.....HendoMANIA!!!!

I'm calling it HENDONISM ... the feeling of pleasure brought upon oneself when witnessing the skills of the great man on the footy field.

Oh believe me, I'm paying attention ;)

Nah, I just think back to his debut and us selecting him over Walker for his pace under the roof at Etihad. At the time I thought it was obvious that most players on our list would be quicker than Walker but didn't see more than glimpses of genuine burning pace.

In recent times, we're not just seeing the glimpses of pace but we're seeing him use it better all over the ground, and this has been so important to us being able to utilise both Tippett and Walker deep in the forward line. His inclusion has been as important as that of Griffin, two moves with massive payload.

Haha fair. In the WB game there was a bit where he ran onto the ball and knocked it forward. The exception was he accelerated past 2 Dogs players, one being Harbrow who is no slouch. The commentators remarked his pace in the bit of play. You must have missed it though ;)

I do admit the more games he is playing he's using his pace to more effect. See the Wojack run down. You could see it coming. Wojack thought he was away and Hendo just ran him down no worries. Barring injury or a spectacular drop in form he will play for the rest of the year and will be an integral part of our forward line. Has a hell of a boot on him too, can kick it a mile!

Would not be surprised if he was the quicket on our list. Even tops Danger at full tilt. Can only think of Shaw as being able to top Hendo.

He's turned into an absolute beauty, so much quicker than I expected :thumbsu: Like many of our youngsters he has a habit of doing the sublime while messing up some of the easy things (drops a few marks he's basically already taken) but the way he's been able to get involved in general play and frontal pressure while also kicking freak goals has been just wonderful. There were several occasions in the Geelong match where we had the ball in the defensive half and I saw him running forward and thought back to preseason where he was running laps because he wasn't fit enough and thought, "wonder if he'll gut it out?" and he would end up getting on the end of it 50m further down the line, sometimes several times in a passage of play.

Most of all I LOVE the way he charges at anyone who has the ball. Even though he doesn't always catch them, you can see they don't expect it and it rushes their disposal. So many turnovers were caused because he just belted at them.

I always liked what I saw of him at training but I never expected him to show the form he's shown the last few weeks in 2010. Once he polishes up with experience he's going to be an absolute gem :thumbsu:

Many of those dropped marks for Hendo are chest marks. His elbows are out to the side rather than 'under' the ball.

Obviously not enough catching of the basketball on the chest. I suspect they'll be focussing on that with him when there's time.

When he uses his hands he's ALOT better.

I've been pondering for a while which number I want on my Crows guernsey and I think I've found it. If Hendo continues to develop, number 45 it is! (Might wait off for a bit just in case he changes his number though:p)

Love the look of the lad!

I thought he looked a likely AFL player the few times I saw him with Centrals, but crikey, his leap into the big time and playing at the level he's playing at is a lovely surprise.
I'm onboard. This kid has great skills, poise and pace. With a few more games under his belt he will be a matchwinner.

I have Hendo fever so bad i have a whole campsite pitched in my pants :D

What about Rucci in today's Advertiser accusing Henderson of taking a deliberate dive and that action needs to be taken against him.
Everyone agrees that it should not have been a free kick.

However Henderson caming running in from the side to the marking contest and just appears to stumble straight through the pack. As Bruce called it on the night - "He just fell out of the pack".
On looking at the replays, there could have also been slight contact with the foot or leg with Blake contributing to the fall.
No way did Henderson deliberatley dive to gain a free.

Anyone reckon that an apology is required?

What about Rucci in today's Advertiser accusing Henderson of taking a deliberate dive and that action needs to be taken against him.

However Henderson caming running in from the side to the marking contest and just appears to stumble straight through the pack. As Bruce called it on the night - "He just fell out of the pack".
On looking at the replays, there could have also been slight contact with the foot or leg with Blake contributing to the fall.

What a joke that was, it was not a free kick but it was not a dive, he fell over either accidently or he clipped the foot of someone, but in no way did he do it on purpose.

Back to topic, he has speed, skills, and a hell of a leap. He can kick 60 metres of one step, just amazing. I think hes the player we wanted Jericho to become, and that Knights was until he got injured. Imagine having both of them in the same team when in form.

Rucci is an idiot... bet he hasn't said anything about the 2-3 times (at least) that Justin Westhoff has dived/thrown his head back for a free kick.

Looking at the replay, the player behind him accidentally tripped him with his foot as Hendo's foot was in the air, hence the stumbling sideways. When watched at full pace, you can see that his feet are accidentally taken out by the player behind him.

Ummm yeah... I was reading that and thinking wtf... it was a very bad decision by the umpire no doubt about it. BUT to call it a dive just shows something about the mental state of the man.

The article is so bad... I feel sorry for the Advertiser who are actually paying him to write it. Surely someone with their feet close to the ground can prevent that stuff even making it to print... or... was that the whole point... to stir people up.

How ****ing good is this guy. I don't think I've seen a rise from a player out of the best 22 to almost dominating form so quick.

I am going to make a call and say he is in the top 5 most important players at the club.

I hope that kicking for goal was an abberation. The last thing we need is another player who gets the ball, but just can't finish.

Start a wiki page...

wiki: HendoMANIA: A state of abnormally elavated arousel resulting from watching or imagining Adelaide Crow Ricky Henderson!