Autopsy Hawks v Suns - AFL 2026 Rd 7 - Sat April 25th 12:15pm (UTAS Stadium)

• Thread starter Thread starter Chief

HAWTHORN vs GOLD COAST - Who will win?

• Hathorn by a lot

Votes: 5 9.4%
  • Hawthorn by 7-20

Votes: 24 45.3%
  • Hawthorn by a goal or less

Votes: 6 11.3%
  • Gold Coast by a goal or less

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Gold Coast by 7-20

Votes: 14 26.4%
  • Gold Coast by a lot

Votes: 4 7.5%
  • Draw

Votes: 0 0.0%

GC almost twice as many frees but yeh Freel Kick Hawthorn. Idk why people are so focused on it.

Mostly this:
EjYDwoUVkAEZVSY

Success breeds jealousy, and jealousy leads to massive confirmation bias.

Just sit back and enjoy it, knowing you're witnessing how badly head ****ed opposition fans are after witnessing many many Hawthorn flags - 13 in some cases. More than any other club for anyone aged from around mid 30s to 100 years old. Top 3 for most everyone else unless you're a pre-teen. That's a load of offended fans.

It doesn't take long to adjust to treating "#freekickhawthorn' as the torrent of salty bitter tears that it is. Once you've made the adjustment each time you see it brings a smile of delight, knowing you are witnessing yet another head-****ed-by-hawthorn's-success opposition fan.

It is always the Hawks that are on the good end of the controversial rubbish calls.

Nothing will ever change.
No it isnt. They just live rent free in your head so much that they are the ones that piss you off.

You dont remember the 'controversial' calls that go towards the team you are supporting. Nobody does.

Be better

Mostly this:
EjYDwoUVkAEZVSY

Just sit back and enjoy it, knowing you're witnessing how badly head ****ed opposition fans are after witnessing many many Hawthorn flags - 13 in some cases. More than any other club for anyone aged from around mid 30s to 100 years old. Top 3 for most everyone else unless you're a pre-teen. That's a load of offended fans.

It doesn't take long to adjust to treating "#freekickhawthorn' as the torrent of salty bitter tears that it is. Once you've made the adjustment each time you see it brings a smile of delight, knowing you are witnessing yet another head-****ed-by-hawthorn's-success opposition fan.
Quoted for the opposition tears. Love it.

All he has to do was move to where the mark was. Thats what “stand” means.

It doesn’t mean freeze where you are and don’t move. It means stand on the mark. He froze where he was, nowhere near the mark.

The rule is shit, I hate it, and I hate the punishment. But like it, or not - that’s a 50 meter penalty.
It is confusing as sometimes you get pinged for moving to where you think they are indicating the mark.

No it isnt. They just live rent free in your head so much that they are the ones that piss you off.

You dont remember the 'controversial' calls that go towards the team you are supporting. Nobody does.

Be better
No one gets the rub of the controversial ones like the Hawks do and that’s why they’re front of everyone’s mind. Name me another team that gets pulled out of the fire as consistently as your guys. Collingwood maybe? Geelong occasionally. That’s about it.

You were given the key ones that swung the momentum. GC were all over you before you were gifted 3 goals on the fly.

The 50m penalty which was 100% there, then gifted the one where we won the centre clearance and in 2 kick/marks had a shot for goal and made it, and the 3rd ?

We got 2 free kicks in the 2nd half so I'd love to read how your claim works...

Mostly this:
EjYDwoUVkAEZVSY

Misdiagnosis IMO. If you want universal overreaction to umpiring, visit Geelong gameday threads.

Hawthorn threads are dominated by angry Eagles supporters for the most part.

No one gets the rub of the controversial ones like the Hawks do and that’s why they’re front of everyone’s mind. Name me another team that gets pulled out of the fire as consistently as your guys. Collingwood maybe? Geelong occasionally. That’s about it.

West Coast. Best free kick for percentage in the competition over the lifetime of the club. Given how pivotal you think free kicks are in results, you'd probably have to concede Eagles may have had zero flags if it wasn't for their domination of free kicks over the journey compared to other clubs.

BTW, on a completely unrelated (not) point, how did you like watching Barrass kick his second goal ever? 10 seasons at WC for 1 goal. 2 season at Hawthorn, and already a goal under his belt. It might interest you that Barrass has never received less average free kicks per game in a full season in his career than he did last year at Hawthorn (only looking at seasons where he played more than 10 games). So like most WC players, well looked after by umpires when wearing an Eagle's jumper, but equal lowest average average frees last year (ignoring his first two seasons in the competition where he only played 3 and 10 games).

I've never seen one fan so broken by just one trade. I hope you have friends and family around for support should you have to one day witness Barrass holding up a cup in hawthorn colours.

The 50m penalty which was 100% there, then gifted the one where we won the centre clearance and in 2 kick/marks had a shot for goal and made it, and the 3rd ?

We got 2 free kicks in the 2nd half so I'd love to read how your claim works...
They’re all “100% there” until the same ones don’t get paid to other teams

Misdiagnosis IMO. If you want universal overreaction to umpiring, visit Geelong gameday threads.

Hawthorn threads are dominated by angry Eagles supporters for the most part.

Yeah, I’m just as critical of Hawks fans who constantly whinge about Geelong’s umpiring stats. Some days you’re the pigeon, other days the statue.

But then there are the really special kids who genuinely believe the AFL use umpires to give unfair advantages to Hawthorn, (presumably because HFC fans are starved of success) 🤪

Yeah, I’m just as critical of Hawks fans who constantly whinge about Geelong’s umpiring stats. Some days you’re the pigeon, other days the statue.

But then there are the really special kids who genuinely believe the AFL use umpires to give unfair advantages to Hawthorn, (presumably because HFC fans are starved of success) 🤪
Agreed. There are always more interesting things to talk about, unless you're a very boring and constantly aggrieved sort of person.

West Coast. Best free kick for percentage in the competition over the lifetime of the club. Given how pivotal you think free kicks are in results, you'd probably have to concede Eagles may have had zero flags if it wasn't for their domination of free kicks over the journey compared to other clubs.

BTW, on a completely unrelated (not) point, how did you like watching Barrass kick his second goal ever? 10 seasons at WC for 1 goal. 2 season at Hawthorn, and already a goal under his belt. It might interest you that Barrass has never received less average free kicks per game in a full season in his career than he did last year at Hawthorn (only looking at seasons where he played more than 10 games). So like most WC players, well looked after by umpires when wearing an Eagle's jumper, but equal lowest average average frees last year (ignoring his first two seasons in the competition where he only played 3 and 10 games).

I've never seen one fan so broken by just one trade. I hope you have friends and family around for support should you have to one day witness Barrass holding up a cup in hawthorn colours.
You’ll fall to bits when the pressure is on so I’m not too worried. Got a team of downhill skiers that sook it up when things don’t go their way.

Our free kicks count has been done to death. We played a very bruise free style of football for years which led to low frees against. I’m not sure our frees for would be anything to write home about.

Direct correlation with our contested numbers being the worst in the league, even in successful years. Compare that to a side like Richmond who played a very scrappy style and you get their numbers. Might help looking for a bit of context next time champion.

They’re all “100% there” until the same ones don’t get paid to other teams

Except in this case we got a little over half the frees despite dominating for 70% of the game.

And GCS did get a soft 50m penalty.

But anyway, glad to see you in our game day thread again. What did you think of Barrass' kick ?

You were given the key ones that swung the momentum. GC were all over you before you were gifted 3 goals on the fly.
But all the ones to GC were there I guess.

I'm usually pretty unbiased and before the 50 meter penalty I thought that Gold Coast had the rub of the green. Nothing too bad but just those 50/50s that went to them.

Either way, I'm sure not even Damien Hardwick is blaming a 50-point loss on the umpires lol

I am drinking your salty delusional tears flog😭

But all the ones to GC were there I guess.

I'm usually pretty unbiased and before the 50 meter penalty I thought that Gold Coast had the rub of the green. Nothing too bad but just those 50/50s that went to them.

Either way, I'm sure not even Damien Hardwick is blaming a 50-point loss on the umpires lol
It’s hard to tell, but momentum is a big thing in modern footy and that stopped all the Suns momentum when they were all over you.

50 point margins are commonplace in today’s game. Today’s match alone had multiple periods of goal streaks for both sides.

I’d say the 50 had a fairly big impact on the result. If GC kick the next one they run over you. Momentum artificially shifted instead and that was the game.