List Mgmt. Heath Shaw

• Thread starter Thread starter Beanstalk

Do you want Heath Shaw at Geelong?

He's met with Geelong. It's as official as Taylor Adams is...

Correct a rumor. Until he has signed with us and coming, he is no closer then Boak last year.

The reason I say that because some posters on here a near meltdown mode over getting him. Need to relax!;) May not even be coming here...

With our skewed list in terms of age we desperately need players in the 23 - 27 YO bracket. Can't see us going for Shaw who is well outside that , runs like a duck , and has played his best footy already.

Not as concerned about the dickhead stuff as some, just don't understand how you can square a stated youth policy with his recruitment. Moreover as it stands someone else would have to be going the other way because we only have three list spots currently open.

With our skewed list in terms of age we desperately need players in the 23 - 27 YO bracket. Can't see us going for Shaw who is well outside that , runs like a duck , and has played his best footy already.

Sums it up. I'd say under the ideal age bracket is ok too - they may not be there yet but in a few years time they will be.

I will be pissed if we offer any thing more than a 1/2 empty can of Toohey's New for taking trouble off Collingwood's hands. He would just hinder the progress of kids like Thurlow, who I would expect to take the next step after a good summer in the gym.

Certainly understand the reticence there mate.
Thurlow does look a likely type, but doubt he is ready to jump to a full season of football by 2014.
I would also like to see Guthrie given a chance in the middle too, Shaw could assist that happening.

Shaw is 28 so he played at 1 club a fair amount of time. I don't think the resume is that bad.
He would be useful. He can play. Has 3 people at the club who know him.
At a second rounder, I would take that risk.

And as someone else stated, this isn't taking Chappy's spot, but J.Hunt.

Not as concerned about the dickhead stuff as some, just don't understand how you can square a stated youth policy with his recruitment. Moreover as it stands someone else would have to be going the other way because we only have three list spots currently open.

I just don't think that he fulfills a role given the kids that we have who could play that position. We do not have holes there but we have them in the center and KPD's, or will have shortly. Why waste a pick on a flanker when it is not a concern. All the club's energy should be going into picking up players where we have clear deficiencies.

I am torn.

If we are going for another flag tilt next year, then yes, I want Shaw here! We are a better team with him in it.
If we are going through a mini rebuild with an aim for a flag in 2015/16, then no, I don't want him here! Get some more games into the kids.

As yet I am still not sure what direction the club is going in!

Am I worried about Shaw being a "dickhead"? No. We have a fantastic culture down at Geelong with a great leadership team! No way will Joel and Scotty let him get away with sh*t! And he's really not that bad is he (no worse than SJ once or Stokesy once was) he's just a little too passionate at times - and sometimes that can be a good thing!
I am completely confused too. Why would we get rid of pods and Chappy if we are going for a flag.

Just an opinion, but after looking super fit early in the season Pods fell away physically as it went on.
Chappy missed 4 months with a soft tissue injury. Both decisions would be medically based I think.

At their best both players would be in our best 22 otherwise.

I think they would hope for a more settled line up next season if they want to challenge.
A part of that decision would relate to players they think who can't play a full season.

Just an opinion, but after looking super fit early in the season Pods fell away physically as it went on.
Chappy missed 4 months with a soft tissue injury. Both decisions would be medically based I think.

I think they would hope for a more settled line up next season if they want to challenge.
A part of that decision would relate to players they think who can't play a full season.
Hawkins is massive injury concern. pods would be a very handy back up if he goes down. We have no back up now.

I think Shaw is a significantly better pure defender than he is being given credit for. Teams have tried to stop his run by taking him to the goal square in the past and he's generally been very good as a stopper. And that is something we could use. On the other hand, I think we need to be getting significant game time into Bews and Thurlow next year and both could be quality players for us. Shaw would be directly keeping them out of the side, more than Chapman was keeping out any specific player(s).

I'm not 100% for it, but to be honest, I'm not totally against it either. Depends how the list looks when the dust settles, I guess.

I just don't think that he fulfills a roll given the kids that we have who could play that position. We do not have holes there but we have them in the center and KPD's, or will have shortly. Why waste a pick on a flanker when it is not a concern. All the club's energy should be going into picking up players where we have clear deficiencies.

That's my feeling. I think FredLeDeux might be right in saying that club sees him playing further up the ground - perhaps as a replacement for Varcoe, if the rumours are true. It'd also be interesting to see if statistically Shaw generates higher rates of possession and retention than comparable players; again I think the club seems pretty set on that as the tactical choice of the future.

Hawkins is massive injury concern. pods would be a very handy back up if he goes down. We have no back up now.

It is a concern. List management is a balancing act for sure.
They must have some belief Hawkins will come good I suspect.

I think sometimes you also need to offer hope to the younger blokes that they will get played too.
Kersten is a guy for instance we will need to fight to hold onto and will be ready to play in 2014.

Finally someone speaking some sense about Shaw. You'd think we delisted Chappy to recruit Didak the way some are carrying on. Shaw still has a lot of good footy in him and at 28 next year and if he's no good then let's get rid of Bartel, Mackie, and Stokes too while we're at it :rolleyes:

Having said that my mixed feelings is more about the baggage he brings rather than his ability to play. But in the end it's not our decision, it's the club and if they decide to go for him then all we can do is welcome him tot he Cattery and wait and see how it works out.
That's the rankest psychologism I've heard in a while. Just because we don't want another 28 year old doesn't mean we get rid of the one's that we do have. Most people don't want a 9 year old dog as they know that it probably only has a couple of years left. But that doesn't mean that when the dog that you've had since it was a pup turns 9 years of age, you go and put it down either.

That's an interesting though THP
No doubt we were burnt last season by taking a risk on certain players - McIntosh , Menzel , Simpson, Vardy and Chapman - all had pre-existing or a susceptibility ( Chappys hamstrings/quads)
Whilst a few got back 5 players in this category is significant , adding Pods just heightens the risk.
You can't help win a game if you're in rehab so I tend to agree that this would have been a factor is forming the list for 2014.

I don't get the Shaw thing.

1. He will be 28 next season going on 29 - so age is a concern for a team rebuilding. So does not fit with the youth policy.

2. May cost too much - either in picks or money or both.

3. Keeps out Thurlow and possibly Bews from getting senior experience.

4. If he is played up field as some suggest - how do the know this will work. He has not done this role before as I understand it.

5. Could it affect our deal to get Adams which is a better fit for us ? - we need mids not HBF.

6. And the old cultural concerns - will he be an asset regarding club culture or be a concern ?

So too many concerns for me to take him. Only condition I would take him, and this will not happen, he costs us practically nothing. Latish pick and Pies pay a fair share of his contract.

Most people don't want a 9 year old dog as they know that it probably only has a couple of years left. But that doesn't mean that when the dog that you've had since it was a pup turns 9 years of age, you go and put it down either.
and you accuse me of rank psychologism.... pot calling the kettle black there DB.

Not a fan of Shaw, can't control his emotions and when he loses it he very rarely gets it back under control.

That being said, if we could get him for peanuts then I reckon it may help.

What worries me is like a few others have suggested that we have all these gun attacking defenders, who seem to have a problem with the defending part. We need a few guys who can actually clamp down on the small forwards who generally touch us up (McGrath, Monfries, Lindsay Thomas etc)

Not a fan of Shaw, can't control his emotions and when he loses it he very rarely gets it back under control.

That being said, if we could get him for peanuts then I reckon it may help.

What worries me is like a few others have suggested that we have all these gun attacking defenders, who seem to have a problem with the defending part. We need a few guys who can actually clamp down on the small forwards who generally touch us up (McGrath, Monfries, Lindsay Thomas etc)

For all the criticism that Shaw has received for his last game with the Pies, Monfries only kicked one goal for the game.

I would also like to see Guthrie given a chance in the middle too, Shaw could assist that happening.

Shaw is 28 so he played at 1 club a fair amount of time. I don't think the resume is that bad.
He would be useful. He can play. Has 3 people at the club who know him.
At a second rounder, I would take that risk.

And as someone else stated, this isn't taking Chappy's spot, but J.Hunt.

I wouldn't move Guthrie just yet. We've finally got a young defender who can shut down small forwards. I'd wait until that spot can be done by others coming through before moving him. As much as our midfield desperately needs youth I think Guthrie's best spot is still the backline for the time being.

I wouldn't take the risk on Shaw. We recruited two 28-year-olds last year, one has been a complete disaster, and the other is line ball. Can't afford another failure on someone nearly 30 in an already far too old list.

and you accuse me of rank psychologism.... pot calling the kettle black there DB.

what did i do?

Go Catters