Hille cleared

Re: Hille? Is he gawn?

**** me, what's the game coming to if he gets time. He is in the air when Bartel marks the ball. What does the AFL want him to do? Point a remote at his body and push pause? There is no way you can stop the momentum of your body during the marking contest, all he can do is tuck the elbow in and hope contact is minimal.

When he took off there was no chance of him making the contest. There was no other reason for it other then to make contact. Will hurt his case.

Well done Vlad. Another brain-washed pussie.

No ill-will intended donakebab.

Is this footy or tiddly-winks?

I grew up where you made them earn it. Are we just playing basketbll now?

Well done Vlad. Another brain-washed pussie.

No ill-will intended donakebab.

Is this footy or tiddly-winks?

I grew up where you made them earn it. Are we just playing basketbll now?

Brain washed? I simply said what will hurt his case, not saying I agree with it. I agree with Hilles intent and if he was a fraction earlier it could have resulted in a loose ball and a push forward. Imposing themselves physically is what all big men should do.

No worries mate.:thumbsu:

More proof Vlad is winning based on your reposonse which was sensible - yet you state he is probably gone.

Just mourning the physicle game

The umpire should apologize for reporting him for that.

0 weeks.

should get nothing for that, although the afl seems to be littered with unfair results, we at freo are still burning over the michael johnson 4 weeks for lachy hansen headbutting his hip....... tribunal and the afl are becoming a bit of joke.... but i dont really blame them, i blame those pussy soccer mums who think footy is too rough... harden the **** up Australia!!

Can he get suspended for intent? It looked as though half way through Hille decided to make him pay for the mark... was it Mackie?

It was Bartel. Hille looked like he was going to try and out mark him but realised he was not going to be anywhere near it so instead decided to make Bartel earn it, but you really can't do it the way Hille tried in today's game.

I don't think Hilly had any malicious intent to take Bartel's head off, but it did look like there was a little head contact and seeing as he clearly pulled his hands in and changed to a bump he will probably go for it.

It was Bartel. Hille looked like he was going to try and out mark him but realised he was not going to be anywhere near it so instead decided to make Bartel earn it, but you really can't do it the way Hille tried in today's game.

You weren't able to cannon into the back of a players head in yesterdays game either. Arm 'tucked in' or not.

2 weeks IMO.

He'll get 3-4. I love watching heavy hits in the AFL and would like nothing more than for the tribunal to ignore it, but they won't :thumbsd:

You weren't able to cannon into the back of a players head in yesterdays game either. Arm 'tucked in' or not.

2 weeks IMO.

Yeah you were [able], players got away with it all the time. I didn't say it was "play on, nothing in it" back then, I was saying that you can't make players earn it with rough play like that, as you will be gone every time these days.
What I meant was that in the 70's and 80's it was a harder game so things didn't instantly look as bad and there were less cameras to play 20 different angles in slow motion to make it look far worse. Back then he may have gotten away with a free kick and maybe a 50 meter penalty against if he was lucky.

Not trying to down play it, it was a silly thing to do and clearly illegal, but I've seen players get away with a whole lot more than that and not get reported. Of course players still went for soft things too sometimes, inconsistency is eternal.

For what it's worth, I agree with the 2 week estimate.

Yeah you were [able], players got away with it all the time. I didn't say it was "play on, nothing in it" back then, I was saying that you can't make players earn it with rough play like that, as you will be gone every time these days.
What I meant was that in the 70's and 80's it was a harder game so things didn't instantly look as bad and there were less cameras to play 20 different angles in slow motion to make it look far worse. Back then he may have gotten away with a free kick and maybe a 15 meter penalty against if he was lucky.

Not trying to down play it, it was a silly thing to do and clearly illegal, but I've seen players get away with a whole lot more than that and not get reported. Of course players still went for soft things too sometimes, inconsistency is eternal.

For what it's worth, I agree with the 2 week estimate.

EFA.

Offtopic, but 50m is far too big. I'd be happy if it was dropped to 15-25m and if an umpire felt the offense deserved it multiply it by 2 or 3.

Heh, good pick up. It was only late 80's or 90's that it changed to 50 meters IIRC.

50m does sometimes seem big but 15m is too small and I'm not sure I want umpires to be able to multiply "at their discretion". I don't think I trust them enough.

Heh, good pick up. It was only late 80's or 90's that it changed to 50 meters IIRC.

50m does sometimes seem big but 15m is too small and I'm not sure I want umpires to be able to multiply "at their discretion". I don't think I trust them enough.

I do understand where you're coming from, but it would be a lot harder for them to justify giving 3x15 then 1x50 as a penalty on a technicallity. Not saying this was the case with the Hille incident, but it is for stuff like being over the mark. (Ricky in the 3rd tonight)

i think he will get off not much in it bartel was fine

Judd got 3 weeks for touching someones ear while searching for a 'pressure point'.

The elements are: Intentional (check) contact to the head (check) and not incidental (check). Then you weigh in impact. Moderate to severe in this case (he literally flew through the air and cannoned into Bartell... however there was no injury to speak of)

It didn't look good.

Judd got 3 weeks for touching someones ear while searching for a 'pressure point'.

The elements are: Intentional (check) contact to the head (check) and not incidental (check). Then you weigh in impact. Moderate to severe in this case (he literally flew through the air and cannoned into Bartell... however there was no injury to speak of)

It didn't look good.

what happended to judd was bullshit and should not got weeks.i just think the game is becoming soft no one got injuried just make it a 50 meter penality

I agree with you.

Maxwell and Kennedy both broke a blokes Jaw and they get off, Judd touches an ear and gets 3 weeks.

Tell me thats objective?

On the topic of Hille, he looked pretty sheepish afterwards, and didn't really complain to the umps. The commentators were pretty unanimous as well.

Good game tonight by the way. I thought you had them there for a while.

Can he get suspended for intent?

If he gets booked for intent, then it'll be interesting to see if Jarrad Waite gets done for intent too after he landed one on a Richmond players chin the other night.

Hille shouldn't go, sweet fa in it i reckon, time will tell :rolleyes:

it will get a couple because it LOOKED bad. Jimmy ran over at the end of the game and shook his hand though, he didn't seem to care.

That's because Jimmy is not a soft ****. I reckon if we challenged it (if it gets that far), Bartel would say the contact was negligible. Commentators really shouldn't comment (particularly ex-players just retired from the opposing team) on such cases as they unconsciously effect the case imo :thumbsd:

11ikd50.jpg