Home umpiring advantage?

I'm with you. It didn't, by any stretch of the imagination, win them the game . . . but it certainly didn't help and it has definitely contributed to that sick feeling in the pit of my stomach (which hopefully will be cured by another beer)

agree.

Was bad.

even with the umps we still would have lost well done wc

I think it's probably the worst umpiring peformance this year

It was just disgraceful... soooo many wrong decisions it's ridiculas.

Most were against us but there were a few against the Eagles as well

Driving home from work, we were 3 goals down at 3 quarter time. I get home and i find out that we got flogged. Our percentage has copt a shallacking now. We could easily drop down the ladder between 10-13. FFS!!:mad:

I agree, it had no impact on the result, but it was very frustrating, eg :
* Cox spent the whole game wrestling McIntosh (it was his first instinct at every ballup), yet the only frees paid in the ruck were 2 against McIntosh
* as has been widely noted, Judd is given every chance to break a tackle before they blow the whistle ; compare to Simpson who got pinged (tackled as soon as he got it, but having taken 2 steps, that was deemed 'prior opportunity') ; or was it Swallow in the last 1/4 ? tackled, took 2 steps & got the handpass out, apparently he took too long
* Gibson blatantly shoved in the back.......I'm sure Richo would have loved to see that one !

Umpire Nicholls dead set had it in for us.
Harvey got tackled and thrown to the ground deep in attack and the clown ignored it.
Nicholls missed about four blatant kicks deep in attack for us and paid the crud one against Pratt on Lynch.
It got to the point where I reckon the other umpires actually started to look after us a bit because they knew Nicholls was crucifying us.

Goal umpire calling Petrie's goal (2nd quarter) 'touched' part of the conspiracy. :eek: Either that or it was a guess.

Harvey got tackled and thrown to the ground deep in attack and the clown ignored it.
Nicholls missed about four blatant kicks deep in attack for us and paid the crud one against Pratt on Lynch.
It got to the point where I reckon the other umpires actually started to look after us a bit because they knew Nicholls was crucifying us.

Nicolls was crap today. He missed some absolute howlers for us aswell. Should have paid 3 holding the balls on the HFF at Subi end our way. 2 of them define the rule, had prior op tackled and dropped the footy.

I wouldnt be so quick to judge the Harvey ones. That one 15m in the last(?) where it looked like Harvey was taken down as the ball was kicked in was just Harvey playing for a free. He had hold of Selwood's arm and actually tried to get him to 'tackle' him. Harvey did that afew times, he is such a good little player, he should just play the ball more.

Nicholls had an absolute shocker full stop mate. There were plenty of frees in West Coasts inside 50 that he completely ignored as well, so dont feel hard done by.

Luckily for all concerned he was injured and didn't come back after 3/4 time. He should be dropped next week anyway.

....Wet coke.....

Tragic. Wouldn't wish that upon anyone.

Even Daniel Chick.

On topic, the umpiring was utter shit today. Boomer obviously has a whole set of replacement heads, cos' there still seemed to be one on his shoulders when he walked off the ground.

But saying that, Vlad himself could have been out there umpiring today and it wouldn't have made any damn difference.

.On topic, the umpiring was utter shit today. Boomer obviously has a whole set of replacement heads, cos' there still seemed to be one on his shoulders when he walked off the ground.

TOD you are so right, the Boomer was trunchated with monotonous regularity today, although it would have made little difference i reckon we missed out on 5-7 frees that were gimme's :thumbsdown:

Have to agree, from the footage we saw it did not look like it had been touched. All that aside the last q was simply NOT GOOD ENOUGH :mad:

Blame Dean Laidley for flooding. All flooding achieved was to give West Coast time and space through the midfield. Our backmen need the ball to be coming in under a pressure situation not free and easily.

We played poorly and we coached equally as poorly.

Blame Dean Laidley for flooding. All flooding achieved was to give West Coast time and space through the midfield. Our backmen need the ball to be coming in under a pressure situation not free and easily.

We played poorly and we coached equally as poorly.

Quality posting as ever.

Cant blame umpires ever. You guys played well for 3 quarters and showed what you are made of.

West Coast just seemed to go to another gear in the last quarter. I doubt you would have gotten near us even if the umpires did pay your ree kicks

Cant blame umpires ever. You guys played well for 3 quarters and showed what you are made of.

West Coast just seemed to go to another gear in the last quarter. I doubt you would have gotten near us even if the umpires did pay your ree kicks

i think it was more that we completely dropped off in the last quarter... i thought you guys were in that other gear in the first 2 quarters, but didn't quite put us away, then we played alright in the 3rd and then went home at three quarter time.

Yep the umpiring was absolute bullshit, but what more can you expect in front of a West Coast home crowd?

- Hamish's goal was nowhere near touched
- Harvey was dragged over by Selwood in front of goal
- Thomas was dragged down without the ball in the forward line
- Hamish was impeded nearly the whole match

Absolute ****ing bullshit. We would have lost anyway but it really frustrated me.

I think Lindsay Thomas playing for frees has come back to bite him, rarely gets a free now, even if he is infringed, Harvey the same, as for Judd 'protected species'.

Home umpiring advantage?