Rumour Hawthorn "the family club" lets down families again

I disagree with your overall point too. Would I like 40 Jack Ginnivans on the list? Absolutely not. But he played a role in the joy, cheek and swagger that the team displayed as we rode the wave in the second half of the year. If you come in with a sledgehammer approach and knock all that out of him and others we will be worse for it. Sam is not going to let him cross the line repeatedly without consequence, nor will the other leaders in the forward line like Gunston and Breust. He is someone you have to take the bad and the good with - but to compare him to Daniel Connors is absolutely ridiculous.
No one is saying to knock out the 'joy, cheek and swagger'. It's simply remembering your responsibilities and obligations and representing the club correctly. How you conflate the two is baffling. He brings verve on field, but clearly hasn't learned from the McCrae 'read the room' event.

To be fair it's whoever scheduled the clinic to be the day following a BnF should be at fault. Yes normal folks can turn up to work hungover and after a ski trip but they're athletes, public figures which would be even more scrutinised.

So better they didn't turn up at all.

It's not better that they didn't turn up. I remember going to footy clinics when I was a tacker and I don't recall thinking "Geez, SOS's skills are really sharp" or "Looks like Biddiscombe's ready to establish himself in the firsts, if his form in Handball Hotshots is anything to go by."

The kids would have been happy enough to get a hello, a photo and a poxy group selfie with the players. They probably could have done the whole thing with sunglasses on and a coffee in one hand. But they couldn't be arsed, even though it was their own venture to make a quid.

I get the whole ‘we were all 21 once’ thing and we’ve all done it - gotten shitfaced and been too dysfunctional to attend work or something the next day but it’s your off season, you have nothing to do for a while yet, you WILL have more chances to get pissed with your teammates boys - surely you can call it quits at midnight/1am just this once and go and stand around for a few hours then sleep all afternoon
Ginnivan is 22

It's not better that they didn't turn up. I remember going to footy clinics when I was a tacker and I don't recall thinking "Geez, SOS's skills are really sharp" or "Looks like Biddiscombe's ready to establish himself in the firsts, if his form in Handball Hotshots is anything to go by."

The kids would have been happy enough to get a hello
, a photo and a poxy group selfie with the players. They probably could have done the whole thing with sunglasses on and a coffee in one hand. But they couldn't be arsed, even though it was their own venture to make a quid.

Think it's a lose situation anyway. Few things could have played out.

They could have rocked up looked like shit, spew on the ground = child trauma = parents unhappy

kids happy they turned up, but parents can see they're visibly hungover = unhappy = goes to media anyway

Lost it at this. Buddy you’re 6 years old you don’t get to have a ‘worst day of your life’ yet lmao.
I don't know mate, I hung on to wound of my cousin deleting my Pokemon blue save with a traded Arcanine when I was 7 until about the age of 29 when I had to put my dog down.

I disagree with your overall point too. Would I like 40 Jack Ginnivans on the list? Absolutely not. But he played a role in the joy, cheek and swagger that the team displayed as we rode the wave in the second half of the year. If you come in with a sledgehammer approach and knock all that out of him and others we will be worse for it. Sam is not going to let him cross the line repeatedly without consequence, nor will the other leaders in the forward line like Gunston and Breust. He is someone you have to take the bad and the good with - but to compare him to Daniel Connors is absolutely ridiculous.
Yeah Dan Connors was an angry punchy red head who took sleeping pills and missed training.

Lets be honest, there were multiple failures on the part of many people.

1. The Players - Both should of shown up after moderating themselves the night before
2. The leadership group - Should of said at one point in the night "Hey, you have that clinic tomorrow, perhaps it is time to slow down so you can be right to be there"
3. Off Field Footy Dept staff - This is basically those who knew the event was on the next day and didn't try to reign them in.
4. Booking person - Who ever booked and signed off that these two kids would be the ones to do the clinic post BnF. Really should of had better awareness about the situation.

Once all the systems broke down and it was morning of the event it was a damned if you do damned if you don't situation. It would be better to not turn up and do damaged control than to turn up drunk/high and then have to deal with much worse scrutiny.

I like what the Hawks the team have done this year but some leader there needs to slap that Ginnishit silly and wisen him up

Youf of today
Back in the day if I got caught up in an all nighter I still got home for a quick rinse and made it to work for a 7am start.
“The Party boys” can’t handle their party
True dat

I like what the Hawks the team have done this year but some leader there needs to slap that Ginnishit silly and wisen him up
Blues fans REALLy shouldn’t comment …. Iv seen some of your lads not at their best back in the day at local club pie nights 😎
One in particular would put Fev’s antics on Brownlow night to shame

I remember the old vic kick days when the players were clearly not at their best so they sat around telling dick jokes. Lol.

Alan jakovich had the best one...

Why do seals have flat dicks? *commences to clap like a seal in front of his tackle

To pin this on 'the club' is a bit much. Watson is 19 and I'd be more lenient with him, but Ginnivan is a flog, is in his 4th season (at a second club), and is a bad influence. I'd be looking more at him as an ongoing issue. Collingwood (McCrae) was right, Ginnivan doesn't read the room and thinks he's above that. I wish we didn't draft him. I see this as a bit of a parallel to the situation at Richmond years ago with Dan Connors and Dustin Martin.
I genuinely just think he mainly cares about impressing chicks.

Rumour Hawthorn "the family club" lets down families again