Resource History Thread - Footscray Football Club and Western Bulldogs newspaper archive

Great thread VM and excellent research.

I will set aside some time to read all the articles in full. Amusing to see how the standards and style of journalism has changed over the years, along with the stats, which until about 1990 were mostly just who kicked the goals and who were the best six for each side. Then it all changed.

Two games come to mind if you can find anything on them. One was a rare and unexpected win at Windy Hill in 1974. I was there with some mates. That was a great day and we celebrated at a Carlton pub afterwards.

Another was a remarkable game against Sydney at the SCG probably in the late 1980s where I think we kicked 8 goals to nil in the first quarter and led by about 50 points ... but we were trailing at half time! I think we lost that game in the end.

Mr. Walker

Apr 15, 2002
PO Box. 7 Powelltown
Great thread Vinegar and a really interesting read. If you have the time could you find a game from the 1960s I think. It was played at South Melbourne's Lakeside Oval. My memory is that we came from behind in the last quarter to win. The Dogs kicked 8 goals in 12 minutes (if my memory is right!) and a big forward named Max Parker kicked a bag for us and we thought we had finally found a kpf (funny how some things never change). Not sure he played too many more games but he gave us hope for a little while at least.

Vinegar Mess

Nov 18, 2014
1980 - Round 13
at Western Oval
[21 June 1980]

Footscray 15 - 14 - 104
South Melbourne 12 - 15 - 87

As requested by Fossie. From an era short-lived (but not short enough) and best forgotten. This was our second win on the trot having lost the first eleven games of the season. Our unlikely saviour was Shane Loveless who applied his characteristic one-handed mark while fending off a hapless full-back with his ample arse; he’d kicked a bag of eight the previous week.

Sunday Press - 22 Jun 1980
9b3b78a89659cea66ba428b2a333df40.jpg

The Age - 23 Jun 1980
512682a45d5673eeae87468c291dffa7.jpg

Sun News-Pictorial - 23 Jun 1980
194b233feba62b81bd1dedbb0b3736a6.jpg

9d739b4735caf1162d0a98c577e151e8.jpg

Vinegar Mess

Nov 18, 2014
Great thread VM and excellent research.

I will set aside some time to read all the articles in full. Amusing to see how the standards and style of journalism has changed over the years, along with the stats, which until about 1990 were mostly just who kicked the goals and who were the best six for each side. Then it all changed.

Two games come to mind if you can find anything on them. One was a rare and unexpected win at Windy Hill in 1974. I was there with some mates. That was a great day and we celebrated at a Carlton pub afterwards.

Another was a remarkable game against Sydney at the SCG probably in the late 1980s where I think we kicked 8 goals to nil in the first quarter and led by about 50 points ... but we were trailing at half time! I think we lost that game in the end.

Yep, located the 1974 game. It was always great to win out at Windy Hill. We’d crashed our car on the way to the Collingwood game two weeks earlier and were out of action for the remainder of the season (except for the dismal final); I therefore missed the entire career of the great Mark Cross.

Can’t find anything resembling that Sydney match though, dw. I’ve checked every season from 1983 to 1995. Could it have been against different opposition? Maybe you’re thinking of that game against Richmond at the MCG when Jim Edmond kicked five goals in the first 15 minutes?

Can anyone else recall the game dogwatch is describing?

Yep, located the 1974 game. It was always great to win out at Windy Hill. We’d crashed our car on the way to the Collingwood game two weeks earlier and were out of action for the remainder of the season (except for the dismal final); I therefore missed the entire career of the great Mark Cross.

Can’t find anything resembling that Sydney match though, dw. I’ve checked every season from 1983 to 1995. Could it have been against different opposition? Maybe you’re thinking of that game against Richmond at the MCG when Jim Edmond kicked five goals in the first 15 minutes?

Can anyone else recall the game dogwatch is describing?

The only SCG game that I can find where we kicked 8 goals in the first qtr then lost the game is Rd 11, 1983. However, the Swans kicked 4 goals in the first qtr. We still led at half time by 7 pts. Then lost the match 17.19 to 15.12.

Of course the other game that has the scenario that Dogwatch has described was Rd 10, 1998 against the Eagles. We kicked 8.4 to 0.4 in the 1st qtr only to be down 8.6 to 8.5 at half time. We went on to lose that one by 13 pts.

1980 - Round 13
at Western Oval
[21 June 1980]

Footscray 15 - 14 - 104

As requested by Fossie. From an era short-lived (but not short enough) and best forgotten. This was our second win on the trot having lost the first eleven games of the season. Our unlikely saviour was Shane Loveless who applied his characteristic one-handed mark while fending off a hapless full-back with his ample arse; he’d kicked a bag of eight the previous week.

The Age - 23 Jun 1980

Whoa thanks!

The only SCG game that I can find where we kicked 8 goals in the first qtr then lost the game is Rd 11, 1983. However, the Swans kicked 4 goals in the first qtr. We still led at half time by 7 pts. Then lost the match 17.19 to 15.12.

Of course the other game that has the scenario that Dogwatch has described was Rd 10, 1998 against the Eagles. We kicked 8.4 to 0.4 in the 1st qtr only to be down 8.6 to 8.5 at half time. We went on to lose that one by 13 pts.
Thanks. I can't find anything either that matches my memory (which is pretty fallible anyway!) I used to travel up to the SCG for games in the 80s and 90s but I'm pretty sure I wasn't at the game I have in mind - just saw it on TV. So I guess it could have been the Weagles game.

There was Rd 14 in 1999 which went like this:
Round: 14 Venue: S.C.G. Date: Sun, 4-Jul-1999 2:40 PM Attendance: 28420
Sydney 8.2.50 / 9.7.61 / 11.11.77 / 14.17.101
Western Bulldogs 1.4.10 / 8.7.55 13.12.90 / 18.15.123
But my recollection was we were killing it at 1/4 time and still lost, so I don't think that's it. Also they are both in the 90s. I thought it was earlier than that.

I reckon the one I'm thinking of is Rd 11 1983.

1980 - Round 13
at Western Oval
[21 June 1980]

Footscray 15 - 14 - 104

The Age - 23 Jun 1980

Colourful review by D Comeford :)
Just wait till we unleash that Hawkins kid from the ressies!

scooter600x

Aug 14, 2003
Behind the goals, Geelong Rd end
Thanks. I can't find anything either that matches my memory (which is pretty fallible anyway!) I used to travel up to the SCG for games in the 80s and 90s but I'm pretty sure I wasn't at the game I have in mind - just saw it on TV. So I guess it could have been the Weagles game.

There was Rd 14 in 1999 which went like this:
Round: 14 Venue: S.C.G. Date: Sun, 4-Jul-1999 2:40 PM Attendance: 28420
Sydney 8.2.50 / 9.7.61 / 11.11.77 / 14.17.101
Western Bulldogs 1.4.10 / 8.7.55 13.12.90 / 18.15.123
But my recollection was we were killing it at 1/4 time and still lost, so I don't think that's it. Also they are both in the 90s. I thought it was earlier than that.

I reckon the one I'm thinking of is Rd 11 1983.
I went to this one. I got there late and thought it was already over.

The game changed when Libba marked in the centre and Kelly smashed him late. Libba goaled from the 50m penalty and we were away.

I can't remember the order but we won this one, came from 40 pts down at 3/4 time v Crows to win by a point (thank you Darce), Grant kicked 5 in a quarter to beat North, then we came from 25 pts down late in the last to beat Geelong at Kardinia Park

This is going to be a kind of specific request, but...

In the early-mid 1950's we had what was by some statistical measures the best defence in VFL/AFL history, led by Dogs HOF members Herb Henderson and Wally Donald. I'm still young, and my grandad passed away when I was young, but my dad tells me that my grandad used to think that Wally Donald was one of the best players that he ever watched (which is pretty impressive for a back pocket in the era that a back pocket was truly a back pocket player).

And of course there's Herb Henderson's famous battles with John Coleman, some of which we have video footage of:

So what I asked - whether it be as part of match reports or mid-week pieces or whatever, is there any newspaper articles that describes why our defensive players were so strong in period of history? Anything that is descriptive (their play style was this, or that etc.) would be absolutely fantastic - just so we can have some stronger appreciation of the defensive unit that's among the best in the history of the game.

Mr. Walker

Apr 15, 2002
PO Box. 7 Powelltown

In the early-mid 1950's we had what was by some statistical measures the best defence in VFL/AFL history, led by Dogs HOF members Herb Henderson and Wally Donald. I'm still young, and my grandad passed away when I was young, but my dad tells me that my grandad used to think that Wally Donald was one of the best players that he ever watched (which is pretty impressive for a back pocket in the era that a back pocket was truly a back pocket player).

And of course there's Herb Henderson's famous battles with John Coleman, some of which we have video footage of:

So what I asked - whether it be as part of match reports or mid-week pieces or whatever, is there any newspaper articles that describes why our defensive players were so strong in period of history? Anything that is descriptive (their play style was this, or that etc.) would be absolutely fantastic - just so we can have some stronger appreciation of the defensive unit that's among the best in the history of the game.

I am sure I read somewhere that Coleman rated Henderson as the best full back he played on. Cannot locate the quote, just a recollection.

ivan rassmussen

Jun 28, 2007

Henderson was great one on one, not just physically, but had a long reach, good anticipation, and moved well. Was also a good mark, but equally adept at spoiling - all skills he needed against Coleman. Also had an uncanny understanding with Donald. Bryden in the other BP minded the resting ruckman, but was more physical - he, Arthur Edwards and Sutton were the hard men of the team. Dave Bryden was a heart and soul player, and protector of the little blokes.

ivan rassmussen

Jun 28, 2007
I am sure I read somewhere that Coleman rated Henderson as the best full back he played on. Cannot locate the quote, just a recollection.

He did, and Henderson had a great record against Coleman, never conceded more than 4 goals in a game when Coleman was kicking bags almost on a weekly basis.

Henderson was great one on one, not just physically, but had a long reach, good anticipation, and moved well. Was also a good mark, but equally adept at spoiling - all skills he needed against Coleman. Also had an uncanny understanding with Donald. Bryden in the other BP minded the resting ruckman, but was more physical - he, Arthur Edwards and Sutton were the hard men of the team. Dave Bryden was a heart and soul player, and protector of the little blokes.
Thanks ivan. I think that defensive unit has a special place in the club's history and has largely been forgotten through the passage of time.

The Ressies win was an even bigger upset. Swans on top. Dogs were on bottom
I think because the first were down the bottom too it made their win more memorable and a bit of excitement with Loveless killing it

The Original Swooper

Mar 11, 2007
3rd house on the left
OFC FC
I think because the first were down the bottom too it made their win more memorable and a bit of excitement with Loveless killing it

We had Terry Love and Loveless on the list simultaneously iirc and their was a Lovett or Lovell floating about in the VFL I thought we needed him to have a unique FF line.

Hah would have been good :p

Vinegar Mess

Nov 18, 2014
1974 - Round 17
at Windy Hill
[27 July 1974]

Essendon 9 - 10 - 64
Footscray 13 - 15 - 93

The first of a couple requested by dogwatch. The year 1974 proved to be our first finals appearance since losing the 1961 Grand Final. The match in question was a win on the back of a mid-season slump - we’d lost our previous six games.

In addition to the usual match reports I’ve included an Inside The Fence review ostensibly by Gary Dempsey (but no doubt written by an Age staffer). Plus, there’s a piece by Robert Rose, former player and son of our coach of the time; six months previously an horrific traffic accident had curtailed Robert’s promising cricket and football careers.

Anecdote 1: Hard to believe Bernie Quinlan was playing reserves footy. Paying the price for 7-1-2 becoming 7-1-8?

Anecdote 2: Check out Hawthorn’s score against Fitzroy.

Sunday Press - 28 Jul 1974
c940f55c505267a405056be6d88f0120.jpg

bfa911c1dedb25fbb281a9ef7dff2e74.jpg

The Age - 29 Jul 1974
e82a9b170ef1da460a095949f27e1d1b.jpg

Sun News-Pictorial - 29 Jul 1974
4778494b6a62cd96d6972d1e0985b958.jpg

d8411927781b5320b670bc7c7f86e6fb.jpg

ivan rassmussen

Jun 28, 2007
1974 - Round 17
at Windy Hill
[27 July 1974]

Essendon 9 - 10 - 64
Footscray 13 - 15 - 93

The first of a couple requested by dogwatch. The year 1974 proved to be our first finals appearance since losing the 1961 Grand Final. The match in question was a win on the back of a mid-season slump - we’d lost our previous six games.

In addition to the usual match reports I’ve included an Inside The Fence review ostensibly by Gary Dempsey (but no doubt written by an Age staffer). Plus, there’s a piece by Robert Rose, former player and son of our coach of the time; six months previously an horrific traffic accident had curtailed Robert’s promising cricket and football careers.

Anecdote 1: Hard to believe Bernie Quinlan was playing reserves footy. Paying the price for 7-1-2 becoming 7-1-8?

Anecdote 2: Check out Hawthorn’s score against Fitzroy.

c940f55c505267a405056be6d88f0120.jpg

bfa911c1dedb25fbb281a9ef7dff2e74.jpg

The Age - 29 Jul 1974
e82a9b170ef1da460a095949f27e1d1b.jpg

4778494b6a62cd96d6972d1e0985b958.jpg

d8411927781b5320b670bc7c7f86e6fb.jpg

Great work mate. Btw, I was there! I also was a huge Dempsey and Quinlan fan in those days, even with Bernie's inconsistency. Would have helped if they played him to his strengths and settled him in one position too...

Great work!

How about Round 6 1977 at Windy Hill? We beat the Bombers by 100 points. I met up with a few of my Form 4 students at the ground(all Bomber supporters). The next week class was one of the best I've ever had.

TommyD13

Jul 31, 2016
Adelaide United Southampton
Great thread. First time Ive had a look at it as history doesnt usually interest me. But is does now!! Would it be possible to get all the newspaper stuff from our 1954 grand final win?

Vinegar Mess

Nov 18, 2014

And of course there's Herb Henderson's famous battles with John Coleman, some of which we have video footage of.

TNP, I haven’t purposely overlooked your post. At this stage I don’t have the requisite time to trawl through a decade’s worth of sports reports most of which are yet to be digitised.

However, as an alternative I’ve selected a handful of games from the mid-1950s where both Herb Henderson and Wally Donald played and the opposition was held to a ridiculously low score. Hopefully the match reports from those games might illuminate us. They are top of my list to locate next time I’m at SLV.

In the meantime, I’ll be posting some other requested match reports during the next few days - please enjoy!