Preview Hawthorn v North Melbourne AAMI Community series clash, Saturday March 6th 4.10pm at Arden Street

The same people who handcuffed themselves to Harry Jones, now doing it with Finn, albeit with far less form at VFL level to conclude he is ready.

Stop it.

Let him prove that he is up to it.
Let's face it. There's a few still around here that haven't got over Tom Schneider being delisted.

On Topic

Jan 7, 2018
Surely Hartigan is the replacement for Frawley. No mention of Scully, who also needs to be replaced, along with smith and hendo, hence Philipp’s, downie and why not Moore. Not sure who plays stratton’s tall/small role (when he was good at it), but impey down back for run looks good. Hardwick would want to show up this year. Preseason dead space filler.

It’s not the best article. The positions in question are the ones left vacant by former players who are 30+. Tom Scully is 29. Hence, not included.

If Finns surname was not that of a club great, and he looked like Conor glass, we wouldn’t be talking about him nearly as much as is done in this forum. He’s not done anything to earn this level of hysteria.

Based on numbers alone and our drafting history, it’s more unlikely than likely that he makes it. People need to cool their jets.
You are right, but to be fair he walked in the door with an AFL ready body and achieved top finishes in the much hyped 2km time trials.

So it's not like it's just his name. It's more like his name drew everyone's attention which then allowed a few early wins in his development journey to lead to the belief that he was set for a rapid ascension. Which may have been the case had there been real reserves grade footy for him to play in last year.

But again, you are right. People need to cool it on Finn for a bit. Maybe redirect their excitement into Day who is actually having that rapid ascension at AFL level.

Jul 16, 2017
Kingy loves us doesn’t he

Attachments

• 535F5CEF-A6E3-4ABB-9396-4F7C0C9289A6.png
    535F5CEF-A6E3-4ABB-9396-4F7C0C9289A6.png
    423.1 KB · Views: 216

bigmaxi

Nov 11, 2006
hampton
Roosters
Surely Hartigan is the replacement for Frawley. No mention of Scully, who also needs to be replaced, along with smith and hendo, hence Philipp’s, downie and why not Moore. Not sure who plays stratton’s tall/small role (when he was good at it), but impey down back for run looks good. Hardwick would want to show up this year. Preseason dead space filler.
Strange article given it’s from hawthorn, something a would expect from one of the dailies.

CaptainWorpedo

Feb 15, 2021
There is nothing to disrespect. What I have said is objective about selection. The coaches pick the same midfield because those individuals are the best performed at the club? So what you recommend is just something different rather than your best team. I will never understand that and yes you are definitely going out there to lose. The midfield that is being picked is our best team the fact that we kept losing was the drop off in form of Worpel and Shiels and the injuries to Mitchell and JOM. Have you seen Finn play or train? You are making assumptions. Even out on the track he is behind several others in actual football output especially in the intras. We pick the same team until we have someone better come along. Finn is not better at the moment. We pick our best team not our youngest team or any such variant.

E.g we picked Nash then Morris and now Brockman.

Its preseason still, the perfect time for youth. You would of hated Clarkson clean out when he first arrived at HFC. We were broken then, we are broken now change is required.

Brockman hasnt earned his stripes either mate. Your living in the past. What we have is not better, we are down at the bottom of the ladder. Your beat up can not changes this, we are s**t and change is required. Take of your Brown and Gold coloured glasses and see the truth, were the 15th BEST in the AFL. If you are happy with 15th, then i guess your right no youth and change is required.
You are right, but to be fair he walked in the door with an AFL ready body and achieved top finishes in the much hyped 2km time trials.

So it's not like it's just his name. It's more like his name drew everyone's attention which then allowed a few early wins in his development journey to lead to the belief that he was set for a rapid ascension. Which may have been the case had there been real reserves grade footy for him to play in last year.

But again, you are right. People need to cool it on Finn for a bit. Maybe redirect their excitement into Day who is actually having that rapid ascension at AFL level.
No one thought Day would make a impact in the 2020 AFL season either. An look what happened when he was given a decent go.

Jan 17, 2008
Brisvegas
Its preseason still, the perfect time for youth. You would of hated Clarkson clean out when he first arrived at HFC. We were broken then, we are broken now change is required.

Brockman hasnt earned his stripes either mate. Your living in the past. What we have is not better, we are down at the bottom of the ladder. Your beat up can not changes this, we are sh*t and change is required. Take of your Brown and Gold coloured glasses and see the truth, were the 15th BEST in the AFL. If you are happy with 15th, then i guess your right no youth and change is required.

No one thought Day would make a impact in the 2020 AFL season either. An look what happened when he was given a decent go.
Just let it go. It isn’t happening. It has been explained why. Go take it up with Clarko if you have a problem. 👍

Jun 28, 2013

Brockman hasnt earned his stripes either mate. Your living in the past. What we have is not better, we are down at the bottom of the ladder. Your beat up can not changes this, we are sh*t and change is required. Take of your Brown and Gold coloured glasses and see the truth, were the 15th BEST in the AFL. If you are happy with 15th, then i guess your right no youth and change is required.

Gee wiz

TFPs not thinking Finn is a good selection = him being happy that we are 15th?

Very silly simplification

Actually, that is COMPLETELY wrong.

Clarko and the match committee thought he would make an impact when given a go. After observing him train every day for 6 months.

The same people are observing Finn every day.

If you think they threw Day in randomly, and just got lucky, and therefore should do the same with Finn...you need to stop and listen to what people are saying to you, rather than doubling down.

CaptainWorpedo

Feb 15, 2021
Actually, that is COMPLETELY wrong.

Clarko and the match committee thought he would make an impact when given a go. After observing him train every day for 6 months.

The same people are observing Finn every day.

If you think they threw Day in randomly, and just got lucky, and therefore should do the same with Finn...you need to stop and listen to what people are saying to you, rather than doubling down.

NOT Clarko. BIG FOOTY. The uproar when Day was drafted early. Just like Smith back in the day.

Clarko wants Finn to learn the wing.
FYI the same was said about Kennedy.

CaptainWorpedo

Feb 15, 2021
Gee wiz

TFPs not thinking Finn is a good selection = him being happy that we are 15th?

Very silly simplification

SO we can play Brockman who hasnt earned his stripes at all. Yet not give other young guys ago in the preseason. Talk about double standards.

NOT Clarko. BIG FOOTY. The uproar when Day was drafted early. Just like Smith back in the day.

Clarko wants Finn to learn the wing.
Who gives a * what Big Footy thinks??? WTF has that got to do with your point?

Unless you are saying that Clarko should play Finn because...Big Footy?

And what the hell has the fact the some on Bigfooty got irate when Day was drafted have to do with Finn? Quoting the fact that Bigfooty got something wrong as proof that Finn should play is going beyond the realms of rationality.

CaptainWorpedo

Feb 15, 2021
Just let it go. It isn’t happening. It has been explained why. Go take it up with Clarko if you have a problem. 👍

You do not have to continue to respond to my post. My opinion, no one said you had to like it or agree with it. Just like your opinion does not rate with Clarkson. Your welcome to move along.

Jun 11, 2013
GSW
SO we can play Brockman who hasnt earned his stripes at all. Yet not give other young guys ago in the preseason. Talk about double standards.

pretty much all the training reports suggest Brocky has been doing some great things consistently in training. He is also fighting for a spot that is vacant in our team.

Conversely, Finn has had little impressive write ups from track watchers. While I'm sure he's been fine, Brockman has been far more eye catching and consistent apparantley. As we've already done the merry go round about, Finn is vying for a position that is completely full with superior players.

This is why he is being taught to play wing and flank as there are openings in those positions where he can outperform his peers like Moore, morrison, downie etc.

Once he adds more strings to his bow and becomes more reliable defensively and from an IQ perspective he will get Games. Just gotta relax and be patient with the kid. We all want him to be great but he is not ready right now.

Jun 28, 2013
pretty much all the training reports suggest Brocky has been doing some great things consistently in training. He is also fighting for a spot that is vacant in our team.

Conversely, Finn has had little impressive write ups from track watchers. While I'm sure he's been fine, Brockman has been far more eye catching and consistent apparantley. As we've already done the merry go round about, Finn is vying for a position that is completely full with superior players.

This is why he is being taught to play wing and flank as there are openings in those positions where he can outperform his peers like Moore, morrison, downie etc.

Once he adds more strings to his bow and becomes more reliable defensively and from an IQ perspective he will get Games. Just gotta relax and be patient with the kid. We all want him to be great but he is not ready right now.
Too logical

BurnaHawks

Sep 15, 2020
Is it just me or does anyone else feel like we've missed out on the pre-season this year. I used to love watching pre-season games, watching the kids. Shame