Hawthorn Draft Discussion

Yeah mate - Morto's no backman that's for sure.

Mossy is a little champ. A footballer's footballer with a heart like a lion. Tough as old boots. Platten like - and he was a decent servant of your mob.

Worried about Moss's kicking, will be interesting to go back and review the players the Hawks took in greater detail from my DVD's.

Know a recruiter that actually had Moss ranked at 3 on his list. :eek:

Lets hope he knows his footy ......... :p :D

Mate, i hope u are so right and im so wrong. Wouldnt be the first time :p

Seems the Hawks now have a policy that we dont draft short people (except Moss) over the last 3 years.

I have alot of faith in our recruiting staff, so should you, so far they have performed very well, they have obviously seen something special in Morton that you or havent seen or else why would we have picked him? especially at 33.

Yeh the beauty of the kids being so young means that they can possibly grow a few cm's over the next few years.

If for some reason he doesnt grow any more, I think its very good for us to have a few players of his size (i.e. similar to Birchall, Murphy) that can play on the wings/around the flanks, and cause lots of problems to the opposition due to their height and versatility. So a couple of these players either side of the ground is very handy. Its also been stated that he is a good kick, so that could be another reason why we were so keen on him?!
As for him struggling with the tempo at underage footy, that doesnt sound good, but hopefully with the right training and support he can easily adjust.

Was just wondering Hodgey15 since you were a big rap on McKenzie...would you have preferred McKenzie at 24 and Goldstein at 33, or the way we actually went?
Either way Im still over the moon with our selections!

Had every concievable body part crossed when we were reading out our Pick 24 when McKenzie was still on the board.

Put it this way, Hansen has some pretty ordinary disposal and he gets taken at 3. McKenzie (196cm-90kgs) has similar skills to Hansen and he gets smashed for it. Go figure. I personally have McKenzie and Hansen on roughly the same par.

Renouf, Im a big fan. But if i had to choose i would have selected McKenzie at 24 and a speedy midfielder at 33. I know our rucks arent the best. But we do have Cambell - Taylor - Bailey & McEntee ( Who i rate, he just needs time ) on our books.

Saying that, I'm also a fan of having 4 Ruckman on our main list with 1 ruckman on our rookie list. So the Renouf selection makes good sense with our team list.

Good Question :confused: :confused:

I have alot of faith in our recruiting staff, so should you, so far they have performed very well, they have obviously seen something special in Morton that you or havent seen or else why would we have picked him? especially at 33.

I do, but their is no point in having an opinion and changing it midstream.

Good luck to the kid and welcome to the Hawthron FC. I will shut up now and hope for complete serve of "Egg on my face in a couple of years"

The reason we choose Renouf over McKenzie is because we didn't think renouf will last to pick 33. With the departure of Spider we are quite thin in the ruck division.

Let's face it, ruckmen take longer to develop so its better to get them into the system earlier than later.

I thought we'd go another midfielder with the first pick...
Why another tall? how long until Thorp develops?

Consider this lineup...

2010 Grand Final Team

FB: Sewell(26yo) Roughead(23) Jacobs(30)

HB: Gilham(26) Croad(30) Brown(27)

C: Kennedy(22) Mitchell(27) Ellis(23)

HF: Franklin(23) Thorp(22) Muston(23)

FF: Morton(22) Dowler(22) Williams(27)

FOLL: Campbell(28) Hodge(26) Birchall(22)

Int: Bailey(23), Bateman(29), Tuck(23), Lewis(26)

Emerg From: Murphy(24) Young(26) Osborne(28) Renouf(22) Little(24) Guerra(28) Dawson (24) Dixon(33) Crawf(36);)

Quite scary, isn't it...

Morton. I for one think he struggles with the tempo of underaged footy so the step up to AFL will be massive. And what did we need another TWEENER for when we already have heaps on our list. IMO Pick 33 should have been used for a speedy midfielder, but hey thats just me

We have Ellis and Muston from last draft who are the speedy midfielders. I personally wouldn't mind a Cornes type backman. I know we have a collection of these players at the moment. But whats great about it is that we get a choice of player.

Consider this lineup...

2010 Grand Final Team

FB: Sewell(26yo) Roughead(23) Jacobs(30)

HB: Gilham(26) Croad(30) Brown(27)

C: Kennedy(22) Mitchell(27) Ellis(23)

HF: Franklin(23) Thorp(22) Muston(23)

FF: Morton(22) Dowler(22) Williams(27)

FOLL: Campbell(28) Hodge(26) Birchall(22)

Int: Bailey(23), Bateman(29), Tuck(23), Lewis(26)

Emerg From: Murphy(24) Young(26) Osborne(28) Renouf(22) Little(24) Guerra(28) Dawson (24) Dixon(33) Crawf(36);)

Quite scary, isn't it...

This team looks a little top heavy for me with only a couple of players in the team with genuine speed.

I don't like Roughie at FB too slow IMO

If Birch lined up as the rover he would be the tallest rover in history.

This is how I see the draft selections -

Thorp - Thrilled, the player I wanted most of all.

Renouf - Talented and versatile who adds depth, was hoping we would take McKenzie though.

Morton - Was hoping for a speedy mid, but sounds like he has the potential to play an O'Keefe like combination Midfield / Leading forward position. His comparison to Embley is exciting.

Moss - At 56 to secure an actual footballer like Moss is a strong selection.

This team looks a little top heavy for me with only a couple of players in the team with genuine speed.

Think Adam Goodes. Undersized ruckman who won a Brownlow in that position turned in to an overgrown midfielder who wins a Brownlow. Not saying that Birch will be in Goodes' class, but Birch has the tools.

Roughie is only 19 and will improve in both speed and defensive skills, already has clean hands and can hold his ground.

The way the game is being played now, ie tall/athletic ball carriers with great skills and evasive run through the lines approach like embley, i can see Birch being one of these types. Remember Kouta and how effective he was in the centre during his heyday?

Just my thoughts.

Morton. I for one think he struggles with the tempo of underaged footy so the step up to AFL will be massive. And what did we need another TWEENER for when we already have heaps on our list. IMO Pick 33 should have been used for a speedy midfielder, but hey thats just me

He'll be a better player than the older brother.

I like what we did yesterday. Another quality tall, another highly regarded young ruckman, another ball carrying utility, another Kennedy and a classy mid.

Thorp, Renouf, Morton, Kennedy, Moss....Welcome to the Hawks, boys.

Maybe, but that's got nothing to do with their respective abilities. It's amazing how different the 2 Morton's attitudes are though. Couldn't be more different.

I would've thought that it's got everything to do with their respective abilities. If you know something about their repective attitudes fair enough, all I know is that they come from a very good family background and the three of them are keen to make a career and living out of playing AFL footy.

I really think the term TWEENER is off the mark for Morton, I mean, He's taller than Trent Croad, doesnt seem to stop Croady playing KP.

Im prepared to be equally excited about every new addition on our list until such time as they give me reasons to second guess them.

As a supporter, this is my role. ;)

I would've thought that it's got everything to do with their respective abilities. If you know something about their repective attitudes fair enough, all I know is that they come from a very good family background and the three of them are keen to make a career and living out of playing AFL footy.

What I was trying to say was if Jarryd becomes a better player than Mitch it will be as a result of Jarryd's great work-ethic and Mitch's lack of work-ethic. No doubt Mitch is by far more talanted than Jarryd and of course how good they both become will be prodominantly due to their respective abilities, but if, like you said, Jarryd becomes a better player than Mitch (which could well happen) it'll be because Jarryd has gotten the best out of himself, while Mitch hasn't.

Point taken, but I dont agree that Mitch is necessarily far more talented. I followed them both through their PSA involvement and comparing them at that level I saw very little between them in ability.

fair enough, you would have seen more of them than me, but from what I've seen of both at u/18 level, Mitch appears to have more class about him.

Unfortunately that is why the U18's Championship can sometimes be misleading and also why some of the so called experts who post opinions on players on here make mistakes.

I'm aware of Jarryd putting in performances below his best at the Champs due to being played out of position, but I still feel he lacks the class of his brother, although he easily has him done for work-rate IMO.