hawks-chick28

hawks, hawks, hawks, hawks
just wondering if anyone of thie bored is going to be going to the hawks v adelaide game next weekend...
im going over, and i know of a fair few people from another board who are going over too, so there is going to be a fair few hawks over there :) yay... atleast i won't be the only one getting attacked

go hawks

Hawks-Chick,

I can but hope that a few faces that weren't in Sunday's side will be heading across!

Without meaning to sound destructively critical, at this point in time Hawthorn is right back where it was during the opening month of the season... Clearly the worst side going around!

Week in and week out we hear Schwab bemoaning the lack of form shown by Hawk topliners, but the time for talk must be over now!

Barker, Chick, Harford, Dixon & Tallis should all be sent back to Box Hill this week and Holland, Graham & Picaone must all be looking very nervously over their shoulders!

We can no longer continue to moan and make excuses... Box Hill is top dog in the VFL so there are obviously players there that will be at least competitive this week and its time to give a few underperformers a much needed boot up the butt!

You can find touch in the lesser league if that's what you need to do, and too many players have been given too much latitude in the top side this year already!

Kevin

Maybe being a bit harsh there Cyberkev.

Disagree with a couple of points, don't think Dixon should be dropped..

How many times on Sunday did he lead out with it not being delivered to him?

And Tallis, well he works hard every game, isn't the most skilled player in the side, but at least he puts his body on the line.

Hawksfan

Dixon's been woeful all season and is fortunate not too have been dropped already. I liked the look of young Osborne up forward and would like to give him further opportunity out of a forward pocket, which means goodbye Ben (in the short term at least). I may be harsh with Tallis, but he'll let you down when it matters and I don't see him as a long term contributor to the side. I'd rather perservere with the likes of Lonie.

Kevin

i wouldn't drop dixon either.... he has been good at times this year and there are players before him who should be dropped...
yeah i want ossie to stay in the team too, i reckon he has greta talent !!!!!!!

go ossie

Originally posted by CyberKev
Hawks-Chick,

I can but hope that a few faces that weren't in Sunday's side will be heading across!

Without meaning to sound destructively critical, at this point in time Hawthorn is right back where it was during the opening month of the season... Clearly the worst side going around!

Week in and week out we hear Schwab bemoaning the lack of form shown by Hawk topliners, but the time for talk must be over now!

Barker, Chick, Harford, Dixon & Tallis should all be sent back to Box Hill this week and Holland, Graham & Picaone must all be looking very nervously over their shoulders!

We can no longer continue to moan and make excuses... Box Hill is top dog in the VFL so there are obviously players there that will be at least competitive this week and its time to give a few underperformers a much needed boot up the butt!

You can find touch in the lesser league if that's what you need to do, and too many players have been given too much latitude in the top side this year already!

Kevin

What exactly would you acheive here- apart from stuffing up Box Hill as well !

Well i think Dixon should definitely be dropped because he hast done anything this season, and i'd like to see Barker go with him but im not sure if there is anyone that could replace him.

As for Holland, although he may not have done much, i noticed on the weekend that he was encouraging the other guys all day and never gave up. His performance this week also improved so hopefully we'll be seeing a bit more from him in the coming weeks.

Does anyone know if any of our injured guys will be back this week?

Originally posted by Pessimistic

What exactly would you acheive here- apart from stuffing up Box Hill as well !

Pess,

All senior list players are playing for spots in the senior team and all senior players need to know that a) they don't have a carte blanch mortgage on their spots and b) they will get a chance if others above them are consistently underperforming.

Box Hill has to be a secondary concern to the Hawthorn coaching staff.

Kevin

well i think chance bateman is right to play again and whether or not they risk smithy i dunno but he could be rite too!
i would hope they wouldn't rush him back into the team

go ossie
go hawks ;)

Originally posted by hawks-chick28
so there is going to be a fair few hawks over there :) yay... atleast i won't be the only one getting attacked

No, this is Hawks v ADELAIDE, there shouldn't be many PAP fans at the game, so you'll be fine :) You may be in danger from the weather however, if the forecasts are true.... ;)

Re: Re: hawks v adelaide

Originally posted by ant

No, this is Hawks v ADELAIDE, there shouldn't be many PAP fans at the game, so you'll be fine :) You may be in danger from the weather however, if the forecasts are true.... ;)

I've been to Footy Park twice. Once when Hawthorn beat Adelaide in '94, and for last years Semi-Final victory over Port. The Port fans were nice and hospitable, while I was verbally attacked and jeered in '94 - at the tender age of nine!

I know who I think are a better bunch... ;)

The Hitman

Re: Re: Re: hawks v adelaide

Originally posted by The Hitman

I've been to Footy Park twice. Once when Hawthorn beat Adelaide in '94, and for last years Semi-Final victory over Port. The Port fans were nice and hospitable, while I was verbally attacked and jeered in '94 - at the tender age of nine!

I know who I think are a better bunch... ;)

The Hitman

Well I am stunned by this.....I have no reasonable explanation....except to say that, to be fair, there was practically no one at last years semi-final at Footy Park, you're not going to be attacked in an empty stadium :p ;)

hehe.... y whats the weather going to be?
is it going to be crappy, prob my like it will be raining heaps bad and dam!!!!!!!!!

go hawks

So are there any Hawthorn supporters who are confident of winning this game? I hope I don't put the mozz on the Crows, but I can't see the Hawks getting close in this game. You have so many players down on form compared to last year & with Lekkas out, Crawford is your only decent midfielder. Holland looks like he may be regaining some touch & perhaps some of the younger players may add some enthusiasm this week. How have they being playing for Box Hill?

Originally posted by hawks-chick28
just wondering if anyone of thie bored is going to be going to the hawks v adelaide game next weekend...
im going over, and i know of a fair few people from another board who are going over too, so there is going to be a fair few hawks over there :) yay... atleast i won't be the only one getting attacked

go hawks

I wont attack you. My daughter is going to her first Hawks Game Live ....so Ill be kind to youand her;)

Nah, look, the Hawks are a class side, top 4 material and after 2 tough losses, they'll come out smoking. Scwabby has revved them up this week, they've included a few young blokes who will give their all, and I expect Hawthorn to upset us this round. Things are all going a bit too smoothly for us and just like the Kangas game, we should hit another hiccup on Saturday.

Hawks by 19 points :(

well, hopefully we can win this one, because we bloody need to.

Smithy coming back in will give us an extra spark out of the backline, but the forwards and midfielders really need to lift because theyve been putting way too much pressure on the backline in the last couple of weeks.

Originally posted by vanders
well, hopefully we can win this one, because we bloody need to.

Smithy coming back in will give us an extra spark out of the backline, but the forwards and midfielders really need to lift because theyve been putting way too much pressure on the backline in the last couple of weeks.

What do you guys really think of your chances?

Adelaide at this ground have just come off a win over the reigning premiers and are unchanged ... Hawks made six changes and have some other injury concerns to boot, they are coming off a 40 point loss in a home game, and they have to travel interstate where in general this year the travelling sides are only 20%. Adelaide have lost only one at home this year and that was a narrow loss to co-tennant Power. Adelaide won the last meeting vs Hawks at this ground very comfortably. Finally, Adelaide's real strength is in its midfield, the same area as Hawks achilles heel.

BTW, Adelaide are also of the view that they really need to win this game. Home game & all, you know.

This game pits a top 4 contender vs a side hovering on making the 8.

Bet you guys thought at the beginning of the season that Hawks would have been the top 4 contender ...

If Hawthorn are as desperate as i know they can be, then they will win. It's all in the head. We need to be psychotic with our approach, if we aren't then the Crows will beat us comfortably.

Just on Hawthorn's so called 'achilles'. I think you'll find that our midfield has been our strength this year. It's been our talls that have let us down. Unfortunately for us our second best midfielder will be missing tomorrow. But it just gives a chance to someone else i guess.

Originally posted by ok.crows

Bet you guys thought at the beginning of the season that Hawks would have been the top 4 contender ...

Yep, still do.

well all im gonna say is go hawks and hopefully when i walk out of the ground come sat arvo i will be smiling
PPPLLLLLEAAAAAAASSSSSSEEEEEEEE :)

go hawks

Originally posted by Chris_23
If Hawthorn are as desperate as i know they can be, then they will win. It's all in the head. We need to be psychotic with our approach, if we aren't then the Crows will beat us comfortably.

Just on Hawthorn's so called 'achilles'. I think you'll find that our midfield has been our strength this year. It's been our talls that have let us down. Unfortunately for us our second best midfielder will be missing tomorrow. But it just gives a chance to someone else i guess.

Yep, still do.

If you think that your midfield is your strength (heaven help you), check out how your midfield rates statistically against Adelaides. While you are at it, also check out how Adelaide is going in terms of things like hard ball gets, clearances, entries into forward 50 & stuff like that. I think you guys might be in heaps of trouble here. BTW your second best midfielder probably wouldn't rate against Adelaide's fifth best. And you best midfielder Crawford will probably get Stenglein.

Hawks don't have any mortgage on desperation, you know, and Adelaide have set themselves a special target of winning as many as possible of their home games this year.

I think you might have trouble in the next couple of rounds, and I find it hard to see you getting to the top four from a 5-7 position. Good luck to you anyway, and I hope it is a good match.