Toast How can this Hawthorn side be stopped?

• Thread starter Thread starter BigVic

What do you reckon Hodgey and Clarko would have had planned for a player like Ginnivan if they were coming up against him in a final and he was tweeting that crap before the match? Tipping there would have been a trip to the hospital and a 10 match ban on the cards knowing them.
For starters, he didn’t tweet a thing.
He wrote a comment on a mates Instagram post.

Shaun Mannagh told media after the qualifying final win that there was just two more games for them. Media said nothing. No oppo coach gave a shit.

I doubt Clarko and Hodge would have given two ****s, because they’d have backed themselves to be ready for the fight without needing to manufacture outrage or an “us vs them” mentality.

That’s what Ken required. Look at what they offered up the following week in a prelim when a GF was on offer. Lowest pressure rating of any finals team, got walloped.

Hinkley mouthed off after the earlier game too, then after a final and Sicily had enough of it.
Even Max Gawn told media earlier this year that Ken’s got a habit of mouthing off to players.

Don't think that's right actually- Max made a comment on Craig McCrap from the Pies mouthing off.

For starters, he didn’t tweet a thing.
He wrote a comment on a mates Instagram post.

Shaun Mannagh told media after the qualifying final win that there was just two more games for them. Media said nothing. No oppo coach gave a shit.

I doubt Clarko and Hodge would have given two ****s, because they’d have backed themselves to be ready for the fight without needing to manufacture outrage or an “us vs them” mentality.

That’s what Ken required. Look at what they offered up the following week in a prelim when a GF was on offer. Lowest pressure rating of any finals team, got walloped.

Hinkley mouthed off after the earlier game too, then after a final and Sicily had enough of it.
Ken made some aeroplane gestures to a player who mouthed off before the game, woopty doo. The Hawks and their fanbase need to acknowledge that they've been excessively arrogant lately and move on. A bit of humility would do them a world of good rather than chugging gallons and gallons of their own bathwater thinking they're the greatest thing since sliced bread.

Bigger death knell than saying "I'm in control of this game" on an episode of Survivor

Don't think that's right actually- Max made a comment on Craig McCrap from the Pies mouthing off.
He also mentioned Ken has history too.

Ken made some aeroplane gestures to a player who mouthed off before the game, woopty doo. The Hawks and their fanbase need to acknowledge that they've been excessively arrogant lately and move on. A bit of humility would do them a world of good rather chugging gallons and gallons of their own bathwater thinking they're the greatest thing since sliced bread.
Ken did more than make a gesture. He specifically yelled out to an opposition player called him a “****head” and told him he was “not flying”.

“The Hawks and their fanbase need to acknowledge that they've been excessively arrogant lately and move on.”
Ahh, the truth of it all comes out. You’re hurt by how many times you’ve been owned in this thread since late 2024, you’ll even live vicariously through Port in desperation of any type of win.

Ken did more than make a gesture. He specifically yelled out to an opposition player called him a “****head” and told him he was “not flying”.

“The Hawks and their fanbase need to acknowledge that they've been excessively arrogant lately and move on.”
Ahh, the truth of it all comes out. You’re hurt by how many times you’ve been owned in this thread since late 2024, you’ll even live vicariously through Port in desperation of any type of win.
Great deflection in his answer. "Your probably right but Hawks can dish it out and can't take it and are arrogant so there" best not to engage anymore with these numpties

And Ginnivan did more than post a harmless instagram comment. He inferred that Port were easy beats and in doing so insulted their entire organisation. Thats what we call arrogance in English.

In turn Port came out extraordinarily fired up and sent the Hawks packing both times. As I said, Hawks should have dealt with Ginnivans antics before that match and disciplined him properly, there wouldn't be a story if they did so.

Im sure you can figure out why the tweet was offensive to Port and why they came out fired up and flogged the Hawks back to the airport on both occasions.
No actually I can't because I function like a responsible sensible adult not a sook. I wouldn't give 2 shits if a player sent a message to a mate in jest regardless of what it was implying if I was Ken. Your supposed to be bigger than that not an insecure knob. You think Chris Scott would use something like this as motivation as an example? Not a chance. What's the difference between he and Ken? 1 is much more successful and it will stay that way. Your view is skewed because your anti Hawthorn so this is just another excuse to give us a kicking.

And Ginnivan did more than post a harmless instagram comment. He inferred that Port were easy beats and in doing so insulted their entire organisation. Thats what we call arrogance in English.

In turn Port came out extraordinarily fired up and sent the Hawks packing both times. As I said, Hawks should have dealt with Ginnivans antics before that match and disciplined him properly, there wouldn't be a story if they did so.
For all we know Ginni was going to fly up to Sydney win, lose or draw to go and see his ex teammates Grundy and Adams.
The fact everyone interpreted it as Ginni declaring a win before the game show just how sensitive, emotional, and ready to demonize this guy everyone is. It's actually embarrassing how many middle aged men get emotionally invested in the tiniest things that Ginnivan does.

Commenting "see you in a couple of weeks" still has all of these nuffies going on as though he stormed into Alberton headquarters and wiped his ass with a Port Adelaide footy jumper.

The reaction is soooooo far exceeding the 'crime'.

But if it helps Port win games then they're the ones laughing I guess. So good luck to them

For all we know Ginni was going to fly up to Sydney win, lose or draw to go and see his ex teammates Grundy and Adams.
The fact everyone interpreted it as Ginni declaring a win before the game show just how sensitive, emotional, and ready to demonize this guy everyone is. It's actually embarrassing how many middle aged men get emotionally invested in the tiniest things that Ginnivan does.

Commenting "see you in a couple of weeks" still has all of these nuffies going on as though he stormed into Alberton headquarters and wiped his ass with a Port Adelaide footy jumper.

The reaction is soooooo far exceeding the 'crime'.

But if it helps Port win games then they're the ones laughing I guess. So good luck to them
They think celebrating goals with your team mates is arrogant. That's about the emotional maturity level of who we are dealing with.

No actually I can't because I function like a responsible sensible adult not a sook. I wouldn't give 2 shits if a player sent a message to a mate in jest regardless of what it was implying if I was Ken. Your supposed to be bigger than that not an insecure knob. You think Chris Scott would use something like this as motivation as an example? Not a chance. What's the difference between he and Ken? 1 is much more successful and it will stay that way. Your view is skewed because your anti Hawthorn so this is just another excuse to give us a kicking.
I think just about every other person who follows AFL could infer what Ginnivan was implying with that message.

Including yourself mind you, but I suspect you're just being dishonest for the sake of argument.

They think celebrating goals with your team mates is arrogant. That's about the emotional maturity level of who we are dealing with.
Oh yeh that bit is weird.

Hawks can give it (i.e. celebrating goals and taking selfies) but can't take it (Hinkley mouthing off at Ginnivan and Sicily - EVEN THOUGH PORT WON - while Breust was meant to be being chaired off in his 300th game).

Just amazing how dumb it sounds.

And the intensity of which people will try and justify their hatred of Hawks players enjoying football. That's also really odd.

Oh yeh that bit is weird.

Hawks can give it (i.e. celebrating goals and taking selfies) but can't take it (Hinkley mouthing off at Ginnivan and Sicily - EVEN THOUGH PORT WON - while Breust was meant to be being chaired off in his 300th game).

Just amazing how dumb it sounds.

And the intensity of which people will try and justify their hatred of Hawks players enjoying football. That's also really odd.
Yeah you keep living in that world where everyone is jealous of Hawthorn.

No arrogance in that thinking at all.

Yeah you keep living in that world where everyone is jealous of Hawthorn.

No arrogance in that thinking at all.
Well the alternative explation is that the behaviour or Hinkley, and the port fans, in reaction to an instagram comment - is perfectly rational and level headed.

And I think that's a harder argument to make than the jealousy one.

If you actually go back to how it all started Hinkley referred to Ginnivan as a ********. Taking offence to a harmless tweet. Who exactly can't take what is dished out because it sounds more like your great coach getting worked up to the point they put it on the Whiteboard during the week, than your fans had the nerve to boo Sicily for sticking up for Ginnivan because a bloke old enough to be his dad calls him a ********. I reckon if it was any other club you blokes would be looking pretty poor out of this but because its us your praised to high heaven.
A harmless tweet, the tweet suggested the semi was a forgone conclusion, straight out disrespectful and Ken was right, for that Ginnivan was being a w***er.
But brave Sicily flew the flag and approached a 57yo man.
Seemed to go missing during the numerous melee's Sunday night though I noticed.

Not this shit again.

If any club captain is going to stand there and cop their team be sledged by the senior coach of another club for the second time in 6 months after a finals loss then they may as well hand in their captaincy as soon as they walk off the ground.
Perhaps he should have.

Then your Captain wouldnt have been directing other players to pick up his man whilst getting pantsed.

For saying see you in 2 weeks to Brodie Grundy a former team mate? 😂 **** me the world has gone soft. I reckon he still would have copped it even if he put the word hopefully somewhere in that tweet because it's Ginnivan. You could choose to take the high road like a responsible adult instead of carrying on like a petulant child because you got offended by it. It was a bloody semi final and it wasn't the reason they won.
For telling Jack after the game he wasn’t going to be flying anywhere?

&$@$ me the world has gone soft.

Or maybe just Sam Mitchell, Luke Hodge, Jordan Lewis and James Sicily have and where they could have taken the high road and let it go as a bit of karma, they chose not to.

Instead, these same individuals who enjoyed giving out elbows, knees, kicks and roundhouses to the head when they played the game, decided to decree it as crossing the line, and blew it up even further to the point where Ken got a 20k fine.

The AFL is lucky to have such noble members such as these Hawthorn greats to let us know exactly where the line sits along with rest of the league.

But to most neutrals, it was stunning hypocrisy.

For telling Jack after the game he wasn’t going to be flying anywhere?

&$@$ me the world has gone soft.

Or maybe just Sam Mitchell, Luke Hodge, Jordan Lewis and James Sicily have and where they could have taken the high road and let it go as a bit of karma, they chose not to.

Instead, these same individuals who enjoyed giving out elbows, knees, kicks and roundhouses to the head when they played the game, decided to decree it as crossing the line, and blew it up even further to the point where Ken got a 20k fine.

The AFL is lucky to have such noble members such as these Hawthorn greats to let us know exactly where the line sits along with rest of the league.

But to most neutrals, it was stunning hypocrisy.
The most hilarious part was Sam Mitchell (A player who was renowned for being a flog on the field with moments like gesturing to Essendon players that he was jabbing his arm in reference to the drugs scandal) was the biggest sook of them all and acted as if Ken had committed a violent crime or something in his post match presser.

But apparently it's all because we're jealous of the Hawks and are massive snowflakes... The hypocrisy was laughable.

Luckily for the Hawks, while I do think Mitchell is a flog... He's also a very clearly an astute operator, and I'm sure he won't be letting the players get complacent or drink their own bathwater too much anymore after what's unfolded.

Not strictly true. Pittonet won a vfl flag with your mob.

I think just about every other person who follows AFL could infer what Ginnivan was implying with that message.

Including yourself mind you, but I suspect you're just being dishonest for the sake of argument.
It doesn't matter what was " inferred", that's the point. Outside of general slander your supposed to brush it off as a senior professional coach. He acted petulant which you would agree to be the case if you weren't so anti Hawthorn.

Yep, it was $20k fine petulant. Luckily he didn’t approach the Hawthorn team in a threatening expletive-laden manner in front of the on field cameras with teammates having to hold him back. With no fine. Because THAT is ok, right?
You should embrace the arrogance tag, like Dermie used to with his strut, like Mitchell used to with the needle injecting motion he made on field, hell even Hodge when he tried to end Wingards career on the goal post and tried to pretend he’d done nothing wrong.
Don’t try to convince everyone they’re mistaken and you’re just really nice young kids trying to enjoy themselves.