Heathcote District FL

Guinea said:
Instead of coaching there Doona, sounds like you should put your hand up for pres, get Neilson to be Secretary and build a committee yourself...fair call on Ross getting suspended in a season they couldn't afford it though...

Hardly there Guinea . . . pretty happy with how we handle the local cricket club where Im vice pres alongside Billy's brother Alwin as president. Billy is our treasurer and another good mate secretary. Would be a big ask to do an executive thing all year round - besides at 29 I think Im a good 10-15 years away from having to do a role like that.
What we do need is blokes like Des O'Connor, Geoff Clark maybe even Kevin Inness and Jika Spargo back in official roles. These blokes have helped built the tradition and culture yet these days are no where to be seen. Get the old boys back and Id reckon things would change pretty quickly.

bronco said:
I have been interested follower of Broadford and although Ross is a nice enough bloke and I agree with some his principles, i dont think he is the best coach going around. He did a good job in giving the young boys a club a decent go at senior footy but in terms of respect as a coach from other players, he didnt really have it from day one. Also, the fact that the BFNC could only have 5 or 6 suspensions for the season (as part of the good behaviour bond) and Ross was one to actually get suspended, didnt do him any favours!

But then, i dont know who they are gunna get? Anyone half decent and with half a brain wouldnt want to coach under the current committee, they dont have much of idea about how to run a footy club.

On the RDFL thread you follow Kilmore a fair bit too, Rosco seems to have been shafted like Finch and Cleary if you ask me - give him another year, cant be judged on a year where the club lost their entire midfield (Fonua x2, Billy Neilson), Baker, Eddie Neilson, Shaun Clancy, Aaron Rocke, Kevin Brown to name afew). Ross had them in wining positions several times but inexperience couldnt see them shut it down - next year they'll be better for the experience.

True, they should have won about five more games than they did which would have seen them make the finals. And the big exodus of quality players hurt them a alot on the field, tho was probably good for them in other ways (such as club image).

I heard half way through the season from a committee member Ross wouldnt be appointed next year. But if there is no one else applying, it may be a case of better the devil you know. Be very interesting...

And yes doona i do follow Kilmore too, got mates there too. And I keep a keen interest in other local footy clubs too. Ive been reading the posts all this season but have only just decided to put in my two cents worth. Oh and your point about the old blokes getting back to run the BFNC, I wish! But doubt it will happen, they have well and truely given enough service and are enjoying having their weekends back for the first time in 35 years! Just a pity the generation of blokes 40 plus couldnt step and give some service.

bronco said:
True, they should have won about five more games than they did which would have seen them make the finals. And the big exodus of quality players hurt them a alot on the field, tho was probably good for them in other ways (such as club image).

I heard half way through the season from a committee member Ross wouldnt be appointed next year. But if there is no one else applying, it may be a case of better the devil you know. Be very interesting...

And yes doona i do follow Kilmore too, got mates there too. And I keep a keen interest in other local footy clubs too. Ive been reading the posts all this season but have only just decided to put in my two cents worth. Oh and your point about the old blokes getting back to run the BFNC, I wish! But doubt it will happen, they have well and truely given enough service and are enjoying having their weekends back for the first time in 35 years! Just a pity the generation of blokes 40 plus couldnt step and give some service.

If you knew mid way thru the year Ross wouldn't be re-appointed thats exactly what Im on about - same thing happened to Finch, then Clears. So who's your tip to coach then if you've got inside info? You going to the AGM tonight?

P.S: spot on about the next phase of retirees, it looks like a huge generation gap before the bit of stability arrives. Guess there's plenty with a lot to say, but none of them are prepared to step up and help out hey.

Broadford's AGM went off without a hitch, similar executive and committee as 2005. The Roos' seem they'll have more life members than pentridge shortly after another two were nominated.

Just read on the Colbo website that Trav Kelly is set to return. Geez if Slater, Nick Ryan come back, HJ32's body stands up and the Rowan Warfe gossip eventuates the Grasshoppers will be in the mix quick smart.

Doona2 said:
Just read on the Colbo website that Trav Kelly is set to return. Geez if Slater, Nick Ryan come back, HJ32's body stands up and the Rowan Warfe gossip eventuates the Grasshoppers will be in the mix quick smart.

Yeh, don't think the hoppers were planning on staying at the bottom of the table for too long. They have an amazing ability to be able to recruit quality players and it will be interesting to see who ends up out there. If they get some decent supply to Irwin they'll be hard to stop.

A snippet from a story in today's Shepp News - seems this whole whole country footy shake-up will effect more clubs in the next year or two!!!

"So, where to from here?

The five leagues in the region are all impacted in some way or another: the Murray Football League has appealed against the inclusion of Rumbalara, the Picola District Football League are appealing against the restructure resolution, the Kyabram District Football League has voted to accept Violet Town but voted against the inclusion of Alexandra, Thornton-Eildon and Yea, the Goulburn Valley Football League awaits the outcomes patiently, and the CGFL is to be disbanded.

The WorkSafe VCFL has also identified possible future movement in the Coreen Football League that could impact on the Picola District Football League, some initial progress with the emergence of a new league in the Echuca region that could impact on neighbouring leagues, and possible future needs for a southern league that may incorporate clubs such as Broadford and Kilmore that could impact on the KDFL."

Doona2 said:
what is their website address doona??

jmain14 said:
thanks mate. that website isn't too bad hey.

wizz - if ya get a chance check it out. you will love the profile on smokey in the pics tab on the secondary menu.

Yeah HJ32 does a fair job for the club I beleive, similar to that of FBP at Seymour.

there are several people the slabberwockie never misses giving crap to:

The balding git
D Ellis
Freddy
reidy

it's like a tennis game - it goes back and forth and entertaining stuff on occasions!

HJ32 said:
there are several people the slabberwockie never misses giving crap to:

The balding git
D Ellis
Freddy
reidy

it's like a tennis game - it goes back and forth and entertaining stuff on occasions!

can anyone tell me if the danny irwin at colinbbinan is the same one that played at waaia and riddell? cause he was a gun there.

jmain14 said:
thanks mate. that website isn't too bad hey.

wizz - if ya get a chance check it out. you will love the profile on smokey in the pics tab on the secondary menu.

yeah mate checked it out a while ago, nice pic of smokey in there ha ha ha hopefully he is there again in 2006. Not as smashed though as he used to get a few years back though is he?

Wizz said:
yeah mate checked it out a while ago, nice pic of smokey in there ha ha ha hopefully he is there again in 2006. Not as smashed though as he used to get a few years back though is he?
nah man, I am afraid them days are over for smokey. he now has similar characteristics to that of evan wild from the secret life of us. he takes his scripts bloody serious and I don't get to see him much anymore - let alone have a beer with him.

rioli brownlow said:
can anyone tell me if the danny irwin at colinbbinan is the same one that played at waaia and riddell? cause he was a gun there.

Yeh, same one mate. Kicked 220 one year for Waaia, 70 for Ky in the GV and has also played with Merrigum and Rushworth (and probably a few others). Very big man (6 foot 4-5, 120odd kg), yet is very agile and rarely misses.

Guinea said:
Yeh, same one mate. Kicked 220 one year for Waaia, 70 for Ky in the GV and has also played with Merrigum and Rushworth (and probably a few others). Very big man (6 foot 4-5, 120odd kg), yet is very agile and rarely misses.
220 goals!! that is some sort of year. would have to be the most individual goals kicked in a year from any league surely.