Hey Maggie supporters

• Thread starter Thread starter Daphne

Daphne

Hey Magpie supporters did you see big Sav take that big mark on the telly tonight?, and he held onto it, and that picture of him in the Sunday Sun yesterday bending down and picking the ball up was pretty impressive dont you think? I am getting just a touch excited about the big guy and that Ricky looks OK as well.

We've seen it all before daphne take a word of advice from this magpie DONT GET TOO EXCITED OK.

------------------
In'65 tension was running high at my high school,There was a lot of fights between the black and white,There was nothin you could do,Two cars at a light on a saturday night in the back seat there was a gun,words were passed in a shot gun blast,Troubled times had come to my hometown

But Joffa did you see him, I have to say he used to frustrate the hell out of me when we played Collingwood, I used to wait for him to take some big marks and kick them through the big sticks, But I can honestly say he disappointed me most of the time. He really is looking good though lets hope he can have a good one even if it is only for a short time.

By the way Joffa if I had know that you were there lurking in the background at this hour of the morning I would never have posted this

JOFFA
You must be pissing yourself with all these stories about Ex-Pie players.
First you had Watson
rolleyes.gif
appointed a Skills coach ,then you had S Rocca taking a mark in a scrath match
rolleyes.gif
.What next ? Maybe Rick O'mebackssaw might play 10 minutes of footy this year.

------------------
"No matter how good you are at something,there's always a million people better than you"

Daphne, hope big Sav does have a good year, much maligned player who i think used correctly (that is players actually passing the ball to him) will do well, but Joff im afraid the player that may haunt you the most is Paul Williams, always had alot of time for him, i think hell burn in Sydney.

A special hello to my mate daphne.
AND TO BUBBA, Damned if we did and damned if we didn't,i hope willo has a good year for the swannies as i tend to think the small SCG will be his cup of tea,i can see him now kicking goals as he is tearing out of the centre,But realistically from collingwood's
point of view a very much highly paid player
has to do more than put in for 3 games a year,the decision to axe williams should be a reminder to all that this club is going foward in a very big way.

------------------
I get up in the evening and i ain't got nothing to say,I come home in the morning,I go to bed feeling the same way,I ain't nothing but tired,Man i'm just tired and bored with myself,Hey there baby,I could use just a little help.

Isn't it funny how Sav is actually looking fit and looks to have some confidance. Funny how that can happen when players go to a team that has "ability".

TheGlove

From all reports Sav kicked one goal, playing against the oldest full back in the comp!

We are quite happy with our forward line going into next season. Molloy, Tarrant & (the Good) Rocca means that much, much, much fewer marks will be dropped and our crumbers, Leon Davis, Brodie Holland and "the new Craig Bradly" Alan Didak, will be there to make sure any spillages count.

Doesn't matter how physically fit Sav is, it is his mental fitness that will never improve. North can't expect to fix their financial problems by getting "ready made" players who are duds and expect to turn them into gold.

North are too old, too slow. Collingwood will murder them this year with their pace.

They were just saving themselves for the big ones at the end of the season, the magpies only had one game left after that and they were going nowhere, but they did manage to beat them the time before when it really mattered, they are the ones you have to win to get into the eight.
Originally posted by *miss_magpie*:
pity that ability didn't get them anywhere in round 21 ay?
biggrin.gif

Methinks Darky will be LOL on the other side of his face come season 2001!

Just how long do people around here think that Collingwood will be on the bottom with all of the talent we have, plus a ruthless coach. There will be no lull in the middle of this year! Deal with it!

Daphne, we should have beaten you twice last year! The first game was one of the worst games of footy I have ever seen and really neither team deserved any points! Me and my Norf mate were sitting there stuned at how hopeless our respective teams were.

Once again, we will NOT lose to the Kangawhos this year!

Magpie_joffa, have you heard Bobby Jean?

Maybe you'll be out there on that road somewhere

In some bus or train travelling along

In some motel room there'll be a radio playing

And you'll hear me sing this song

Well if you do

you'll know I'm thinking of you

and all the miles in between

And I'm just calling one last time

not to change your mind

But just to say I miss you baby,

good luck

goodbye,

Bobby Jean

Originally posted by FIGJAM:
Just how long do people around here think that Collingwood will be on the bottom with all of the talent we have, plus a ruthless coach.

About another two years. Improvement will be gradual, finals in 2003 perhaps.

Yeah that's a pretty valid argument kymhodgemansmoron!

The bloke you should be watching out for this year (with no talent) is Chris Tarrant. He has bulked up significantly and while his pace and pack marking skills remain, expect him do start dominating in one on one contests.

"Gee haven't the Saints recruited well, Gehrig, Hamil, Lawrence". What a crock! I would much rather have Molloy, A. Rocca, Tarrant and Didak in my team! To allow for these players the Saints had to delist Shane Wakelin, who granted had a suspect achillies, but now is 110% fit and looks set to take over as our regular centre half back (and we got him for nothing!).

In fact the competition for spots in our starting 22 is outstanding.

The only area I concede defeat in is
the ruck. But at the same time Josh (and all of last years "kids") are a year older and Fraser's on ground skills will make him the best player in the league within the next several years. Imagine Jeff White with substantially better skills.

Damien Adkins and Nick Davis had outstanding years and also are a year and a long preseason older.

Alan Didak will win the Norwich Rising Star award next year - no question.

We will progress very rapidly and to suggest we have no talent is laughable.

The bloke you should be watching out for this year (with no talent) is Chris Tarrant.
B]

Thats IF Tarrant doesn't have another hissyfit and runaway from the club because Nafan yelled at him
frown.gif

------------------
"No matter how good you are at something,there's always a million people better than you"

"They were just saving themselves for the big ones at the end of the season"- Daphne

HAHAHAHAHA, that's the funniest thing I have ever heard. You may as well have blamed the umpires, or the weather, or the crowd.. or the bloody prime minister.. they weren't 'saving themselves' for anything. Collingwood were the better team on the day.... face it.

In fact the competition for spots in our starting 22 is outstanding.

Are you sure about that? You guys have potential, but lack truly experienced players to guide the develop that potential into achievement. Your most experienced players are Buckley and Burns, and as good as they are, it's not a large enough leadership team to speed up the development of your kids. I reckon the Pies are about two years away from the finals, and maybe another year or two away from making the Grand Final if all goes well. Without a doubt, the likes of Tarrant, Davis, and Adkins have the skills to become champions, but their development would be much quicker if they had experienced leaders to guide them. Essendon have picked up plenty of good youngsters, but their development was accelerated because they had the likes of Hird, Long, Fletcher, Mercuri, Misiti and co to guide them...the results of the team wasn't on their shoulders...and with so many leaders, the youngsters have the success ethic drummed into them...they know what's required to succeed. It surrounds them. Collingwood no longer has that aura of success, thus placing more pressure on the kids to perform. The worst place to be a Messiah is to be the one at Collingwood.

North could have been in the same situation as Essendon, except we never finished low enough on the ladder (or we couldn't engineer the trades until the Bell deal) to get low enough draft picks to get some good youngsters to work with. As every recycled recruit that comes to North says, the work ethic around the club is unbelievable.

I understand where you are coming from Shinboners, but I think we have also gone about things the right way since 1999 in rectifying that problem. Getting rid of Sav was an important step in eradicating a losing mentality. Pagan will not be able to fix this!

We have put all players through the much publicised leadership course and all you have to do is go to training and you will sence the camaraderie and see the encouragement given. I also feel that this group of players believe (in their own ability & Malthouse's running game plan) that they can take it up to any other team.

And finally some of these "kids" aren't boys any more. Brent Tuckey is commonly referred to as Roids by his team mates, due to the MASSIVE amount of muscle he has accumulated over the summer. With any luck he will come of age and become a regular for us at full forward. As I said earlier Tarrant is big and I genuinely believe he wants to win the undispited mantle of the best young player in the league (better than Lloyd, Croad, Black etc).

I understand that realistically you would not put any money on us making the eight. But all I am saying is if things click into gear the way I am expecting to, do not be surprised when we leave a lot of teams in our wake.

And sorry Norfers, I can not see the slower teams beating us, and that includes you!

I heard Gavin Crosisca interviewed on 3AW a few weeks ago. Tony Shaw asked him what he thought the difference was between Collingwood and North-"the professionalism of the place" was his answer. Don't think Shawy was able to ask another question!

With Sav, North haven't taken too much of a risk. We got him with our fifth pick (#30 overall) and he's on the lowest player payments available according to the player payment agreement. If he fails, we really haven't lost too much. If he succeeds, then naturally, we'll be very happy. If he does do well at North, that does not mean that Collingwood has made the wrong decision though. Malthouse is obviously looking at creating a new forward structure, so if an A.Rocca-Tarrant-Molloy forward line works, then it's really a win-win.

North have been woeful against Collingwood in recent years. Ditto for our games against Melbourne and Essendon, and that is due to our lack of pace in the midfield (we do have fast players with Pickett, King, Harvey, Abraham), but they've mainly played on the half forward and half back flanks. We've been destroyed in the midfield where the likes of Simpson, Bell, and Stevens have hardly been blessed with pace. Hopefully the new players will rectify that situation. We've also had a turnover of about a dozen players, so instead of seeing Sholl and Capuano recalled to the team whenever we get into a hole, we'll get some new players to call on. So don't pencil in that win against North just yet.

...yeah, but thinks are up a gear around THE CLUB now! Last year was a feeler for Mickey and after achieving his clear out of the dead wood and getting the two player he targeted (Shane O'Bree & Brodie Holland), he is pushing the squad in earnest.

As I keep saying, do not write us off. We are now very very professional.

MissMagpie,

What happened after the first 5 rds and before the last 3rds?

The wobbles only just lost out on another wooden spoon!

Michele

NMFC 1869

PS I think Tarrant will be a very good player, and I think Collingwood will miss Willo!