Hawthorn’s 2019 Trade/FA - Targets/Incoming players discussion only

Got some mail today that our mate Dodoro is already having a crack. Ferk I hate this campaigner.

Talk about kissed on the dick as a list manager! Been at that club 20 years and built a list that has not won a single final in 15 years! Every club except for Gold Coast has won a final more recently than Essendon (LOL).

Somehow keeps his job despite these results and being regarded as the worst list manager in league to deal with, then his club runs the biggest doping program in Australian sports history, so he gets given early draft picks and millions in payments outside the cap to play with.... and they still haven’t won a final for the Essendon flogs reading this.

These two would be handy - but it's more fun when we don't find out until later in the year.

Any disgruntled key forwards around the place?
Sam Weideman is out of contract and be a handy pick up.

Frost, Wright, Francis, Marchbank, Tomlinson and Himmeblerg are all the Key position players I wouldn't mind having a look at that will be out of contract at seasons end.

If only Sam Mitchell still played to give him a corkie.

Been waiting for this thread.

Cogs & an Impey type.

What will the contract look like?
5 Year Contract?

Year 1: 1.5M
Year 2: 700K
Year 3: 700K
Year 4: 700K
Year 5: 700k

This puts it at 4.3 Mil over 5 years which is 860K per year on average

First Year is to blow GWS out of the equation as they pay Kelly the big bucks.
I have to say I think Cogs is on around $800k. That's generally said to be our aim for the top shelf, from reliable sources. He was resigned in 2015 on ~$500 and in 2017 I think $800k.

He's one of the lads than say Scully and Shiel, often socialises with Heater fir example. I dont know his financial pisition but it's lijeky his lifestyle is expensive, perhaps not to Toby's level investing inracehorses etc.

He's been on good money for a while and probably isn't desperate for a big first year payday though.

I think beating $800k a season is the financial target.

I have to say I think Cogs is on around $800k. That's generally said to be our aim for the top shelf, from reliable sources. He was resigned in 2015 on ~$500 and in 2017 I think $800k.

He's one of the lads than say Scully and Shiel, often socialises with Heater fir example. I dont know his financial pisition but it's lijeky his lifestyle is expensive, perhaps not to Toby's level investing inracehorses etc.

He's been on good money for a while and probably isn't desperate for a big first year payday though.

I think beating $800k a season is the financial target.

That would be easily done mate.

That's the financials. I think convincing him he wants to come is more complicated. I dont think we expect him to go, and we'll put work into keeping him.

It's a much bigger picture for us though. Haynes, Tomlinson, Hopper and Kelly will also be a strong retention focus.

It's really about your recruiters convincing him he wants to come to the Hawks. If he does it'll happen. I dont see us matching FA offers and it'll be a delicate balance. I've no doubt Devon Smith left last year because his offer was less than his previous contract, and he saw us moving heaven and earth to keep Kelly.

We've known about free agency looming for a while, and I think anyone wanting out was given a chance this year though.

That's the financials. I think convincing him he wants to come is more complicated. I dont think we expect him to go, and we'll put work into keeping him.

It's a much bigger picture for us though. Haynes, Tomlinson, Hopper and Kelly will also be a strong retention focus.

It's really about your recruiters convincing him he wants to come to the Hawks. If he does it'll happen. I dont see us matching FA offers and it'll be a delicate balance. I've no doubt Devon Smith left last year because his offer was less than his previous contract, and he saw us moving heaven and earth to keep Kelly.

We've known about free agency looming for a while, and I think anyone wanting out was given a chance this year though.

We’ll offer him the world mate. And so will Essendon from what I’m hearing. It’s a 3 horse race. Again.

Sam Weideman is out of contract and be a handy pick up.

Frost, Wright, Francis, Marchbank, Tomlinson and Himmeblerg are all the Key position players I wouldn't mind having a look at that will be out of contract at seasons end.
Doubt Demons would let him go easily especially after trading Hogan west.

We’ll offer him the world mate. And so will Essendon from what I’m hearing. It’s a 3 horse race. Again.
If I was your recruiters I'd be focusing on the intangibles. Like we've got the best coach and a strong club system. Some talk we should give him a captain's job but the ones we have are going great. He's already a VC and there's a reason Leon describes him as the heart and soul of the club. For me that's more Kennedy though.

:D I also think you're overlooking the WA clubs. The Eagles will probably in the game, and Freo. They never compete though.

If we want to discourage third party bidders than we could offer a trade of pick 5 (if Essendon fans & ‘experts’ are correct) to GWS for Cogs and that’ll make sure we can keep the salary reasonable.

If I was your recruiters I'd be focusing on the intangibles. Like we've got the best coach and a strong club system. Some talk we should give him a captain's job but the ones we have are going great. He's already a VC and there's a reason Leon describes him as the heart and soul of the club. For me that's more Kennedy though.

:D I also think you're overlooking the WA clubs. The Eagles will probably in the game, and Freo. They never compete though.

The Jaeger connection is massive. They spend most of their time off footy together. You’d have to suggest they want to play footy together again.

A lot to play out. But we will go super hard. You watch.

GWS will not let him walk unless the offer is north of 1.2 million.
They might have to if they have to sign up innumerable other big ticket stars like Hopper, Kelly, and the rest.

I think GWS would probably be resigned to losing a big fish with their salary squeeze...we just need Cogs to pick us, and I reckon that would be that...

Talk about kissed on the dick as a list manager! Been at that club 20 years and built a list that has not won a single final in 15 years! Every club except for Gold Coast has won a final more recently than Essendon (LOL).

Somehow keeps his job despite these results and being regarded as the worst list manager in league to deal with, then his club runs the biggest doping program in Australian sports history, so he gets given early draft picks and millions in payments outside the cap to play with.... and they still haven’t won a final for the Essendon flogs reading this.
To be fair, he's managed to come up with a pretty solid strategy ... Find out who the Hawks are going after and throw more resources/money at them.

You'd have to be very naive to think that we were the only team after top line players like Shiel, Coniglio, etc. Every club would have been aware of their situations and every club would be keen to recruit them.