Heathcote District FL

tbtbtbtbtbtbtb said:
I hear the freak's kids are odds on with David Coulston's from Rand in the Correen league. Married some Corprate Sydney bird...

I'm backing Brent Guerra's kids to have the stomper look somewhere in their mid teens, just pipping Colsto's kids in their late teens

Anyone got any info how the teams fared?
I did see Mounts had a win.
Could anyone let me know where they ended up prior to the finals and who were their best?

shagger said:
Anyone got any info how the teams fared?
I did see Mounts had a win.
Could anyone let me know where they ended up prior to the finals and who were their best?

Matt Pascoe was awarded the VCFL medal - he turned the game in the 3rd term where mounts kicked 5 unanswered goals. Dennis Grinton was probably stiff not be get it, he played a pretty good game in the centre from start to finish, as Pascoe was reasonably well held in the 1st half. Others good for mounts were coach Cam Carter (onball), Daniel O'Connell (back flank) and Rob Rojewski (back flank). Veteran Dennis Ryan finished a a few goals up forward.

back to drawing board for White Hills, they did suffer a few unfortunate injuries towards the season's end, but they also had a few big guns who didn't fire a shot on the day. Will be interesting to see their financial situation, and if they can keep their list together for next year.

HJ32 glad you could finally make it, although I think you may have joined under an alias earlier this season. Go Hoppers was a bit of a livewire and a few from Broadbean thought it was I taking the p*#$.

Got onto the website, Meatheads a ********a, "best of luck to those you get laid" on this week's trip away - inspiring stuff from the pres!!!

Have had some great input from darryl this year, has helped the transition into coaching a tad easier.

You home for a trundle this summer or staying at Strath?

Doona2 said:
HJ32 glad you could finally make it, although I think you may have joined under an alias earlier this season. Go Hoppers was a bit of a livewire and a few from Broadbean thought it was I taking the p*#$.

Got onto the website, Meatheads a ********a, "best of luck to those you get laid" on this week's trip away - inspiring stuff from the pres!!!

Have had some great input from darryl this year, has helped the transition into coaching a tad easier.

You home for a trundle this summer or staying at Strath?

Nah, GOHoppers wasn't me mate! Bully Bishop put me onto this one. Speaking of the Bully, he's coming up to have a kick with me next year which will be good.

Trip departs tomozza, should be good .Meaty's words are always inspiring - you just have to know the man to get his humor!!!

DW knows his stuff, im glad you got onto him to help you out. Gonna be interesting to see where he ends up next year. He may take over the BB2's job but there will be the odd club or two sniff him out during the off season around b'go.

Good luck in the granny too. What's gonna happen when the league disbands, must be a bit of a worry heading into an unknown future! especially with recruiting and stuff....

Cricket - at the Jets again. I had my chance with the maroons and enjoyed good year at jets last year. Hopefully that elusive flag ive been wanting is not far away this year!

Ruckman Bernie Hourigan beat short priced favourite Nick Redenbach by a vote in Broadford's best and fairest count on Saturday. Redenbach was amongst the Roos best on 15 of 18 occassions for the season - which asks the question who are the vote cards handed to?
Nickos must've had an inkling though coz he wanted to back big Bernie before the jump

wait til colbo are back on top
no one will have a chance
the melbourne boys are coming back soon and they will dominate

Anyone catch a bloke at Elmore by the name of Darren Seabrook play? Was playing there but has been known to go missing for a few weeks and then just rock back up to training again when you least expect it.

Also Rodd 'snake' Rathjen heard he was killing them at Colbo before a devastating shoulder injured him, heard Colbo are trying to keep him however due to commitments to Terminator 4 this may hinder there chances.

Wizz said:
Anyone catch a bloke at Elmore by the name of Darren Seabrook play? Was playing there but has been known to go missing for a few weeks and then just rock back up to training again when you least expect it.

Also Rodd 'snake' Rathjen heard he was killing them at Colbo before a devastating shoulder injured him, heard Colbo are trying to keep him however due to commitments to Terminator 4 this may hinder there chances.
yeah I have heard of both these players you have mentioned. darren was runner up in the 2's club b&f which isn't a bad effort for someone who probably only played half a dozen games. I saw his last h&a game against locky and he played fairly well. he is a pretty rare piece of work that is for sure. I copped a message off him and adz just before actually wizz - they were just about to fly up to darwin for their footy trip. word is that he isn't booked on their return flight to tullamarine like the rest of the players, chook instead has opted to take a direct flight to alaska from darwin.

regarding rodd (smokey) - yeah he was killing them until his shoulder went. word is the hoppers are keen to regain his services in '06 however he may not be able. it appears commitments on the set of terminator 4 will occupy most of his w'ends next year along with various other commitments he has scheduled with spielberg, michael moore and others.

jmain14 said:
yeah I have heard of both these players you have mentioned. darren was runner up in the 2's club b&f which isn't a bad effort for someone who probably only played half a dozen games. I saw his last h&a game against locky and he played fairly well. he is a pretty rare piece of work that is for sure. I copped a message off him and adz just before actually wizz - they were just about to fly up to darwin for their footy trip. word is that he isn't booked on their return flight to tullamarine like the rest of the players, chook instead has opted to take a direct flight to alaska from darwin.

regarding rodd (smokey) - yeah he was killing them until his shoulder went. word is the hoppers are keen to regain his services in '06 however he may not be able. it appears commitments on the set of terminator 4 will occupy most of his w'ends next year along with various other commitments he has scheduled with spielberg, michael moore and others.

Seabrook not having a return flight home from the footy trip does not surprise me what so ever, he would also be making a trip to Thailand to i would imagine.

Yes Rathjen does sound busy, great to see he finally got his big break after trying for so many years, wish him the best. Will always be remembered for his game in the 99 GF for colbo 2's and his speaky in a school game in 98.

Who are the latest movers and shakers in regards to the HDFL in 2006? Word has it Colbo are set to bounce back with the return of some highly credentialled players, and the possible signing of former Swan Rowan Warfe. Lets hope Danny Irwin gets more support in 2006, the big fella deserves a year with some $$$ at his disposal.

A source from Wallan has alledged Adam Bruni has apparently shown an interest in applying for the vacant senior coaching position, whilst at Broadford 2005 coach Ross Andrews, reserves coach Skip Bray and a Craigieburn premiership player (name unknown) are the 3 candidates for the Roos' top job at this stage.

How on earth would Rowan Warfe end up at Colbo?? What's the connection there? Where has he been playing since he left the swans? It never ceases to amaze me that a town with a population of 100-200 can stay successful and attract players to their club. Credit to them. Shows what having a good loyal committee and rich cockies prepared to pump money into a club can do.

What is the likely wash-up from White Hills second GF loss in a row? Did they spend a lot of $ to do it, or do they have a good bunch of locals?

Warfe was Ass Coach for Bendigo Pioneers this year and believe he has the role again next year. Didnt pull on the boots this year but is talk if scheduling permits he may play for Golden Square when available. The club he was drafted from.

White Hills do have a fair nucleus of bendigo mates with Bendigo league experience led by coach Jim Angove, would say they will be up there again. Mounts would need to recruit a few though I would think, as a lot of their players would be looking to hang up the boots, Denis Ryan, Matt Pascoe, Jamie Gee etc.

Guinea said:
How on earth would Rowan Warfe end up at Colbo?? What's the connection there? Where has he been playing since he left the swans? It never ceases to amaze me that a town with a population of 100-200 can stay successful and attract players to their club. Credit to them. Shows what having a good loyal committee and rich cockies prepared to pump money into a club can do.

Care to add to this one HJ32? Any early news out of Colbo re: 2006?

Nothing at this stage mate - I'm still pumped after seeing the Lions win!

I think a few guys from the 2003/04 flags might be gonna play again after having a year off in 05. A couple of locals who have been at other clubs may also be coming back.

HJ32 said:
Nothing at this stage mate - I'm still pumped after seeing the Lions win!

I think a few guys from the 2003/04 flags might be gonna play again after having a year off in 05. A couple of locals who have been at other clubs may also be coming back.

G'day H, I reckon I played Colbo ressies with you in 2000.

bradrowe#32 said:
G'day H, I reckon I played Colbo ressies with you in 2000.

G'day H, i think i played Seymour ressies with you in 2002.

You get around abit.

How's the hip champ? Coming to presentation evening on Saturday night? It is suit and tie, but if you don that signed 91' T-shirt i reckon i will let you off the hook on this occasion and grant you entry!

fat back pocket said:
G'day H, i think i played Seymour ressies with you in 2002.

You get around abit.

How's the hip champ? Coming to presentation evening on Saturday night? It is suit and tie, but if you don that signed 91' T-shirt i reckon i will let you off the hook on this occasion and grant you entry!

Ha ha!

BradRowe32 - yep been at Colbo since '00 - I Kicked plenty of points that year - much to jarmo's disgust! - and have been snagging more minors ever since at grasshopper land!

FBP - Hip is good after first practice hit out against the maroons on saturday which was a great day. Yeah filled in once in 2002 for the Lions, some stocky little blonde headed fella kept drilling me on the chest that day, only thing was, he wasnt in the back pocket, instead he was playing in the centre. :D

HJ32 said:
Ha ha!

...some stocky little blonde headed fella kept drilling me on the chest that day, only thing was, he wasnt in the back pocket, instead he was playing in the centre. :D

And you were playing centre half back!!! Ah, the Lions Twos of 2002. What a combination!!!

The Rowan Warfe to Colbinabbin whisper is getting stronger. Heard from a fairly handy Bendigo/HDFL source that it is likely to progress, along with the return of many senior players from the 2002-04 era.

Grandale said:
And you were playing centre half back!!! Ah, the Lions Twos of 2002. What a combination!!!

I hear the bloke who won the B and F that year in the twos went onto much bigger and better things after that.

His weight went sky rocketing upward, his kicking ability went spiraling downward, and he quickly found himself in the back pocket!!

HJ32 said:
have you been speaking to DG Wilson again Doona?

A good journo never gives up his source!!!. I do have myself what I would call a hugely respected role model whom I've bounced ideas off regularly, has been extremely helpful to a first year coach - and occasionally we even just talk about footy gossip.