News & Events Hoons

• Thread starter Thread starter the_fresh

I live near Mill Park and have gone past the scene of that crash (where those 5 kids got pancaked after their hot lap down PLenty Rd) a few times since.

-Every day since, all their ****wit mates have been having parties on the side of that road. All fine I guess, but they are running through cars going 60-70 and having more drags at night.

-The DRUG bus was positioned there on Tuesday afternoon and had nabbed 5 drivers. Presumably from their mates driving to the scene.

-Waving flags and getting pissed on the side of the road. I'm not a prude but if your 5 mates got done by being pissed, is this the best way to honour them?

Then their familes are coming out saying no need to apportion blame.

Well actually, your kids are to blame. They wasted their lives by being ****wits.

There are so many aspects to driving that focusing on speed and speed alone as a factor is plain silly and doesn't work.

If I was to drive out to the country town of York East of Perth, the speed limit is 110kmh. The roads are single lane and windy and narrow. I generally drive under the limit if I go on those roads.

The freeway is at places 4 lanes wide, pretty straight and in good condition. If I go 130kmh early in the morning as I used to at 5-00 am, it was safe.

When I used to come home at 4-15 in the afternoon with traffic getting busier, it would have been ludicrous to try and drive at 130 as the conditions are so different.

At this time though, I would often be behind people that failed in the 80-100 metre long on ramp get up to 100kmh prior to merging with the traffic that was already on the freeway and travelling at 100kmh. This meant a line of 8 or 9 cars behind that car are forced to merge while going too slowly. This is as dangerous as going a bit too quickly.

Also, people that drive in the right hand lane at lower than the speed limit cause bottle necks and I am sure some do it out of a misguided sense of justice and feel that they have a duty to slow everybody elso down.

As for people expressing any glee that some young people have died, I understand that it is preferable that no innocents died, but lots of people have made mistakes in life and not suffered the ultimate fate. They were young, foolish and died as a result of it. It is sad, not a happy occasion.

Agree with the OP completely.
Nothing shits me more than idiot drivers. I don't speed, and I reguarly tell the misses or a mate to slow down if they are driving and doing any more than 10ks over the limit. I don't want to be in a car that cannons into someone and the last way i want to go is in a car crash.

Much like the violence situation, tougher penalties are needed. I agree with The Stinger, if you get caught drinking and you are on your P's then you should lose your license for 5 years. You should also be made to go through the whole process again. Do the L's test and all.

It works in Europe because there is a differing mind set and culture to things like drinking and drink driving.

For a start, make the license harder to get.
Mandatory advanced driving courses would be a start, regulating the CC capacity of new drivers like they do with bikes would be another.

Raising the drinking age to 21 would be another course of action. These clowns need to be responsible for the angst they now forward to their parents, bit hard now, they're dead.

Agree with these changes - and then up the speed limit on country roads to 130.

I never knew that Mill Park was the metropolitan bogan equivalent of Sale but there is growing evidence to show that it is become so.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/vi...ark-horror-crash/story-e6frf7kx-1225822095274

And what nice friends these kids had. Using their deaths as an excuse to get pissed and party.

The cops need to start breathalysing every person who drives to that site plus charging all the little underage wannabe's with underage drinking. Also Council needs to start issuing tickets to all those cars parked illegaly. From what I've been told kids are spilling onto a two lane road and cars are parked on the medium strip at all hours of the day.

Its anothher accident just waiting to happen.

Why are we treating these idiots with kid gloves. The driver was nothing but a mass murderer in my opinion and his passengers are guilty of gross stupidity.

The cops need to start breathalysing every person who drives to that site plus charging all the little underage wannabe's with underage drinking. Also Council needs to start issuing tickets to all those cars parked illegaly. From what I've been told kids are spilling onto a two lane road and cars are parked on the medium strip at all hours of the day.

This is what should be happening. It never will though. The cops are more worried about public perception than anything else. Can you imagine if they do decide to charge all these kids. There would be outrage. The media would jump all over it and the parents of the kids would run straight to ACA or TT.

I have no problem with people mourning there so long as they are parked legally, not drinking and staying off the road. I know the area reasonably well and there is plenty of space for this to happen.

Seriously though how dumb are these kids? Their 5 mates die in a crash involving a speeding drunk driver and it appears they are continuing to drink and get into cars.

This is what should be happening. It never will though. The cops are more worried about public perception than anything else. Can you imagine if they do decide to charge all these kids. There would be outrage. The media would jump all over it and the parents of the kids would run straight to ACA or TT.

I have no problem with people mourning there so long as they are parked legally, not drinking and staying off the road. I know the area reasonably well and there is plenty of space for this to happen.

Seriously though how dumb are these kids? Their 5 mates die in a crash involving a speeding drunk driver and it appears they are continuing to drink and get into cars.

Let there be outrage, and let their parents go to ACA and TT. And when the police are questioned, I hope they'd make a stern statement that "They've just been dealt with like any other people who break laws and create potential traffic hazards. Just because their friends did something stupid that ended in an unfortunate loss of life, it doesn't mean they should have free reign to do the same."

The drug bus was there the other day on an Afternoon. 6 cars were nabbed.

And cars are all over the joint along there. Its an 80kmh road.

They are but its only a token effort. They could have nabbed 3/4 of the crowd on something.

And the kids are ****ing dumb. Just another symptom of this booze culture thats being fostered in the media

Let there be outrage, and let their parents go to ACA and TT. And when the police are questioned, I hope they'd make a stern statement that "They've just been dealt with like any other people who break laws and create potential traffic hazards. Just because their friends did something stupid that ended in an unfortunate loss of life, it doesn't mean they should have free reign to do the same."

I agree. However as I said in the opening of my post the police are more worried about public perception.

And the kids are ****ing dumb. Just another symptom of this booze culture thats being fostered in the media

Parents letting it happen and/or bringing up kids in an environment where alcohol is frequently around are just as much to blame as the media.

I agree. However as I said in the opening of my post the police are more worried about public perception.

Well maybe they should just man up and do their job rather than letting a few misguided potential whingers deter them from ensuring the public is safe. Either that, or we can get really nihilistic and cruel and just wash our hands of these types of people, and let them eventually wipe themselves out. That'd leave too many innocent (uninvolved) lives at risk though, so that's not the option I'd like to take.

Some people's desire to be reckless and endanger their life and others seems to almost be accepted as a right these days, when it should be strongly detered and/or strongly punished, regardless of any fuss that the ACA and TT crowd will/can kick up.

Had an interesting convo at work today with some of the guys and we all agreed that the difference between getting your motorbike licence and your car licence needs to change.

When you go for your bike licence you have to complete a Rider Safe training course which I have just recently been through. Very informative and essential information for new riders. Also there is a limit on the power to weight ratio of the bike you can use before you graduate to your full licence.

If there was a government run course similar to the Rider Safe training that was compulsory, the idea that these kids don't know any better will be gone. they will have been educated. Also limit the kind of car they can have. A 4 cylinder and a certain KW limit that is fair should be standard across Australia.

And you are not allowed to modify your car to hot it up. When you have got your full licence and a few years of experience with a less powerful car, then you can go get your WRX or whatever you want.

Why are we letting kids with minimal experience and skills drive V8 death traps? It doesn't make sense.

Parents letting it happen and/or bringing up kids in an environment where alcohol is frequently around are just as much to blame as the media.

Well maybe they should just man up and do their job rather than letting a few misguided potential whingers deter them from ensuring the public is safe. Either that, or we can get really nihilistic and cruel and just wash our hands of these types of people, and let them eventually wipe themselves out. That'd leave too many innocent (uninvolved) lives at risk though, so that's not the option I'd like to take.

Some people's desire to be reckless and endanger their life and others seems to almost be accepted as a right these days, when it should be strongly detered and/or strongly punished, regardless of any fuss that the ACA and TT crowd will/can kick up.

I have an 18 y o that does not drink (or take drugs) out of choice. I have a 14 y o who may drink when he gets to 18 and a 2 yo.

My wife and I drink wine with dinner every night. On a really hot day, I grab a beer when I get home from work. Last night, we had friends over for dinner. After finishing a bottle of wine between 4 of us, I had a glass of whiskey with my mate. His wife was driving and I was at home. We do have alcohol around frequently but drink responsibly and that is what my kids have learnt and will continue to learn.

I went to see Neko Case play at a pub on Sunday night and as designated driver, I drank soda water all night. A bit of perspective is required when making statements like those above.

Not good enough, if the police started doing their job instead of worrying about perception we'd be better off. I live near the site and i understand they have to grieve but when you start drinking there and thinking you own the road enoughs enough.

You'd think they'd learn a lesson and be respectful to the family considering they're telling the media to be "respectful" and everybody else that looks twice as they drive past and not drink and leave bourbon cans everywhere at a site where sons and brothers perished due to a drink driving incident.

They have no respect these bogans, just driving past the site i think it hasnt sunk in for alot of them that their mates are no longer with us due to their poor behaviour with alcohol and behind the wheel, theres kids just milling around drinking and smoking and speeding off when they leave. Like a hang out. You feel for the parents who will probably visit the site over the next few days if they havent already, they'll see cans of alcohol stuck to the trees and it'll be a nice reminder of why their child is no longer with us.

Its good to see the behaviour of hoon drivers around the neigbourhood hasnt changed either, the obligatory tyre mark screeches and reving of hotted up engines can still be heard loud and clear around the plenty road area since the crash. Probably their mates trying to pay respect to their fallen comrades by doing doughnuts, such is the level of intelligence of many of the youth in the area.

Hoons will never learn until you start taking their cars and crushing them in front of their eyes, all these cars are financed by Banks who willy nilly hand out money to anybody over the age of 18, no need for parental consent from parents if over 18, trust me i know... my ******** brother got a massive loan from a dealership that he works at via a lender so he could buy a car that was too powerful for him on his p's all without the consent of my parents who almost kicked him out of the house for it!! Luckily he lost his licence for a significant period for being a ******** and fortunately didnt injure himself or anybody else in the process, he's smart enough now to value his licence, now off his p's, respect his car and doesnt speed (he reckons), but he learnt the semi hard way by losing his licence. If anti hoon legislation was in place that stipulated anything over 25 ks over on ps is automatic loss of car and licence for 12 months i guarantee he wouldn't have sped. You cant always blame the parents either, i'm completely different to my brother, i've been on the road for 6 years and had one speeding fine for doing 55 in a 50 zone, i would never have done what my brother did in terms of getting a car of that power and speed without the full consent of my parents knowing that they didnt want me to have it. He did though and we've both been brought up to do the right thing in all parts of life. Some kids regardless of parents will only learn the hard way, luckily for us he lost his licence and not his life, he's now a little more sensible. Unfortunately others aren't as fortunate.

Crush the cars i say! As soon as some of their mates start paying the bank for scrap metal watch it change!

Had an interesting convo at work today with some of the guys and we all agreed that the difference between getting your motorbike licence and your car licence needs to change.

When you go for your bike licence you have to complete a Rider Safe training course which I have just recently been through. Very informative and essential information for new riders. Also there is a limit on the power to weight ratio of the bike you can use before you graduate to your full licence.

If there was a government run course similar to the Rider Safe training that was compulsory, the idea that these kids don't know any better will be gone. they will have been educated. Also limit the kind of car they can have. A 4 cylinder and a certain KW limit that is fair should be standard across Australia.

And you are not allowed to modify your car to hot it up. When you have got your full licence and a few years of experience with a less powerful car, then you can go get your WRX or whatever you want.

Why are we letting kids with minimal experience and skills drive V8 death traps? It doesn't make sense.

Agree with this post enirely.

The drug bus was there the other day on an Afternoon. 6 cars were nabbed.

And cars are all over the joint along there. Its an 80kmh road.

They are but its only a token effort. They could have nabbed 3/4 of the crowd on something.

Nah, just another symptom of darwinism/natural selection.

Again I agree with you. However I can't see it happening. Everything, whether it be violence in the streets, hoons etc. comes back to politics. The Police can't afford to have bad public relations. The Government can't either. So they do nothing but tell people what they should be doing and praising those who do so. Reacting to strong to an issue causes problems and doing nothing at all likewise. So Police and politicians alike go down the same path every time. After all the Police are accountable to the Government and as Rudd showed, doing nothing (apart from changing one or two things Howard was stubborn about) is a great way to win an election.

The media then will put a spin on it. The side they take will basically comes down to what will get more viewers or sell more papers. That is regardless of any other factor you can possible think of. For them dollars are the key just as public opinion is for the cops and politicians.

Unfortunately people buy it and the cycle continues.

Not good enough, if the police started doing their job instead of worrying about perception we'd be better off.

Again, I agree. However as I wrote in my post just above, it is all about politics. IF (big if) it works politically in terms of finance and public relations then something might happen. If the risk is seen as to great then nothing will.

I have an 18 y o that does not drink (or take drugs) out of choice. I have a 14 y o who may drink when he gets to 18 and a 2 yo.

My wife and I drink wine with dinner every night. On a really hot day, I grab a beer when I get home from work. Last night, we had friends over for dinner. After finishing a bottle of wine between 4 of us, I had a glass of whiskey with my mate. His wife was driving and I was at home. We do have alcohol around frequently but drink responsibly and that is what my kids have learnt and will continue to learn.

I went to see Neko Case play at a pub on Sunday night and as designated driver, I drank soda water all night. A bit of perspective is required when making statements like those above.

I didn't mean it to be a blanket statement for everyone. Obviously you're a responsible parent who has educated their children well. However, there are plenty of parents out there who aren't as responsible as yourself, and that's who that statement is directed at and meant for.

It's actually been proven the amount of cylinders in a car does not equate to potential life threatening accidents. Any car can do 90 in a 60 zone, don't think because it sounds fast people will speed. Plenty of accidents occur in Toyota Camry's.

Show me the study and I will believe you. Seriously, get 4 teenagers in a hotted up car and whats the first thing they say..........How fast does it go?

Sure plenty of accidents happen in mini minors but when you hear about an accident where two cars were dragging, guaranteed it wasn't a mini versus a volkswagon beetle.
P platers are not allowed to drive V8s in Victoria.
Did not know that and good deal. Still should be a national standard though.

Be reasonable and people might pay attention to you.

For you I'll try be reasonable.

People should only be allowed to do their driving test in a manual car. If you can't drive a manual then you haven't got the skills and shouldn't be allowed on the road.
Won't stop people from speeding but what will.

For you I'll try be reasonable.

People should only be allowed to do their driving test in a manual car. If you can't drive a manual then you haven't got the skills and shouldn't be allowed on the road.
There, now was that so hard?:D

That's not a bad suggestion, even if your primary car will be a automatic, it is good practice and skill training if you ever have to use a manual in an emergency or have to take someone home in their car. Good call.