Henderson

It looks like I'll probably get called dumb for having an opinion different to the majority here, but personally I thought Henderson had a shocker. Now I am not one of those people in the crowd OR at home who would ever boo a Carlton player, and I certainly would never HOPE that he gets injured, but I just didn't think he had much of an impact on the game. Now I know that he is coming back from an injury. I know that it will take some time for him to find his feet. I know that he needs to get his fitness up to be able to lead all day. I know his timing is going to be off. Because of those facts, I'm not hating on the guy. I think he has huge talent and with a bit more muscle and experience, he will hopefully be a 200+ game CHF for us. All I am saying though is that if you look at this game in isolation and how he performed ON THE DAY, rather than factoring in all this other stuff, and he looked out of touch.

Let the hating and name calling begin!

Ferals?

Where?

The bronx cheers after Henderson took a mark and the cheers after he was substituted was a pathetic display by our supporters. Not to mention the crap they yelled out at Collins who had a bad game. Unfortunately, a fair percentage of football supporters are the lowest common denonimator and outright bogans. Amusing to see us jump on journalists and Carlton haters who critique our list, yet some of our supporters should know and behave better than that.

Schadenfreude.

Agree. No matter how bad a player is playing you can never boo them. In what way to bronx cheers help a mans confidence? Poor form from Carlton "supporters"....:thumbsdown:

I agree that Hendo will turn it around once he's got some touch back. I think he might need some more time in the 2nds though, to get some more confidence. He got destroyed by Hooker last night, mainly because he misjudged the flight of the ball a number of times and didn't even make a contest. 3 possessions and 2 tackles is not impressive by anyone's standards.

Obviously needs to get his eye in, but I hope this happens sooner rather than later. After the bummers game, it looks like our defence is shaping up quite nicely, but our forwards are seriously lacking. Jeff Garlett had to carry the forward line by himself for the first half of the game, and that's a lot to ask from the smallest player on the ground. Waite was ineffectual early (though he came good over the course of the match), Hendo couldn't get near the ball, Collins butchered it at every opportunity and Betts continued his poor start to the season. Jeff Garlett was, once again, really the shining light in our forward 50 (aside from his decision to play on near the end).

We really need Waite and Hendo to get up and about and provide a consistent presence in the forward line. I think we are also really needing Kreuzer to come back - this will add some real weight to our forward half.

OK, boo-ing Carlton players might not be on, but the collective "well f&*kin' finally" when Henderson took a mark was fair enough.

Disclaimer: Yes, he's young, and clearly he was underdone. And we may well have too high hopes for him.

BUT when you've been sold hope, you wanna see signs, too. This guy is 196cm, 95kg and our future at CHF. And for the entire first half he got cleanly outmarked in contest after contest. He failed to even get hands to the ball in half the contests he was in, let alone look like marking it. It was an awful, awful display. Do I think he's finished? No. Do I think he'd feel great about his performance? No. But it was a game at AFL level for the Carlton Football Club and he sucked as much as Jenna Jameson in her prime.

I was at the game today, and can't believe the lack of knowledge a large number of our supporters have about the game of football. Prior to half time Lachie Henderson was receiving the bronx cheers from the majority of Carlton people at the game. The kid is 20 years of age and was presenting to the right spots. Unfortunately for him he couldn't get them to stick initially, however as the game wore on he got better and was our only forward for the day. The same people that were jeering him in the first half were then praising his efforts in the 2nd half. I HATE FICKLE and DUMB supporters.

The bronx cheers were due to him being pathetic.

Try listening to either of 3aw or MMM all those commentators where saying he should be taken off.

It was the worst game I have seen from a carlton player for atleast a couple of years.

Lets recap:
-Looked slow
- Unfit
-Weak
- Lacked effort
- Hooker owned him in the first term so much so it was embarrassing
- Dropped marks
- Barely got a touch

Imagine all our players generated his out put.

You mention he ran to the right spots I disagree completely live at the game he was regularly not leading upto the ball and when he did it was at the wrong time leaving Hooker alone in our fwd line.

His game was a 0 out of 10, and he should and will be dropped.

So encouraged by Hendo's performance today and so friggin riled when I read the idiotic comments potting him. He took two big steps forward and I'm hoping he becomes a key forward for us.

What were those steps.

Look I hold high hope for him and in fact wanted him to come in, but he was nothing short of terrible today.

What were those steps.

Look I hold high hope for him and in fact wanted him to come in, but he was nothing short of terrible today.

Note date/time of post you're responding to.

Nobody in their right mind thought Henderson made any positive steps yesterday.

Now I am not one of those people in the crowd OR at home who would ever boo a Carlton player, and I certainly would never HOPE that he gets injured, but I just didn't think he had much of an impact on the game.
Disagree. I thought his impact on the game was huge. He, along with Collins probably cost Carlton the match. A passenger in every sense of the word. Lack of intensity, slow, timid, and for a big bloke, absolutely no presence whatsoever. Would not even give a contest. One of the worst games I've seen from a man in navy blue in years.

Well said, Ghost of Football Season past. :cool:
yep. Heard all this before with Hampson.Give him time, give him games,we got a player here .Your kidding yourselves if you think guys like hampson or henderson are our future,all they are is a liability,the sooner we replace these guys, then we might have something that resembles a forward line.:mad::mad::mad:.

Some Carlton supporters are pathetic and shouldn't post until they have a better handle on things. And have calmed down. Watch a replay and you'll see that Henderson was getting to the right spots and for a big man, putting his head over on the deck and getting it out. In the second quarter, Murphy cut off a perfect pass to Henderson after he had presented and was about to mark after taking front position. Yesterday was a case of Henderson blowing out the cobwebs and getting back into senior footy. Fletcher and Hooker played well across half back to cut off our poor delivery under pressure.

Henderson will be a 200 game player.

If Henderson gets dropped i'll be very disappointed. Was very average but will be better for the run. I re-watched the game on TV just before and there was only one time where his opponent beat him one-on-one. I didn't really see any footage of him leading up the ground but that will come with confidence. He needs to be persisted with because he showed promise last year and we've got no-one else.

And if I see anyone bronx cheer him this week I promise i'll punch you square in the face.

Criticizing a player's poor game does not equate to hysterical overreaction in every case.

Henderson was not good yesterday. Fact.

I'm not calling for his head. I'm saying he was lousy. He was.
Carlton supporters are arguably the most hysterical group around.

We sound like Richmond supporters at times.

The antithesis of Collingwood supporters who think they have 22 superstars.

We turn at the drop of a hat.

Henderson needed the run.

End of story.

Hammer wasn't that poor either.

Some can't see the forest for the trees.

It isn't 2002 to 2007 again...

It's funny how some people can call a spade a spade and others come up with every excuse in the book to defend the undefendable.

Henderson was lousy yesterday.

Carlton supporters are arguably the most hysterical group around.

We sound like Richmond supporters at times.

The antithesis of Collingwood supporters who think they have 22 superstars.

We turn at the drop of a hat.

Henderson needed the run.

End of story.

Hammer wasn't that poor either.

Some can't see the forest for the trees.

It isn't 2002 to 2007 again...
Some carlton supporters are dillusional.Both henderson and hampson have been given plenty of chances.Im not only talking about the crap they served up yesterday.People have got selective memories, they have served up crap like that for most of last year.

Remember when Hendo played his first game for the Blues we were bagging him then and still are???
The bloke took weeks before he settled in to the team,dropped marks constantly,missed goals he shouldn't have etc.This will more than likely happen again until he regains his confidence again with game time be it bad or good.We either remain patient and play him or drop him to the Ants,a catch 22 if you ask me.

it was the spectating and refusal to throw himself in to the contest that was the most worryinged sign. the backline and midfield busted their arse to get the ball forward and he just watched without contesting. skill errors i can forgive, lack of effort i can not.

I love Lachie and think he will be a great player, he was way under done yesterday and arguably should not have played, maybe some more time in the Ants, didn't chase or present really well yesterday had shocker, he is better than that..he showed heaps last year.

Personally I reckon he should have had one or two more weeks in the 2nds and Thornton would have been a better option yesterday.

It;s only round 4, Lachie will be tearing it up in the second half of the season...

Nobody's claiming that Henderson had a good game yesterday. Hell, he's probably my favourite player and I'll openly admit he was shocking.

But that's not an excuse to boo him, it's not an excuse to cheer him off, it's definitely not an excuse to wish harm on him, whether it be broken bones or death (wasn't in the crowd yesterday but I assure you it's not beneath our supporters).

Nobody's claiming that Henderson had a good game yesterday. Hell, he's probably my favourite player and I'll openly admit he was shocking.

But that's not an excuse to boo him, it's not an excuse to cheer him off, it's definitely not an excuse to wish harm on him, whether it be broken bones or death (wasn't in the crowd yesterday but I assure you it's not beneath our supporters).

Settle, he deserved his Bronx cheers.