Heritage Round 2007

• Thread starter Thread starter Freo95

Freo95

My Buddy Gabby O'sullivan - A Real Go Getter!
Freo AFLW
Freo will be wearing blue & white against sydney to avoid the jumper clash.
It's good to see that they have aknowledged East Freo. Though Fremantle's original colours were blue & white anyway.
Maybe in the future they might combine the blue with the red & white, but i guess we will just have to wait and see what happens.

What are your thoughts on combining the blue with the red & white???

Should have used the normal heritage jumper just to see what the dumbass AFL would do. But yeah really dont care, as a West Perth supporter i dont really feel the old Freo heritage.

Heritage round was good the first year but it's a bit pointless IMO. Blue and white will be interesting though.

Freo will be wearing blue & white against sydney to avoid the jumper clash.
It's good to see that they have aknowledged East Freo. Though Fremantle's original colours were blue & white anyway.
Maybe in the future they might combine the blue with the red & white, but i guess we will just have to wait and see what happens.

What are your thoughts on combining the blue with the red & white???
I'm all for the Blue and White jumper.

The Blue, Red and White, does reflect Freo's history in some way, but the Blue and White is an actual combination that has been worn in the port. I'd much rather this than a "heritage" jumper that was invented for the occassion.

Is that true? What did the jumper look like?
Blue and white hoops. Later the Imperials - some disenchanted Freo players who broke away after a disagreement about whether to turn professional or not - wore the blue and white while those that stayed wore the red and white three-V. The Imperials became East Fremantle. The ones that stayed went broke and drifted away. Later South Fremantle started up and they chose to wear red and white.

It is a sensational idea to wear blue and white and given the round is meant to celebrate the 1970s, no better way to turn some VFL backslapping exercise into a celebration of Freo by us wearing the blue and white panels East Freo wore in 1979 and Sydney (whether they mean to or not) wearing a strip very similar to the white and red chevron South Fremantle wore in 1979.

That way the AFL's intended aim of celebrating only Victorian teams can be turned into a celebration of Fremantle footy.

I am going to look pretty silly barracking for Freo in my 2006 Heritage jumper against Sydney. Lucky it's an away game and I can look silly at home.

Looks like Old Easts 1979 grand final winning jumper will be used in the heritage round.
I was a bit suspicious about it when this thread was started. Now i am convinced.

As an East Freo supporter I was a bit miffed when we played our first heritage game and was supporting red and white but it didnt stop me from cheering. I can well understand some people from other WAFL clubs who support Freo now will nearly choke when they see our guys in blue and white.

I'd like to see the anchor incorporated somehow in to the design. Sought of with the same design but have the anchor shape in contasting colours.

Looks like Old Easts 1979 grand final winning jumper will be used in the heritage round.
I was a bit suspicious about it when this thread was started. Now i am convinced.

As an East Freo supporter I was a bit miffed when we played our first heritage game and was supporting red and white but it didnt stop me from cheering. I can well understand some people from other WAFL clubs who support Freo now will nearly choke when they see our guys in blue and white.

I'd like to see the anchor incorporated somehow in to the design. Sought of with the same design but have the anchor shape in contasting colours.

Did you read it? Schwab will recommend it to the board so it is not 100% likely to get through.

I would like to see us in a sharks jumper for sure.

You mean like this...
HeritageIdea3.jpg

or perhaps this...
HeritageIdea4.jpg

I hope we don't go with those designs, no offence Tommo. It's just that heritage jumper ceases to really be a heritage jumper when it is essentially a new design.

Tommo.
Good work. If not for people like you we wouldnt be able to gel imagination with reality. We could have something decided on before the prototype got a look in.
Having seen what the jumper could look like with either of the designs I am thinking my initial idea isn't all that flash.

Thanks.

Blue and white hoops. Later the Imperials - some disenchanted Freo players who broke away after a disagreement about whether to turn professional or not - wore the blue and white while those that stayed wore the red and white three-V. The Imperials became East Fremantle. The ones that stayed went broke and drifted away. Later South Fremantle started up and they chose to wear red and white.
Not quite. Freo started in 1882 as a rugby club, was a initial member of the WAFA in 1885 , but went out of business at the end of 1886. They wore blue and white.
Unions joined the WAFA in 1886, grabbed a lot of the Freo players in 1887 when they disbanded, and in 1889 or 1890 they dropped the Unions name and adopted 1890. Imperials turned up in blue and white in 1895 did OK but died out in 1897. East Freo came in 1898, took a few of the big name Imperial players, but Imperials didn't directly "become" East Freo.

It is a sensational idea to wear blue and white and given the round is meant to celebrate the 1970s, no better way to turn some VFL backslapping exercise into a celebration of Freo by us wearing the blue and white panels East Freo wore in 1979 and Sydney (whether they mean to or not) wearing a strip very similar to the white and red chevron South Fremantle wore in 1979.

That way the AFL's intended aim of celebrating only Victorian teams can be turned into a celebration of Fremantle footy.
Agree... and it's probably going to be the only time in my life I'd like to be reminded of that black Saturday!
TheWest said:
As the away team, Fremantle have been under pressure to find an alternative to their heritage uniform, which is based on the guernsey worn by the club’s inaugural players in 1885. It has red-and-white hooped socks, black shorts and a white jumper with three thin red Vs covering the chest.

During the 1970s Sydney wore red-and-white hooped socks, red shorts and a white jumper with one thick V covering the chest. Both clubs had red numbers on a white back.
Two paragraphs, two errors by the Worst.
"The Club", which by all grammer rules must mean the current Freo didn't exist in 1885. But even if you allow for some sloppy grammer, neither did the "namesake club". 1886 or 1889/90 might be OK.
And I thought numbers on the backs of jumpers didn't come into being until after the WWI? If they are talking about the existing heritage jumper, not the original jumper, then shouldn't they use "have", not "had"?

Or I am just picky that we should have some accuracy in reporting?

Anyone actually opposed to this Old Easts jumper being worn? Speaking personally I reckon it'd be a great thing - but if it's doing to disenfranchise heaps of Dockers supporters who hate East Fremantle i'd rather not see it done. But if everyone's behind it - then go for it.

I'm a one-eyed Souths supporter and I love it! Only because it will replicate the biggest WAFL GF ever with Sydney in the red V on white of South Fremantle. And even though that was one of the blackest memories of my childhood (I was among the 53,000 people at Subi Oval that day) - if the result is the same for the team wearing blue and white, I'll be very, very pleased!

Plus, I know that if we win, the Freo song will be played, but wouldn't it be hilarious to see the confusion on the Swans' fans faces if "Cheer, Cheer the Blue and the White" came blaring over their PA!! :thumbsu:

I love Souths, but I love Freo Footy even more - and if that means barracking wholeheartedly for the team wearing blue and white on the day.... then bring it on! :D