Honestly??? Brennan Stack??? HOW????? WHY??

• Thread starter Thread starter joel_billo

Get off Stacks Back, he had a crack.

Focus shoud be on be on the captain, he had about forty touches in the first half, majority went to the saints.

The Standard you set is the standard you get..............missed targets was the standard that was set......

Unfortunately TV commentaters talk stats and talked up Boyds game.

We need an efficient captain, one who sets the right example....

Please, Boyd was quite easilly best on ground tonight;

Boyd compared to Griffen/Ward/Cross combined

Contested posession 20 - 22
Tackles 8 -10
Clearances 6 - 8
Inside 50's 7 - 4

If even 1-2 more players played like Boyd did tonight we would have won

Tackles 8 -10
Clearances 6 - 8
Inside 50's 7 - 4

He turned over his 22 contested posessions or kicked them to a fifty fifty
I am not questioning his tackling or workrate, prolific, just wasteful....

You could do this for any player. I'm not saying Murphy lost us the game, but not doing a crap kick-in resulting in a Saints goal might have helped. I'm not saying Boyd cost us the game, but not kicking it to the opposition on numerous occasions might have helped. I'm not saying Jones cost us the game, but not missing simple shots at goal might have helped. You get my drift...

Correct you could do it for any player and I didn't say Stack cost us the game, the fact is he is never going to win games, he makes a spoil and kicks a goal and people say he played well, playing well is doing this consistently all the time, not tripping over your own feet like a deer in the headlights when you get the footy, running hard both ways, being next to your opponent at contests not five meters behind, I could keep going on. I am sure with what I have read about Eade this morning he will get a game next week, because he thinks most players had the effort there the fact remains he did nothing at Willy to justify a game and will never be an AFL footballer of any standard.

These aren't facts..

But the rest is fair enough. I don't think he played particularly well last night. He still made errors which probably wouldn't be acceptable in a good team. However, we aren't a good team at the moment, and if we want to be one in a couple of years time we have to give these guys a decent shot at it. He was still far from our worst out there, and does have some potential with his size and pace. Who would you want to bring in for him?

Then please tell me how he is going to win games?

Did you see his effort against West Adelaide last week? He was beaten one on one by blokes that play in the SANFL.

I would have thought Wallis was a start to play for him, how many good midfielders have started off half back early in there careers. Not really sure what position Stack played last night, at one stage he was at ff dropping marks.

What about Schofield? Tutt?

Addison? At least he competes everytime like it his last contest.

I think stack helps them more than hinders them at the moment. He added forward pressure which they clearly lacked in every game except last nights.

Thought I'd pop over to your board to see if there was a thread on stack.
I haven't read the whole thread, but I like the look of him. Looks like a keeper.

Sorry about your season guys. I have no idea what has happened. Probably time for a new coach because the playing group is still a good one.

what game are these people watching that said stack put in a good effort???

i was at the game and i can see what he does off the ball and he jogs everywhere
he doesnt understand the game of footy.

he made ONE spoil attempt tonight of about 6 or 7 that he should have

he nevers goes in hard at the footy, thats one thing djekurra has over him.
apart from that they are both duds.

im gonna get off his back now cos im sick of saying the name brennan stack.
im just gonna hope he gets dropped. 19 games of shit is enough.

Thought I'd pop over to your board to see if there was a thread on stack.
I haven't read the whole thread, but I like the look of him. Looks like a keeper.

Sorry about your season guys. I have no idea what has happened. Probably time for a new coach because the playing group is still a good one.

Mate you can have him and we will throw Djerrkura back at you for free.

what game are these people watching that said stack put in a good effort???

i was at the game and i can see what he does off the ball and he jogs everywhere
he doesnt understand the game of footy.

he made ONE spoil attempt tonight of about 6 or 7 that he should have

he nevers goes in hard at the footy, thats one thing djekurra has over him.
apart from that they are both duds.

im gonna get off his back now cos im sick of saying the name brennan stack.
im just gonna hope he gets dropped. 19 games of shit is enough.

Finally someone who sees what I see, I thought I was going mad....

Haha. Yeah, "finally" you say. You two have been agreeing with each other with the Stack bagging for ages. There is literally nothing he could do that would change either of your minds.

The fact that you earlier suggested he doesn't run both ways proves it.

Running both ways is about the ONLY thing he does. But it just so happens that that one thing is like gold in this team of lazy frontrunning panickers.

If Sherman or Grant had Stack's attitude they'd be currently dominating our B & F.

Stack was ok last night - certainly not as bad as a lot of people make him out to be. I think his biggest problem is that when he gets the ball he kinda just lopes along like he's having a kick in the park by himself, and then WHAMMO! It's probably why he's such a bankable shot at goal, he doesn't realise how much pressure he's under.

Keep playing him until the end of the season. On his current improvement curve he'll be a good AFL player with another 20 games under his belt. Need to find out if the improvement curve continues or flattens out.

And another thing - it shits me that stack gets compared to hill and to djerkurra. Why do we have to rate our mid-sized indigenous boys exclusively against eachother? It's a bit of a racist thing to do, pick out guys based on their heritage for comparison.

Exactly. They are three completely different players.

DJ- Short and stumpy midfielder

Stack- Athletic running half-back or half forward

Hill- 3rd tall at either end.

People do compare aboriginal players alot, especially if said player has faults. Note that players of Aboriginal descent are more likely to be labelled lazy or selfish.

What a disgraceful thread....even Boyd has copped it on here:eek:

In an error riddled game Stack contributed his share but also did some impressive things. There is absolutely no downside in playing him for the rest of the year. The ball is in his court.

He turned over his 22 contested posessions or kicked them to a fifty fifty
I am not questioning his tackling or workrate, prolific, just wasteful....

Talk about nuff nuff central. The bloke almost single handedly gets us back into game and is universally awarded BOG. You appear to be the only one that didn't rate his game....congratulations.

Tackles 8 -10
Clearances 6 - 8
Inside 50's 7 - 4

We all know that boydy can find the ball, but to have that many possession and only rate at 51% kicking efficiency is very worrying!

Haha. Yeah, "finally" you say. You two have been agreeing with each other with the Stack bagging for ages. There is literally nothing he could do that would change either of your minds.

The fact that you earlier suggested he doesn't run both ways proves it.

Running both ways is about the ONLY thing he does. But it just so happens that that one thing is like gold in this team of lazy frontrunning panickers.

If Sherman or Grant had Stack's attitude they'd be currently dominating our B & F.

Were you at the game or watching on TV? there is no way he runs both ways.

Attitude what attitude are you referring to? Tell me the last time he threw himself into a contest like picken, wood, boyd, cross?

Complete opposite to Dal. Big body, scared to use it. Footsteps.

I reckon he's not up to it. Just like Hill. Both should be cut at the end of the year.

Were you at the game or watching on TV? there is no way he runs both ways.

Attitude what attitude are you referring to? Tell me the last time he threw himself into a contest like picken, wood, boyd, cross?

This game I saw on TV (was back in Sydney). But have watched him play live a number of times. He does a lot of running and supporting, Boof. A lot more than most of our team does.

I do agree completely with your point about Picken, Wood, Boyd, Cross, Ward, Dahl etc. Stack is far from a body player. He's not the kind of guy who throws himself into a pack. But we have plenty of players who do that.

We have almost none that both help cover men in defence and also charge ahead of play trying to create an option. Every time I watch the Dogs live I am surprised by how little running to create options there is in the team. It's absolutely crucial to beat the press, and we at times do damn close to zero.

Let me make clear what I think of Stack. I am not a Stack fan. I don't think he will ever be a player in a good Dogs team. He has horrific skills and is prone to panic. But sadly we are so short of run in this team at the moment that I feel he plays a role.

Thankfully with every debut (first Howard, then Dahl) we get closer to filling that gaping void, and then you and I can both get our way! :thumbsu:

Let me make clear what I think of Stack. I am not a Stack fan. I don't think he will ever be a player in a good Dogs team.

Exactly. He's not so bad, but will never reach the level of being a premiership player. Therefor he is not worth putting time and effort into. May as well chop him and open up a spot to develop someone who may reach those highs. Same thing for DJ. Geelong cut him for a reason. Who would you prefer, DJ or Menzel? We could be holding back our own Menzel's development by giving these 2 games.

I think when you hit the opposition on the t1t, your efficiency drops.

Seriously.......I'd like to know how it is judged. Understand if you kick to an opposition player but how is kicking to 50/50 contest judged? Is it deemed to be an efficient disposal or not?

I don't recall Boyd kicking the ball to the opposition 49% of the time on Friday.

We all know that boydy can find the ball, but to have that many possession and only rate at 51% kicking efficiency is very worrying!

Perhaps if they were all uncontested. The more contested possessions a player has the lower their disposal efficiency. 50% isn't great but with the amount of contested ball he won it would be almost impossible to have an efficiency above 75%.

Exactly. He's not so bad, but will never reach the level of being a premiership player. Therefor he is not worth putting time and effort into. May as well chop him and open up a spot to develop someone who may reach those highs. Same thing for DJ. Geelong cut him for a reason. Who would you prefer, DJ or Menzel? We could be holding back our own Menzel's development by giving these 2 games.

Yep, let's ditch every player who isn't going to be a premiership player. :rolleyes: