• Thread starter Thread starter UpTheGuts

WTF?

The bloke has shown himself to be utterly ordinary, an absolutely shocking kick, a poor finder of the ball and likes only to get in dust-ups to attempt to a semblance of worth.

Had a bad leg injury last year and was on the gas a day later. Now, we rookie him?

Better to admit a mistake than compound it. This selection is just nuts.

Please feel free to bump when he collects his second Brownlow, but if we ever need to promote him, due to injuries or those above him being more rubbish than this bloke, then heaven help us.

I can comprehend the logic behind Miller, but Hislop is unfathomable... that there was no worthwhile young-uns around at that pick is something I cannot accept.

WTF?

The bloke has shown himself to be utterly ordinary, an absolutely shocking kick, a poor finder of the ball and likes only to get in dust-ups to attempt to a semblance of worth.

Had a bad leg injury last year and was on the gas a day later. Now, we rookie him?

Better to admit a mistake than compound it. This selection is just nuts.

Please feel free to bump when he collects his second Brownlow, but if we ever need to promote him, due to injuries or those above him being more rubbish than this bloke, then heaven help us.

I can comprehend the logic behind Miller, but Hislop is unfathomable... that there was no worthwhile young-uns around at that pick is something I cannot accept.

Our football department know better than you or I. You're forgetting we are heading in the right direction. Go Tiges. :)

Seriously pathetic recruiting what more can you say? SHITLOP will not make it there is no way in freaken hell he will break into the senior side WTF is this shit?. Why not take 2 kids then take Miller?????

I watched this kid play a pre-season game in Tassie early this year. If he had of kicked straight that day he would have been easily the tigers best player in a smashing by the Hawks. He know's how to find the footy. Needs to get his body right and some confidence in his kicking. You can't just find potential like that in the 88th best kid in the TAC cup.

He will never break into the senior side absolute waste of a pick! why not take 2 kids then Miller wtf is this shit? Poor recruiting AGAIN! WTF are they thinking? shitlop? LMAO

Whilst I'm not thrilled about the club picking him, 17 clubs will make mistakes with picks in the draft period so why not make it on a guy that has played AFL footy.

I saw him doing some goalkicking before the NAB Cup game in Launceston. From 45 out he had 4-5 on a 45 degree angle and not one made the distance or even the goalsquare. When the game began he had a similar shot and his kick for goal ended up further away from the goal than where he kicked.

Yeah, hope he does well etc etc etc, but just so hard to see the upside from what has been a poor career to date, with honestly few excuses.

Beer o'clock

Our football department know better than you or I. You're forgetting we are heading in the right direction. Go Tiges. :)
So the right direction seems to equate to 15th by your logic? We have No evidence that this club has or will improve. This decision along with the the Miller recruitment is very troubling.

hrrmm.... Leif Cope? Myles Sewell? ......We picked up Hislop again? You gotta be kidding me. Im one for giving someone a 2nd chance, but not at the same club. If he cant show his worth here he should of been shown the door. Why oh why:thumbsd:

So the right direction seems to equate to 15th by your logic? We have No evidence that this club has or will improve. This decision along with the the Miller recruitment is very troubling.

Yep, by my reckoning we are moving in the right direction... no doubt. Stick with the Tiges Cathal.

hrrmm.... Leif Cope? Myles Sewell? ......We picked up Hislop again? You gotta be kidding me. Im one for giving someone a 2nd chance, but not at the same club. If he cant show his worth here he should of been shown the door. Why oh why:thumbsd:

So why didn't anyone else pick these guys??

Hislop isn't on senior list and is on minimum wage so doesn't bother me either way. His real value I suppose is he's friggin built. We have 15 blokes 80kg or less!

I watched this kid play a pre-season game in Tassie early this year. If he had of kicked straight that day he would have been easily the tigers best player in a smashing by the Hawks. He know's how to find the footy. Needs to get his body right and some confidence in his kicking. You can't just find potential like that in the 88th best kid in the TAC cup.

What are you doing on BF, Tom?

Terrible selection. Hislop will not learn how to magically run faster or kick a football. Our whole Rookie Draft was an unmitigated disaster.

Bit suprised we picked him up but I am more suprised at the fact we grabbed Miller who despite working his ass off on the training track still could barely get a kick for Melbourne. He's still got a few years left in him though so could be a handy lead up forward until the likes of Griffiths and Post develop into that role.

I am happy with the Tigers grabbing Houli though. I reckon we did well with that one. :thumbsu:

Go Tiges!

Soooo.... I take it you won't be taking Hislop with pick 1 in the Buddy Draft?

Grrr :mad: :mad:

Hislop has shown enough and is a back up. Depth player. The question is do we need depth players at the moment??? should we have used the pick on a kid.... probably should have at this stage of our lists development. A project ruckman would have been a good choice IMO.

Hislop does offer us a utility type player. Was trailed up forward in the last pre-season and looked ok overhead and was always going in hard. Is a small improvement on King if fit.

Interesting decision but by no means such a bad decision people are making out to be on here.

What are you doing on BF, Tom?

Terrible selection. Hislop will not learn how to magically run faster or kick a football. Our whole Rookie Draft was an unmitigated disaster.

Unmitigated disaster????
Miller - A smart and aggressive experienced big man in his mid twenties who will protect Riewoldt from the massive hits. Bit like what Leigh Brown was for Collingwood.
Hislop - Hardwick wants strong tough bodies and he got one here.
Jakobi - Tough teenage fwd who has had 2 very good years at VFL level.

Hardly a disaster.

The AFL Draft is a lottery. The Pre-Season Draft even moreso. And once you get to the third round of The Rookie Draft it's anyones guess. If it's another under developed underweight teenager you want, look no further than Pat Contin and Robbie Hicks.

Bit suprised we picked him up but I am more suprised at the fact we grabbed Miller who despite working his ass off on the training track still could barely get a kick for Melbourne. He's still got a few years left in him though so could be a handy lead up forward until the likes of Griffiths and Post develop into that role.

I am happy with the Tigers grabbing Houli though. I reckon we did well with that one. :thumbsu:

Go Tiges!

Loving the Houli highlights vid:thumbsu:

Unmitigated disaster????
Miller - A smart and aggressive experienced big man in his mid twenties who will protect Riewoldt from the massive hits. Bit like what Leigh Brown was for Collingwood.

A proven failure and reject from Melbourne who averaged under a goal a game and was delisted when they lack quality tall forwards. What a coup! Has no long-term future, will last 1 maybe 2 years ala Polak playing a few games but doing little. Would take a kid who has the possiblty to be a long-term player over him anyday. Especially in the 2nd round not "last pick in the RD" that a lot on here were pedalling as an excuse for picking him up.

Hislop - Hardwick wants strong tough bodies and he got one here.

What use is a strong body if he can't kick, has no pace and no football brain? A proven failure at not only 1 football club but 2.

Jakobi - Tough teenage fwd who has had 2 very good years at VFL level.

We will see how he goes. Although considering Coburg's poor year where they didn't make the 8 and the fact that most Coburg players are trash, I was shocked when I saw at least 7-8 Coburg players training with us. Obviously some freebies going on there with the alignment.

So we picked one kid in the RD when we're rebuilding. Amazing when you consider It's produced many, many quality players over the years and nearly ever year without fail there's a fair few decent long-term players around the area we picked up Hislop and Miller. RD is gold if you use it to your advantage instead of picking up recycled hacks and should be used as such especially with all the GC/GWS concessions. Everything is now more important to get right. We decided not to continue to turn over and bring in new kids yet even the Premiers did. Do we have a better list than them? :rolleyes:

Only "Hardly a disaster" if you want to look at it with your eyes closed and continue to blow smoke up Hardwick and co's behind no matter what they do.