The ball is in our court.

With the draw we've been given, if we're good enough we'll make it.

The early rounds could come back to bite, though.

Exactly, if we're good enough we'll make it.

Would rather this draw than playing the bottom teams a heap of times. If we make it, we'll of earned it.

Whilst winning six games in a row is notable. You'd only have to look at our opposition to see that figures can be deceiving. We still can't handle a key forward and our rucks are serviceable at best. Not to mention that there are still several of our best players that have been well below the standards they set in 2008.

A premiership is out of the question, but if we can manage to win the winnable games left in the season, we should finish 7th or 8th.

In hindsight beating richmond by "only" 3 points is looking quite good now !

Not thinking finals actually just want a win each week. if thet keeps going we might start thinging that way a bit.

Beware.

They have a lot of stars.

Stop riding them off. They can only beat who are they are fixured to play. We cant just expect them to turn it on and go straight from a slump into their 2008 form. It takes time and confidence and they are slowly building that.

They can play finals football and have experience. Would not be suprised like Sam Newman said to see them in the Grandfinal.

They are getting guns back and players like osbourne and brown( before injured) was and are finding great form. When Roughead gets out of his formslump he will add another dimension to their team.

I am one supporter that is scared of an in form hawthorn team come finals.

Lastly I'll say this.

I would rather play an in form full health Collingwood team on the last day of september than an inform full health Hawthorn.

But surely thered be more redemption in beating Hawthorn ?

I'm pretty sure the Hawthorn players would be feeling more hurt for the footy world calling the Hawks fluke winner and that the Cats should of won the 2008 flag i know i feel more hurt about those accusations.
If Sammy was hurt by the Lyon and Dermie articles about him and the players were hurt by that then I'm sure they would still be hurt about being labeled flukes..

Just is still out. Definately improved, they've won 5 in a row, but against poor opposition. Bulldogs, Geelong and St Kilda are 3 of their next 4 so I reckon we'll get a better indication of how good they are over the next month.

Playing incredibly well, key players coming into form, game plan has adjusted and looking very very good. One question based on form to date: How far can Hawthorn go in September? Thoughts, opinions and general discussion encouraged!

It is threads like this that really highlight people's genuine lack of meaningful football knowledge and insight.

It is very pleasing to see Hawthorn fans coming out with a realistic perspective and putting statements like this one to the sword, and rightfully so, because it is is just straight up dumb.

Yes, the Hawks have one 6 in a row, but:
v. Richmond @ MCG
v. Carlton @ Etihad Stadium
v. Sydney @ MCG
v. Port Adelaide @ MCG
v. Adelaide @ Aurora
v. Essendon @ MCG

You almost couldn't dream of a better draw. And ironically the only one of those games where the Hawks looked like a genuine finals threat and didn't just get by on the coattails of Franklin and Hodge was against the Blues, who aren't that good anyway but are the best of those sides.

It is extremely frustrating when people get sucked in to sides. Yes, they are winning, but come out with rubbish questions about September when they've actully beaten some sides who will be in September FFS.

It is threads like this that really highlight people's genuine lack of meaningful football knowledge and insight.

It is very pleasing to see Hawthorn fans coming out with a realistic perspective and putting statements like this one to the sword, and rightfully so, because it is is just straight up dumb.

v. Richmond @ MCG
v. Sydney @ MCG
v. Port Adelaide @ MCG
v. Adelaide @ Aurora
v. Essendon @ MCG

You almost couldn't dream of a better draw. And ironically the only one of those games where the Hawks looked like a genuine finals threat and didn't just get by on the coattails of Franklin and Hodge was against the Blues, who aren't that good anyway but are the best of those sides.

It is extremely frustrating when people get sucked in to sides. Yes, they are winning, but come out with rubbish questions about September when they've actully beaten some sides who will be in September FFS.

That is a good summary of most repsoses to the OP.

At the moment Hawthorn is the 8th best team in the competition in 4 weeks we will be somewhere from the 6th best to 10th best...

If Hawthorn push the top sides, 3 of whom we play in the nest 4 weeks and win 2 we will still probably be 8th . If Hawthorn win the next 4 games then we deseve to be 5th to 7th. If Hawthorn lose all 4 then we are what we are.. Lets wait and see hey.

v. Richmond @ MCG
v. Sydney @ MCG
v. Port Adelaide @ MCG
v. Adelaide @ Aurora
v. Essendon @ MCG

You know we beat 3 teams in finals we lost to in the H&A in 08 dont you ?
Just like geelong GFs 07 and 09

BTW I reckon the tiges would demolish the blues

I should add that hawthorn are a very very good finals team/club

I think they will sneak into the 8 purely from the fact that the bottom 7 sides are ordinary so it leaves them and North fighting for the last spot. They will do nothing in September. Worst 6 game win streak i think i have ever seen. Would have lost on the weekend if it wasnt for Franklin's heroics and Hille missing. That means that they could easily have lost to Richmond, Port, Sydney and Essendon all at the MCG. Playing some real teams in the next month so the true level of the side will be revealed.

Could easily have won v Geelong, Bulldogs, Eagles, North

swings and roundabouts. spread of teams is even across the ladder so we are where we should be really

You know we beat 3 teams in finals we lost to in the H&A in 08 dont you ?
Just like geelong GFs 07 and 09

I should add that hawthorn are a very very good finals team/club

Gee. Congratulations on the first point. What a dud statement. Completely different side, completely different mind- set, completely different competition. That statement is almost as dumb as the OP. If you are comparing the Hawks of 08 to the Hawks of 10 then you may as well just not respond, because your opinion isn't worth hearing.

2008 was only your 2nd finals appearance since 2001. You finished 6th one of those years, and didn't make it last year. So what you are basing your claim as you "being a very, very good" finals team on is baffling. Because it certainly isn't experience.

I'm pretty sure the Hawthorn players would be feeling more hurt for the footy world calling the Hawks fluke winner and that the Cats should of won the 2008 flag i know i feel more hurt about those accusations.
If Sammy was hurt by the Lyon and Dermie articles about him and the players were hurt by that then I'm sure they would still be hurt about being labeled flukes..

Thing is, hawks aren't on some "greatest team of all" wank trip. We just appreciate a premiership for what it is. They are hard enought to get without you having to 'back up' or something like that.

Gee. Congratulations on the first point. What a dud statement. Completely different side, completely different mind- set, completely different competition. That statement is almost as dumb as the OP. If you are comparing the Hawks of 08 to the Hawks of 10 then you may as well just not respond, because your opinion isn't worth hearing.

2008 was only your 2nd finals appearance since 2001. You finished 6th one of those years, and didn't make it last year. So what you are basing your claim as you "being a very, very good" finals team on is baffling. Because it certainly isn't experience.

Just saying while H&A wins can give a guage, they are becoming less relevant to finals tipping. Obvioausly you need to win enough to qualify.

Now everyone and his dog said we overachieved in 08. and in 01 we went in to the finals as 'possibly the worst finals qualifier ever' and we turned round and got sooo close to the granny.

What? You do know that we are on equal wins as Swans Blues and Roos and we are 2 games and high % clear in 8th spot and what do you mean we left our run too late, look at the Lions they won their 1st 4 games and now look where they are. Sorry I don't really understand what you mean we left our run too late when we are in the 8?

i think what he is trying to say, and i agree with him, is that the losses to west coast, kangaroos and essendon first time round were crucial. if we we're a 13-9 team at the start of the year, those three losses make us a 10-12 team and hard to make finals.

when you drop three you should win, it's bloody hard to make up those and we now have to win at least 2 of our next 4 against dogs, cats, lions and saints. on current form, the lions in tassie should be okay, but the other 3 are very good teams and will be tough to knock off. if we lose all three, we are 8-9 with 5 to play, including freo in freo, sydney in sydney, port at port and collingwood.

a tough end to the season not helped by losing three winnable games early.

i think what he is trying to say, and i agree with him, is that the losses to west coast, kangaroos and essendon first time round were crucial. if we we're a 13-9 team at the start of the year, those three losses make us a 10-12 team and hard to make finals.

when you drop three you should win, it's bloody hard to make up those and we now have to win at least 2 of our next 4 against dogs, cats, lions and saints. on current form, the lions in tassie should be okay, but the other 3 are very good teams and will be tough to knock off. if we lose all three, we are 8-9 with 5 to play, including freo in freo, sydney in sydney, port at port and collingwood.

a tough end to the season not helped by losing three winnable games early.

Just to correct you we play Freo in Tassie. IMO I think we will win 5-6 more games and sneak into 7-8th, and if we play another Vic team in Week 1 we are a chance to sneak a finals win but not much more.

Only time will tell and hopefully it is the start of more success for this group in the coming years.

I don't think we'll make finals.
Said it after the loss to North and I keep saying it.
Left the run too late and weren't good enough early in the season

If they make it, they'll deserve it. Very hard draw coming up.

Personally I think they'll share 9th and 10th this year with Essendon, instead of 8th and 9th last year.

I'm still not convinced with Hawthorn. they're playing well, but the six in a row they've were all games that you'd have expected them to have a big chance in. I kept getting sucked into them last year whenever they won a couple in a row as well.

They should finish about 6-8th. If they can beat one of the top teams i'll start to reconsider

Wasn't there only one final - the big one - which didn't go the way of ladder position last year? (which went against the H&A result?)

the last 3 grand finals - the loser had won in the previous meeting - usually H&A.

if its geelong and the saints again - does friday mean anything at all ?

actually in 05 and 06 didnt the same happen with eagles and swans ?

is suggets theres something wrong with the system

Any team with

Franklin, rioli, sewell, mitchell, hodge, roughead etc can make a dent in finals heck even win the flag

but obviously we have to have

A. No injuries

B. Beat a few top teams in the next month

C. the hunger (which looks like its coming back)

if we have those 3 things then we can go very far

I agree... very good point that clearly highlights the reality of the hawks. Only issue apart from what is mentioned is depth, do the hawks have the depth to make a dent in the finals?

Hopefully we wont need it...

I think our best is as good as any team in the comp, but our depth is poor, as seen up to round 7. It is no fluke that the clubs turn-around came from getting some key personnel on the park again, Skipper has almost been our MVP!

How well Hawthorn go into September will come down to how lucky we get with injuries to key players.

the last 3 grand finals - the loser had won in the previous meeting - usually H&A.

if its geelong and the saints again - does friday mean anything at all ?

actually in 05 and 06 didnt the same happen with eagles and swans ?

is suggets theres something wrong with the system

All it suggests is there isn't really much difference between 1st and 4th. Which is really how it should be.