SdKfz 181

Jun 5, 2009
Blairgowrie
Rovers | Napoli | Victory
I'd be embarrassed if literally half of our supporters comprised of flogs who came down in the last shower, especially considering the loyal supporters put up with decades of misery, much of it self-inflicted, but they stuck with the club.

I hope we build sustainable growth over a long period of time, not collect a tsunami of flogs that are all of a sudden taking finals seats from supporters who were there for all the dark years.
Sustainable and growth are not words, I would use to describe North Melbourne..

Luv_our_club

Feb 14, 2017
I'm not sure why this would be a surprise to anyone.

Hawthorn fans have historically been among the worst fair weather supporters in the game.

For the last 50 years we average a flag every 4 years. So what bad weather are you talking about?

The period between 1991 and 2008?? That was the period of greatest growth in our membership and attendance and strength off the field.

What a load of crap you post

For the last 50 years we average a flag every 4 years. So what bad weather are you talking about?

The period between 1991 and 2008?? That was the period of greatest growth in our membership and attendance and strength off the field.

What a load of crap you post

Really...

Following 1999 your membership dropped substantially, and didn’t recover until you started showing promise at the end of 2007.

Fair weather supporters, mentally weak.

Luv_our_club

Feb 14, 2017
Really...

Following 1999 your membership dropped substantially, and didn’t recover until you started showing promise at the end of 2007.

Jade thinking he is the BF Hawks whisperer

Smartest Brain

Jun 11, 2017
GWS
I hope we build sustainable growth over a long period of time, not collect a tsunami of flogs that are all of a sudden taking finals seats from supporters who were there for all the dark years.
You can hope but you won't. Melbourne is saturated with AFL And anyone who isn't part of the AFL in melbourne will more likely choose a more attractive team.

Jables

Jun 16, 2008
NY Giants, Hornets, Bulls
Really...

Any supporter base that would not only tolerate, but condone a doping regime is on shaky ground when it comes to mentality. Thin trolling.

Surprised no one's mentioned that the Pakenham/Cranbourne line was completely shut down for a month, that's where near half our supporters get to the game from. Combined with the Tassie games and a random Etihad home game which we never turn up to our average was never going to be great recently as disappointing as it is.

JohnZ

Mar 10, 2016
Because Geelong want the money from playing the big teams like Hawks, Tigers, Bombers & Pies at the G.

Fair play to them!
Geelong make more money from a home game at KP than an MCG game under 90,000. So that argument doesn't stack sorry

Because it makes sense to play low drawing games at smaller grounds and still collect a million for it. Gold Coast at the G today would have struggled to get 20k. Your CEO agrees, he is on record saying he wanted 9 of the lower drawing games at Kardinia and was happy for the 2 big ones to be at the G.
See above. Why would we play "big" games, when we lose money on both (Only 45k showed up to the Richmond game), especially when both teams have a double up at the MCG.

Sep 11, 2008
See above. Why would we play "big" games, when we lose money on both (Only 45k showed up to the Richmond game), especially when both teams have a double up at the MCG.
Big games as in crowd. More people can go. Ask your CEO, he said it. You don't lose money.

45k was due to shizen weather and you know that, it would have been 60-70.

You can hope but you won't. Melbourne is saturated with AFL And anyone who isn't part of the AFL in melbourne will more likely choose a more attractive team.

You are entitled to your opinion, but I do not agree with it. Not saying that we will definitely improve substantially, however, I think the opportunity exists and a lot depends on how we execute. Population in Greater Melbourne is growing ahead of forecast atm and it is forecast to grow from 4.5m to 8m by 2051 and Victoria will be over 10m by that same year and population growth is relatively stagnant from the existing citizens, the vast majority of that growth is going to come from migration. So the question is how much of the new market can we take a slice of.

In the last 6 odd years we have targeted one of the 5 fast growth rate regions in Melbourne in Wyndham, which this year has surpassed Greater Geelong's population, currently at 250,186 people, forecast to grow to 435,000 by 2036. In a relatively short period of time Wyndham has already surpassed our heartland regions and now stands at our number one source of members. Our Huddle program is something that engages with the youth in this region, that engagement has been critical. That is not to say we are the only one benefiting from this growth region, but we are already taking a significant chunk of this region, far larger than what has been the old school distribution.

Unlike the past, we have a lot more resources than we used to, we can now invest in supporter base growth and it is something the AFL helps us with, both financially and in helping to identify growth markets, they played a significant role in our work with Wyndham initially. The investment in Wyndham needs to also be replicated in other nearby outer Melbourne growth regions like Hume, Melton, etc. and we have the resources now to do it without the AFL's help.

Let's be honest. You would give your right nut for a tsunami of flogs to sign up as North members and pack out Etihad Stadium and MCG during one of your good seasons

It would be good for the club financially, it wouldn't do me any favours personally.

Heard a fact today on the broadcast. Apparently hawthorn are 24-1-1 in Tassie over the last 26 games (I think those were the numbers). More than happy to have a truckload of money and heaps of wins for the trade of 4 games against low-drawing crowds to Tassie. Even if it does give us a much lower average attendance. The membership numbers show the real support levels.

Aug 8, 2007
Heard a fact today on the broadcast. Apparently hawthorn are 24-1-1 in Tassie over the last 26 games (I think those were the numbers). More than happy to have a truckload of money and heaps of wins for the trade of 4 games against low-drawing crowds to Tassie. Even if it does give us a much lower average attendance. The membership numbers show the real support levels.
You also tend to play s**t teams in Tassie. A lot of games against the Lions, Suns and Saints, who haven't been all that good in recent years.

Sep 17, 2004
Australia
Tens of thousands of band wagoners fair weather fans?They wouldnt ever want to drop right down like Carlton!

Valid point. I mean geelong can’t draw 70,000 to a home and away game without being carried by Hawthorn fans. It’s been what 6 years since a Geelong home and away game not featuring Hawthorn has drawn 70,000?

I’m pretty confident the next two could draw 70,000 meaning we’ll have four 70,000 plus home and away games for the season (plus a 58,000 against Collingwood). The Adelaide and Sydney games were dreadful (down 10,000 and 20,000 on our 5 game average) but the remaining games have been so-so.

The overall Hawthorn attendances have been well down on our 2008-2017 average however our fixture hasn’t really been conclusive to high drawing attendances (we’re in a 7 week stretch away from the MCG)

Sep 17, 2004
Australia
Countless examples over the last 10/11 years would prove otherwise. Which actually coincides with the first successful era the club has enjoyed away from Princes Park (which as the eastern suburbs club was a non sensical move)

To attract between two and five 70,000 plus home and away crowds a season consistantly would comfortably place Hawthorn as the biggest non big 4 Victorian club

MCG home and away crowd average...

2018 - 50,903 (from 7 games with games against Ess (MCC est 69,000) and Geel (73,189 earlier this season) to come)
2017 - 52,376 (11 home and away games)
2016 - 56,977 (9 home and away games)
2015 - 59,283 (10 home and away games)
2014 - 53,088 (11 home and away games)
2013 - 58,123 (9 home and and away games)
2012 - 55,094 (12 home and away games)
2011 - 51,875 (11 home and away games)
2010 - 53,085 (12 home and away games)
2009 - 53,824 (10 home and away games)
2008 - 51,533 (10 home and away games)
2007 - 44,868 (9 home and away games)

The Hawks generally play between 2 (2007-08, 2018) and 5 (2012) MCG games against non Vic clubs and average around 3.5.

Their crowds fluctuate between 50,000 and 60,000 depending on performance on the field. Despite missing the finals twice since 2008, the 2008 remains the clubs MCG flatline for home and away games

The Blue Baggers

Apr 7, 2013
Since 1992 (the year the new Southern Stand opened) there has been 72 H&A games draw >80k.

Collingwood 49
Essendon 36
Carlton 25
Richmond 15

Geelong 8
Hawks 5
Saints 2
Melbourne 2

If you drop to 70k the table pretty much remains the same.

But then you add the Hawks have been by far the best on field team in this period it really just shows they are well behind the traditional top 4 and on a par with the Cats !!