them much last night. ;)

I thought if anything the umpiring favoured us a bit on Saturday night. There were a few marks that weren't paid to Carlton, and Gaz was lucky not to give away a 50m penalty, although I think the Carlton player took a step back to make sure Gaz ran across the mark. Had no effect on the end result though.

Actually I know for a fact that Hawkins aerobic fitness is better than at any stage during his time at Geelong.

The issue with Tom (and a few team mates) is that Geelong just finished a very heavy loading on the track which was always planned regardless of playing in the wet or any other factors ....... in fact, it coincided (as planned) with not having any interstate travel and was also why they were all told to play the "extra" game if selected and fit for the tribute game.

They had no choice, given the shortened pre season compared to most of the other clubs ......... also explains wht they were flat for the Collingwood game which was the end of the loading.

Again, yet another reason why internally the club (in particular the coach) is ecstatic at a 9-1 start. I'm told from someone down there that they wanted to turn after round 11 with 7 wins (or more) which they thought would set them up for a big 2nd half of the season with their training and match conditioning plans put in place before round 1.

I was unaware they were doing this, if this is correct its pretty scary that we are 9-1, after just finishing that kind of workload but it does explain the performance levels against the pies. It will be interesting to see how the performance levels lift now in the group. I missed the game the other night due to a 20th but the kid is only 19 and will become a real star for us in the years to come, but their could be a few reasons why he doesn't have a shot as he sees a lot of unselfishness in the forward line and probably feels compelled to do it as well instead of going back and kicking it himself or just confidence. Carrying an injury would be doubtful seem its early on in the season and no point in risking further damage by playing him.

He's not carrying an injury ......... but he is a young "kid" who's body has not matured (not size wise but stress carrying wise) and after a big pre season ..... heavy training block .... and 10 weeks of AFL football, is starting to have fatigue set in.

Happens to all players in their first few years and it's not until about year 3-4 that you develop a body capable of carrying injuries - stress - fatugue over 20+ weeks of football. Same problem with Gamble - he's not injured ........ just tired / sore.

In simple terms - Hawkins is tired (and will definately get a break). Lonergan was held back for that reason as they new they would need someone to replace Hawkins. Expect Tom to be managed through 4-5 weeks of training and VFL football and then look for him to push for selection about round 15-16. Lonergan has been told he's got a month of AFL football (minimum) ahead of him.

He's not carrying an injury ......... but he is a young "kid" who's body has not matured (not size wise but stress carrying wise) and after a big pre season ..... heavy training block .... and 10 weeks of AFL football, is starting to have fatigue set in.

Happens to all players in their first few years and it's not until about year 3-4 that you develop a body capable of carrying injuries - stress - fatugue over 20+ weeks of football. Same problem with Gamble - he's not injured ........ just tired / sore.

In simple terms - Hawkins is tired (and will definately get a break). Lonergan was held back for that reason as they new they would need someone to replace Hawkins. Expect Tom to be managed through 4-5 weeks of training and VFL football and then look for him to push for selection about round 15-16. Lonergan has been told he's got a month of AFL football (minimum) ahead of him.

yeah thats understandable from him, do you reckon the mooney injury was a set back from giving hawkins a rest over the next few weeks than??

I don't really see the parallel between the heavy training load and Hawkins not taking set shots at goal.

But I am more than happy if their player management gives us the maximum possibility of winning every game, and especially if Lonergan can keep performing at AFL level like he did this weekend, definitely gives us that +1 versatility for KPP at both ends we need. He was only nerves away from kicking 5 in the end.

from reading a few articles over the wknd it seems pretty certain that hawk will be out this wk, i think this is the best thing for him to go back and kick a few bags and get him to remember wat being a forward is all about!

Why not get Gary Snr at the club to give some tips to Hawkins about forward play. Win win situation I would think. He needs some confidence and surely that would help him.

I don't really see the parallel between the heavy training load and Hawkins not taking set shots at goal.

But I am more than happy if their player management gives us the maximum possibility of winning every game, and especially if Lonergan can keep performing at AFL level like he did this weekend, definitely gives us that +1 versatility for KPP at both ends we need. He was only nerves away from kicking 5 in the end.

If he is as fatigued as Jumping Jack is inferring, he would not have confidence in the strength of his legs to carry 45+ meters. I know when I've been running heaps and feel fatigued, the last thing I think I can do is kick a long ball. When your legs feel like jelly, it's much more tempting to pass off to someone closer to goal than fail to make the distance.

A few weeks in the VFL will be good not only for his confidence, but also to give him a 'rest' (be much easier to play than AFL), and see him come back with a good fitness base, and not be fatigued.

If he is as fatigued as Jumping Jack is inferring, he would not have confidence in the strength of his legs to carry 45+ meters. I know when I've been running heaps and feel fatigued, the last thing I think I can do is kick a long ball. When your legs feel like jelly, it's much more tempting to pass off to someone closer to goal than fail to make the distance.

your not henry playfair are you???

I actually don't think he is that big of a kick.. I haven't seen him slot any from 50+

He was banging them through from 50-55m out last year, and don't forget that kick off two steps from 55 versus Melbourne earlier this year.

The lad has legs like tree trunks, it's only natural he can send it sailing off. But if he's rooted like he seems to be at the moment then he is probably feeling a lack of confidence in his ability to boom it long.

A week or two in the less intense magoos should help.

I actually don't think he is that big of a kick.. I haven't seen him slot any from 50+

Wasn't his first AFL goal against Carlton from outside the 50 arc on a 45 degree angle??

I'm pretty sure he can make the journey. If he isn't at the moment it is either confidence (most likely), instruction (possible) or injury (seems unlikely since Lonergan and S. Simpson have been waiting in the wings).

Like all of us, I think he just needs a good old shot-in-arm of confidence.

They mentioned that kick last night at the mid season function (i think it was a question from the crowd which Billy passed on).

I believe it was Hinkley who responded in the end although it could have been one of the others. The coaches basically said that they also thought he should have taken the shot but are not being overly harsh given 1) he is still learning, 2) he was trying to do the team 'thing' even though in this case the team thing was probably to kick us the goal.

Personally i'm quite happy with how he has improved from last season. He's clearly in better physical condition and shows some great ball handling skills and agility for a guy his size. Given big guys can often take a number of years to reach their potential I think he's been improving really quickly.

Maybe he needs a little more confidence (arrogance?) to be a Carey like player but i think that could come with time. Looking forward to seeing what he can do in a couple of years time.

However, I do agree with the topic title. He should have had a shot. Let's hope next time he does!