Hawkins

Thats what worried me about Pods coming back - it does tend to clutter up the space down there at times. We all saw in the GF what Hawkins can do if left one-out, so either Pods pushes right up the ground or he misses out in my opinion. Not that my opinion counts for much but hey its Big Footy. :D

I'd personally have Hawkins pushing up the ground, in the old Mooney role.

I had this thought/theory whilst watching the game at Etihad on Friday and then again last night when i watched a replay. Hawkins hadn't recovered from surgery and wasn't quite right.

Theory -
Cats knew Pods wouldn't play Friday night so were forced to name Hawkins.... Just watching him he was calling for it on his head all night, very limited work rate and leading for marks. Saw he did get a few up the ground in the end though. I really think he was just in there for a tall defender - he didn't seem to make much of his usual impact by attacking the ball at his usual new regularity.

Just a thought...anybody else notice this? Then again, maybe he just played like crap.
He was really superb and that he most likely an incredible player.

Not me.....Hawkins is a collosus in the goal square and creates all sorts of panic and uncertainty in the minds of opposition defenders which creates opportunities for others.. An occasional foray downfield is fine of course, but I am more with hbk on this topic...

I stated elsewhere that I believe we will see less and less of Pods over the next 12 months...especially if Walker develops well. The kid is 19 and has a tank and a half apparently. HE might be perfect for the mobile Mooney role while Hawk menaces the forward 50. With the MC obviously intent on developing young players for the future, Walker seems an obvious choice going forward.

Opposition clubs would love him taking marks up the ground - no danger to them there. One-out in the 50 ala grand final is where he can dominate. Also reads the ball better off the boot these days, like the banana late from Motlop which he marked. And the one he dropped 20 out!

There is when Pods is there. Pods is one of the best contested marks in the league as well and has been kicking better than Hawkins for the majority of this year. I'd suggest it's more to do with whom the opposition decides to put on them. Since (if both play) the obvious matchups look to be Rutten -> Hawkins; Talia -> Pods, I'd be inclined to get Pods one out in the goalsquare, with Hawkins making leads between the 40m out and the centre square. If Rutten changes opponents, Hawkins and Pods change roles.

Did you watch the Grand Final, or Friday nights match against Essendon? Can't agree with you on this one MC

Yes, I was at both games. You could say exactly the same thing about Pods against North Melbourne this year, his recent games against Hawthorn, or his game against Brisbane at the Gabba last year (with Hawkins also playing an important role in pretty much all of these games, which suggests to me that they can and have worked extremely well together, particularly in the past year). I think Pods is a far more natural full forward and Hawkins is a far more natural centre half forward, though that can vary, depending on the defenders the opposition puts on each. In an ideal world, I'd like every attack to be funneled through Hawkins, with him getting more of the ball and more marks, but Pods kicking more goals. If Hawkins is grabbing them like he has been this year, as often as not it will leave Pods one out (against the second defender), which is where he is at his best.

Pods is a good full forward, Hawkins has the potential to be a great one. You only need to watch the Grand Final to see how he actually disheartens the opposition when he gets going. Far more intimidating a presence now too. And he's much younger.

Happy for them to swap occasionally, but for me Pods leads up the ground more (I think he's better at it too), and Hawkins stays close to home. Work on the principle of what the opposition would like least; and no coach wants Hawkins 20 metres out from goal one out.

Prefer Pods up the ground and Hawk in the square. I think Pods is more effective in general play.

Agreed. Dont f&*k with the chemistry. Hawkins is dangerous deep in the 50 arc.
Even when he hasnt been kicking many goals, he still plucks heaps of contested marks.
Unfortunately he just cant kick straight (with the exception of last friday). He will evenutally get his radar right though.
Just need to keep persisting with Tommy. We are slowly starting to see some good results now.
Prolly play Pods either up the ground on either Centre half forward or the better option, chuck him in the forward pocket as you need a massive engine to play CHF and he simply wont have the petrol in the tank first game back.
Pods is still very valuable even if he was in poor form prior to getting injured.
He still has a lot to offer and he is an excellent accurate kick.
We just need to make sure he gets the f&*k outta the way when the ball is coming in the Tom Hawkins direction.
One of the biggest X factors for me is who they are going to play on Steve Johnson.
He is the X factor for mine.
Last time they used Brodie Smith who did an excellent job.
But can he do it again? I have my doubts. it will take a massive effort from Smith to repeat that job earlier in the year.
Look out for Motlop too and dont be surprised if he kicks 2 or 3.
They'll need to find a very good match up too that can run with our young gun.

Am excited. For the first time in close a couple of decades, we have a monster forward! Mooney and Ben Graham were decent, but they didnt command the respect and the attention from the opposition nearly as much as Hawkins is beginning to.

Yep, Gary Ablett senior, who obviously wasn't a "monster" in size but way above that in talent. Stoneham and Brownless were both good, but I reckon Hawkins could be better than either if he keeps improving.

I think some especially the media have really underrated his season,

He leads the comp in Marks inside 50,
2nd in the comp Contested Marks,
Top 20 for goal assists,
And 7th Overall Goals,

Also has far less clangers than the likes of Franklin especially but also Riewoldt, Pavlich, Petrie ect

I think some especially the media have really underrated his season,

He leads the comp in Marks inside 50,
2nd in the comp Contested Marks,
Top 20 for goal assists,
And 7th Overall Goals,

Also has far less clangers than the likes of Franklin especially but also Riewoldt, Pavlich, Petrie ect

If he keeps marking like he did against Essendon - and converting like that as well - they won't be overrating him much longer.

It's not just the marking that's improved remarkably, it's his consistency now. There isn't a huge gulf between best games and worst games, and even in his quieter games he takes better marks than he ever used to. Just hoping the goalkicking ends up at the same quality. Then we'll have an absolute superstar.

If he keeps marking like he did against Essendon - and converting like that as well - they won't be overrating him much longer.

It's not just the marking that's improved remarkably, it's his consistency now. There isn't a huge gulf between best games and worst games, and even in his quieter games he takes better marks than he ever used to. Just hoping the goalkicking ends up at the same quality. Then we'll have an absolute superstar.

Yep, that's what I have been so impressed with. Years gone by if he missed a goal or dropped an easy mark early, you could pretty much pencil him in for a stinker because he'd drop his head. These days he will keep working to get himself into the contest even if he is having an off night, as evidenced a fortnight ago against Collingwood where he couldn't buy a goal, but kept contesting and marking everything.

We've all been saying it for the last few years that he needs to find belief and confidence in himself. It seems to have finally clicked for him that he is stronger, and a higher leap, than 90% of the competition and is starting to play like it.

Hawkins' improvement has been my favourite part of this year.

Hard to know what to do with Pods. Is obviously a good full forward, but Hawkins has well surpassed him now and must be the predominant focal point.

I think Walker can fill the Max Rooke role and be a tough defensive forward capable of giving us some mongrel again. Not sure if we are game enough to try that at this stage of the season - Hawkins/Pods/Walker....but i think that would be a great finals combination.

Agree MC Dollop. If Pods is playing then Hawkins up the ground, one kick from goal, no nerves that way. Pods is a great read of the ball and can either mark or bring to ground. That does mean that we roving forwards tough and a game plan that brings them into it.

Take potentially the most dangerous young marking forward in the competition away from the FF post, where he could do most damage and run him up the ground to accommodate Pods.
Those days should be over they are at opposite ends of there time in football,nurture the young Goliaths.

Im not sure its in our side interest to focus on just FF , just CHF , stay at home or up the ground. We should look for miss-matches and play to our strengths. Once one player shows form , he draws attention , its then time for another to step up. What we dont want is two players fighting for the same ball all the time.

eg. Hawk takes a mark in the square great , then takes his defender wide to allow Pods/Walker to mark in square. Then someone like SJ or Motlop chip in. Much harder to stop.

Walker will improve but Pods has still plenty to offer imo. but there is no doubt Hawk is the leader in our Forwardline now.

Look at Hawthorn last night. Better or worse for having Franklin being the main target?

Hawkins