Hen's Nights.

Bee

Nov 6, 2000
In your bonnet!
What is it with these things? I always declared I would never have a typical Hen's Night. So with that in mind, last night we decided to have a nice quiet girls' night. Nothing silly. Head for 'The Taste' (anyone who has visited Hobart this time of the year will know that I am talking about), peruse the docks and check out the Sydney/Hobart yachts and have a few drinks at a couple of the waterfront pubs. Nice quiet and simple.
So why then did we arrive home at 8a.m this morning, after pigging out on breakfast at Wrest Point Casino?
Why then did we decide to hire a couple of taxis to take us to the top of Mount Wellington and drink champagne for an hour?
Why was my normally classy and intelligent friend dancing shoe-less on top of a bar in a Hobart pub. But more so, how the hell did she manage to convince a couple of us to join her?
Why the bloody hell did we decide to visit 'The Men's Gallery'? Must admit it was a lot of fun there, though!
And those are just some of things I can remember!
But the biggest question is - how the hell does everyone know it's a hen's night? Everywhere we went we got the same question - "Okay, girls which one is the bride?". Well at least that got us complimentary bottles of champagne at every place we went to.

Hmmm, so for someone who always swore she would never be talked into a typical hen's night, looks like I got one, afterall.

It was fun though. At least the bits I remember.

Although it's not a hen's night but over Christmas I heard of a family friend that was sent on a plane to Asia for his buck's night.

He was never to return to Australia and his ex bride was naturally happy about the activities.

Originally posted by Bee

But the biggest question is - how the hell does everyone know it's a hen's night? Everywhere we went we got the same question - "Okay, girls which one is the bride?". Well at least that got us complimentary bottles of champagne at every place we went to.

Hmmm, so for someone who always swore she would never be talked into a typical hen's night, looks like I got one, afterall.

It was fun though. At least the bits I remember.

I don't know about answering the question, Bee-- but I know Jen will weigh in on the subject later, from her relative experiences last February.

Glad to see that you had fun. It's a special night, and you and your friends are meant to have fun... that's what it's all about, a chance to let your hair down amid the stress of planning the wedding.

And I cannot let the opportunity pass without wishing you nothing but the best for your wedding day, and the marriage itself. Congratulations!! :)

Enjoy, and milk this ocassion for all it's worth... you deserve it. :D

Cheers,
William

oh no bee that is not very prim and proper :eek: you have tarnished your well respected image for ever now!

i remember my best friend tellin me i had to pay for a hens night for her coz i was the best friend GRHHH over my dead body, lucky the marriage was broken up the night i went clubbing with her fiance anyway :D

Well, if you're a hen and you only have one friend i feel sorry for the friend, cos she would get stuck paying for it all!

I would think that no one in particular pays for the Hens night.. i mean you all pay for yourselves and shout the hen heaps of drinks seems the fairest way to do it these days... And if you want a stripper, all your friends pitch in!!

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
serious question now bee who does actually pay for the hens night? Was my friend tryin to pull my leg or does the best friend really have to organise it all?

spidey, historically and generally, the head bridesmaid (maid of honour) usually organises and pays for the hens night. Of course it all depends on the number of bridesmaids in the wedding party. I think now the thing is to all chip in and give the bride to be a night to remember. :)

serious question now bee who does actually pay for the hens night? Was my friend tryin to pull my leg or does the best friend really have to organise it all?

I don't think there are any set rules. As far as I know, you just do what you think will be fun for the night. But I doubt that the best friend has to pay for it all. I've been to hen's nights before and everyone just paid for their own drinks etc. Except for the bride. Everyone shouts her drinks. And like I said before, for some reason everyone can tell it's a hen's night and usually you get free bottles of champagne where ever you go.
Your best friend sounds a bit selfish if she was seriously asking you to pay for it all.

my hens night was a quiet affair.. just a simple dinner out and movies with my family.. my sister was the bridesmaid and paid for everything.

The one big excitement of the night was trying to prevent me from going into the restaurant because my husband-to-be was in the restaurant. :D

Congratulations, enjoy your day - it will go all too quickly.

Much happiness to you both.

:)

:eek: Thats a bit rough! If i was you Spidey i would have told her yeah no worries i'll pay, but if i pay, i choose what we do. (Drinks on the banks of the yarra or something cheap like that!!)

Agreed!

Gawd she wanted me to pay for a bloody cruise for everyone and i wasn't even workin at this stage lol

lol.. I think she is getting a wee bit carried away which is easy to do when you are organising such a special event. I think I would have questioned that one for sure.. :)

Some ppl can go overboard i reckon. Of course it only happens once well if u r lucky but i still think its a time to remain slightly sane. This time on the train was the feralist thing. Bride had this vail on with all sorts of things tied to it....tampons, condoms u name it BLURGH!!!

One night i was at Frostbites.... (why would you take your hens night to Frostbites? I wouldnt!) there was a hens party and this girl had a glow in the dark penis straw sticking out of her bag - which i kindly took off her hands, it was a bit of a giggle!! But tacky, yeah.

Some ppl can go overboard i reckon. Of course it only happens once well if u r lucky but i still think its a time to remain slightly sane. This time on the train was the feralist thing. Bride had this vail on with all sorts of things tied to it....tampons, condoms u name it BLURGH!!!

Yes exactly. I've seen some hen's nights which are just plain stupid. Silly girl wearing a veil, with condoms and a big sign saying 'Bride'.
No way was I going to be part of something like that. And no way was I going to embarrassed by a male stripper either. Besides, my friends knew better than to even think about it.
Hen's nights should just be fun, but some get out of control and that's when the trouble starts. Same goes for Buck's nights too.

yeh strippers r pretty gross even some of the player strip nights digusted me believe it or not! Interesting to see Buckley's girl won't let her man go near any girls at his bucks night. Obviously doesn't even trust the sleaze she is marrying!

Funniest thing about the tacky veil was the tampon after it had rained :D

Funny you mentiion that Spidey. Did i hear correctly that she had him and all the men going to the bucks night sign some sort of contract about not going to night clubs etc and all these other things? *shakes head* If there is no trust why is she marrying the guy!!! Someone is certainly insecure!!

Originally posted by BluesBabe666
Funny you mentiion that Spidey. Did i hear correctly that she had him and all the men going to the bucks night sign some sort of contract about not going to night clubs etc and all these other things? *shakes head* If there is no trust why is she marrying the guy!!! Someone is certainly insecure!!
yeh golddigger! Well i guess someones gotta fund her nosejob, implants, fake tan and tacky shoe shop!

I do believe that Tania Trailer Trash Minnici isnt all that flash.. i know he isnt an oil painting but he could've found a more attractive gold digging footy mole than her!!

Hen's Nights.