Autopsy Hawks v Suns - AFL 2026 Rd 7 - Sat April 25th 12:15pm (UTAS Stadium)

• Thread starter Thread starter Chief

HAWTHORN vs GOLD COAST - Who will win?

• Hathorn by a lot

Votes: 5 9.4%
  • Hawthorn by 7-20

Votes: 24 45.3%
  • Hawthorn by a goal or less

Votes: 6 11.3%
  • Gold Coast by a goal or less

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Gold Coast by 7-20

Votes: 14 26.4%
  • Gold Coast by a lot

Votes: 4 7.5%
  • Draw

Votes: 0 0.0%

Last week you'd still been thumped by GC. Last week Hawthorn were the only team to have beaten Sydney. - and remain so. None of those things have changed.

The main thing that has changed is that what was obvious last week, has become more obvious this week, and that it has got harder to just couch the difference in form lines on in caveats on Hawthorn's wins (opponents missing players), and Geelong's losses (Geelong missing dangerfield).

The other thing that is becoming increasingly obvious is that Geelong seems to have trouble winning away from their unusually shaped home ground.
Geelong is also now missing Dangerfield even when he is selected - maybe lingering calf issue, maybe one season too many

I come here every week for the free kick shenanigans and it never fails. Its ****in hillarious. That one umpiring decision decided the whole game GC were paralysed after that one decision hahaha

The one where a full time AFL footballer stood 4m in front of and 2m to the side of the mark and then pretended he didn’t know who the umpire told to clear the area at least 5 times?

The Hardwick sook in the presser made it even better.

Yeah, at the moment we are not even a wild card team. It could be a regress season.

Can they put it together? Not so sure now. Something is off. 4 games before bye will tell us. After bye fixture is full on.

Should go 4-0 (3-1 at worst) IMO before that bye.

Flogging someone at home would be good for the moral too.

It’s hard to tell, but momentum is a big thing in modern footy and that stopped all the Suns momentum when they were all over you.

50 point margins are commonplace in today’s game. Today’s match alone had multiple periods of goal streaks for both sides.

I’d say the 50 had a fairly big impact on the result. If GC kick the next one they run over you. Momentum artificially shifted instead and that was the game.
Ah yes, the momentum excuse.

This always comes out when peopel get overly emotional about a single decision. It's more a sign of the viewer's emotioanlity (and the momentum of that) than the actual ability for a single incident to shift the whole direction of a game.

Are GC that fragile that they were all over us and then on the back of one correct decision (come on JUH - I know you haven't played for a while but the lack of awareness in that moment was embarassing) suddenly makes 23 guys completely drop their effort and concede 7 goals in a row?
The hawks had already been pressing for 10 minutes before that. Momentum had already shifted. The common obsession with umpires means people love to blame them for the switch.

Additionally - GC was completely on top of Hawthorn all game for centre clearances. A goal from Hawthorn takes the ball back to the middle where GC showed clear advantage all game. They were very well placed to take the momentum straight back if it's something that can flick around as easy as you suggest.

What a ridiculous argument.
I can't believe people actually think this.

Ah yes, the momentum excuse.

This always comes out when peopel get overly emotional about a single decision. It's more a sign of the viewer's emotioanlity (and the momentum of that) than the actual ability for a single incident to shift the whole direction of a game.

Are GC that fragile that they were all over us and then on the back of one correct decision (come on JUH - I know you haven't played for a while but the lack of awareness in that moment was embarassing) suddenly makes 23 guys completely drop their effort and concede 7 goals in a row?
The hawks had already been pressing for 10 minutes before that. Momentum had already shifted. The common obsession with umpires means people love to blame them for the switch.

Additionally - GC was completely on top of Hawthorn all game for centre clearances. A goal from Hawthorn takes the ball back to the middle where GC showed clear advantage all game. They were very well placed to take the momentum straight back if it's something that can flick around as easy as you suggest.

What a ridiculous argument.
I can't believe people actually think this.
GC were paralysed after that 50 mate. It was the most devastating decision.

I put that fella on ignore a while ago. Makes the experience a lot easier, dude is unhinged

I've been tempted a few times, but honestly, he is unhinged to the point of hilarity, while being too unhinged to take seriously. In other words, the perfect amount of unhinged.

Keep in mind that Harley Reid only extended for two years. Imagine if he lands at Hawthorn - Coasters7 times 7. If he goes elsewhere the laughs will continue in the game day threads of whatever club he does go to.

I've been tempted a few times, but honestly, he is unhinged to the point of hilarity, while being too unhinged to take seriously. In other words, the perfect amount of unhinged.

Keep in mind that Harley Reid only extended for two years. Imagine if he lands at Hawthorn - Coasters7 times 7. If he goes elsewhere the laughs will continue in the game day threads of whatever club he does go to.
I’m here for it every week. Smashing the like button on all his posts. Therapeutic ☺️

They stormed the beach of Normandy for this?! Disgraceful effort on this important day of remembrance.
i appreciate you’re just using an analogy, but i think you Gallipoli. No Australian Army forces were involved in D Day. They were all back in the pacific defending Australia. We did have 2/3 thousand RAF involved though.

The majority of the Australian Army was withdrawn from the Mediterranean and Middle East theatre by 1943. Following the outbreak of war with Japan, Prime Minister John Curtin demanded the troops return to defend Australia, with the 7th Division sailing back in February 1942 and the 9th Division returning by early 1943

How is your year coming along after your 101 point loss to St Kilda?
Still in a rebuild mate. Already shown good signs so far this year but a long way to go. Your team has shown the same soft underbelly that’ll have you crashing out with nothing to show for it.

You’ll fall to bits when the pressure is on so I’m not too worried. Got a team of downhill skiers that sook it up when things don’t go their way.

Our free kicks count has been done to death. We played a very bruise free style of football for years which led to low frees against. I’m not sure our frees for would be anything to write home about.

Direct correlation with our contested numbers being the worst in the league, even in successful years. Compare that to a side like Richmond who played a very scrappy style and you get their numbers. Might help looking for a bit of context next time champion.
You mean the pressure of a game where Hawthorn won 92-91 against Geelong infront of a huge crowd?

Or where Hawthorn in their own stupidity let Gold Coast back into the game only to still beat them convincingly by 50 points.

You come across as insecure by trying to frame everything against how Geelong are going. Based on this week's results, Hawthorn are clearly going better. Last week the form lines were similar. New information is one of the most effective ways to cause a change. If Hawthorn lose next week and Geelong win by 100 points, it won't retrospectively mean Geelong had an equivalent form line a week earlier.
It’s an interesting view point tho and question atleast.

Geelong got belted by Gold Coast who played a side stronger against Hawthorn and got belted, which is interesting. Doesn’t mean anything but still interesting.

Same for Hawthorn and Ports result comparable to the loss Geelong just had against them.

Footy isn’t black and white so I can understand that, but it is definitely intriguing.