Heathcote District FL

• Thread starter Thread starter aimar21

Got a question for Big Ump and others: If Colbo happens to beat Mounts this week what are the chances of the Grand Final being played at Tooleen? I would imagine that the league would not want to give the final to the sides that are participating in the seniors game. If this is the case then Mounts will have had 3 finals played therethis year, because they not going to give it to any one else re travelling and grounds supposely not up to scratch. It could be very interesting if this scencio happens.

If Mounts lose - the GF will be at Toolleen. If Colbo loses, it will be at Colbo. This has been in the Yabba for the last couple of weeks. The League gets the dosh from the grand final, though the host club gets a stipend (a percentage of the gate) to cover all the costs.

Absolutely ridiculous. The game should be played at the best ground available whether or not it's at a teams home ground. The two best grounds in the league at the moment are Colbo and Elmore. They two clubs should get together, flip a coin and see who has the Granny. This is on the presumption that Colbo roll Mounts this week of course.

Yes the GF should be played at the best ground, but you can not flip a coin to see what ground you play on, I can just se it now Elmore win the toss and play at home and win by 4 to 5 goals because of home ground advantage if it was played at another ground it would probably a lot closer :confused:

If Mounts do not win i would say the league will play the GF at Mounts personalty i would like to see the GF at Norths ground or Huntlys if they came up to leagues likings.I really think for next years GF, the league should be looking at the new Strath ground.Personalty i think they would get a record gate i know their would be a bit of work but if they start to organise straight away after this years GF their should be no worrys:thumbsu:

Big Ump you cannot seriously want the league to play the biggest game of the year on a ground the size of a round a bout

Maybe i live in the past, eg when i played we were told what ground to play on, that was it we played finals footy with out all this fuss about size and everythink else clubs or people moune about:confused:

What an understatement you've made there ump!!! Roota, being a central murray boy, you would know how much of an advantage that Swan hill has had in the past having the GF played there whether they are in it or not. I reckon that there are enough grounds in resonable condition to have the GF played on a neutral ground. Both Elmore and mounts grounds are like green cement anyway so why not make an effort to get the ground of a team that hasn't made the finals up?

Good call HB. I was out at Huntly tonight and the grounds looking good so why not play the GF there. Oh god I'm sorry guys, I forgot this was the HDFL, don't know what come over me.:D

Fantom:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Oh yeah, If we scheduled the draw to play games from Friday to Sunday we would only need to play games at Colbo and Toolleen:thumbsd:

Bully Swan Hill have lost more Grand finals then they have one recently something like 1 out of the last 5 that they have actually won. It is not an issue up in the CMFL because it is known at the start of every year that the GF is going to be at Swan Hill, every one knows it, it is the best venue and all the other clubs get the opportunity to tender for the catering rights. Even when Swan Hill play in a GF they are not guarnateed to get their homes rooms, it is decided by a coin toss. If our league had a standout venue with a grandstand and obviously superior facilities and potential to draw the biggest crowd then they should go with it every year

Beg to differ that Swan Hill is the best venue up there Roota. I suppose compared to Lalberts ground it's pretty good. Yes it would help if our league had a standout venue with superior facilities but it hasn't. If you want to talk facilities your club is at the bottom of the pool and would miss out on finals. I will also check up on the Swan Hill stat that you have chucked up, but when i was up there, there was a definate advantage for them to play a GF on thier home ground.

What other venue is there up there that has a grand stand, that amount of car parking and general atmosphere for football. Yes compared to Lalbert it is pretty bloody good. I encourage you to check up on Swan Hills record coz they have won bugger all compared to the amount that they have played in and as i said Every other club get the opportunity to tender for the catering rights, as a matter of interest Lalbert are doing it for the second year running.

How about you two love birds take off over to the Central Murray thread, boring the crap out of me and not to mention Doona-the big man hasn't postted tonight, that's how bored he is. :D:D:D

Theres alot of leagues that have a ground they play the grand final at each year, just like the AFL using the MCG, The GV use Dookie reserve I think, Bendigo use the QEO, Golden Rivers use an oval in Kerang, I think Sundrasia's is always played on the same oval up there too, I'm sure theres more, i would think Horsham league do a similar thing. Besides G/R it looks like this is what seperates the 'Major' leagues.

Yes, that is pretty common knowledge that you do live in the past. Who's your tip for the H'Cote B&F Chicken Legs?

How about you two love birds take off over to the Central Murray thread, boring the crap out of me and not to mention Doona-the big man hasn't postted tonight, that's how bored he is. :D:D:D

Well Heathcote man post something for him to talk about. Our converstation has relevance due to all the friggin whinging that has been going on about finals allocations this year

Theres alot of leagues that have a ground they play the grand final at each year, just like the AFL using the MCG, The GV use Dookie reserve I think, Bendigo use the QEO, Golden Rivers use an oval in Kerang, I think Sundrasia's is always played on the same oval up there too, I'm sure theres more, i would think Horsham league do a similar thing. Besides G/R it looks like this is what seperates the 'Major' leagues.
If Colbo aren't in it then our final is pretty much there every year. The 91 Grand Final where we got not only beaten on the scoreboard but beaten up as well by Colbo was there and the margin wasn't a blow out. Dare I say it, if it had have been played at Heathcote the result may have been reversed so there are advantages in playing a grand final at home if you are good enough to use it. For mine, it's a crap joint for a Grand Final, especially if you don't get a perfect day. Would prefer Toolleen or Elmore or how about this, give Heathcote a try next year if we aren't in it.:eek:

As the old saying goes - opinions are like a$$ holes . . . . we all got one. Here we go lads, Im not a fan of the granny being at Mounts - whilst the netball set up has improved immensely, parking hasn't been an issue yet thru the finals although I reckon come GF day a paddock out the back will come into play - my angst is solely due to the state of the away sheds which for me is poor at best, was like a bloody sauna on Saturday under that tin.

I reckon we should look at getting onto the QEO every year if Tooboorac aint a viable option!!! Lets just find a venue people outside the league can relate to "Oh thats where the HDFL granny is played every year " and not leave possible spectators fromo outside the comp hanging in limbo. The KDFL this year are heading to Mooroopna, although Kyabram or Tat IMO was a better fit, GVFL always use Deakin regardless if the Bears or United are in it.

I have no drama's with Colbo whether they're in it or not - tradition is what we need, either keep it at Colbo every year regardless or commit elsewhere.

As the old saying goes - opinions are like a$$ holes . . . . we all got one. Here we go lads, Im not a fan of the granny being at Mounts - whilst the netball set up has improved immensely, parking hasn't been an issue yet thru the finals although I reckon come GF day a paddock out the back will come into play - my angst is solely due to the state of the away sheds which for me is poor at best, was like a bloody sauna on Saturday under that tin.

I reckon we should look at getting onto the QEO every year if Tooboorac aint a viable option!!! Lets just find a venue people outside the league can relate to "Oh thats where the HDFL granny is played every year " and not leave possible spectators fromo outside the comp hanging in limbo. The KDFL this year are heading to Mooroopna, although Kyabram or Tat IMO was a better fit, GVFL always use Deakin regardless if the Bears or United are in it.

I have no drama's with Colbo whether they're in it or not - tradition is what we need, either keep it at Colbo every year regardless or commit elsewhere.

Doona, it's bad enough going up there when there is no wind at home to get a force 9 gale when you drive in through the gates at Colbo. It doesn't showcase the game and let's be honest, the facilities aren't the gratest there either. If you don't get a spot on the fence you're out in the weather because there is sweet f.a. cover. The best finals I have been to for a long time were Broady and Colbo at Toolleen and LBU v Colbo at Elmore. Even the last two we played in I don't think the atmosphere was as good as that first one I mentioned at Mounts. Keep away from Colbo.:thumbsd:

I got nothin to say to him.

Nothing half intelligent dim sim boy.... Got to agree with Doona. If we could get hold of the QEO or similar and lock it in, it would be a great thing for the league. It is a joke that Elmore and Mounts get two finals when the surfaces on thier grounds are no better than any others, and the mounts away change rooms are among the worst that I have ever seen.

Sorry mate i knew it started with D, Didnt think Dookie sounded right.

Would the league look seriously at the QEO or even Cantebury Park in Bendigo as a possibility???

Doona, it's bad enough going up there when there is no wind at home to get a force 9 gale when you drive in through the gates at Colbo. It doesn't showcase the game and let's be honest, the facilities aren't the gratest there either. If you don't get a spot on the fence you're out in the weather because there is sweet f.a. cover. The best finals I have been to for a long time were Broady and Colbo at Toolleen and LBU v Colbo at Elmore. Even the last two we played in I don't think the atmosphere was as good as that first one I mentioned at Mounts. Keep away from Colbo.:thumbsd:

Wont get an argument re: cover for spectators in the elements at Colbo, i just reckon the HDFL exec need to lock in somewhere for a period of time and build a tradition again. Go to a Sunday if it meant getting the QEO, Golden Square etc if it's the sole GF played within 2-3 hours that day.

That Colbo/B'ford GF was a ripper, but I got a feeling should Colbo win thru we are in for one of the all time great HDFL finale's with two of the most even sides in years. Not a done deal yet, and we all know about Mounts ability to get up off the mat this time of year.

Wont get an argument re: cover for spectators in the elements at Colbo, i just reckon the HDFL exec need to lock in somewhere for a period of time and build a tradition again. Go to a Sunday if it meant getting the QEO, Golden Square etc if it's the sole GF played within 2-3 hours that day.

I MAY BE WRONG HERE - But i believe that the HDFL were offered the QEO last year or the year before and declined the offer! Think it was offered due to BFL only having 1 game on in Bgo that week. But even if they lock in the QEO and have to work around the BFL - play Sunday or god forbid they turn the lights on for a game :eek: - Still think it would shite on Colbo/Mounts/Elmore....

I for 1 would love the chance to play on the QEO on the biggest day of the year in front of god knows how many people (& don't bother commenting back - I know Huntly wouldn't be there anyway!) Plus the bonus for the league would be the gate - would rival the BFL granny & Def get more than a game @ any of our venues. Thoughts gents?