Hey Richo bashers...

From an opposition club supporter:

I love Richo. He makes watching any Richmond game a must. He is one of the few players in the league who I really wish was a West Coast Eagle. I love his flaws as much as his talents.

Oh, and thanks for wiping the floor with the purple pretenders this week. As usual, they rate their whole season on whether or not they win a derby - and so got way ahead of themselves. Well done Tiges and good luck for the rest of the season.

RT, this thread wasn't a shot at you, a bunch of people who replied in your thread maybe :o :thumbsu:

I want him to play for us until he's 37-38, even if it's off the bench rotating into a back pocket or ruck or forward flank... he just has to be there if we are playing consecutive finals in a few years!

Unfortunately some signs are pointing towards his retirement being sooner than we hope.

Radio coverage indicated Richo's field kicking was effective, marking superb and his ground coverage huge. Plus four goals! Yet more evidence that the big champ has been played out of position for almost his entire career.

The only signs I see is he has 5 or 6 years left in him. He said he has alot of footy left last week :cool:

Yeah he has certainly changed his tune!

I think the move to the wing has meant he has no other reasons to retire until his body gives way.

Before this, when he was the focul point up forward he may have heard whispers about him hindering the youngster's development and not being part of the future. In his mind I believe the "team thing" was to give the others a go, and we all know that Richo would put what is best for the club ahead of personal glory... now that he's on a wing he can play without getting in the way of anyone and he can just keep getting games while still doing what is best for the club!

I was prepared to let him be FF/CHF for as long as his body would let him, but I felt Richo may have seen that as selfish which would explain his comments pre-season about a retirement being "sooner rather than later".

His body was always capable of playing another 4 years which is why the wing will let Richo raise the premiership cup in 2011 :D:thumbsu:

Get the feeling you're taking aim at me on this one Benny seen as though I've probably been the most vocal and thats fair enough.

However, I never said I wanted Richo kicked out of the team, just wanted him moved away from the forward 50/key positions to give the others a chance and surprise, surprise it happens (I reckon Wallace reads Big Footy) and the forward line is hard to match up on, we kick the sweep and all our forwards seemed to have good games. Richo still has value but the side looked a hell of a lot better this week without the same old predictablity.

Absolutely spot on RT.

Don't worry mate we knew your heart was in the right place when you started that thread. Richo seems to be loving having a different role too, doesn't have 3 blokes hanging off him all the time, isn't putting up with bombs put over his head with the expectation of a miracle mark (as much:D)...and whattya know he is still kicking goals:thumbsu:

Yeah he has certainly changed his tune!

I think the move to the wing has meant he has no other reasons to retire until his body gives way.

Before this, when he was the focul point up forward he may have heard whispers about him hindering the youngster's development and not being part of the future. In his mind I believe the "team thing" was to give the others a go, and we all know that Richo would put what is best for the club ahead of personal glory... now that he's on a wing he can play without getting in the way of anyone and he can just keep getting games while still doing what is best for the club!

I was prepared to let him be FF/CHF for as long as his body would let him, but I felt Richo may have seen that as selfish which would explain his comments pre-season about a retirement being "sooner rather than later".

His body was always capable of playing another 4 years, now the wing lets him do this without being the focus point up forward!

In 2011 we will see Richo raise the premiership cup :D:thumbsu:

I've never heard Richo talk about retirement. He is capable of playing until he's 38 or older. Now that he doesn't have the guilt of delaying the progress of Reiwoldt and Hughes up forward and that we are actually playing like a team that suits the quality of players we have, Richo will be spurred on to gain success. The sooner we make the finals the quicker he will sign a new 5 year deal :D. But honestly, this is what Richo has been playing 15 years for and he won't want to miss out on playing in a successful period. He deserves to play finals for the next 5 years. I want Richo to be a part of it because he is still one of our most important players. I want him to reach 350 games and 1000 goals ;)

Yeah the eve of successive final appearances would be a huge motivating factor in Richo to play on... and on... and on and on!

Personally I heard a lot of talk that even 2008 could be his last year, so the move onto the wing couldn't have come at a better time.

I got the 300/1 for the big fella to take charlie home.He's allready had 2 bog's and might be in the votes for the carlton game.One just never knows to good to refuse.

I will admit about 5 years ago I had had enough of him. It was the predictable 2.5 return week in week out and leading to pockets and wrestling with opponents thing that frustrated me.

To be fair, in the last few years he has become a better footballer. Same thing happened with Benny Gale. He has become crafty in his age, and not so temperamental. Playing him on the wing or flank is a brilliant idea because it creates a huge mismatch for the opposition. They can try to just run a smaller opponent off him, but that leaves him as a huge marking target on the rebound.

It's also allowed us to develop an orthodox forward structure with leading forwards able to lead into the corridor, something Richo has rarely done.

I haven't been a basher since about 2003.

...go tear up your memberships because he's going to be around for a while yet :thumbsu:

Richo will NEVER be kicked out of our team, there is ALWAYS a place for Matthew Richardson at Richmond.

Capish?

Benny....you should be flooging shit in the middle of the night on TV.
That's how full of crap you are.
Smell the roses...

Richo's playing great footy cause he's a nomad now and has FINALLY, ____ING FINAL freed the forward line up. (I could have told Terry 3 years ago, and even Spud the dud that all those years ago.....says a lot about our coaches!)
We would have been a more functional team all these years with Richo out of the forward line. What's that saying genius? Hmmmm.

Richo has a big heart, a big motor and bleeds yellow and black.
Only problem is he doesn't have a football brain!
With one, he could have been the greatest footballer EVER.
He's not.

For all the great games you want to go into the bathroom for and have a Willy Spank over, there are a TRILLION games where brain drain Richo has stuffed up, missed goals, frozen in traffic, got caught with the ball, picked the wrong option, given away vital frees, ETC, ETC, ETC.
And you're basing his genius on a few games where he gets to run free.
My Granny gets excited too when her wheelchair slips it's brake and she flies free into the shopping centre carpark !!
Richo's got no responsibility now and playing like it.

WHEN HE HAD IT.....IN THE FORWARD LINE.....HE WASTED IT !!

He won a B&F in a crap team.....in a crap year.

And beware all you fools about players playing forever, however good they look.
History has shown that ageing players might look great in one round and then the football Gods pull the rug from under them, and within the space of a couple of rounds the game has past a player by, when just weeks before he looked like he could go on forever.
Richo MIGHT have 2 years left. Might.

WE WILL NOT WIN A FLAG WITH RICHO PLAYING. END OF STORY.

Smell the roses Benny....and just once get REAL.

:thumbsd:

Benny....you should be flooging shit in the middle of the night on TV.
That's how full of crap you are.
Smell the roses...

Richo's playing great footy cause he's a nomad now and has FINALLY, ____ING FINAL freed the forward line up. (I could have told Terry 3 years ago, and even Spud the dud that all those years ago.....says a lot about our coaches!)
We would have been a more functional team all these years with Richo out of the forward line. What's that saying genius? Hmmmm.

Richo has a big heart, a big motor and bleeds yellow and black.
Only problem is he doesn't have a football brain!
With one, he could have been the greatest footballer EVER.
He's not.

For all the great games you want to go into the bathroom for and have a Willy Spank over, there are a TRILLION games where brain drain Richo has stuffed up, missed goals, frozen in traffic, got caught with the ball, picked the wrong option, given away vital frees, ETC, ETC, ETC.
And you're basing his genius on a few games where he gets to run free.
My Granny gets excited too when her wheelchair slips it's brake and she flies free into the shopping centre carpark !!
Richo's got no responsibility now and playing like it.

WHEN HE HAD IT.....IN THE FORWARD LINE.....HE WASTED IT !!

He won a B&F in a crap team.....in a crap year.

And beware all you fools about players playing forever, however good they look.
History has shown that ageing players might look great in one round and then the football Gods pull the rug from under them, and within the space of a couple of rounds the game has past a player by, when just weeks before he looked like he could go on forever.
Richo MIGHT have 2 years left. Might.

WE WILL NOT WIN A FLAG WITH RICHO PLAYING. END OF STORY.

Smell the roses Benny....and just once get REAL.

:thumbsd:

Richo is a champion. Imagine he played in a good team. He would have had 1000 goals by now. You forgot to mentioned he's one of the best marks of all time and he's kicked 760 goals and missed alot of easy ones. Imagine he had more skillful players upfield for the last 15 years :thumbsu:

...go tear up your memberships because he's going to be around for a while yet :thumbsu:

Richo will NEVER be kicked out of our team, there is ALWAYS a place for Matthew Richardson at Richmond.

Capish?

I think Richo Bashers (I admit I've been one of them) are happy with him not being the focal point of the forward line. See that's the problem. We wont win a damn thing with him as our #1 forward. We need to teach other kids and create more options which is what we're doing at the moment.

On that sig of yours Chrisjie: STWGM; if you re-arrange the letters, it makes WTSMG which is short for What's the Story Morning Glory, ie the greatest album of all time by the greatest band of all time.
Good post.

On that sig of yours Chrisjie: STWGM; if you re-arrange the letters, it makes WTSMG which is short for What's the Story Morning Glory, ie the greatest album of all time by the greatest band of all time.
Good post.

greatest album of all time ..........NOT
greatest band of all time............NOT

Good post.
Stop the clocks is better..."i sold my soul for the second time, cos the man dont pay me".

Second greatest album
Greatest band.

well then WTSMG- #!
Dont believe the truth- #2
Definately maybe- #3.

GREATEST BAND EVER!!!

Robert Murphy (the ****ta :P) loves em too

I thought you were cool bloodiedtiger.

hey not that im after popularity here but i will name some bands that have sold more bums on seat at concerts, more albums and had stronger fans for longer time than oasis

1/ beatles
2/ kiss
3/ led zep
4/ def leppard
5/ aerosmith
6/ AC-DC
7/ iron maiden

the list goes on.

so if these bands have sold more, achieved more and influenced more, how could oasis possibly be the best in the world when all they are are really are bealtes wannabees

Well I can't deny the Beatles were better, but I still prefer Oasis, but you know. Everyone else, who even are they in comparison to the two great men from Manchester and co.