Universal Love HEY! How you doin? Covid-19 Mental Health Check

My main concern is my mom. The rest is ok, besides the challenges.

Farmers won't stop working, so our business is still on. Market is a mess, though — but that's the life of a farmer anyway.

Kids are at home, which is stressful. I joke that if my marriage survive this, it will go on forever!

What sort of farming do you do?

I've managed a cafe for the past 11 years and watched it grow from a very quite place to a very busy respected local establishment in the community, something I'm extremely proud of.

I was one of those that lost their job as a result of the dine in shutdown. Although I've spent most of this year desperately looking to move on to a completely new career (no idea what) a part of me would hate not to be there to try and rebuild the business if the opportunity arises.

At the moment I feel very unsure of what I should do in the meantime.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Hey Port Board peeps or anyone else out there,

This thread is for you.

To talk about the challenges we are all facing and to maybe offer some tips for people that are struggling. There is no judging and no having a crack at how other people are coping. We are all doing our best and we'll have up days and down days we all will. So come in here vent and let loose in a judgement free environment. There are threads about Ken (#sackhinkley) threads about the virus itself, it's growth etc and peoples thoughts on that, there are threads about everything and everything but this thread is a safe space to support each other! I've got mates as we all have that are struggling and people that are strangely lapping it up.

We are all in this together even if you hate celebrities like I do.

Peace
Can we do a big footy song together?

maybe something like “imagine “ from John Lennon.

Can we do a big footy song together?

maybe something like “imagine “ from John Lennon.

----
P.S.:
I have just remembered the worst. The song actually exists! I wrote it:
IMAGINE
John Lennon and Counting Crows

"Imagine there's no Melbourne
It's easy if you try
No Port below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all our players
Staying in Adelaide"

"Imagine there is no Rucci
It isn't hard to do
Nothing to news or lie for
No Kane Cornes too
Imagine South Australians
Following the Crows in peace"

"You may say I'm a dreamer
But I'm not the only one
I hope some day you may join us
And the world will fly as one"

I've managed a cafe for the past 11 years and watched it grow from a very quite place to a very busy respected local establishment in the community, something I'm extremely proud of.

I was one of those that lost their job as a result of the dine in shutdown. Although I've spent most of this year desperately looking to move on to a completely new career (no idea what) a part of me would hate not to be there to try and rebuild the business if the opportunity arises.

At the moment I feel very unsure of what I should do in the meantime.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
Maybe check out some of the free courses on line thru some off the Uni’s, see what sought of help the government will give you to re /train.

but remember when this all finish’s up we will all need you again , we might just have to pay a little extra for that cup of coffee .

stay positive enjoy time with your family and think about how we could make our society better after we have actually had a chance to reflect.

we are all in this together , let’s hope we remain in it after it’s gone.

Maybe check out some of the free courses on line thru some off the Uni’s, see what sought of help the government will give you to re /train.

but remember when this all finish’s up we will all need you again , we might just have to pay a little extra for that cup of coffee .

stay positive enjoy time with your family and think about how we could make our society better after we have actually had a chance to reflect.

we are all in this together , let’s hope we remain in it after it’s gone.
I'm just thinking about our first home game after all this is over - no matter who the opponent is, I reckon Port fans will pack the place to its capacity.

The MCG will be small for a North v. Gold Coast match. Imagine AO for a Port game.

O.K so I’ve been listening to the Bill Simmons podcasts and was thinking of doing a best of music draft, maybe we could do something like alternative music of the 90’s or hip hop.

you would get a daft order be able to trade picks , then with the end result we could do a competition to see who’s was the best.

We could use votes from posters, album sales awards e.t.c.

We could also do some AFL redrafts.
let me know what you guys think , I would need some help as I’m not as good at this s**t as some of you dudes.

Great thread by ED.

From a personal point of view I'm going ok for an old campaigner, son lost his job, but luckily I am in a strong enough financial situation to help him out if and as required, and he now has much more time to complete his studies for his teaching degree, and improve his piano playing.
He also has the option to go back to teaching English online to Chinese kids and that pays in USD.

Via a connection through a mutual friend I have been helping support 2 little girls in the Philippines for about 5 years now.
I pay their school fees, uniforms, health care as required ( one needs specially made glasses every couple of years, which cost peanuts when compared to the equivalent cost in this country), field trips etc, and it is so much more rewarding doing it with a personal connection than via one of the many `charitable' organisations that take your money and then you see 200 plus brand new Land Rover Discoveries and Pajeros lined up in their car park somewhere in Africa, which has to make you wonder how much help really gets to those who need it!

One significant change for me over the last couple of weeks though, and I have no idea where it has come from ( some could say I have no idea period :rolleyes: ), is I am now continually thinking of things I could have done differently (read better) over the last 40 years or so, but maybe that is just an old campaignery thing. :think:

On the study side:

- I'm starting to learn Japanese (via www.duolingo.com). It is free and really seems to work.

- Udemy (https://www.udemy.com/courses/free) have released a huge number of free courses with a scope as wide as Photography, Astronomy, Yoga, Working Remotely, Angular 2+, Wordpress, Blender or how to DJ. I'm using them to learn to create video games and the courses I have done have been excellent.

I spent a huge amount of time this week tinkering with https://sharemygame.com/@Marcus_From_Oz/hama-rikyu-covid-19-blaster
Its becoming very therapeutic.

Im mentally cooked but its not pandemic related. Its had no real effect on me or my family yet. Works been the same, still sent the kids to school, my wifes uni work has been effected though.

But ive been struggling through crippling depression and especially anxiety for the first time over the last 8 months or so which has effected just about every part of my life in a negative way. Good times!

Im mentally cooked but its not pandemic related. Its had no real effect on me or my family yet. Works been the same, still sent the kids to school, my wifes uni work has been effected though.

But ive been struggling through crippling depression and especially anxiety for the first time over the last 8 months or so which has effected just about every part of my life in a negative way. Good times!

Quite distressed to hear this, Macca, you have obviously put forward a brave face on the podcast. I hope you are getting the support you need (and deserve). I have no idea what any of us can offer, but if there is anything, I know there'll be a queue to assist. Meanwhile, all I can do is s**t post. I am trying to lift my game, but i'm hanging out for a Udemy course on the subject. Perhaps Dr. Feel can oblige...

S’all good mate, i’m doing everything i should be doing to work through it and i feel like i’m on the up curve now

Take care man

I went thru it around my mid 30’s, started working out mainly lifting gave up drinking for 5 years.

have been vapeing cbd for arthritis but have found it really helps with anxiety.

i think we all need a good DMT experience😀

Well, life is not very fun for me right now.

Firstly, the business that I've poured my energy into for 21 years, our prime source of income and, as with most small business owners, the equity of which is my superannuation, is on the ropes. I'll need some deft manoeuvring and a s**t load of good fortune to get through this. Focus is on keeping staff employed and clients active.

Secondly, the side gig I have as the CEO of an industry body, which has been a secondary source of income for the past 5 years is in a similar situation. We run events and sell memberships with some additional revenue from sponsors and partners. All three revenue streams have virtually stopped dead in their tracks. I had to stand down some of the staff this week for a month with no pay. Not a pleasant thing to have to do. On top of this, I'm owed a significant amount for my services, that I will likely lose if the org does not survive.

I've also got three kids at home with me, one in year 8 and the other two in primary school. With the juggling of their education needs, food intake, entertainment demands, and the pent up energy levels from being stuck inside all day, in addition to managing two struggling businesses, my stress levels are mind bending.

Mrs B is still heading out to work as her role is considered 'essential' (WHS), but will be working from home from Monday we believe. So we have some continuing income, and our 'saving for a deposit for a house' fund will be repurposed to a 'savings to keep us sheltered, fed, and clothed' fund.

So financially, this is going to hurt. A lot.

On the mental health side of things, it ebbs and flows. While I have suffered in the past with issues to do with anxiety and depression, I'm dealing with this situation well enough, all things considered. Not a lot of sleep, no exercise, and increased drinking, but keeping a level head, which is surprising given all the disruptions to routine and lack of socialising.

I've been gagging for a bike ride for weeks, but have had no spare time and no energy level left at the end of the week. Going to try and rectify that this week with a quick burn around Craigburn Farm trails. Might also take the kids to the south parklands bmx track for some jumps and s**t.

On the plus side:

Had a three hour long google hangout last night with a bunch of blokes I've known for thirty odd years which was "90% bullshit and 10% content" and was a hugely positive tonic. My face is still aching from laughing so much.

I've also had regular online catchups with some colleagues, who are also good friends, to discuss business tactics and coping mechanisms. These sessions have helped immensely with keeping spirits up. It's also good to hear how others are dealing with the same situation.

Cooking is keeping me sane and provides a welcome distraction to emails and phone calls. I already do most of the cooking but I'm now in my element of creating healthy meals out of what we have and levelling up my wog credentials with home made sauces, sausages, and pastas. (We're also doing a lot of home made bread at the moment due to the fact that only flour we could get last week was a 12kg sack of Laucke's at our local grocery.)

BigFooty has been an interesting diversion. Mostly reading stuff re the coronavirus and debating with the Janii but also having some DMs with various posters about various things so there's a sense of community here that definitely helps. This thread is a great thing too. (as was the email from Dingle checking up on me. I'll respond soon, I promise)

Biggest thing for me right now is the unknown factor: how long is this going to go on for and what will be the long term ramifications of the economic disruption.

Well, life is not very fun for me right now.

Firstly, the business that I've poured my energy into for 21 years, our prime source of income and, as with most small business owners, the equity of which is my superannuation, is on the ropes. I'll need some deft manoeuvring and a s**t load of good fortune to get through this. Focus is on keeping staff employed and clients active.

Secondly, the side gig I have as the CEO of an industry body, which has been a secondary source of income for the past 5 years is in a similar situation. We run events and sell memberships with some additional revenue from sponsors and partners. All three revenue streams have virtually stopped dead in their tracks. I had to stand down some of the staff this week for a month with no pay. Not a pleasant thing to have to do. On top of this, I'm owed a significant amount for my services, that I will likely lose if the org does not survive.

I've also got three kids at home with me, one in year 8 and the other two in primary school. With the juggling of their education needs, food intake, entertainment demands, and the pent up energy levels from being stuck inside all day, in addition to managing two struggling businesses, my stress levels are mind bending.

Mrs B is still heading out to work as her role is considered 'essential' (WHS), but will be working from home from Monday we believe. So we have some continuing income, and our 'saving for a deposit for a house' fund will be repurposed to a 'savings to keep us sheltered, fed, and clothed' fund.

So financially, this is going to hurt. A lot.

On the mental health side of things, it ebbs and flows. While I have suffered in the past with issues to do with anxiety and depression, I'm dealing with this situation well enough, all things considered. Not a lot of sleep, no exercise, and increased drinking, but keeping a level head, which is surprising given all the disruptions to routine and lack of socialising.

I've been gagging for a bike ride for weeks, but have had no spare time and no energy level left at the end of the week. Going to try and rectify that this week with a quick burn around Craigburn Farm trails. Might also take the kids to the south parklands bmx track for some jumps and s**t.

On the plus side:

Had a three hour long google hangout last night with a bunch of blokes I've known for thirty odd years which was "90% bullshit and 10% content" and was a hugely positive tonic. My face is still aching from laughing so much.

I've also had regular online catchups with some colleagues, who are also good friends, to discuss business tactics and coping mechanisms. These sessions have helped immensely with keeping spirits up. It's also good to hear how others are dealing with the same situation.

Cooking is keeping me sane and provides a welcome distraction to emails and phone calls. I already do most of the cooking but I'm now in my element of creating healthy meals out of what we have and levelling up my wog credentials with home made sauces, sausages, and pastas. (We're also doing a lot of home made bread at the moment due to the fact that only flour we could get last week was a 12kg sack of Laucke's at our local grocery.)

BigFooty has been an interesting diversion. Mostly reading stuff re the coronavirus and debating with the Janii but also having some DMs with various posters about various things so there's a sense of community here that definitely helps. This thread is a great thing too. (as was the email from Dingle checking up on me. I'll respond soon, I promise)

Love you man.

Call anytime.

Great thread. Personally I'm ok at the moment but can see that some hard times are still ahead.

I'm still working in the cbd which, even though from a containment perspective I'd prefer being at home it at least hasn't meant complete isolation.

I thought I was an introvert, finding that I'm not actually.

Now that school's out for one and work's it for the other, I'm facing (half the time) some proper cabin fever behaviour from kids, especially as their existence and identity is so socially orientated. Haven't seen my parents other than to drop Bunnings supplies off (if it gets to them I think they're goners so that's a real concern)

Anyway I'm going to try and focus on some creative pursuits I've neglected for years like writing and resuming bass guitar. I've realised that is very easy to sit and drink but I'll encourage you all to at least to have a day or two with no alcohol and go for a walk at least 🙏

It's nice to hear how others are managing, and tough to hear about those struggling, but I'm sending my love to you ♥️

I hope everyone has access to a community like this. We're relatively lucky.

I'm a project manager for a utility, so my job is secure. My partner works for a pharmacy based cosmetics company, so if trends from past crises in make-up sales pan out, she will also be fine.

Our major stress is her campaigner of an employer refusing to let people work from home, even though the have the technology to enable it.

My partner (she hates being called Miss Sleezy, for some reason) has battled depression and anxiety in the past, so we keep away from most media. I've had to keep on top of the requirements so I can make sure my job sites are both compliant and safe for myself, my colleagues and contractors.

Compartmentalizing that to help manage my partner's anxiety has probably been the toughest part for me. I'm not used to having anxious feelings and am lucky to have plenty of bandwidth to process all this. I can't imagine what it is like for people who already have underlying disorders, though waking up to my partner planking at 3am to help regulate her breathing gives me some sort of idea.

Luckily, both of our parents are taking this seriously. Stay safe everyone, and do what you need to do to get through. Eddie Dingle , Dylan8 I live in your hoods - if you need anything hit me up. I'm still mobile and have a letter from the gub'ment that says I'm allowed out and about.