Hawthorn, what a joke

• Thread starter Sprog
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

S

Sprog

Maybe if Crawford and the Hawthorn footy club spent as much time as practicing their football as their acceptance speeches maybe they would win a few more games. BOMBERS FOREVER !

Geez man are you still upset about the eighties? Sounds like it. If they (the Dons) couldnt win for Mercuri and his family on saturday then it would have been a piss poor effort. No Thompson/Lekkas and an underdone Salmon (Stupid playing unfit players though).

I thought the Hawks busted their guts but came up against a great team. Still until you can actually win the flag this year (and you still have to WIN IT remember) then and only then will I be convinced that you dont CHOKE when the pressure is really on.
tongue.gif

I'm upset at hawthorn, Stupid skill errors (not to mention umpiring) cost them a game against a very 'static' Essendon team. I suppose it places hawthorn as very bad bbut I just don't rate Essendon that highly

The whole game was summed up for me by the passage of play which happened right in front of us. A slack Hawks handball hit Long on the chest. he was so surprised he just held it. The perfectly legal tackle on him was awarded a free kick and a 50 for which Longy ended up in one pocket and managed to kick it out on the other side

You probably think I'm whining about the umpiring, but wouldn't you bomber fans preferred to have won purely on merit (which you probably would have anyway ?)I know I would.

I agree 32 frees for haw 20 for ess
Bloody umpires , another 20 - 30 free kicks and you would be JUST behind.
PS we don't care how we win as long as we do
and in addition at least we are in the finals win or lose f---------s

Essendon guys proving that you're the loudest supporters in the comp.
Not even the crows fans spouted off so muc, with so little to show for it

And, while we're at it, Who, apart from Hawthorn, Have you beaten who is any threat this year ?

I can see how you guys like the last word, so please, be my guest, then XXXX off

Yeah the umps looked after us SO WELL. Count it right ONE goal from a free, the other three were directly atributable to moron Essendon players running over the mak and not returning the ball where a 50 was paid. Essendon only got the two frees which resulted in goals and one from a Hawk being stupid as well ( No one should ever give up
50 in todays game). And someone tell me how Jimmy Hird is allowed to tackle a bloke from behind (Croad) who had just taken a mark, gone back to have his kick and not only not be penalised but have the damn thing called play on? Also when he tried to take on the man TWICE in the last quarter and was clearly tackled LOST the ball and nothing paid! He is a great player but god he was looked after on saturday.
By the way frees are not so much how many you get but where you get them.
tongue.gif

Essendon have only played at their best against Port, Against Rich, Freo and Hawthorn they only just got out of 2nd gear.

On behalf of myself, Arch and the other less stupid Essendon supporters on this forum I'd like to apologise for the cocky nature of this tread.

Pess is right to a degree - Essendon was "static" - not their fault that Hawthorn played injured players and hence couldn't be expected to be on song - but we didn't get anywhere near our best.

Whoever said who have we beaten is also right - we may have won 10 games on the trot for 2000 but I don't rate any of the side we're beaten in the day season (WCE, FOOTSCRAY & NORTH in the night series is encouraging but its only the pre-season silly stuff) - but you can only beat who they put you up against and so far no-ones got within 25 points.

I fully expect us to win at least 18 games in the regular season and go all the way but until that happens the lid is very much on and bomber fans, if you're getting carried away after beating Port A, Fremantle, Richmond and an understrength Hawthorn then you've learnt nothing from last year's pain.

Dutch

PS. whoever said "I just don't rate Essendon" can you elaborate as to where you see they have weaknesses pls?

I'm not normally one to criticize umpiring. Mainly becasue I tend to think to myself, "What's the point". The are much more interesting, and more worthy things to discuss.

But, here, I feel I must comment.

I will be the first to admit if Essendon were to get a good run with the umpires, or a bad run. I call it how I see it, and I don't let bias cloud my judgement.

But on Saturday, boy o boy, did the Hawks get a sweet run. Especially in the second half.

It seemed in the third and 4th quarters, all an Essendon player had to do was touch a Hawk, and the Hawk got a free kick. There was a ludicrous holding the bsall decision that went Hawthorns way that resulted in a goal. In fact, I believe they gto 4 or 5 goals from frees,and the free kick was something like 32 to 20 in Hawthorns favour.

Not only did the Hawks get MORE, but importnatly, it is WHERE they got them. They got them in their forward line. You know, stupid tiggy touchwood stuff. Stuff that TECHNICALLY may be correct, but is only payed to one tea (Hawthorn)

But, we got a reasonable run in the first few games of the season.

And I thought the Bombers were pretty good on Saturday. I mean to NOT play that well, yet still kick 20 gaosl, 17 behinds (yet again) proves the potency of the team. It was a solid win. Itis so importnat to keep winning, no matter what week, or what opponent. Winning form is good form.

We havn't kicked under 19 goals so far this year.

I'm not gloating or anything, but it amazes me how people try to put us down after we had an 8 goal win.

WHAT DO PEOPLE EXPECT ? Do they expect the Bombers to win by 100 points every week or something ?

Jees !

Dan ,mate you must have been to a different game than the one I was at. Frees in out forward line was THREE count em in the official stats. Also I agree that we got many soft ones late in the 3rd and in the last when it was all over anyway and the majority of those were down back and you cant tell me that they were any good to us as they gave SIX!!! count em SIX frees to TALLIS!!! Thats like a claytons free the footballer you have when you dont have a footballer. (I admit that most of the frees where down back because thats where the ball was most of the time)
smile.gif
Still it didnt make up for that first Q when Hayden Kennedy decided that the Hawks were being to physical and penalised anything even remotly suggesting agro, note carwfs ATTEMPT to shepard that missed Long in the first Q resulted in your getting a goal. I mean he didnt even brush against him.
Duthcy thanks for some support but your right when you say about unfit players, I wonder if any coach will EVER learn that you just cant afford to play them in the modern game.
Pess my man give credit though the dons have the makings of somthing very (a bruceism) special. So do the Hawks but not until we can get some more run and finish into the side.

Nice to see we converted this thread into "can essendon live up their hype in 2000"

Perhaps we should revisit the original jibe at crawford and ask how many FULL games he has played in three years compared to his essendon counterpart. I seem to remember Crawf had a stress fracture also.
Or how much of Hirdy's $1m a year came from the pockets of essendon fans

And what was the real reason he was out all year last year ?

LIGHTEN UP. IT WAS A JOKE OK !!!!!!!

But what are you hinting at Pessimistic ??
Come on tell us

I neverr said that essendon didnt win easily yet this was a thread that started out bagging the Hawks, we mactched it pretty well considering the odds for 3 quarters and aint as bad as what some may think.
If an essendon side containing 8 premiership players (seems a few have forgotten that) should have beaten a side that is still the 3/4 youngest list in the comp. We are coming through maybe not as advanced as we would like to be yet but on the right track.

I'll try to lighten up

It's just that I'm depressed because the Hawks are the worst by far and as we have mainly fair weather supporters they'll all drop off (including the dogs and cats)as we get hammered week after week. Being in the worst financial shape of all clubs we'll surely die off by the end of the season and everyone will say 'we told you so' The AFL being such kind upstanding gents will offer us a way out by letting us relocate to queenstand so long as we give up the brown and gold in favour of the more contemporary colours of MacDonalds (Thats brown red and gold) and become the Big Mac Gold Coast Woppa Hawks. Glenferrie will be no longer needed and given over to Melbourne Van Demons for the weeks they're not in Tassie
If I'm reduced to watching sport on TV week after week I think I'll chose soccer,as it's more suited to a TV audience

Still, we'll Have the Box Hill Hawks, who are rocking at the moment

Need I go on ?

PS I'm not sure about Hirdy, I thought you bomber boys might know something. It's just that last year two media personalities predicted that "Hirdy will go down injured tonight and go out for a long time". Does a Hammy really put you out for the season ? How did they know he would be injured before it happened ?

Pessimistic,

Time will tell on your assessment of Essendon. I have been following the Dons for 20 years, and this team is the best I've seen. It reminds me a bit of 1985. I was watching talking footy last night, and they showed the 1985 and 1999 forward line. They were nearly identical in talent.

All this doesn't gauarantee a GF win (as I've said many, many, many times, the best team doesn't necessarily win the Grand Final anyway), but I think it is possible for the Bombers to win 20 games.

They are better than last year when we won 18, and with no obvious wekaneses (except for depth in the ruck, which is not a problem at the moment with "recruit of the year" Barnes), I think we are capable of winning 20 games.

Grendal, as for your free kick obsesion with the game (noting that Hawthorn received 12 more free kicks), I notce that the Hawks kicked three goals from 50 metre penalties and another goal from a free kick, not to mention all those tiggy touchwood stuff in the second half.

The boos from the Essendon fans were the loudest I've heard when the umpires were coming off the ground.

It was pathetic umpiring.

Pess

Jeez that was a depressing read. Stay away from sharp object there son. Anyway, the
Hawks aren't done just yet mate.

I for one would hate to ever see them disappear as the rivally btn our clubs has been great for years.

As to your members - I think its a temporary transitional lull following the AFL Park/ Colonial debacle. There were loads of them last year and will be again.

As to your team - you'll come good - its only round 5 this week. You'll get Thompson back, Crawford's come good at last and I saw that Youngie killed em in the magoos on the weekend.

And shit, you've got a bloody good goal to goal line - not as good as ours but definitely on the way up not down - you just need one or two replacements in the backline *you know who I mean* and Young to fire in the middle with Crawford and you'll win a lot of games this year.
cool.gif

Cheer up big fella (assuming you're a bloke). Lots of teams are going to do a lot worse against the Dons this year - hopefully this week will provide a prime eg.

Dutch

Dan, I didnt start the free kicks stuff. Yeah I agree the umps were deplorable. Yet you said it yourself, the soft crap we got in the last half and particularly in that last quarter were a joke. To bad I couldnt laugh becuase it was all over by then anyway.
By the by I see that the dons got two 50's that resulted in goals as well. One of those after chick was reported and given a fifty as subsequence. Note also that the charge was withdrwn before it even got to the tribunal. Im not having a go at essendon, Im just sticking up for the Hawks. Pess cmon when we get that new bunch under the father/son (Greene is the envy of every recruiter out their I hear from good sources) and also geof abletts 2nd son is also one they think will make the grade.
Two years wait maybe but we will still come back as an elite club.
Until then I dont mind if essendon win everything in site, living in the suburb and with most of my friends dons it makes for happy companions if nothing else.
smile.gif

Sorry guys, I was just trying to be sarcastic but obviously failed.

Here's my assessment of the Game

- Essendon were clearly better and should have won. Hawks would have needed Thompson and a fit Salmon to have a realistic chance

- I sensed Essendon were 'cruising' and clearly thought they had Hawthorn's measure.

- This put them dangerously close to Hawthorn making a break a couple of times but our own stupid unforced errors stopped this. We had a similar situation against Brisbane and managed to sneak in front and hold their supposedly free scoring forwards.

- The umpiring was bad at times. Hawthorn fans thought the decisions against us came at the said crucial times. Hawthorn got some frees and 50s when the game was all over. The booing of umpires at the end was Hawthorn fans as well as essendon fans.
I have been to hawthorn victories where umpire's decisions broke the deadlock and the victory is not as sweet.
Having a win when the umpires are definately against you is the 'sweetest victory of all'

-I repeat that Essendon were worthy winners and I hope everyone is right when they say they are soo good because I don't think our team is that far away from being as good.

Pess,
Didn't see tha game (played, couldn't get there in time afterwards, bumer), but from what I heard on the radio it sounded pretty close. The Dons got a break at the end ofthe first qtr and the Hawks spent the rest of the day not quite bridging it. Thommo would have made a difference, whether it would have been enough, who knows.

One point about Hirdy - last year every man and his dog expected him to break down against Nth, he was limping so obviously the week before it wasn't funny. It was also a stress fracture - the hammy was the year before. 98 when he did the hammy, Bererton didn't predict he'd be out, he made an off the cuff comment on MMM that he'd either be BOG or twang a hammy (in response to an article Brerton had written about Hird in the Age). As it was he was back by the seasons end.

[This message has been edited by Dave (edited 05 April 2000).]

Hawthorn, what a joke