Hawthorn Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Weaver

id be very happy being a hawthorn supporter with this draft

what a great bunch of talls you are assembling

Jarryd Morton. Very nice pick with Pick 33.

West Coast will be annoyed. :p

We've done so well!
Yes...either Bachar Houli or Jarryd Allen could have been there...but who cares now!

I'm pretty happy with our draft picks. Thorp gives us yet another tall to watch develop over the next few years. Renouf is rated as the second best ruckman in the draft after Leuenberger, so it was good to get him with our second round pick. It's also been reported that Renouf has played CHB in the U-18s, so perhaps he might support Robbie Campbell in defence and make it easier for us to play 3 ruckmen in the future, with Bailey in the centre and Campbell and Renouf around the ground (not getting ahead of myself though!).

Morton seems highly rated and I'm sure we pushed for a third rounder from Sydney for Everitt to pick up somebody like Morton who would be available in the third round. Kennedy carries some excellent genes. If I recall correctly, Moss is about the same height as Crawf - not saying, of course, that Moss will be Crawf incarnate, but if he approaches the levels Crawf has reached over his career, I'll be rapt. Our last pick saved for the PSD/rooke lists (we must have our eyes on somebody).

I am happy. I thought we needed another tall and hoped for Thorp. I thought we needed another ruckman and hoped for Renouf or maybe Goldstein. I wanted another mid and we got Morton and also Moss. Fantastic.

Maybe I might have preferred Connors to Moss because he is taller and maybe quicker, but the recruiting guys know what they are doing and I am sure they have picked the right guys for us.

Bring on the future!:)

18s AA Side

B: Patrick Veszpremi (Vic M), Nathan Brown (Vic C), Mitch Thorp (TAS)

HB: David Armitage (QLD), Lachlan Hansen (Vic C), Ricky Petterd (QLD)

C: Daniel Connors (Vic C), Garry Moss (WA), Shaun Grigg (Vic C)

HF: Leroy Jetta (WA), Scott Gumbleton (WA), Daniel Dzufer (QLD)

F: Tom Hislop (TAS), Tom Hawkins (Vic M), Tom Hurley (SA)

Foll: Matthew Leuenberger (WA), Bryce Gibbs (SA), Leigh Adams (Vic M)

I/C: Craig Bird (NSW/ACT), Nathan Djerrkura (NT), Jarryd Allen (Vic M), Robert Eddy (Vic C)

I know someone who went to school with Morton and apparently he is a chain smoker. Not all that ambitious with regards to an AFL career in general, pretty laid back and almost failed year 12.

Could still turn out to be a good AFL player though.

What? Now you tell us??
Bucky shouldve been told of this before the draft, not now!
Dammit, there goes a wasted pick!:rolleyes:

I know someone who went to school with Morton and apparently he is a chain smoker. Not all that ambitious with regards to an AFL career in general, pretty laid back and almost failed year 12.

Sounds a ripping bloke then..

Guess he could fit in with your bunch if he doesnt make it at Hawthorn then?

Surprised the Tiges didn't jump before us to make Polak feel at home ;) or the Saints come to think of it ........

Ricky Nixon was speaking on 3AW at 1.36pm today (Saturday) and said "Renouf was the steal of the draft" and predicted big things for the big guy.

sounded like Ricky has him signed up or will try and sign him up for the long term.

Ricky Nixon was speaking on 3AW at 1.36pm today (Saturday) and said "Renouf was the steal of the draft" and predicted big things for the big guy.

sounded like Ricky has him signed up or will try and sign him up for the long term.
Sounds just like Ricky. Talking up his price even before a contract renewal is coming :thumbsd:. Unfortunatley Nixon isn't a recruiting officer, he's a player agent.

disclaimer ... assuming he's one of Nixon's clients. Still, I'd rather these words coming from anyone else apart from Nixon.

Very very HAPPY.

4 outa 5 im estatic with, the other one. Lets hope i'm wrong with judgement of him.

Bucky does it again :thumbsu:

What player aren't you so happy about us taking?

Morton. I for one think he struggles with the tempo of underaged footy so the step up to AFL will be massive. And what did we need another TWEENER for when we already have heaps on our list. IMO Pick 33 should have been used for a speedy midfielder, but hey thats just me

Hodgey, he didn't have a great Carnival because he was being played out of position by that goose who coaches WA,

This kid can play. He leads explosively and to the right spot. Takes a strong contested mark and then is deadly in front of goal.

Give him time in the gym and a season at Box Hill and in 08 you will start to see a player. IMHO

Hodgey, he didn't have a great Carnival because he was being played out of position by that goose who coaches WA,

This kid can play. He leads explosively and to the right spot. Takes a strong contested mark and then is deadly in front of goal.

Give him time in the gym and a season at Box Hill and in 08 you will start to see a player. IMHO

Mate, i hope u are so right and im so wrong. Wouldnt be the first time :p

Seems the Hawks now have a policy that we dont draft short people (except Moss) over the last 3 years.

Also he would have to make it as forward because as a backman he looks lost and rushed whenever he gets the pill. Fair assumption :confused:

Yeah mate - Morto's no backman that's for sure.

Mossy is a little champ. A footballer's footballer with a heart like a lion. Tough as old boots. Platten like - and he was a decent servant of your mob.

Yeh the beauty of the kids being so young means that they can possibly grow a few cm's over the next few years.

If for some reason he doesnt grow any more, I think its very good for us to have a few players of his size (i.e. similar to Birchall, Murphy) that can play on the wings/around the flanks, and cause lots of problems to the opposition due to their height and versatility. So a couple of these players either side of the ground is very handy. Its also been stated that he is a good kick, so that could be another reason why we were so keen on him?!
As for him struggling with the tempo at underage footy, that doesnt sound good, but hopefully with the right training and support he can easily adjust.

Was just wondering Hodgey15 since you were a big rap on McKenzie...would you have preferred McKenzie at 24 and Goldstein at 33, or the way we actually went?
Either way Im still over the moon with our selections!

Yeah mate - Morto's no backman that's for sure.

Mossy is a little champ. A footballer's footballer with a heart like a lion. Tough as old boots. Platten like - and he was a decent servant of your mob.

Agreed on both points. Moss is a great get, I reakon he'll captain Hawthorn one day.