Hawks bog ordinary

Nonsense post. We have the youngest squad in the competition. Of course, we're going to struggle with the majority of our backline missing and our best ruckman having to play as a key defender.

We may have the youngest squad in the competition but the team Essendon fielded was full year younger on average than our team. A year doesn't sound like much but in respect to average team ages terms it is an eternity. For instance Hawthorn was only a couple of months younger than the "Young Blues" they played last week.

Youth and injuries are no excuse, Essendon were faster, better skilled and wanted the ball more.

We were crap because Essendon made us look that way.

I think that at our best we can win another flag, but we are so far from our best at the moment that finals are not even a certainty, let alone a top 4 finish.

Question: Corad Gilham are injured - who are their backups?

Thorp? Injured and has done nothing due to injuries and who else?

Seems like a massive weakness in the list? We have one and have drafted heavily to find our replacements? Have the Hawks messed up here?

And no Hodge is not a KPP - he is a flanker and should never play key post.

Definite premiership hangover for mine. Not enough intensity and too few doing too much.

We may have the youngest squad in the competition but the team Essendon fielded was full year younger on average than our team.
A year doesn't sound like much but in respect to average team ages terms it is an eternity. For instance Hawthorn was only a couple of months younger than the "Young Blues" they played last week.

Youth and injuries are no excuse, Essendon were faster, better skilled and wanted the ball more.

We were crap because Essendon made us look that way.

I think that at our best we can win another flag, but we are so far from our best at the moment that finals are not even a certainty, let alone a top 4 finish.

you sure about that champ cause we fielded our youngest ever team since 1990...

Backing up after a flag is one of the hardest things in football. Any sniff of arrogance and satisfaction will bring a team undone. It's why so few teams win back to back and when it does happen, it's usually by a team with a lot of experience like Brisbane had in their threepeat. Hawthorn are a young team, I think they'll struggle this year but be back in the hunt next year.

Why is it that everytime Hodge is out of form he makes injury excuses. He peeked up at the screen saw the camera was on him then had a tug at his groin. Probably hoped it would do as an excuse for weeks of poor form....soft.

He has been woeful this yr...esp for a VC.

You are a goose mate. Hodge doesnt make excuses, its everyone else that does it for him. He has clearly been playing injured. Time for a rest.
Having said that, monfries was very good last night and ess were just way too good for us on the night. They ran harder and were generally hungrier than us. If we lose to freo next week we will be in trouble.

Hawks are a non factor this year, be lucky to make the 8. Hodge gets confused playing on good players, Franklin partied too hard, Roughy can't make things happen, Mitchell can't even play in the middle at the moment, and the backline robots don't know how to play on a man when it is needed. Too slow.

Essendon last night showed how to completely destruct the zone and slaaaughtered the Hawks on the rebound. Will be interesting to see how Clarkson reacts now.

Also, Essendon are Jekyll and Hyde. Looked crap against us last week, looked great last night. Result of a young team I guess.

Have any of you excuse makers looked at the two line-ups last night? Going into the game it looked like a certain win for Hawthorn, odds in their favour.

No injury / position crap. You should have been better than the list of players Essendon fielded up but the Hawks form is just that bad right now.

Hawks bog in the toilet ordinary.

I'd really like to know where Hawthorns (mythical) "depth" is. For ages on BF and in the media, people were banging on and on about how the Hawks had the most and best depth in the AFL. No matter if a few went down, theird be heaps to back it up. IMO - clearly not. A few injuries + an obvious premiership hangover, they have nothing and currently sit at 3 and 4.

Laughing all the way!!!

The Hawks lost: wheel out the haters for more of the same.

Pathetic effort but it is the wake-up call that is needed.

Its round 7 people.

Get Guerra, Birchall, Osborne, Hodge, Bateman, Gilham, Croad, Ellis, Mitchell and Young match-fit and clicking and Hawthorn should return to the team you all know and hate.

Easier said than done though....

And yet the Dons had more "vital" players out injured and still towelled your mob up, every team has injuries and none of those named are actually stars.
A big return to earth for Hawks supporters, maybe a bit of arrogance will be knocked out of a few of their supporters on here .

MASSIVE upset, gotta love the underdog. Hawthorn fluked the 2008 flag, even they know that. Thankfully there wont be any "Steven Bradbury" efforts this year.

yawn...rubbish post.

we won 20 matches, lost 5....not deserving? geelong and hawthorn were the top 2 by a mile last year. we smash dogs by 10 goals, saints by 10 goals in the other finals and won the gf by 5 goals.

it wasn't a fluke. fool.

this season we're playing terrible footy. it happens to all teams. look at brisbane...been shit for years now. they fluke their last flag then?

Depleted backline, missing Gilham & Croad. Have no key backmen so we're shoving Campbell down there to do a job and his getting murdered. Fev killed us last week and Llyod & Neagle tonight.

That's true, but it's poor team planning that has put Hawthorn in that position. Hawthorn is way too dependent on Gilham and Croad. It shouldn't be that if you lose 2 key defenders that you have to put a second string ruckman on prime forwards like Fevola. As bad as Melbourne is right now, even we wouldn't have to resort to that if we lost 2 KP defenders. It worked out for the Hawks last year, but it's coming undone now.

Doc Larkins put it in perspective on triple M today when he read out the huge list of Hawk players that had interrupted preseasons. That makes it awfully hard. Luck with injuries is a huge part of every sides ability to be competitive.

Very ordinary last night. Crap disposals, and very bad decision making.
Too many turn overs cost us the game.
But im not saying it'll continue for the rest of the season.
Its only round 7. We can turn around next week, and go on a winning streak. Who knows?
What i do know is, we are better then what we showed last night. Once the players understand this, and we get our backline back to full strength, we'll start playing better footy!
But by all means Carlton supporters, brag away :)

Hawks bog ordinary