Hawthorn - the best team you can field in 2001

• Thread starter Thread starter amazonstud

amazonstud

I would like to know what the different supporters think would be the best team their club could field from their list next season.

I will post what I think may be the best for all clubs.

The HAWKS
Tallis Hay Rawlings
Lekkas Croad McCabe
Bowyer Crawford Graham
Dixon Holland Chick
Thompson Barker Harford
Rehn Woods Rock

Interchange
Barlow Johnson Dent Smith

Looks good, but i think you might be suprised by Aaron Lord in a midfield role this year, dont forget he kicked 40 odd goals
two years ago from a forward pocket. Well picked side though

Nick,
I considered Lord but went with Smith based on last years performance. I couldn't put either of them ahead of Rock, Woods, Crawford, Chick, or Harford and can't see them playing down back so it was the bench.

Lord may yet take Smith's place on the bench. The papers say he's lost weight and looks good but we won't know for sure until after the practice matches.

DENT??!!!??!!???!!??? In the side???!!!!
Our BEST side???!!!!!!

The bloke will struggle at BoxHill.
Aside from that GROSS abberation not to shabby Ammizony (Sorry i refuse to call anyone stud)

The backlines settled enough the midfield will have a few new faces fighting for a possie (about time) and the forward lines okay for most options excepting probably a crumber *LORDY please come back*

Im not a great beliver in 'Best or Srongest sides' that you can field. There are the standouts like Cindy,Dutch etc then there is the foot soldiers who are pretty reliable without being superstars like Woods,McCabe etc. Then you get the blokes like Vanders,Obst who show a bit but are in and out of the side. Then you have the kids. Its how your devolping players come on that counts in the end.

Saying all that if no injurys were to happen come opening round i reckon the side could look like this

b Rawlings Hay Tallis

hb Lekkas Croad McCabe

c Bowyer Harford Graham

hf Barker Holland Barlow

f Lord Thompson Dixon

r Rehn Chick Crawford

it Woods Rock Picioane Smith

emg Obst Johnson McPharlin Nicholls- Who will be a senior regular by years end. MY BOY BILLY!

Second line of ermgencies Bateman Loats Vanderberg

Third line Ries Clarke Lonie Hazell

Cheers

[This message has been edited by Grendel (edited 11 January 2001).]

ps Ammzonie you should have kept this topic (best teams) on the main board, its a good topic. Just because i dont reply to all the different teams didnt mean i wasnt reading them. Its good to see certain others views on just how they see where their teams are at. Besides now i have to troll through all the team boards and thats almost like work lol!

Cheers.

Cmon people, lets see some sides
GM,acuguy,Dipper,Hawkforce,Pess lets see where you reckon the group stands.

ps i know its been done on the official forum but some people here dont post there, so lets see some team ideas!

Carn the Mighty Hawks

Unfortunately Grendel I don't feel that I have enough knowledge of all the available players to make a selection, really if I did I would be cheating & sort of copying other peoples ideas.The best that I can do is say that I'm excited by Thompson & Croad & think they'll both go well this year,hopefully Crawford will resurface from his post Brownlow blues & I think Chick & Holland are top players.
Go the Hawks!

Problem is, Grendel, you have done too fine a job.

I would only have two changes...

If this is our "potential" best side, Smith would have to line up on a flank. People are losing patience with him, but I remember the way he destroyed us in '97 - BOG with Harvey getting 40 possies.

Also, despite your reservations, Dent will be in the side... for the opening of the year anyway. Unless McPharlin comes along allowing him to replace Croad down back, I can't see the defence being strong enought to release both Graham and Croad.

Oops i goofed, had Angie in twice! So Rocky comes into the side of the bench, remember guys this isnt my BEST side. Its just one i reckon that could line up in the 1st round all things being considered.

Hawkforce, thats where you have me stumped. Dent didnt do a pre-season, only arrived at the last minute (so to speak) yet you reckon he will be in the side? Ahead of who? Cant see itmyself my friend (lol think most know my view on it) but youve really thrown me a curvy one there.

Dipper, feel free to post, maybe you might not know all the players well enough, but you could name blokes you might like to see, or how best you think they might fit into the side
smile.gif

Glenferry (LOVE the name) the only thing that will hold Obsty back early is he had to have a groin op, that i think will sideline him for all the Ansett cup and maybe a few of the early games too. Im with you, i think he could be a senior player (always seems to have been unlucky when dropped imho) as when he has played in the firsts he has looked okay. Now that Collica is gone, they must be looking at Obst to take his place i would reckon.

Anyway cheers everyone on the responses. Not far away now till the real thing starts up again.

Go the Hawks!

Depending on pre-seasons, Dent could potentially replace any of your bench, with the exception of Woods.

Quite apart from the fact that your bench is too short and midfield-oriented, I just think Hawthorn usually give experienced players new to the club, a go early on to check them out.

Then again, maybe he'll be found out in the Ansett Cup.

Or make a place for himself...

Reasonalbe call on the height on the bench. I thought about it to, maybe bring in Mcpharlin or Loats who are both looking very promising. I went with the runners though because theres more than enough height in the actual starting eighteen. We can cover height okay, but the run is still the thing that worrys me more.

Dont forget that Dents 6'1 if hes lucky. Thats not exactly putting a giant into the side either! Sorry but i think Dents going to have to win a game for us of his own boot or take out Bradley (which is more a likely scenario) before im happy that hes listed.

Cheers

I'll have a bash at this:

B: McCabe Hay Tallis
HB: Chick Rawlings Woods
C: Graham Harford Dixon
HF: Barker Thompson Bowyer
F: Lord Croad Bateman

R: Rehn Holland Crawford

Int: Picione Lekkas Vandenberg Johnson

I've left out Rock (which is probably unforgivable), Smith (and I pray that I'm wrong and he puts in a blinder this year), McPharlin (who may surprise), Dent (for the obvious reasons), Obst (a personal favourite, but one who needs to prove himself) and Barlow (who, if he gets in requires a forward line position, perhaps instead of Bateman).

If Rehn gets injured, I wouldn't bugger around with the side, I'd bring Loats in - that's what we're paying him for.

My team:

B: Jade Rawlings, Jonathan Hay, Rayden Tallis
HB: Glen Bowyer, Trent Croad, Angelo Lekkas
C: Luke McCabe, Daniel Chick, Kris Barlow
HF: Daniel Harford, Nick Holland, John Barker
F: Aaron Lord, Nathan Thompson, Ben Dixon
R: Shaun Rehn, Tony Woods, Shane Crawford
I: Lance Picioane, Brett Johnson, Mark Graham, Richard Vandenberg

Pushing for selection: Chance Bateman, Joel Smith (I want to put him in the bottom category), Brett O'Farrell (ditto), Tim Clarke, Anthony Rock, Bill Nicholls.

Developing: Luke McPharlin, David Loats, Nick Ries, Steven Greene, Nathan Lonie, Mark Williams.

Making up the numbers: Chris Obst, Adrian Cox, Tim Hazell, Matthew Dent.

A bit harsh to put some of our blokes on such a negative list as 'Making up the numbers', but it's hard to see any of them figuring in serious senior selection.

A few notes:

- Ang was the last bloke I put in the team - he's still a quality footballer and I think he makes the team better.

- A bit harsh to drop a bloke out of the team that played every game last year, but Rocky only kicked ten goals - his was filling Lord's spot. As frustrating as Aaron is, he's good for at least thirty goals in a full season.

- I've wrapped up Luke McPharlin on other sites before, but I want to see him take the VFL to pieces before he's back in the ones. Remember, he's only played one full season of footy: still plenty of learning to come.

- Brett Johnson could easily have slotted onto Ang's flank, and will be a first team regular for many years to come. Class.

- Mark Graham on the bench: I think it's a perfect role, because he can play a number of positions, but is not the best option in any of them. Tall enough, fast enough, can kick goals, can stop them. Ideal 2001 interchange player, and still has a valuable contribution to make to the club.

------------------
He's blonde, he's quick
He's got a massive ... err ... kick
Danny Chook! Danny Chook!

[This message has been edited by Danny Chook Fan Club (edited 08 February 2001).]

you may say that Rocky only kicked 10 goals, but how many goals did Hay kick?. Thats right Hay is one of our backmen,as was Rocky when he came off the bench. He was asked to fill various roles and not neccassirly a goal kicker. you can not judge a player by how many goals he kicks, but how much of an influence he is on the game itself. Wherever it may be on the ground! His experience, and his calm compusure when put under pressure....remember that game against Geelong??? at Colonial is priceless!

Bump

Was watching the 2001 year highlights video that came out and was thinking who out of this team would get a game in the current team.

I was thinking Harford, Crawford, Barker and Holland also in if Dixon was in todays side would he still have been a forward.

Bump

Was watching the 2001 year highlights video that came out and was thinking who out of this team would get a game in the current team.

I was thinking Harford, Crawford, Barker and Holland also in if Dixon was in todays side would he still have been a forward.

Joel Smith would occupy one of the half back spots along with Birchall. He was a very good player Joel Smith.

Hearing Joel Smith's name just reminds me of "kick it sideways Joel!"

As one poster mentioned, Harford would be in contention for collica's spot.
Thanks for the memories.

Where is Grendel ? One of my favourites from HHQ. Met him once to lend my copy of "urge to merge" by todd ridley. My rationale was many would be interested in reading but we shouldnt buy too many so the bastard didnt make much money

---- then someone bought me another copy for christmas !!!

Where is Grendel ? One of my favourites from HHQ. Met him once to lend my copy of "urge to merge" by todd ridley. My rationale was many would be interested in reading but we shouldnt buy too many so the bastard didnt make much money

---- then someone bought me another copy for christmas !!!

All i remember of Grendel was him quoting every sentence of someones argument and rebutting

Bump

Funny that, I watched the same vid a couple of weeks ago. It reminded me of how truly brittle we really were that year. A friend said to me back in 2001 if we had gotten over Essendon we could have given Brisbane a run for its money in the Grannie, but you just have to look back to H&A games such as Fremantle and St Kilda late in the season to realise there was every chance we could have been belted from pillar to post, depending on which Hawks team stepped onto the oval that game. There were days we looked champions and days we looked very, very ordinary during that season. Looking back, I think we would have been done like a dinner if we'd made the Grand Final that year, simply because we weren't consistently good. Instead, Essendon have the pleasure of being the Grand Final losers. There's that silver lining...