desipura

WBFC
Check the WBFC website, interesting that Im not the only one that thought he would be an Inside midfielder.
Full credit to him for deleveloping his game even further.

I've always been a Cross fan and what he showed at AFL level this year, he has shown at Werribee for the past couple years.

His strengths are pretty well honed now but I think now, he needs to focus more on his weaknesses, in particular his kicking. He will struggle to be an elite, permanant midfielder if his kicking is below average. Sides will learn that and just zone off him nullifying his effectiveness. I'm not saying he needs to be a Gilbee but at a minimum to the West standard.

If he can't improve that, I fear he may end up a much maligned footballer where people bag him for being a useless possession getter. A bit harsh but I love the way he goes about his footy and really want him to succeed.

HK_Bulldog said:
I've always been a Cross fan and what he showed at AFL level this year, he has shown at Werribee for the past couple years.

His strengths are pretty well honed now but I think now, he needs to focus more on his weaknesses, in particular his kicking. He will struggle to be an elite, permanant midfielder if his kicking is below average. Sides will learn that and just zone off him nullifying his effectiveness. I'm not saying he needs to be a Gilbee but at a minimum to the West standard.

If he can't improve that, I fear he may end up a much maligned footballer where people bag him for being a useless possession getter. A bit harsh but I love the way he goes about his footy and really want him to succeed.

Totally agree with your comments. Cross has developed his game to the extent that he now get find the ball regularly at senior level. I believed at best he would be an inside player due to his deficiency in his kicking.
His next challenge is to really hurt the opposition and improve his kicking. This is a huge challenge for players at his age as you develop habits from a young age which are difficult to change completely.

I believe next year will be crucial for Daniel, as you have mentioned the opposition will be more familiar with his game.

Some people on here believe he has made it, I believe Daniel needs to raise the bar even further if he is going to be an elite midfielder.
The expectations are going to increase as he was one of the most improved players on our list this year.
Definately got the best out of himself.

Go back to the AFL draft where Wallace allowed the cameras to film the Bulldog table during their discussions wether to pick a tall or go for playing talent, Wallace opted for playing talent. Thank goodness they then called out Daniel Cross.

acker said:
Go back to the AFL draft where Wallace allowed the cameras to film the Bulldog table during their discussions wether to pick a tall or go for playing talent, Wallace opted for playing talent. Thank goodness they then called out Daniel Cross.
It was pick 26, and it was Birss.

acker said:

Did they name any of the talls in question at the time?

scooter600x said:
Yep. And the bloke they passed over was Guy Richards of Collingwood.

wooh that worked out OK, I still reckon Josh Fraser was one of the worst first round picks ever taken.

The best comment that Clayton made in that interview was about the running ability that Cross is blessed with.He said it is his preparedness to use his endurance motor that sets him apart.He isn't content to just cruise along and save his petrol tickets.He absolutely runs himself into the ground and I often watch him sprint 100 metres when he is spent just to make a contest.It is all very well being fit but he makes it so much more effective by pushing himself so hard.

A guy with his work ethic is unlikely to go backwards any time soon.If anything he will continue improving which is going to make for a hell of a footballer.Already an extremely good player in my view.We would be rooted with out him.

desipura said:
Totally agree with your comments. Cross has developed his game to the extent that he now get find the ball regularly at senior level. I believed at best he would be an inside player due to his deficiency in his kicking.
His next challenge is to really hurt the opposition and improve his kicking. This is a huge challenge for players at his age as you develop habits from a young age which are difficult to change completely.

I believe next year will be crucial for Daniel, as you have mentioned the opposition will be more familiar with his game.

Some people on here believe he has made it, I believe Daniel needs to raise the bar even further if he is going to be an elite midfielder.
The expectations are going to increase as he was one of the most improved players on our list this year.
Definately got the best out of himself.

Sporty, I would be interested in your opinion as to where you see Cross?
I admit he has surprised me that he could find the ball as regularly as he has.
Other than that, I do not deviate from what I initially stated about Cross.

desipura said:
Sporty, I would be interested in your opinion as to where you see Cross?
I admit he has surprised me that he could find the ball as regularly as he has.
Other than that, I do not deviate from what I initially stated about Cross.

Quoting yourself?