Hayden Ballantyne

I just think ablett is a geelong supporter. Calls himself ablett, states his team is Fremantle but comes from Bendigo. :rolleyes:

To succeed you need to be ruthless n relentless, don't let your emotions cloud the fact he missed two important goals in the last qtr that could of swayed momentum to our way.
They only way it can't happen again is if he's not there.
Cyril Rioli didn't do much down the other end but he kicked two goals & didn't make any noticeable mistakes unlike Ballantyne.

I just think ablett is a geelong supporter. Calls himself ablett, states his team is Fremantle but comes from Bendigo. :rolleyes:

Mate I'm no Geelong supporter, idolised Ablett Snr growing up but proudly follow the Fremantle Shockers & not afraid to make the hard call.

people are overlooking the fact that he missed so many shots because he was in the position to have so many shots. he didn't go missing he put himself in great positions throughout the whole game, the only problem, albeit a major one, is that he lost the plot with his kicking. If he had of kicked straight he could have a medal around his neck.

It wasn't just the kicking for goal though. He couldn't even pick up the ball cleanly around the ground. It was fumble after fumble after fumble. A very disappointing game.

Like Kingy from our club I normally enjoy watching Ballantyne get under everyones skin. He seemed to be missing that today and wasn't playing his normal game. Maybe nerves got the better of him.

Important player for your club though, every team needs a Milne, a King or a Ballantyne and I doubt Ross Lyon will be singling him out.

I think people should get a grip .
We lost - its ****ing hard , but i was not devo .
We werent outpointed.our lack of composure hurt us early

Alot of new Freo posters in here - unusual.

Ballas had a shocker, kinda of places a question mark on him in this sort of game. Kinda a bad day to highlight himself. As I feel Lyon is going to be sharpening his knife and theres going to be some casualties.

If hes going to take the game on he needs to deliver or pass it off. But as has been said he was unable to keep composure (not an orphan) but he fumbled and kicked dreadfully.

Poor bugger, watching the replay now and he is going to be dark on himself, wasn't the only docker to have a terrible nervous fumbly game.
Some of you guys have a short memory, how many times this year has he pulled the team up with his frenetic tackling and run downs.
Give the guy a break.

All other teams supporters hate Ballantyne.
He had a shocker so their sticking in the boots.

The occasion got to him, he was just trying too hard and was coming unstuck.
Will learn from the experience and hopefully thrive on it next time.

He wasnt the only one though.
Fyfe tried his guts out and was very good, but his kicking was awful, missed goals, missed targets and was in such a rush at times to get it forward he nearly completely missed his boot.
Pav goal kciking all final series has been piss poor by his standards.

Ballantyne atleast got his hands on the ball a fair bit, and had opportunites to setup goals or kick them.
A few other players went completely missing and did stuff all.

As for the fools complaining about Ballantyne not passing to Walters, it was 100% the correct decision.
He had been kicking poorly and could of easily been cut off.

Ballas, Pearce, De Boer, Mayne, Suban, Clarke poor today and a couple of others average - just didn't handle the big stage well today.

Interesting reading this thread, the why's, the maybe's, the sympathy and the forgiveness .. sometimes the non forgiving.

imo Hayden took to much adrenaline into the game but the one thing I can't forgive him for was the selfishness. Taking a mark and then not looking for better options (Walters all alone at the top of the goal square waving his arms about) isn't the team thing to do. Dunno if he was thinking 'this is where I can make a name for myself' or what but footy is a team game and selfish acts stand out like dogs balls.

Hayden wasn't on his Pat Malone today with regard not playing to his potential. Lyon himself didn't coach to his potential .. why the F would you sub Zac Clarke off and what's with Zac Dawson, what does Lyon see in him or what does Dawson have hanging over Lyon ??

And don't get me wrong here, I'm not anti Dockers, anti Ballantyne or anti Lyon, just an outsider taking an unbiased view of some of the game.

Gee, 5% more luck and your first Flag was for the taking, it wasn't to be. Hawks are gonna lose a few goodens from that side now so I reckon my Swans will be playing the Dockers on the BIG stage in 2014.

he is not the first small forward to go missing in the gf and he wont be the last. He joins a list like Ph.Matera, Milne, Stokes.

Probably the most disappointing thing was that passage of play in the first quarter when he marked on the 50m and decided not to kick it over the top to Walters. Definitely had the time and space to setup a definite goal but that selfish passage of play set the tone for the rest of his match.

The ball wasnt bouncing Freo's way most of the game anyway. Just wasnt your day. Youll get to another 1-2 GF's under Lyon with your current group.

Apart from the fact that he had a ordinary game, what I didn't like was when he took a mark 20 metres from goal with 8mins 30s left and Fremantle 4 goals down, he went back 25 metres took 30 precious seconds off the clock and then shanked the kick !

Was no poorer than Roughead.

You win the game, no one cares.

He'll learn.

Pearce was the worst on ground, imo. But like you said, you win the game and no one really cares.
Ballas will be better for it [as will lot of others that had a GF taste for a first time]

Oh, and btw ... great season Fremantle. The team tried their guts out today and made a real game of it.

This is now the coming of the Fremantle Football Club. All Clubs will stand up and take notice.

"Probably the most disappointing thing was that passage of play in the first quarter when he marked on the 50m and decided not to it over the top to Walters. Definitely had the time and space to setup a definite goal but that selfish passage of play set the tone for the rest of his match." :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: ZACKERY !!!

Looking at the posting history, seems to be the first posts on the Freo forum. I am more of a Freo fan. :p