Helbig

• Thread starter Thread starter Strawbs

Conca will be alright lads.

How bloody good is it to see our freshly picked draftees mixing it with the big boys.

Grigg too another great decision.

Only way is up now.

Hope they forget the disappointment of last night's game behind them and focus on next week.

Dimma will make sure of that and the great coaching staff we now have.

Was gutted but there is so much upside.

To not lose to a team that was in last years GF and WITHOUT JACK,is a massive improvement.

Still have Wilbur Post and Griffiths on ice.

Nason still waiting for his chance.

So much upside for our club!!!!!!

Just turn up next week and add to the TIGER ROAR!

MAKE NO MISTAKE.

THE TIGER IS STIRRING!

Conca will be alright lads.

How bloody good is it to see our freshly picked draftees mixing it with the big boys.

Grigg too another great decision.

Only way is up now.

Hope they forget the disappointment of last night's game behind them and focus on next week.

Dimma will make sure of that and the great coaching staff we now have.

Was gutted but there is so much upside.

To not lose to a team that was in last years GF and WITHOUT JACK,is a massive improvement.

Still have Wilbur Post and Griffiths on ice.

Nason still waiting for his chance.

So much upside for our club!!!!!!

Just turn up next week and add to the TIGER ROAR!

MAKE NO MISTAKE.

THE TIGER IS STIRRING!

This.

Conca is all class. Helbig looks a gem, fantastic goal and love the mongrel! Batchelor looks very much in the Newman mould, can see all three being high quality players. Also, Vickery looks like he is going to be a very, very good player. Costly dropped mark but very good game besides.

I wanted to get o to your board today specifically to talk up Helbig. Looks like you've picked a real gem with this kid. He's as tough as they come but he also goes about his game with a touch of class.

I really like the way Hardwick is bringing your younger players along, and hopefully Cotchin and Martin can continue to show the way.

You were ripped off last night, if only moral victory delivered four points.

The good times will come.

I wanted to get o to your board today specifically to talk up Helbig. Looks like you've picked a real gem with this kid. He's as tough as they come but he also goes about his game with a touch of class.

I really like the way Hardwick is bringing your younger players along, and hopefully Cotchin and Martin can continue to show the way.

You were ripped off last night, if only moral victory delivered four points.

The good times will come.
Thanks for the good words goat:thumbsu:

Was alright. Has all the tools, and a great attack on the contest.

Probably should go back to the VFL now he's had a taste, though.

I wonder tactically if a permanent specialist Sub would work? At least in his first half season it could work. I wonder if any coaches have thought about using it that way. Helbig might be great in that position.

i cant remember who said it but i remember listening to SEN during the preseason and someone maybe hardwick or craig cameron said that helbig is like a mini dustin martin :P

I do remember at Draft time Essendon being really disappointed they didn't get Helbig. Remember we offered them our pick 47 for Houli which they felt wasn't good enough. I think the press reported there was some audible sighs from the Essendon camp when we read out his name.

Look he is only 2 games into his career but as Leigh Matthews says, you want to at least see some glimpses when they first start playing.

He runs in straight lines, seems to have good composure and puts his head over the ball. He'll be one of those players who draws his teammates in with his courage.

I think most people are forgetting that this kid can get left and right and you wouldn't even know which one was his natural kicking foot.

The kids all class with a touch of mongrel about him.

All 3 new recruits have shown something in the first two rounds. Very nice to see indeed. Have to love Helbig's goal. Could end up being the steal of the draft.

I think Batchelor is going to be a real gun for us. I reckon he will play 200 games for the club.

Of the three, Batchelor is the one who has impressed me most, just looks so composed when he has the ball in the backline.

i cant remember who said it but i remember listening to SEN during the preseason and someone maybe hardwick or craig cameron said that helbig is like a mini dustin martin :P

Think it was Campbell who also mentioned he is a coaches favorite and was mowing Dimmas lawn during the interview.

Thought he played well, much better than last week were the nerves seemed to get to him. He goes in very hard and i loved the goal, give him a couple more weeks than put him in the 2's for a couple of weeks unless he really stands out in the next couple of weeks.

Also shouldnt this be in the thread already about helbig in the tiger sanctuary?

Why? He seems to have an appetite for the contest. Who is knocking the door down to take his spot after only two games?

webberly. Maybe tuck, grimes, nason

I'd keep helbig

Batchelor and Helbig showed great signs.
Conca got murdered, but was left on Milne to learn the caper. If he has a good head on his shoulders like we are led to believe,then it will do himmore good than harm in the long run.

alot of the time conca was trying toncome across and help make it 2v1 against reiwoldt when the ball was in the air so it was hard for him to not let the surpise sex rat alone.

alot of the time conca was trying toncome across and help make it 2v1 against reiwoldt when the ball was in the air so it was hard for him to not let the surpise sex rat alone.[/quote said:
Good point, I wouldn't go near it either!

I wonder tactically if a permanent specialist Sub would work? At least in his first half season it could work. I wonder if any coaches have thought about using it that way. Helbig might be great in that position.

Heard Tim Lane suggest this today (other commentators laughed and scoffed) but he was adamant it would work.

Me as a footy bogan with no coaching experience is confidant it would be a great tactic.

Why not bring in a player (first or second year) and let them know they are just "more than a sub" but are crucial as a flat out running link up forward goal kicking opportunist. To me Helbig would be awesome in that role. What could be a better way to involve a third round draft pick

A specialist sub would lose touch and match fitness pretty quickly, I suspect.

Not to mention the fact that if Hardwick rates them enough from them to be a permanent sub, they are probably good enough to be in our 21 (where they can make a greater impact purely by the amount of time they'd spend on the ground) unless they lack endurance.

Interesting point, but still speculative. Interchange, emergencies etc have traditionally been fringe players.

Why would a guy loose touch if in his first year he would come on every game and go 100% flat chat in the last half as a sub. In his head if he does it to perfection he will be starting 18 soon

Its early days, so I don’t see why it has to be an injury replacement. I know your stuffed if you lose a player, but what is the % of it compared to a replacement in the last quarter. Be interesting to revisit this in 2 years.

Not convinced about the idea of a specialist sub. If they're capable of being an impact player in the third and 4th quarters, why not the 1st and second as well?

As unless you somehow manage to go through an entire season with no injuries or suspensions, a player that close to being in the 21 will eventually start.

But your right, subs may not always be for injuries. It could be used as a tactical play, (i.e.tall for small or vice versa) allowing for a switch from plan A to plan B if it's not working out.

Agree. Closest comparison I can get is the proverbial 12th man in the Aussie Cricket team. Hard to maintain form and gain match fitness if you are not playing consistently.

The lad from Waikerie has impressed so early in his career.

Ironically wears no 32 (Mark Rucciuto's old number).

To me a specialist sub would be a star at the end of their career that can come on when the tempos died a bit, like Cousins or Robert Harvey, could extend their careers a few years. Only risk is if a player goes down early then your screwed.

Watching Helbig and Batchelor live for the first time gave me a feeling in my loins that I hadn't felt since Jamie Tape and Matty Rogers debuted at that preseason night game at Waverley.

They can play. Francis Jackson - it's early but a tick from me.

Haere Ra

Watching Helbig and Batchelor live for the first time gave me a feeling in my loins that I hadn't felt since Jamie Tape and Matty Rogers debuted at that preseason night game at Waverley.

Haere Ra

Francis Jackson's credibility is growing - particularly with Jack becoming a star and Vickery starting to silence some doubters.

To me a specialist sub would be a star at the end of their career that can come on when the tempos died a bit, like Cousins or Robert Harvey, could extend their careers a few years. Only risk is if a player goes down early then your screwed.

Time to wheel richo back in as our specialist sub :D

Haere Ra
Tape (RIP) and Rogers...two terrific players for the Tigerboys. I like that analogy.:thumbsu: