Toast Honour. The. Past.

BlueRenaissance

Sep 26, 2016
Should we honour the Doch in here?

Ok, i'll show myself out. Apologies to the Doc.

This football world is shitness.

Robert Heatley

Jan 26, 2017
I say the ball was in....we were sat just in front of it three rows off the fence... the camera doesnt give the true vision...never has done

I was sitting in the stand almost directly above it, never thought it was out.

I reckon the issue with the vision is everyone looks at Harmes arm swing which starts a long way outside the boundary line, but hits the ball before it goes out.

Bamboo Harvester

Sep 19, 2018
Shark Bay
I did in primary school and the bloody thing was down to my knees ,didn't give a rats though i had the 8..always played in the back pocket for ages :cry: ,begged the skipper in giving me run in the forward pocket,kicked 4 and the rest is history :flushed:
Love this thread ..it's a ripper.
You'll love this one then....it was a long time ago, but pretty sure the memory isn't completely brain dead over the year with too many alcoholic beverages.

When we were little kids, we kicked the footy around down at the local park....myself and my older brother, with Harmesy and his older brother. Me and my bro were Blues supporters, and the Harmes' were Richmond of course because Len Smith (their grandfather) coached Richmond.

I had a Carlton jumper with 25 on the back (Jezza), my brother #2 (big Nick)....Wayne's older brother had a Richmond jumper with #4 (Royce Hart) and Wayne wore #29 (Kevin Bartlett).

I heard KB on GUES SEN recently say that he played his first game with Richmond the same day that Len Smith coached his last game. Ironically, Wayne Harmes played his first senior game as a 17 year old in an Ansett (or Escort) Cup game out at Waverley against Richmond in the back pocket. His opponent....Kevin Bartlett.

What about that for synergy?

KB wouldn't have a clue that Harmesy played his first game against him, and wore his number on his back as a kid. I was gonna ring the radio station and relay the story, but the bald headed little prick would think it's all about him...and they're not giving out Bertocchi hams anymore :p

Blue and Blue

Jul 29, 2018
On the glory road
Everton
You'll love this one then....it was a long time ago, but pretty sure the memory isn't completely brain dead over the year with too many alcoholic beverages.

When we were little kids, we kicked the footy around down at the local park....myself and my older brother, with Harmesy and his older brother. Me and my bro were Blues supporters, and the Harmes' were Richmond of course because Len Smith (their grandfather) coached Richmond.

I had a Carlton jumper with 25 on the back (Jezza), my brother #2 (big Nick)....Wayne's older brother had a Richmond jumper with #4 (Royce Hart) and Wayne wore #29 (Kevin Bartlett).

I heard KB on GUES SEN recently say that he played his first game with Richmond the same day that Len Smith coached his last game. Ironically, Wayne Harmes played his first senior game as a 17 year old in an Ansett (or Escort) Cup game out at Waverley against Richmond in the back pocket. His opponent....Kevin Bartlett.

What about that for synergy?

KB wouldn't have a clue that Harmesy played his first game against him, and wore his number on his back as a kid. I was gonna ring the radio station and relay the story, but the bald headed little prick would think it's all about him...and they're not giving out Bertocchi hams anymore :p
Harmesy did a number on KB in the 82 grand. Lets see him forget that.

Bamboo Harvester

Sep 19, 2018
Shark Bay
Harmesy did a number on KB in the 82 grand. Lets see him forget that.
The funny thing about that game was that the club had already been alerted during the week by an insider that Richmond were going to go the biff early to try and put us off our game.

Carlton players were given the instruction from Parko that when there was the first sign of Richmond trying to start a melee, turn around and fight your immediate opponent. If you ever get to watch the game, you'll see 'spot fires' all over the ground in the first quarter, absolute gold.

Blue and Blue

Jul 29, 2018
On the glory road
Everton
The funny thing about that game was that the club had already been alerted during the week by an insider that Richmond were going to go the biff early to try and put us off our game.

Carlton players were given the instruction from Parko that when there was the first sign of Richmond trying to start a melee, turn around and fight your immediate opponent. If you ever get to watch the game, you'll see 'spot fires' all over the ground in the first quarter, absolute gold.
I was there that day....it was a ripper...even better on dvd the 20th time.

Sep 10, 2003
Exile

The Parko legend is, his kid was at Primary school with one of the Richmond guys kids.

Anyhoo, word was Tempany was going to take Buzz and tag him.

Parko went through his million hours and gave it a miss until Mighty Carlton ran on the field with Marchesani and David Clarke kitted.

Anyhoo, Tempany literally ran to man Buzz as we ran out.

So Parko, in his thinking, reckoned he’d spent the week getting ready to play on Bosustow.

So, he benched him.

Watch the start of the game, Tempany is running to the bench.

2 kids chatting in the quadrangle.

Not a clue.

Nov 11, 2005
Queensland
The Parko legend is, his kid was at Primary school with one of the Richmond guys kids.

Anyhoo, word was Tempany was going to take Buzz and tag him.

Parko went through his million hours and gave it a miss until Mighty Carlton ran on the field with Marchesani and David Clarke kitted.

Anyhoo, Tempany literally ran to man Buzz as we ran out.

So Parko, in his thinking, reckoned he’d spent the week getting ready to play on Bosustow.

So, he benched him.

Watch the start of the game, Tempany is running to the bench.

2 kids chatting in the quadrangle.

Not a clue.
Poor old Tempany ended the game with a badly broken arm after an errant attempted kick off the ground by McConville (from memory). It was quite a bad break with the bone almost sticking out through the skin.

Dadda Dave

Apr 23, 2017

You twisted my arm to just watch that ..
Kevin fartlett running around with his match stick arms like a tossa after kicking a point :D..