News Hird says Thomas "AFL's most improved".

• Thread starter Thread starter mattys123

LAK, NUFC, SAS, SFGiants, 49ers,
In James Hird's mid year voting for a number of different categories, he has mentioned that he considers Dale Thomas to be the most improved player in the competition.

I LIKE.:thumbsu::D

The voting has Jack Riewoldt well out in front though, which is probably right.

Either way, good to see Daisy getting some "positive press".:)

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/mmvp

My vote goes to Dale Thomas, he has copped a bit of criticism in the past but his work rate now matches his talent and he is not content with a few highlights each week. Playing up the ground allows him to be more consistent.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/mmvp

Daisy is clearly one of the most improved players this year, one of the best players in the comp on form at the moment which is great. He won over his Collingwood detractors a while ago, myself included, but this season he has won over the rest of supporters. Has done the things that everyone hoped he would do and some doubted he could. He has been in the system a while and is around the 100 games now so this was the season he would be expected to step up and he has.

Jack Riewoldt deserves most improved player though.

Shannon Byrnes and Travis Varcoe seem to me to be standout improvers from where they were, but probably easy to do it riding on the coat tails of a dominant backline and midfield and in form talls

I agree that Jack Riewoldt is most improved as it stands right now... But come the end of the year I think Daisy will have been a bigger improver. Jack is a gun forward, but I think Daisy has been around longer (correct me if I'm wrong here) and is easily a better player then Jack.

I definitely have my Collingwood hat on here but I honestly believe Thommo will be a bigger improver then any other player come seasons end. I don't think he's had one bad game.

From Collingwood I will certainly agree with that.

Would give Jack Riewoldt the no.1 position just because he has gone from being nothing spectacular into one of the best forwards in the game.

But my no.2 position would go to Thomas. Consistantly getting his share of the ball and more importantly consistantly having impacts on games. During the crunch minutes he works harder than anyone else on the ground and really lifts to another level which is to be commended.

:thumbsu: Dale Thomas

I agree that Jack Riewoldt is most improved as it stands right now... But come the end of the year I think Daisy will have been a bigger improver. Jack is a gun forward, but I think Daisy has been around longer (correct me if I'm wrong here) and is easily a better player then Jack.

I definitely have my Collingwood hat on here but I honestly believe Thommo will be a bigger improver then any other player come seasons end. I don't think he's had one bad game.

I don't know mate, I reckon if you gave me the chance to take any player in the AFL 23 or under, I'd just about be taking Jack Riewoldt at the moment.

That player would be just about the final touch to our side at this point of time.

In regards to Hird's lists and most improved I had to say something about his bias.

Fair enough Lloyd claiming Flethcer as the best full back (which he has not been) as he played with him for the whole of his career and obviously would have a decent relationship with the guy as Fletch comes across as a nice likeable guy.

However Hird putting Jetta in the bunch of most improved players is a bit rich. Was battling at Bendigo, played a couple of good games, was back to his woeful self against the Cats, but becomes one of the most improved over the 12 rounds. If he had to slip a bomber player in this cateogory, and they'd love to have a guy in this spot on his lists as they have been a badd football side for a while and want improvement, surely there could have been other substitutes. Dempsey prehaps?

We can all understand bias in Lloyd's case even Hird's, but should we respect it? If he wants to have a credible career in journalism, he should really start trying have a bit more balanced, despite his obvious passion for Essendon.

I lol's at Jetta when I picked up the hun in a cafe just now.

Jack is a gun forward, but I think Daisy has been around longer (correct me if I'm wrong here) and is easily a better player then Jack.

Big call.
Thomas is a star but Jack has kicked 30 goals in 5 weeks and the majority of his team's score over that period. I think Jack Riewoldt is the All Australian full forward right now and Thomas is in there on a wing. There's no way he's "easily" better than Jack, the only player since 2007 to kick 10 goals in a match.

For me;
1) Jamar (was useless, is now the number 2 ruckman in the comp)
2) Riewoldt (was decent, is an absolute freak)
3) Thomas (was decent to good, has become a star)
4) Russell (was rubbish, is good)
5) Pearce (was rubbish, is now a star) --> I'm not counting that he was a rising star because he has been pathetic the last couple of years. EASILY Port's best player this year....

Special mentions to Richard Douglas, Heath Hocking and Travis Varcoe.

Yes, Jamar's climb to the top has been stunning in a sense we all knew Riewoldt, Thomas etc had massive ability, yet not many of us could ever stand back and say we saw the Jamar improvement coming.

I haven't seen much of Jamar this year, so I can't comment on him.

Dale has improved a lot this year, but Jack Riewoldt would have to be the most improved. To go from averaging 1.6 goals a game to averaging 3.75 goals is a massive improvement. Good on him.:thumbsu:

All this praise for Daisy is fantastic though!:):thumbsu:

However Hird putting Jetta in the bunch of most improved players is a bit rich. Was battling at Bendigo, played a couple of good games, was back to his woeful self against the Cats, but becomes one of the most improved over the 12 rounds. If he had to slip a bomber player in this cateogory, and they'd love to have a guy in this spot on his lists as they have been a badd football side for a while and want improvement, surely there could have been other substitutes. Dempsey prehaps?

Jettas been pretty damn good the last month or so. I think since he came back into the team he has been involved in something like 33% of their scores. Without looking at stats he'd be averaging up over 20 touches a game and his defensive pressure has been top class. While it's still just a small sample of games it's a massive improvement from where he has come so I think the statement is justified - with the only weak link to the argument how many games he has played this year.

4) Russell (was rubbish, is good)

Russell played some very good footy in the second half of last year, he's just continued that form.

As for Reiwoldt, he's obviously been a big improver and is obviously in the middle of a purple patch...but I'll eat my hat if he sustains (or improves) his current goal average.

If he keeps maintaining it, he'll get double teamed or have a guy standing 10 metres in front of a lot more.

That would reduce his average a bit....he's fantastic in body on body contests, but he won't be putting down pack marks like Jonathan Brown.

His body use is extraordinary though...he's not small, but he's not a monster by any means. Pushes onto his opponent at the right time, gets good position early due to superior ability to read where the ball will be landing.

It's a pity Wellingham's form hasn't regained since his injury, he'd have been gunning it for the most improved.

I dunno if I'd have Daisy as 'Most Improved' he's always been a pretty good player, he just needed to find some consistency. The big difference this year is he's had an impact on every game, and has around the same level of output, he's always had the talent at his disposal. Is that improvement or just work rate?