Heathcote DFL part 3

I would never discount the bloods this late in the pre season... This is not much but the touch up they gave stathfieldsaye on saturday whilst missing/resting key players is an early indication that aggots grant will have them firing come round 1. They have kept most of the boys less schubert, hayes but have recruited well and will definately have depth, something they didnt have last year.
my hdfl team of the year
............ brian westley ricky joyce
............ leigh davies daniel anderson
pat obrian tony baker ben johnston
cam cail(c) grant weeks shane davis
nick knight aaron james adrian dohnt

lech featherstone, andy grant, ian kay, ............

bench - bongiovanni, ..............., trevor douglas, al meldrum
coach - miller

few holes to fill there. posssibly huntly and north suggestions??

I'm putting on my white hills hat I guess, but 3 of there recruits for 09 would probably be worth a mention.

Pete and Jim Angove
Ed Dickens

Looks a bloody good side on paper....would love to see them go up against a BFL best of side. Probably never happen though unfortunately!

On a totally different topic, anyone heard of the umpiring shake up this year? Aparantly those yellow bendigo umpires took over the whole league and rochester umpires are not in the HDFL anymore?? anyone else heard that?

Harley would slot into one of those backline spots no worries.
if that is jon harley, that played with moama last year,he will not only make interleague team, he will win league medal, from the few games i saw him play last year.he is a freak,so if he stays injury free,LOOKOUT :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Reckon you've just put every Saints fan on a horn peter with that appraisal of Mr. Harley :thumbsu:

He might be a gun, but if he plays in the backline he won't win the league medal. That's a mid-fielders medal these days. Backmen never win it.

he is a gun,gets it more than most midfielders,dropping back to this standard he wont have many worries.takes mark after mark even though he is not big he is never outmarked.:thumbsu:

Peter, John asked if you could pick up some milk on the way home and a block of chocolate and says he misses you so hurry up, the bed is waiting!!

ROUND 1: April 18th
Elmore v Mt Pleasant
White Hills v LBU
Huntly v Heathcote
Colbinabbin v Nth Bendigo
ROUND 2: April 25th
Nth Bendigo v Huntly
Mt Pleasant v Colbinabbin
LBU v Elmore
Heathcote v White Hills
ROUND 3: May 2nd
Elmore v Heathcote
White Hills v Nth Bendigo
Huntly v Colbinabbin
LBU v Mt Pleasant
ROUND 4: May 9th
Nth Bendigo v Elmore
Colbinabbin v White Hills
Mt Pleasant v Huntly
Heathcote v LBU

Looking at the first 4 rounds of the year there are some very interesting match ups and a couple of clubs come round 4 could possibly not have a win on the board.
Depending on how Nth Bendigo come up, which at present you have to say they are looking dangerous, Elmore could be zero and 4 after 4 rounds, Colbo could be 2 and 2, Mts & could be 3 and 1 or 1 and 3 and LBU could be the same. Heathcote look likely to be 3 and 1 or if travelling very well 4 and zip.
Very hard to pick early season form but with 16 rounds all teams have to win the early ones as it will affect ladder position later in the year with a poor start

Its going to be a very close thing for final spots with 16 rounds and early season form may get you a finals spot if clubs have injury and issues.

At present I think White Hills and Huntly are the 2 that probably wont make it so 6 teams vying for 4 spots. Should be very interesting year
Maybe W/hills and Huntly will suprise, you never know how well have they recruited they could be a little better than you think but then again aarrr maybe not hahah

What was the run down on Strath last weekend? Should they be in the HDFL? How will the go in the BFL? Did any of their high recruits play? Prdrotti atc...

Had a look at Mounts & Marong yesterday Mt Men,your coach copped a fair bit of attention i would say this will happen all through the season, to his credit he lead the side well, you had a few missing i was told and so did Marong.it was good first hit out for both sides,all the talk around the ground yesterday was how good the Heathcote ground was with all the rain we had it only became a bit slippery,anyway i would say both sides will finnish in the first 3 in their leagues

Yeah, good players that attack the pill hard always cop attention, ie G Ablett Jnr. Good first up hit out. Good show from recruits and locals. All HDFL grounds looking better than 2 years ago. Good efforts by committees!

Maybe W/hills and Huntly will suprise, you never know how well have they recruited they could be a little better than you think but then again aarrr maybe not hahah
i think with all the money north are throwing around they would want to inprove heathcote will blow all the sides off the park top 5
HEATHCOTE
LBU
NTH BGO
MOUNTS
COLBO
:thumbsu:

i think with all the money north are throwing around they would want to inprove heathcote will blow all the sides off the park top 5
HEATHCOTE
LBU
NTH BGO
MOUNTS
COLBO

Base don this ladder Colbo dont make finals as only top 4 this year. I dont think that willbe the case.

North still have alot to prove and having abloke who can average 5-6 goals a game doesnt mean your backs or midfield are any better than Heathcotes, LBU, Mounts or Colbo. It would be a massive set back if North dont play finals this year.

HEATHCOTE
LBU
NTH BGO
MOUNTS
COLBO
My top 4 would be
Heathcote
Lbu
Colbo
Mounts/North
I dont see how people on here continually underestimate Colbo. Although the have lost key personal in the Hills they have topped up with quality inclusions such as Weeks, Holobowski, Brown etc.. I would expect them to possibly push for a top 1 or 2 spot. Just on North although theyhave picked up handy players i would expect like most to improve significantly but they still have a lot to prove probably more than most sides. Especially having a lenghty absence from finals footy. I think as we all know its going to be a bloody tight year for a spot in the 4!.