• Thread starter Thread starter aimar21

bradrowe#32 said:
Good to have you back.

Rochester ressies need a full forward! Not sure if there is any $ invloved but we have a slab after the game and I'll buy you a pie.
ha ha yeah great call rowey. I think you should head back to tigerland rosco, not of the yea variety though.

Rosco5 said:
G'day BradRowe and Doona,

I finally made it back. Doona, thanks for your comments, I agree, without the ego, a lot of those boys got a chance and did the hard work and were rewarded with some solid performances.
I did what the club wanted and gave them a go and was utilised as the proverbial scapegoat when we got pipped for the finals. I knew the writing was on the wall when I went to Fiji and learned they had extended the coaching app's.
The committee have absolutely no idea and are guided by 2-3 people with even less of a clue on what goes on. Consequently I am glad to be on the way, no sour grapes intended if that is how it sounds.
Not having total support breeds disharmony amongst the minorities and that's how it started and ended although I think Bruni and I did a pretty good job to make the best of a year when some sides had an average age of 20, and that was even with old bast@rds like Adam, myself and Alby Neilson playing. Nick Redenbach played his best year, Angwin got back on track, Mick Edwards played some great consistent footy (one thing he has never done) and a lot of the young kids (15-20) came a long way.
The boys only found out last weekend and 5-6 came up to Nagaz and we went out for a few beers so that was good anyway, at least I know I had the support of the players, which I suppose, above all else, is significant and probably the main thing. If the players believe in the direction you are taking them what is the problem ??
Doona, I wont blow my own trumpet (this time anyway) but I still am completely unaware what I did wrong either. Scapegoat is the only term I can use and the fact that I dont pander to some of the complete idiots who frequent the club and are more intimately associated with it. Harsh words but Doona knows the scenario I think.
Less travel and less aggravation is on the agenda for 2006, I have not had enough of coaching so I will consider a few other offers.
As for the players I wish them the best, as for some of the committee, well, my mother used to say "if you haven't got anything nice to say it's best to say nothing at all".
As for Chris(t) Dunne, I believe he is going to Shepp to play. Good luck on your return in 2007 Doona, I just hope for your sake you can get a few more football brains onto the committee and others who can actually think for themselves. "Who'd know with the current committee", NOT ME ??!!!!!!
By the way Bakes wasn't jammed, no matter how he may have portrayed it, he was asked by me and others if he wanted the club to back him and he didnt want to, he didn't want the club to be held back because he wanted to stay so he moved on. Cheerrio, glad I could clear that all up.

Beautifully said......guess now you understand how frustrating it is for blokes like me, was brought up at Harley Hammond Reserve but cant stand the politics of the joint.
What makes it worse is that hardly anyone on the committee was around to see how the joint was run when we were successful, and Im just as confused as to the direction Mr. President and co. is heading.
Dont feel at all bad about what happened, it's a common occurence, same thing happened to Finch and then Clears.
I agree about Redenbach and Edwards both are good mates and have enjoyed their best year's of football. Had Dunne stayed and Fletcher decided to play things would've been a different story.

bradrowe#32 said:
Good to have you back.

Rochester ressies need a full forward! Not sure if there is any $ invloved but we have a slab after the game and I'll buy you a pie.

Rowey, that was quite amusing. I dont know your true sense of humour but I'll go with the flow. Slab sounds good, trying to stay off the pies and $$ is never an issue for a Magoos player. I think I might get the job at Nagambie at this stage, just waiting for new committee to endorse same when they're elected in a week or so.

As for you Mainy, that wasn't funny :D , I thought we had an understanding .... only gaggin'.

HJ32, thanks for your words, it often means a lot to hear people from other clubs actually give you a wrap, I should get some of the committee to log on, if only some of them knew how to use a computer !

Doona, I never thought I'd see the likes of it quite honestly. My views on it all will not change, the club has lost 3 major sponsors already over it, will lose a couple of players and has lost any and all respect that I had for it. I'm sure you know who I was talking (or writing to be more precise) about when I mentioned the stupidity of the committee, if I told you some of the things that were said and done during 2005 your hair may just curl.

Anyway Doona, good luck if you head back but make sure you're able to take a Prez, VP and 5-6 for the committee otherwise things will never change. I thought they would with JB at the helm but he listened to far too many people and 2-3 far too often that really have no idea and that was my downfall. It sounds like sour grapes even to me but I will move on, back to Yea, back to Rochy ?? Nah, leave the past behind and move on. Skipper, Rowbo and the guys wanted me to go back and play at Broadford but I just don't think that will EVER happen ..... :mad:

Rosco5 said:
Doona, I never thought I'd see the likes of it quite honestly. My views on it all will not change, the club has lost 3 major sponsors already over it, will lose a couple of players and has lost any and all respect that I had for it. I'm sure you know who I was talking (or writing to be more precise) about when I mentioned the stupidity of the committee, if I told you some of the things that were said and done during 2005 your hair may just curl.

Anyway Doona, good luck if you head back but make sure you're able to take a Prez, VP and 5-6 for the committee otherwise things will never change. I thought they would with JB at the helm but he listened to far too many people and 2-3 far too often that really have no idea and that was my downfall. It sounds like sour grapes even to me but I will move on, back to Yea, back to Rochy ?? Nah, leave the past behind and move on. Skipper, Rowbo and the guys wanted me to go back and play at Broadford but I just don't think that will EVER happen ..... :mad:

Dont let the 2-3 people who aren't true BFNC people ruin your image of the joint and the good people around. My dad played all his sport with Broadford, never left and would possibly turn in his grave to think Ive moved away.

On the other hand he'd perfectly understand because the thoughts of guys like David Nolan, Des O'Connor, Geoff Clark, Len Redenbach, Kevin Inness, Mick Henry, Geoff Kirby, John Spargo etc etc are not those of JB and co.

Mate I have probably heard most of the crap, coz I do see Chappy regularly, the only stuff I probly miss is when they pay us Yea blokes out!!!

Have been thinking long and hard even over the past few weeks, and agree maybe I should run for pres, I already have a few willing to jump onboard to throw them this time next year. Otherwise I wont be returning until a few (quite a few) are off the scene.

Just edited to say that the BFNC committee aren't happy about being a talking point on Big Footy - guess they dont get the jist of football forums. Opinions are the same as r s holes . . . . everyone has one!!!

The fun must stop!!!

Aired and hopefully resolved several personal topics I have with the BFNC after the president rang this arvo after he read our great Big Footy HDFL threadF - looks like everyone's reading Big Footy!!! Didn't realise that some people actually take these pages very seriously. For you Broadford people that hang their hopes and dreams on this nonsense, Im not running for president, but yes I may (and I say may) apply through the correct channels to coach in 2007 if I still have the drive.

It’s now obvious that a lot of people have been left disappointed by what has been written of late, trust me when I say that I don’t apologise for anything Ive written (refer to bottom), but I do apologise for the context some of you have taken this for. Just about every league has a thread and clubs come under the pump worse than Broadford . . . . . Again I say the 2-3 people Im waiting to depart aren’t even on the committee so relax, and again the whole presidency thing was a big joke for lads like HJ32 and Rosco5.

So no more questions about the Roos BF fans, maybe ask Rosco5 coz the Big D’s lips are locked, but as they say in the classics . . . . . .. opinions are the same as r s holes . . . . everyone has one!!!

(Note: the names of some great servants of the BFNC mentioned earlier are only for reference sake, and weren't the opinion of those men just mine. But Im tipping 99% of Big Footy fans know how these pages operate, just in case thought I better be politically correct!!!)

Doona2 said:
The fun must stop!!!

Aired and hopefully resolved several personal topics I have with the BFNC after the president rang this arvo after he read our great Big Footy HDFL threadF - didn't realise that some people actually take these pages very seriously. For you Broadford people that hang their hopes and dreams on this nonsense, Im not running for president, but yes I may apply through the correct channels to coach in 2007.

It’s now obvious that a lot of people have been left disappointed by what has been written of late, trust me when I say that I don’t apologise for anything Ive written (refer to bottom), but I do apologise for the context some of you have taken this for. Just about every league has a thread and clubs come under the pump worse than Broadford . . . . . Again the 2-3 people Im waiting to depart aren’t on the committee so relax, and again the whole presidency thing was a big joke for lads like HJ32 and Rosco5.

So no more questions about the Roos BF fans, maybe ask Rosco5 coz the Big D’s lips are locked, but as they say in the classics . . . . . .. opinions are the same as r s holes . . . . everyone has one!!!

For Doona and others,

I too have been gagged, even though I now have nothing to do with the club. I was asked in pointed terms to not say anything further. I have my opinions, they have been aired and I have aired them publicly, privately and now (and prior to this) to the President.
I have always stated that I had no issues with JB and think he did a great job to turn the finances of the club around. Some tough decisions were made to allow certain players who did not fit the image of the club to leave prior to the start of 2005. With that and other 'forced' departures it was a tough year for all and I stick by the fact that we did a great job, on and off field with what we had.
Opinions are as they are and my opinions are shared by many people. This is a forum for such views and if people know who I am and can attribute things written to me, bad luck. I too stick by what I have said, maybe I just won't say it in such direct terms next time. I may now move on to the KDFL site which Doona is going to start ??
See you on another thread !!

how about we start a rebel HDFL thread under an alias that way you guys can REALLY spill your guts and certain people will have trouble finding it!!!

see you on the rebel thread!

Rosco5 said:
Rowey, that was quite amusing. I dont know your true sense of humour but I'll go with the flow. Slab sounds good, trying to stay off the pies and $$ is never an issue for a Magoos player. I think I might get the job at Nagambie at this stage, just waiting for new committee to endorse same when they're elected in a week or so.

Good luck with Nagambie. I hope they can match my offer.

Well I've heard all the rumours around town about this website and the heated arguments it's causing and decided to get on board and check out what all the fuss was about for myself. And I'm unsure how the discussions and problems that seem to be emanating around Broadbean seem to have caused a nation security alert.

One rumour doing the rounds that con be confirmed is that Bakes and the Fonua's x 2 moving to DVFL club West Preston under the tutelage of former Broadford coach, Tilley.

scotywok said:
Well I've heard all the rumours around town about this website and the heated arguments it's causing and decided to get on board and check out what all the fuss was about for myself. And I'm unsure how the discussions and problems that seem to be emanating around Broadbean seem to have caused a nation security alert.

One rumour doing the rounds that con be confirmed is that Bakes and the Fonua's x 2 moving to DVFL club West Preston under the tutelage of former Broadford coach, Tilley.

Open up your questions on the Wok gents, he'd know heaps about the BFNC. Afterall he was labelled a thief by some people at the BFNC last season, and left on the outer after no one supported him. Is that really you the former treasurer Scotty? Bout time you joined BF.

Doona2 said:
Open up your questions on the Wok gents, he'd know heaps about the BFNC. Afterall he was labelled a thief by some people at the BFNC last season, and left on the outer after no one supported him. Is that really you the former treasurer Scotty? Bout time you joined BF.

You've got that right Big Fella, it's me!!!

the only dodgy thing the wok does is add a few extra singles to Doona's batting scorecard when he penning for the broady boys!!!!

going to be an interesting meeting at Strathfieldsaye tonite in regards to a footy club being established.

At the moment, South Bendigo are keen to move there once the new oval is finished, however the other mover is Mt Pleasant FC who have their eye on the facility. Mounts would then move into the BFL if they snagged the deal.

HJ32 said:
going to be an interesting meeting at Strathfieldsaye tonite in regards to a footy club being established.

At the moment, South Bendigo are keen to move there once the new oval is finished, however the other mover is Mt Pleasant FC who have their eye on the facility. Mounts would then move into the BFL if they snagged the deal.

Thats massive H me boy, keep us updated. Could the HDFL be under threat, with LBU talking of re-entering the rebirth of the old Northern & Echuca FL and the Mighty Mounts heading into the big smoke.

How serious is this talk about mount pleasant moving into the BFL. How do people think the Blues would go in the BFL if they were to go in there. If that happened and LBU departed, there's no doubt questions about the viability of the HDFL would be raised.

Settle H, there's no dodgyness when the Wok has pencil in hand and the scorecard in front. I've heard rumblings for around 6 months that Mounts where moving to Strath and then eventually into the BFL. It would be a major move that would not bring instant success, but after a few years they'd be reasonably successful, after all they keep their cards close to their chest. But they've got the runs on the board and could attract higher profile country players if they play major league football.

ha ha just jokes mate!

there is MONSTER potential out at Strath as the amount of kids playing junior footy/soccer/cricket is amazing. Certainly the junior structure is there already, it's just a case of a senior club forming out there....

Very interesting regarding the possible move of Mounts.
Would be very difficult for them as, like LBU was in its time in the BFL, it seems like a real country club. (Hope u know what I mean here) I doubt over time whether they would be able to compete if the nucleus of the club (the supporters) don't get behind & attend all the matches etc.
Another point, the club does not have juniors. In 2005 the club rarely (if at all) fielded an u/17 side. I think juniors (u/18s) is a requirement of all BFL clubs.

Squeaky said:
Very interesting regarding the possible move of Mounts.
Would be very difficult for them as, like LBU was in its time in the BFL, it seems like a real country club. (Hope u know what I mean here) I doubt over time whether they would be able to compete if the nucleus of the club (the supporters) don't get behind & attend all the matches etc.
Another point, the club does not have juniors. In 2005 the club rarely (if at all) fielded an u/17 side. I think juniors (u/18s) is a requirement of all BFL clubs.

Mounts have a very long and proud tradition, dont worry about the support either, they have always had a strong following and as far as juniors go I reckon the Strath region is an untapped resource as far as junior sport goes. Expect the Mounts thing to happen, and the future of the HDFL to come under scrutiny in the next 2-3 years when the VCFL look at a complete re-shuffle of country football and the geographic interests of all clubs.

Story is the Bendigo region is up for a re-shuffle and a VCFL report this season, just like what happended in the Murray Goulburn region last year. That could see several clubs moving within the region with some of the HDFL clubs moving in different directions from where they presently play.

There are moves a foot from the Mountain men, Saints, Roos, Hillies, Doggies and a few ohters to adjust the age limit of the HDFL from Under 17's to Under 18's, so all clubs competing will have junior football for season 2006. The vote on such an amendment to the League rules takes place at the HDFL AGM on November 30.

Clubs debate issues
Wednesday, 23 November 2005

THE issue of all clubs being required to field three football teams to continue remaining in the Heathcote District Football-Netball League will be debated next week.
The issue has been put on the agenda by the league executive ahead of the HDFL's annual general meeting at Colbinabbin on November 30.

This year, only seven of the league's nine clubs fielded under-17 teams - Mount Pleasant and Elmore were unable to muster the numbers to field an under-age side.

'‘We're hoping clubs will agree to put into our league rules and regulations that to be affiliated, you need to supply a minimum of all three grades of football," league secretary Trevor Arnel said yesterday.

‘‘So we hope to make sure that becomes part of the constitution." However, Arnel is unsure how the move will be met by the clubs.

‘‘I would hope they see the benefit of it, and there still would be an out-clause, where if a club possibly cannot do it, they can apply to the league to be affiliated without the minimum requirement and we would look at their situation," he said.

‘‘But obviously if the club representatives believe one club has done nothing at all to try to get an under-age side, they will probably turn around and say `too bad'.

‘‘We will have to wait and see what happens on it."Like recent years, lifting the under-age competition from under-17 to under-18 will also be debated at the AGM.

‘‘Every year I've been involved with the league it comes up," Arnel said.

‘‘But it has always been knocked back and my guess would be that may happen again, but that's up for the clubs to decide."Another talking point at the AGM will surround the HDFL's involvement in inter-league.

The HDFL has played inter-league for the past three seasons, of which the past two have been against the Lexton Plains Football League.

If it does continue playing inter-league, Arnel suggested the HDFL may look for a different league to play against for a change.

High-flying Hawk joins Huntly
Wednesday, 23 November 2005

AFTER six seasons of senior football with Eaglehawk, high-flying forward Daniel Geary feels the need for a change.
And that change is going to come through Heathcote District Football-Netball League club, Huntly.

The Huntly Hawks yesterday announced the appointment of the two-time Eaglehawk grand final player as an assistant to senior coach Mark Billings.

It's a massive coup for the Hawks, who finished on the bottom of the ladder this year, with just one victory.

The signing of Geary comes a year after the Hawks also made a play to get him to cross to Strauch Reserve."I'm really looking forward to the coaching role and stepping up and showing a bit of leadership," Geary said.

'‘But it's mainly about the coaching role, plus I've been at Eaglehawk for a few seasons and I guess it was time to move on and try something else."Geary said Huntly's professionalism was one of the key factors that convinced him to join the club.

‘‘They were really professional when they approached me," he said.

‘‘I had spoken to a few clubs who were pretty lethargic about the way they went about things, but Huntly was really professional in the way all their coaches came and spoke to me."While he feels the need for a change, it was still a difficult decision for the 24-year-old to leave Canterbury Park.

‘‘Eaglehawk has been absolutely outstanding for me," he said.

‘‘It was a tough decision to leave, but one I had to do for my family, as well as myself.

‘‘Eaglehawk did not want me to leave, but they wished me all the best."Geary, who kicked 43 goals for Eaglehawk this year, will hold down a key position up forward for Huntly.

‘‘I watched a few of their games last year and they lacked a bit of direction, so hopefully, I can straighten them up, give them someone to kick to and snag a few myself."Huntly president Allen Dillon said the club was rapt with the signing of Geary.

‘‘Daniel presented to us as a person of integrity with strong leadership qualities, as well as a fine playing record with Eaglehawk in the BFL," Dillon said.

The Hawks will start pre-season training at Strauch Reserve from 6 pm next Monday.

The first training session will be followed by the club's AGM at 7.30 pm.

The club will also put on a free barbecue tea for all footballers, netballers and supporters from 7 pm.

yeah heard the Geary one last nite - he's a freak of a player and one that is highly respected in Bendigo league circles. Am surprised that he has left eaglehawk at this time considering the depth and success the borough have going for them at the moment, but it must be that the hawks have saved their bikkies and lashed out to recruit a gun - and they've got one - good on them i suppose.

HJ32 said:
yeah heard the Geary one last nite - he's a freak of a player and one that is highly respected in Bendigo league circles. Am surprised that he has left eaglehawk at this time considering the depth and success the borough have going for them at the moment, but it must be that the hawks have saved their bikkies and lashed out to recruit a gun - and they've got one - good on them i suppose.

Hard truth is the Hawks will need a lot more than Geary to be competitive.