Hip arthroscopy

Depends on the surgeon, if going private you're looking at about 10k per hip, my surgeon was charging 4k, the overnight stay at hospital was 5k and then 1k for assistant/anesthetist, You'd get a bit back from Medicare and if you've got private health they should cover the hospital stay.

I actually was due to have my right done on 20/10 and then my left done on 5/11 but my health fund decided on 19/10 that they weren't going to cover me for anything! Pricks... Off to the ombudsman now

Are you serious. I was reading more along the lines of 1-3k out of my pocket, I do have private health so here's hoping. Wow i'm depressed haha.

It really depends on the surgeon because thats where the gap is with health cover, I didn't shop around or anything so not sure if 4k is the going rate. It'd be worth getting put on the public waiting list too although thats probably going to be a year or more before you can get it done

Ahhh right mate. I understand. Yeah I'll look into my options when its closer to the date I suppose.

Out of interest are you Melbourne based and have your surgeons name? Thanks for the info mate.

Yep, Dr. Parminder Singh, http://www.pjsorthopaedics.com/ - in Richmond
Nick, I saw Parm Singh yesterday and he has suggested a hip arthroscopy to fix my cam impingement and labral tear. As this will involve some shaving of the head of the femur he has indicated recovery may be slower. What was your experience in getting back to "normal" post op and what hiccups did you experience. As a practising MAMIL doing about 200 k's a week on the bike and an avid skier I'm trying to work out (a) whether I will get significant improvement in removing the restriction & pain currently being experienced which has come on quite quickly in the last 6-8 wks; and (b)what sort of time frame I would be off work and unable to do much if I take the step?

Hey mate I still haven't had surgery, so can't help you there

I had the FAI hip arthroscopy about 7 years ago it takes about 12 weeks to fully recover, the first week or so you can't do much at all without crutches. The advantage of that type of surgery is the bone issue is instantly gone and isn't going re rupture like a ligament can. If you have a labral tear I would definitely recommend getting it done. I have an impingement in the other hip with no labral tear, but most people have an impingement to some level in the hip. I don't need to get that operated on if I maintain strength in the muscles surrounding the hip, which is mainly the glute medius.

Hi NickCC

I too started seeing Dr Singh for my hip impingement and labral tear (CAM), and I am seriously considering the surgery. Have you had your surgery yet? How did you feel? How long is the wait to get the surgery?

Thanks.

Hey mate I actually had my surgery last Thursday and will have a second surgery in 8 days for my other hip. It feels great, I've been walking without crutches for the past two days and I havent taken painkillers since the second day, just been at home icing it. I went private so I didn't have to wait, I was on the public waiting list for over a year before deciding to go private though.

Still waiting on my surgery, found out ive got the pincer bone impingement a few of you guys have spoken about. Going to have to get the right hip bone shaved down and its looking like the left is much the same however still strong and no tears which is good news.

Currently in talks with Dr James Stoney out of Melbs East, praying that the government approve my request to be treated as a private patient in a public ward. Only because my private health is low level and covers me only in public hospitals, lesson learned however and ill report back here once I get it :) highly recommend private health to anyone! They can get you under the knife in 2 weeks versus year+ waits.

Hey mate I actually had my surgery last Thursday and will have a second surgery in 8 days for my other hip. It feels great, I've been walking without crutches for the past two days and I havent taken painkillers since the second day, just been at home icing it. I went private so I didn't have to wait, I was on the public waiting list for over a year before deciding to go private though.

G'day everyone, been browsing over this thread for the last couple of weeks now as I am about to go in for my scope tomorrow (6/4/16) to have a reshape and labral repair with Parminder Singh. Nick I am curious to know how you are travelling 2 and a bit months on. I'm getting some mixed vibes on recovery, as I have completely ruled footy out for the season but would hope to be back playing cricket this summer..

FYI guys, do yourself a favour and get private cover, since my first consult with Mr Singh it will be 2 years and 4 months from initial to surgery and i was deemed 'high importance' as a 20yr old. I can tell you thats a lot of physio,osteo ect inbetween to play sport!

G'day everyone, been browsing over this thread for the last couple of weeks now as I am about to go in for my scope tomorrow (6/4/16) to have a reshape and labral repair with Parminder Singh. Nick I am curious to know how you are travelling 2 and a bit months on. I'm getting some mixed vibes on recovery, as I have completely ruled footy out for the season but would hope to be back playing cricket this summer..

FYI guys, do yourself a favour and get private cover, since my first consult with Mr Singh it will be 2 years and 4 months from initial to surgery and i was deemed 'high importance' as a 20yr old. I can tell you thats a lot of physio,osteo ect inbetween to play sport!
Yep I'm tracking pretty well, still not running but have no pain in my left and only a small amount of pain in my right, no issues at all and hopefully back to running and sport within a month.

Had my surgery yesterday guys under Dr James Stoney. Currently lying in the St Vincents hospital been pretty sore and drowsy. Walkings pretty painful buy atleast I can do it! Hope to be back runningbin 12 weeks.

All the best with it, ive just got myself past the 6 week mark and would say the first week is the most testing, but should see good improvements quickly after that! I definitely see myself running in 12 weeks ( 6 weeks from now)

good luck! and enjoy those pain killers ;)

All the best with it, ive just got myself past the 6 week mark and would say the first week is the most testing, but should see good improvements quickly after that! I definitely see myself running in 12 weeks ( 6 weeks from now)

good luck! and enjoy those pain killers ;)

Good to hear mate good on ya! Been off the painkillers since the 2nd day, 5 days in and beginning to be able to walk unassisted and upright again.

Where are you at now? Just painfree walking and what not?

Good to hear mate good on ya! Been off the painkillers since the 2nd day, 5 days in and beginning to be able to walk unassisted and upright again.

Where are you at now? Just painfree walking and what not?

Nice stuff! Yeh totally pain free, back in the gym doing some isolation exercises until the 3 month mark when my surgeon lets you run, squat, lunge ect. Been swimming now for a week and some cycling and taking advantage of the footy clubs trainers getting rubs - I found my ITB got really tight post surgery, had heaps of bruising down my leg for 2-3 weeks. Hope some of this has been useful!

Awesome mate cant wait to get back into all that,who was your surgeon?

No trouble with my ITB currently but my Tensor Fascia Latae looks to have taken a pounding from the scope. Got some medium bruising and complete weakness in hip abduction to the point I couldnt even seing my leg sideways - seems to have recovered in strength somewhat today in particular. How long were you icing for? Not sure whether to stop

Awesome mate cant wait to get back into all that,who was your surgeon?

No trouble with my ITB currently but my Tensor Fascia Latae looks to have taken a pounding from the scope. Got some medium bruising and complete weakness in hip abduction to the point I couldnt even seing my leg sideways - seems to have recovered in strength somewhat today in particular. How long were you icing for? Not sure whether to stop

I had Parminder Singh, apparently his rehab protocol is a lot more restrictive than others, that said I'm happy to wait for my hip to be %100

Yeah I must admit for the first week my operated side did not like to move well, literally had to grab it and move it to get out of bed, but worked all that out pretty quickly which I'm sure you have too by now.
I iced for about 2.5 weeks - physio still likes me to do it after a big day or gym session but to be honest haven't touched the ice in 3 weeks now. Just stay off for as long as you can would be my best bet, ice and yeah you'll be back in no time - I was comfortably driving my manual car (left side operated) at about 2.5 with minimal pain. good luck!

Haha was all covered by the health insurer anyway and medicare. Not a cent paid :p cant complain with that.
Just wondering which insurer you're with? I ended up with costs of around 5k out of pocket for two surgeries :(

That deadset sucks mate! Who were you with?

I was just with Bupa, pretty much the cheapest health insurer plan on the market. Hospital and extras cover i think it was?

Obviously I went through a public hospital though as my insurance level is only minor cover. So I was treated as a private patient at a public hospital (St Vincents)in a shared ward. Pretty much the benefit here is;

-The insurer pays for 25% and Medicare 75% (as with most insurer schemes).
-My choice of surgeon (James Stoney)
-Short listed on the waiting list, normal waiting list is like 3-12months. I only waited the 2, pretty much because you're really just waiting on the room nothing else.

Can't complain with the treatment though, hospital and staff were absolutely professional, only out of pocket expense i paid was paying $30 for the pharmaceutical and painkiller drugs to take home.

That deadset sucks mate! Who were you with?

I was just with Bupa, pretty much the cheapest health insurer plan on the market. Hospital and extras cover i think it was?

Obviously I went through a public hospital though as my insurance level is only minor cover. So I was treated as a private patient at a public hospital (St Vincents)in a shared ward. Pretty much the benefit here is;

-The insurer pays for 25% and Medicare 75% (as with most insurer schemes).
-My choice of surgeon (James Stoney)
-Short listed on the waiting list, normal waiting list is like 3-12months. I only waited the 2, pretty much because you're really just waiting on the room nothing else.

Can't complain with the treatment though, hospital and staff were absolutely professional, only out of pocket expense i paid was paying $30 for the pharmaceutical and painkiller drugs to take home.
Aus Unity, my out of pocket was the surgeon fees only as i was also at st Vincent's. Oh well hopefully won't need to do it again!

Almost at the 2 weeks stage. Did any of you guys feel tightness through the iliacus almost adductors that kind of radiates downward? Its not really sore anymore. Thats the only symptom Im getting.

About one week in I had little soreness and jumped out of bed to answer the door. As I began to run and took my first 2 strides down the hallway it felt agonising completely forgot about it haha. Seema to have pulled up much the same as what it was though. Would be peeved if ive broken some of the staples though, think my tear was as minor as they come for surgery though.

I had a little bit of adductor pain and tightness but it was never a real big issue, I'm 4 months post op now for both hips and I'm basically at around 95% now, doing everything except weighted squats and lunges. Hips are still a little tight and weak but no real issue

Hip arthroscopy