• Thread starter Thread starter Dan26

How the hell is this mob 9-4? That was terrible tonight.
angel.gif

Sorry Hawks fans, but you are nothing more than a 12-10, or 11-11 team that is masquerading as a 9-4 team. It's not that I don't want you to do well, as I don't mind seeign a competitive Hawthorn team, but they are incredibly overrated in my view. Maybe I only see their sh*t games!

If you can only score 102 points for every time your opposition scores 100, then give me one good reason why you DESERVE to be any more than, say, 12-10 at the end of the season?

Well they deserve to be there because they have won the games to this point, but they won't be able to maintain the 70% win rate they have now. No way in hell. If you have a percentage of 100, it means you are a 50/50 team in terms of for and against which should translate to "about" 11-11 at the end of the season.

The Hawks have won a couple of close ones, which makes them look a lot better than what they actually are, I reckon.

Gutless unregistered cowardly prick. :mad:

Well, I say scrap you "Abuser" off these boards. I'm not denying they have won 9 games. I'm just saying their percentage INDICATES that they probably aren't as good as their win-loss record suggests they are. Tonights performance would seem to vindicate that, but you are probably too stupid to realise that.

No point responding, because I am not going to respond to any of your posts on this topic. Other peoples maybe, but not yours.

Yea, it was woeful, no excuses.

Well, maybe one (and no its not the umpiring, but i would like to know what Lynchs two frees in the last were for, or Browns for that matter) but i do think the 2 week break for the Lions as opposed to the Hawks six day break may have had a bearing on the final margin. I really thought we died totally in the last quarter while the Lions just looked very fresh. Still, that may only have saved us from what the eventual margin turned out to be. Aside from that, there isnt much to be said in our defence.

But the garbage about how we dont deserve our wins. :confused: Why? Or should we apologise for actually toughing out some close games and coming away with the 4 points. :rolleyes:

Right now though, we are nine wins for. Damn site better than some, and i really dont care where you rate us. Won by luck, won by whatever. Facts are we won nine, close or not.

Tonights ONE game, theres still half a season to be played.

Where ever they may finish, and with however many wins they may achieve, thats exactly how good they will prove to be.

Btw, Essendon, supposed greatest side, unbeatable, etc etc... They lost to the Lions too.

Just a thought. Maybe the Lions at home are a fair side?? :rolleyes: Or am i reading to much into average 10 goal winning margins they achieve at the Gabba?

The Gabba home advantage is only worth a 3 - 4 goal advantage...and that depends on who they are playing....

Hawthorn came up here last year and trounced the lions....badly....so did Essendon.......

Hey my lot have a major mental block.....when they pack a bag for a plane ride, they seem to forget to pack ability......but that does not automatically mean they have the ability at home either......

Last year especially, they were losers at home in games they were expected to win....

Now as strange as this sounds......

to watch the game tonight, to be there......Lions weren't that good, Hawthorn weren't that bad......the score line is still a mystery to myself a quite a few others there......

15 mins in to the first.....you could have made a fortune by picking the outcome....it was unthinkable.....

It was cold, it was wet...and it was not the prettiest game around.....hawthorn did a 'lions in melbourne'....that is the only way to describe it i think......

btw.....does anyone want Headland??? Please???

Danni, they showed a stat about the Lions average winning margin for their last ten home games or so.

It was sixty points even! (Slightly more than 3/4 goals).

I think everyone has been saying for the few years how they underachieve away from the Gabba with the players they have.

Perhaps that may be the case, yet at the Gabba everyone knows what they are capable of when they are 'on'.

Dammit, why did they have to be 'on' tonight!! ;)

You murdered us, simple.

Well played and who knows where you might go from here with (6?) games you have left in the 2nd half of the season. Top two should be a realistic chance id guess.

But, im not ready to dismiss my Hawks yet. We can and we will learn from tonights drubbing.

I still reckon theres more good signs than bad at Hawthorn. One loss in isolation (bad though it was) is not the end of the world.

Cheers.

Dumb Coaches

Peter Schwab reckons dumb players get you the sack. Well I hope he had something to say about dumb coaches after last night's match, because he made his players look stupid out there.

They stuck to his game plan, alright. Too bad it is utterly predictable, not suited to wet conditions, and that the Brisbane players were smart enough to exploit it.

It started happening in the second quarter, and it continued to happen after half-time, but Schwab apparently persisted with his brilliant idea of chipping the ball out of defence, until a turnover was effected, or there was nobody left to chip it to, and the only option was to bomb it out to the wall of Brisbane players who were waiting in the middle.

Now, Danni, it may have been difficult to tell how good the Lions were but, seriously, if you were at the same game they showed on TV, Hawthorn were that bad! Unless they are the trendsetters in this new fad, which is going to revolutionise the game, where you don't actually try to move the ball beyond the centre. They were good at that, I have to admit.

And, Dan, of course you are right. Percentage is always a good indication of how good a team is, and it has been pretty obvious all year that Hawthorn were not as good as they looked.

They are the most over-rated team in the competition but, I would suggest, they won't be much longer.

Hawks people don't worry I am not going to bag you.:)
Watching the game on telly, I think the difference between you & the Lions was one Vossy, what an outstanding performance & in the second half was ably assisted by Lynch. If these 2 players perform like that in melbourne games, a lot of teams are going to be in trouble.
On the percentage thingy, the difference between just winning close games & just losing close games, well look where Freo are & where the Hawks are.:D

dan... mate... the only reason we have PERCENTAGE, is to seperate teams on the ladder with the same amount of PREMIERSHIP POINTS...
dont judge a team on percentage, because that wont give you an indication of how good/bad the side is... judge a team on a win/loss ratio, thats what matters at the end of the year!

4 premiership points...

Originally posted by PiesPremiers
dan... mate... the only reason we have PERCENTAGE, is to seperate teams on the ladder with the same amount of PREMIERSHIP POINTS...
dont judge a team on percentage, because that wont give you an indication of how good/bad the side is... judge a team on a win/loss ratio, thats what matters at the end of the year!

4 premiership points...

Pies Premiers,

I don't think you read what I said. Of course your win-loss record is the only thing that matters. I'm not disputing that at all.

I am simply saying that a teams percentage is a better indicator of how good a team actually is, since it shows how much a team scores relative to their opposition.

Dan, question for you.

If the Hawks are masquerading as an 9/4 side, is to much of a reach to think of Port as masquerading as an 8/5 one!?! :rolleyes: :eek:

I mean, your the one that rates them higher than you do the Hawks. Give me justification for why them losing three out of the last four (exactly the same as Hawthorn) doesnt deserve a dirge that you graced upon us. :( :confused:

'disclaimer' the above question in no way reflects on the authours view of Port Adelaide as a good footy side (currently expeiriencing a form slump). ;)

Grendel,

Yeah, Port have fallen away a bit, but I think their wins have been more impressive than Hawthorn's IMHO. Hawthorn had less scoring shots versus the Crows and won, narrowly beat the Saints, were outplayed by the Pies in Round 1 but won by 3 points, and beat North by 3 points despite losing 3 quarters of footy in that match.

In fact, you guys have won only 3 of your last 20 quarters. Port played some scintillating footy earlier in the year. Hawthorn weren't exactly scintillating (in my opinion) early in the year, and their for-and-against ratio (whoch is about even now) is perhaps an indication of their overall ability. Port have fallen away, but "overall" i'd say they have been more impressive. They certainly beat you guys impressively four weeks ago.

Your thoughts?

I was impressed by Port, thought they looked very good against us. But that wasnt my point.

A win is a win is a win. Weve got nine so far. All the side can do is win a many as they can against whoever they happen to be playing that week. To suggest that were not deserving of games that weve already won (past tense) annoys me. Credit them for at least winning five tough close games. Other sides would love to have a five out of six 'close' ones under their belt.

The notion that weve somehow cheated our way to 9-4 is no giving credit to a side that fought bloody hard to achieve that result.

Dan...i think you have been very harsh on Hawthorn. A win is a win is a win. It doesn't matter how much you win by...its the 4 points that matter most. If Hawthorn win the majority of their games, their percentage will become inconsequential.

Yes...your percentage is a 'guide' to how your team is travelling, but it does not tell the whole story. The points column tells you that.

Originally posted by topdon
Dan...i think you have been very harsh on Hawthorn. A win is a win is a win. It doesn't matter how much you win by...its the 4 points that matter most. If Hawthorn win the majority of their games, their percentage will become inconsequential.

Yes...your percentage is a 'guide' to how your team is travelling, but it does not tell the whole story. The points column tells you that.

Yep, that's true. Maybe what Dan is trying to say is that Hawthorn won't win as many games in the second half of the season compared to the first half of the season because of their poor percentage?

Originally posted by Dan25
Gutless unregistered cowardly prick. :mad:

Finally someone esle has copped this gutless little 8 year old. Obviously his posts have been deleted so I can't see what he's said but get rid of this jerk with whatever name he uses. Obvioulsy we've found out he's a Hawks supporter. Suffer buddy because obvioulsy the wheels have fallen off.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Who has over-rated Hawthorn?
Who has rated Hawthorn?
I've read and heard nothing but "they're overrated" all season. Don't you have to be rated first?

Jeez Danny, you only have to watch 7 and listen to Brereton, Dunstall and Co. who influence everyone else with their total rubbish. And then get on MMM and listen to Quartermain.

Of course only wins count for ladder placings, but as Dan25 said, percentage is a good indicator of how good a team is.

If a team is winning by 5-10 point margins, but loses by 40-50 point margines, their win-loss record might be in the black, but their percentage probably won't.

Look at the Roos last year - finished fourth with a percentage just over 100, despite winning 13 or 14 H&A games. Even for a staunch Roos man like myself, they were not at all convincing for any part of the year, and were never a realistic chance for the flag. The same form continued into the finals, winning a close one and getting belted twice. Also we beat the ordinary sides, and got flogged by the good ones.

Hawthorn has won a few close games... against Collingwood, Kangaroos, Adelaide, St.Kilda, and has been well beaten in three of its four defeats (Essendon, Port Adelaide, Brisbane - quality opposition).

Well I haven't been hiding...I've just returned from Brisbane.

What a game to fly 2 hours for! I would go as far as to say it was Hawthorn's worst performance since we lost to North by 127 points in 1994. We were simply abysmal, woeful and pathetic.

I was so disappointed in the guys - some of them needed to show a bit of pride in their efforts. But take nothing away from the Lions, they were very good, in particular Voss (what a brilliant performance). The only bad players they had were Lunch (thrashed by Hay...received some lucky goals in the last quarter) and Headland (what an overrated player he is).

On the other hand the only GOOD players we had were Hay (another sensational game), Crawf until he got injured and Vanders in the 2nd half.

The game plan was royally stuffed - back to Ken Judge or Peter Knights days. And if Brett Johnson and Adrian Cox don't get a game next week the entire coaching staff need to be sacked.

Very very disappointed :mad: :(