Hawks dwindling crowds

Apr 24, 2013
Arden Street Hill
Essendon Lawn Bowls Club
Collingwood 30k? They've drawn 17k and 22k to home games in the last couple of seasons.

I'm referring to across the board averages in a downturn, but point noted Rob.

What we can garner from this is that all clubs can be severely affected during a long downturn.

Nov 8, 2000
South of the river
Peel Thunder
I'm referring to across the board averages in a downturn, but point noted Rob.

What we can garner from this is that all clubs can be severely affected during a long downturn.

I guess my point was that MCG games can distort this figure significantly (both those Collingwood crowds were at Docklands). When you have 100000 MCC members that can get in for no extra a lot of them will show up to a game but won't pay 25 bucks to go to the same game up the road. You can't really call these people rusted on fans.

Apr 24, 2013
Arden Street Hill
Essendon Lawn Bowls Club
I guess my point was that MCG games can distort this figure significantly (both those Collingwood crowds were at Docklands). When you have 100000 MCC members that can get in for no extra a lot of them will show up to a game but won't pay 25 bucks to go to the same game up the road. You can't really call these people rusted on fans.

Agree. I noted it for Melbourne, but I should have factored it in for the other sides as well.

bombersfan4000

Jun 30, 2014
The Hawks enjoyed a dominant decade from 2007-2016

10 seasons, 9 finals series, 6 Prelims, 5 GFs and 4 flags

The team has dropped out of contention and is going through a transitional period.

It’s only natural that the complacent fans find it hard to get excited about AFL footy and become more picky about the games we go to. We’re no different to any other club in that regard.

When the club rebuilds and goes back up the ladder, you’ll see the bandwagon fans return to the fold just like they do at every other club.

Hawthorn make a shitload of money from their various revenue streams, so their declining attendances would be less of a concern than it would be for other clubs who struggle to break even.

——————————————

Why do people obsess about membership levels and attendances at AFL matches?

I’ve never understand why folks on Big Footy get consumed with this s**t.

I’m a fan of AC/DC and Radiohead. Great bands. Got all their albums, followed their careers and seen them play. But that’s as far as my interest goes. I could not give a rat’s arse how much money they make or how many tickets they sell on their world tours.

Footy fans can be such dorks.
Your revenue and sponsorships will drop with less success
Your club already sells home games!

Given the amount of success that he hawks have had over the past 8 odd years and the crowds have dropped away so soon! Of the trend continues it would be rather concerning

Isaac Cumming No 1

10k Posts
Mar 28, 2018
GWS
Those numbers have some value, but the rusted on numbers (folks that show up win, lose or draw), would be closer to:

Collingwood - 30K
Essendon - 25 K
Richmond- 25K
Carlton - 20-25K
Hawthorn - 15 to 20K
Melbourne - 15K (+ some MCC members)
Geelong - 15K
St.kilda - 15K
Western Bulldogs - 15K
North - 15K
At least we know that every Blues supporter turning up to games this year is rusted on, and a true believer.

Sep 17, 2004
Australia
In Victoria the big clubs are;

These for clubs when winning would ave 40,000 of their own supporters to their home games

Then you have the mid size clubs who would ave 30,000 of their own supporters when winning to their home games

Then you have the small clubs who would ave 25,000 if their supporters to their home games

St.kilda

The we have wee little North Melbourne who would ave 20,000

What helps hawthorn say being bigger then Geelong and Melbourne is the big interstate supporter base. The hawks have 10,000 members in Tasmania and have big supporter base in Queensland and Western Australia.

I would actually say outside Victoria the only Victorian clubs who have more interstate supporters are Collingwood and Essendon and maybe Carlton

I'm not sure what you base this on?

Hawthorn v Sydney drew 72,768 in 2014
Hawthorn v Sydney drew 72,120 in 1999
Hawthorn v Sydney drew 63,319 in 2015
Hawthorn v Sydney drew 61,888 in 2016
Hawthorn v Sydney drew 54,768 in 2013
Hawthorn v Sydney drew 52,181 in 2017
Hawthorn v West Coast drew 50,023 in 2012
Hawthorn v Sydney drew 49,529 in 2008
Hawthorn v Sydney drew 48,398 in 2007
Hawthorn v Adelaide drew 45,782 in 2016
Hawthorn v Sydney drew 44,464 in 2009
Hawthorn v Fremantle drew 43,583 in 2014
Hawthorn v West Coast drew 42,977 in 2016
Hawthorn v Fremantle drew 39,735 in 1998
Hawthorn v Brisbane drew 39,007 in 2007

I'm not saying you are wrong but there surely would have been more then 30,000 Hawthorn supporters at these games?

Carlton's largest ever attendance evidently against the non Victorian club are a couple of 40,000 attendances against Sydney (42,788, 42,088), Brisbane (43,617, 42,496) and Adelaide (44,711, 42,356).

As for Melbourne, well their best was 52,614 against the Swans in the late 1990's (with no other attendance in the 40,000 range)

Sep 17, 2004
Australia
Those numbers have some value, but the rusted on numbers (folks that show up win, lose or draw), would be closer to:

Collingwood - 30K
Essendon - 25 K
Richmond- 25K
Carlton - 20-25K
Hawthorn - 15 to 20K
Melbourne - 15K (+ some MCC members)
Geelong - 15K
St.kilda - 15K
Western Bulldogs - 15K
North - 15K

What are these numbers based on? Demonstrated evidence or just feel?

Not saying these numbers are wrong, Hawthorn did have one absolute shocker in 2014 where they drew 17,906 vs. GWS although in that same season they drew 43,583 and 72,768 vs. the Swans and Dockers so go figure.

In recent seasons the lowest I've felt as a Hawthorn supporter was the week after we were belted in successive weeks by Geelong and Gold Coast (both by 86 points) and sat on the bottom winless after 4 rounds. The next week we were scheduled to play West Coast in the 4.40pm Sunday graveyard slot and drew a respectable 28,997.

How far off the rusted on was that?

Sep 17, 2004
Australia
Rusted ons? It wouldn't be far off.

I'd need to see how much bounce the current numbers would have if the Hawks sustained a prolonged downturn like the mid 90's when sub 20K home crowds were a common event.

BTW, you're the delusional one if you think I believe the Hawthorn fan base is something to aspire to.

Maybe.

So when will North hand back the charity that they've been taking from the AFL for years?

Sep 17, 2004
Australia
Amazing how footy fans and the media were ok when Hawthorn dominated football with 4 flags yet a single Richmond flag has sent the footy world into fruit loop mode.

Media have articles on how to beat Richmond on the TV,really funny.

One Richmond flag is like any other team winning five in a row.

So I presume you missed the whole #freekickhawthorn s**t storm then did you?

Watch the final 2 minutes of the 2016 QF to see the frustration from the commentators that Hawthorn could escape again

FlyHigh18

Arden St Parking Inspector
May 8, 2017
Maybe.

So when will North hand back the charity that they've been taking from the AFL for years?

The same time Hawthorn hands back the $11 million they also received last year.

Your fans probably don't have enough cash left to make it the games anymore after donating over $19 million via pokies last year

AlwaysHawks15

Nov 12, 2014
If your talking casual footy fan or non footy follower collingwood would be that far in front it isn't funny in regards to support. There appeal transcends AFL imo and that's a credit to how they market themselves. If they were an actual powerhouse on field we would all be trailing in their wake for revenue, memberships etc. You ask a totally clueless person who they follow in football 9 out of 10 people will say "does collingwood play in the AFL? ".

Apr 1, 2008
NASA
Coburg
Be interesting to see the attendance for Thursday night. Weekday, no public holiday Friday. Raining all week and forecast rain on Thursday. Socceroos scheduled to play at the same time and trains aren’t running to the ground as normal.

My 6 year old daughter will still be there though
Your 6 year old and two Eagles for every Hawk. Good crowd tonight.

May 13, 2008
Your revenue and sponsorships will drop with less success
Your club already sells home games!

Given the amount of success that he hawks have had over the past 8 odd years and the crowds have dropped away so soon! Of the trend continues it would be rather concerning

It is just the natural fatigue from sustained success.

Essendons crowds dropped substantially back in 1987 after they came of their last period of sustained success.

gopies1981

Feb 25, 2007

I'm not saying you are wrong but there surely would have been more then 30,000 Hawthorn supporters at these games?

Carlton's largest ever attendance evidently against the non Victorian club are a couple of 40,000 attendances against Sydney (42,788, 42,088), Brisbane (43,617, 42,496) and Adelaide (44,711, 42,356).

As for Melbourne, well their best was 52,614 against the Swans in the late 1990's (with no other attendance in the 40,000 range)

Last year Melbourne played Sydney in front of 47,464 fans on a Friday night at the mcg. Bloody cold night too. MCC predicted 55,000

gopies1981

Feb 25, 2007

I’m not talking about one off big games were some clubs can draw 50-60,000 at 1 or 2 games per year but as an average when they are winning hawthorn would average around 30,000 of their fans to their home games at the mcg!!This year they are averaging around 25,000 hawthorn fans to their home mcg games while currently sitting in 9th place.

gopies1981

Feb 25, 2007

I’m regards to your attendance’s you need to factor the following;

Sydney get 15,000 to the mcg
Brisbane 5,000. When they were flying in 2001-2004 they were getting 10,000
Adelaide 5,000
West Coast 5,000

The rest of the interstate clubs would get no more then 1,000 with the Gold Coast and gws under 100.

May 13, 2008
Hardly! A few thousand!
Most teams played out of their traditional club grounds back then!

Season wins followed by average crowds for the fair weather bombres

1983 - 18 wins - 37,243
1984 - 20 wins - 32,655
1985 - 21 wins - 30,437
1986 - 12 wins - 30,360
1987 - 9 wins - 22,649

Apparently crowds dropping off a little after a golden period is not a particularly new phenomenon and nor is it confined to Hawthorn

Side note: it is fascinating that the bombres seemed to enjoy Hawthorns premiership year in 1983 by voting with their feet the most

:)

Sep 17, 2004
Australia
The same time Hawthorn hands back the $11 million they also received last year.

Your fans probably don't have enough cash left to make it the games anymore after donating over $19 million via pokies last year

You mean the revenue allocated by the AFL to all clubs as part of the media rights deals? You will find that Hawthorn is consistently amongst the recipients of the lowest contribution from the AFL. Take out prize money and they have been at baseline for decades. Do you know how this compares to North Melbourne?

Honestly what does North Melbourne contribute to the media rights anyway?

Pessimistic

30k Posts 10k Posts HBF's Milk Crate - 70k Posts TheBrownDog
Sep 13, 2000
Melbourne cricket ground. Australia
Horks
All this shows is fans of so called 'Big' clubs are offended from a club which was tiny in 1960, and now only middling according to this thread, has taken the lions share of the success.
Middling and agile or big and slothful, take your pick.

Ironic is Rchmond fans celebrating their sudden size, yet also wanting to label others bandwaggoners

Sep 17, 2004
Australia
I’m regards to your attendance’s you need to factor the following;

Sydney get 15,000 to the mcg
Brisbane 5,000. When they were flying in 2001-2004 they were getting 10,000
Adelaide 5,000
West Coast 5,000

The rest of the interstate clubs would get no more then 1,000 with the Gold Coast and gws under 100.

But what’s this based on. Do you have anything to support this?

Since 2007 Hawthorn has played 33 home and away games against non Victorian clubs in Melbourne (30 at the MCG and 3 at Docklands). The average attendance to these fixtures have been 38,498 per match. Or 39,388 a match across 30 MCG home games. It’s a reasonable sample size as Hawthorn play on average 3 non Victorian clubs in Melbourne home games every season.

How does this compare against all other Victorian clubs. Specifically Melbourne and Carlton?

blaisee

Aug 11, 2004
Punt Road
None
Amazing how footy fans and the media were ok when Hawthorn dominated football with 4 flags yet a single Richmond flag has sent the footy world into fruit loop mode.

Media have articles on how to beat Richmond on the TV,really funny.

One Richmond flag is like any other team winning five in a row.

This point is actually true

1 Richmond flag = 5 flags from Hawthorn as far as impact on the city of Melbourne and impact on media and the population in general

3 years out of the finals will send the hawks panicking off to Tassie, or New Zealand or wherever else they can get a handout permanently.